I took the gamble...and lost. Tranny problem- Passat 2007

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

Pointman-IA

Re: I took the gamble...and lost. Tranny problem- Passat 200

Postby Pointman-IA » August 15th, 2014, 7:11 pm

what price you asking?

Krystal Car Part Imports

Postby Krystal Car Part Imports » January 16th, 2015, 10:10 am

StefanH2 wrote:Yeah, as some yall know, I bought a 2007 B6 Passat a few months ago. 3mnths to be exact. So recently this week I've been getting some hard shifts from 2nd to 3rd gear and vice versa. Also I've noticed on a few occasions a delay when accessing the reverse gear. So this seemed odd to me cause i remember one of the first things I did upon buying the car, was change tranny oil, engine oil etc.. One time the car went into reverse so violently that I thought someone hit the car. This seems to happen when the tranny heats up during normal driving.

So took the car to have it checked out. Checked mounts etc..all good.. Mechanic told me its the transmission valve body that beginning to go bad. Dammit!!! Went for a second opinion and sure enough the diagnosis was confirmed. Did some extensive research on the symptoms and sure enough, it's a failing valve body. The car drove sweet up until,now.. Jeez boi. I knew it was a gamble eh.. Ah roll de dice and lost... Steups. Ah real totin.. [UNAMUSED FACE]

Why you toting? these things happen. I done tell you how much to fix it and have it driving like new again

Albezel21

Postby Albezel21 » April 15th, 2015, 11:13 pm

hmm. How much allyuh think i should pay for one of these that park up about 2-3 yrs in the elements? (i still need to find out wat wrong with it tho)

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 16th, 2015, 1:24 am

Get a mechanic to check it out first. We can't tell you how much to pay unless we have more info I would say.

Take pics and post up? Depending on what's wrong go wouldn't pay more than 100-120k for one and that's only if I had an idea of what really needed to be fixed and could source parts. What engine in the Passat we talking about?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » April 16th, 2015, 1:46 am

Have it scanned.
In the elements for 2-3 years, inspect paint, door seals, lights, interior and roof lining.
Also check wheel arch liners, undercarriage.

telfer

Postby telfer » April 26th, 2015, 10:04 pm

But mine instead of buying cat in bag lol $175k newest Passat

Albezel21

Postby Albezel21 » May 31st, 2015, 8:33 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Get a mechanic to check it out first. We can't tell you how much to pay unless we have more info I would say.

Take pics and post up? Depending on what's wrong go wouldn't pay more than 100-120k for one and that's only if I had an idea of what really needed to be fixed and could source parts. What engine in the Passat we talking about?

It has the 2.0 FSI turbo.... owner said it has some suspension issues and it need a trunk lock. The roof liner drop too.... engine and tranny in order

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » May 31st, 2015, 8:53 pm

Can the car start?

Albezel21

Postby Albezel21 » May 31st, 2015, 9:01 pm

Yes it could start... need a battery though
1433120484576.jpg

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » May 31st, 2015, 9:03 pm

What's the series and mileage?

Albezel21

Postby Albezel21 » May 31st, 2015, 9:05 pm

Not sure of the mileage but its PBZ

neexis

Postby neexis » June 1st, 2015, 9:31 am

That gen of VW's didn't hold up well with the local climate.

If I were you, I'd probably check the interior plastics as well.

Our PBW headliner dry rotted and dropped down, plastics on the dash kinda faded/peeling. Dash compartment door cracked and doesn't work.
Some of the plastics for the backseat release have cracked outright, so those switches don't work.

Yea.... no.

Albezel21

Postby Albezel21 » June 1st, 2015, 12:37 pm

So u saying i shouldn't?

the interior plastics seem fine except for the headlight switch which is worn and a switch on the door as well....

Will check it out thoroughly

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 1st, 2015, 1:11 pm

And I thought I had.vehicle troubles damnn

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » June 1st, 2015, 7:09 pm

If you don't mind me asking, how much is the asking price?

Albezel21

Postby Albezel21 » June 1st, 2015, 10:04 pm

about $50K

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » June 1st, 2015, 10:49 pm

Albezel21 wrote:about $50K

Nah... that price could be reflecting transmission issues or something major.

If you get a diagnostic scan done on it for about $250.00 by someone that knows the VW Brand, you will be able to further assess the situation.

Ecotune from here might be able to assist you.

Sometimes one component is the root cause for the majority of symptoms.

Albezel21

Postby Albezel21 » June 5th, 2015, 9:32 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
Albezel21 wrote:about $50K

Nah... that price could be reflecting transmission issues or something major.

If you get a diagnostic scan done on it for about $250.00 by someone that knows the VW Brand, you will be able to further assess the situation.

Ecotune from here might be able to assist you.

Sometimes one component is the root cause for the majority of symptoms.

It's company owned, i spoke to the fleet maintenance manager and he said its jus suspension issues. He said when it went to fix (They took it to Bess Auto) they found the price too high at the time, which was about 3 yrs ago and decided not to fix it.

Return to “EURO”