VW fuels - Premium or super

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 11th, 2014, 1:25 pm

guys,

been back and forth with this topic.

What fuel does most VW cars use and what type do you'll use
I know the the Mk6 jetta uses only Ron 95

My B7 passat has on the flap
95/91 Ron/roz
Ive used both with no noticeable difference
slightly better mileage with the premium
however ive use treatments - redline SI-1 which boosted the mileage to about 850km off a tank of super
from what ive read, Premium and super fuels have different chemical additives to treat fuel systems- thereby premium being billed as the "cleaner" fuel.
lots of these additives are similar to that contained in the high spec fuel treatments, redline, techron etc but at a lesser conc dosage. Basically the equivalent of residual treatment thoughout fuel usage

anyone care to share their experiences?

Re: VW fuels - Premium or super

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 11th, 2014, 1:35 pm

All Premium and Super fuels are made in Petrotrin then sent to Unipet and NP. Premium and Super use the same components: Alkylate, Isomerate, Platformate etc with no chemical additives to treat either of them "cleaner". The only difference between Super and Premium are the ratios of the components used. RON 95 may just have a lil more alkylate for example but other than that neither is "cleaner" than the other. Each component has a different RON with Alkylate having the highest of the components.

Your Passat can use Super because it is above the minimum RON required by your engine (91) which is why you have no issues running Super.

Premium gives you better fuel economy because the engine adjusts timing when it recognized it isn't knocking on it. Both fuel grades will not damage your engine. I would stick to super as I'm sure the difference in mileage obtained with Premium doesn't match the difference in price compared to Super. The fuel treatments increased the octane number of the Super in your tank resulting in less knock and adjusted timing by your car leading to the increase in mileage. Pretty much the same scenario as Premium.

aatwell

Postby aatwell » August 11th, 2014, 8:41 pm

Anyone ever tried super in the new Jetta ?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 11th, 2014, 9:22 pm

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1407806522.189549.jpg

Considering that it says minimum 95 I would love to hear from those who use straight super in theirs.

This document goes against my gas tank flap so who knows. Engine code CAVD.

http://docs.jayzone.eu/erWin/VW/Jetta%2 ... ndbook.pdf
Last edited by Allergic2BunnyEars on August 11th, 2014, 9:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

aatwell

Postby aatwell » August 11th, 2014, 9:47 pm

Well Bunny the speed and continued acceleration, someday I saw you turned by Trincity Lights on the highway, I thought is diesel you running. LOL

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 11th, 2014, 9:51 pm

LOL

neexis

Postby neexis » August 12th, 2014, 6:57 pm

I've only ever used premium so far. Higher cost of fuel was factored in when making the purchase for this car so it's no surprises at the pump really.

Maybe one day I will try a 1/4 tank on super and see, but not this day.

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » August 12th, 2014, 7:39 pm

neexis wrote:I've only ever used premium so far. Higher cost of fuel was factored in when making the purchase for this car so it's no surprises at the pump really.

Does your car call for 98? or 98/95?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » August 13th, 2014, 3:07 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:All Premium and Super fuels are made in Petrotrin then sent to Unipet and NP. Premium and Super use the same components: Alkylate, Isomerate, Platformate etc with no chemical additives to treat either of them "cleaner". The only difference between Super and Premium are the ratios of the components used. RON 95 may just have a lil more alkylate for example but other than that neither is "cleaner" than the other. Each component has a different RON with Alkylate having the highest of the components.

Your Passat can use Super because it is above the minimum RON required by your engine (91) which is why you have no issues running Super.

Premium gives you better fuel economy because the engine adjusts timing when it recognized it isn't knocking on it. Both fuel grades will not damage your engine. I would stick to super as I'm sure the difference in mileage obtained with Premium doesn't match the difference in price compared to Super. The fuel treatments increased the octane number of the Super in your tank resulting in less knock and adjusted timing by your car leading to the increase in mileage. Pretty much the same scenario as Premium.

You wrote this like a chemical engineer working R&M.
Hmmm :drinking: :drinking: :drinking:

neexis

Postby neexis » August 13th, 2014, 7:21 am

purple_heart77 wrote:
neexis wrote:I've only ever used premium so far. Higher cost of fuel was factored in when making the purchase for this car so it's no surprises at the pump really.

Does your car call for 98? or 98/95?

98/95. I thought it was 95/91... my mistake :oops:

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » August 13th, 2014, 8:45 am

No 92 for you. You already on the lower requirement. You may only be missing a little more power and slightly better fuel efficiency as per above conversations.

Might try 92 on my B6 :cool:

syncrod

Postby syncrod » August 13th, 2014, 9:08 pm

somebody try the super na, report yuh findings.

Postby tr1ad » August 14th, 2014, 1:26 am

Why don't you try it

syncrod

Postby syncrod » August 14th, 2014, 2:46 pm

Lol I fraid :(

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 14th, 2014, 3:09 pm

Friend of mine said he knows a mk6 Jetta owner running FULL super for months now. He has noticed decreased fuel economy but no other issues have reared their heads. Drives economically though. No hard mash out or top speeds on the highway...

aatwell

Postby aatwell » August 14th, 2014, 8:24 pm

We need to get this guy in this forum .................... would love to hear about this

Postby tr1ad » August 14th, 2014, 9:14 pm

Want euro ride but can't buy the right gas?
Riteeee

Postby DVSTT » August 14th, 2014, 10:11 pm

Tiida has 95RON on the gas tank cover...

telfer

Postby telfer » August 14th, 2014, 10:32 pm

My 2012 passat I use super and do date I have had no probs

neexis

Postby neexis » August 15th, 2014, 6:33 am

telfer wrote:My 2012 passat I use super and do date I have had no probs

Any noticeable difference in acceleration when you floor it or throw it into sport mode?

telfer

Postby telfer » August 15th, 2014, 2:31 pm

Car works fine still runs like a beyotch

Return to “EURO”