Black_Elantra

Hyundai Divers Please Say What You Think About HYUNDAI

Postby Black_Elantra » September 5th, 2007, 8:44 pm

Hyundai Divers Please Say What You Think About HYUNDAI

Black_Elantra

Postby Black_Elantra » September 5th, 2007, 8:58 pm

Well first of all i think they are pretty descent machines :)

Alot of people bad talk them but i like it.

I drive mine everyday and i dont get trouble with it, it is very reliable (only shut down once and i have it for 4 years, :( )

i have a 1.8 engine in mine and i am telling you that i blow out soooo many sr20 b13 , b14 etc when i decide to let them pass they like , "Aye meh boy what you running under there ? when i tell them Hyundai they bow their heads in shame lol...

A next thing , A drivers nightmare , the TRANNY
everyone has a story to tell about when you cross 100,000 you need to rebuild your tranny B.S
Once you do your regular service and flush tranny you wont be in any problems
i reccomend flush tranny every 50,000 - 60,000

out of 10 i will rate my hyundai experience 9

PARTS TOO EXPENSIVE IN D BAMBOO

CAR CITY AND ZAP SHOULD CLOSE DOWN

i get my parts in Macoya on the main road right after you pass the lights with center of excellence

cant remember the name of the place but you cant miss the sign
:HARD TO FIND HYUNDAI PARTS HERE"

I GUARANTEE YOU WILL GET YOU STUFF 100% CHEAPER THAN D BAMBOO

Black_Elantra

Postby Black_Elantra » September 5th, 2007, 9:00 pm

Let me know what you guys think about your Hyundai

Postby equipped2ripp » September 5th, 2007, 9:37 pm

:? :?

you answered your own question?

buh anywayz... i don't got one, but i know many many people who have/had.

when they first came to T&T, hyundai wasn't such a good make of vehicle.. they were prone to problems, cheap interiors etc. which resulted in poor resale value and this gave hyundai a bad name and reputation in T&T.

only in the past 5 years or so, hyundai has been growing worldwide in terms of vehicle sales and markets because they've totally redesigned their vehicles in terms of better safety ratings etc. they're now korea's #1 vehicle manufacturer.

the new hyundai vehicles aren't like the old ones..

same can be said for kia.

Black_Elantra

Postby Black_Elantra » September 5th, 2007, 9:57 pm

Ent hyundai buy over kia ?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 7th, 2007, 5:32 am

I drove an Accent (really my wife's car) which was bought new from Mel's for about 9 years and that car gave no problems.

Only the dashboard was a source of pain with the cracking (it was replaced by Mel's free of charge and the new one also cracked). In the 343,000 km that I drove it, I only re-built the engine once and had to replace the dampers once also (all with new original parts). It was also re-painted once. Other than the dashboard, the interior held up well.

Very good fuel mileage with the 1.3l 4 cylinder engine with the 5 speed gearbox. I used to get anywhere between 600 and 800 km on a tank of gas.

Sourcing replacement parts was never a problem with N&M stocking parts that I could not get on the outside.

My wife sold the Accent last year and bought a new Coupe. This is a really nice car with a slick shifting 5 speed manual gearbox (also about $8k cheaper than the Tiptronic transmission). Hyundai really improved the feel of the gearbox and, in general, the overall quality of its cars. The 2.0l 4 cylinder engine also could take the car easily past 200 km/h. According to the car's trip computer, a tank of fuel should give anywhere between 400 and 550 km.

I would not hesitate to buy a Hyundai for myself.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » September 7th, 2007, 7:55 am

Hyundai and Kia are sister companies with Suzuki being a distant relative :lol: .. much like Toyota and Lexus, Nissan and Infinity.

I bought my mom a 2005 Sonata, the wife and I were so impressed with it, we bought a 2003 Sonata with low mileage.

I am VERY happy with it, regular maintenence, tranny flush, coolant flush, fuel injector service, plug change, all done at the 39000 mile mark.. 2 mths ago.

The only thing that I have done was switch to synthetic (Mobil 1 5W30) on my last oil change.

I am looking at buying a 2008 Tucson or Santa Fe for the wife.

Postby equipped2ripp » September 8th, 2007, 12:29 am

Yeo, the 2008 Santa Fe is NICE!

KarbonFiber

Postby KarbonFiber » September 9th, 2007, 2:06 am

Scale of 1 to 10...9 IMO...especially with the recent line up of vehicles.

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » September 10th, 2007, 9:09 am

Good car once maintained right

G-T

Postby G-T » November 26th, 2007, 7:48 pm

Zh@ne, I agree, the parts is very expensive but every Hyundai owner needs to be a step ahead, to check on any problems of the vehicle before it keel on you,but other than that Hyundai cars are good..
Last edited by G-T on November 27th, 2007, 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » November 27th, 2007, 10:29 am

So far mine has been working good, with minor upsets. I have a 1996 sonata and it is a factory made sleeper. Works good but you have to pay attention to maintenance (like any other car).

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » December 2nd, 2007, 12:05 pm

well....i was never a believer of hyundai vehicles so much so that i bad talk them any time a car convo came up with friends/family etc...I am all for the japs hence i got a wingroad years ago and the thing gets so much abuse yet it looks new......another 40years till it quits on me but we talking hyundai here.

what made me purchase the hyundai elantra is that we knew the car since day 1 (company car) and my gf needed one bad. So i got it cheap and it came loaded (i posted my experience about it and its features in the other thread). It's a 1.6 GLS third gen model and it is simply fantastic. The thing reaches 190kmph without flooring the x, the a/c blows cold, the the ride is better than my wingroad. There's too much features to list and it can do 500kms on a full tank. Handling is very good and interior/trunk space is better than all the compact cars. Parts are expensive which is the downside and relative resale value is low but i see no difference between the jap equivalent to this elantra. the materials wrt plastics is not on par with my nissan though and so much cars does get the lickin from this starting from civics go right down (non vtec or vvt cars on a whole eh).

So ill rate my relatively new experience with hyundai a big 9/10 so much so that im actually looking to get the 08' Elantra or the 08' Tucson for myself and the business van could be the H100. :lol:

who would have thought? :evil: damn

Hyundai owns Kia and I understand they're the world's 5th largest automaker! :shock:

G-T

Postby G-T » December 7th, 2007, 3:27 pm

x2floor, I like how talk about Hyundais....

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » December 8th, 2007, 10:24 am

well Hyundai cars is extremely popular now and driving in one is a whole different experience, I love it...

KarbonFiber

Postby KarbonFiber » December 8th, 2007, 2:24 pm

Well said zoom,

Black_Elantra

Postby Black_Elantra » December 11th, 2007, 11:32 pm

X2FLOOR i have a 1.8l in my yr 2000 Elantra and if you feel how that thing does pull :)

Very nice cars

i cant wait to buy the new elantra ,

G-T

Postby G-T » December 13th, 2007, 3:05 pm

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » December 26th, 2007, 4:06 pm

pretty car.

speedy3517

Postby speedy3517 » June 25th, 2009, 8:54 pm

i'm looking to buy a new elantra myself. any naysayers?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 26th, 2009, 6:05 am

speedy3517 wrote:i'm looking to buy a new elantra myself. any naysayers?

I say buy it!

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » June 27th, 2009, 10:35 am

equipped2ripp, said it perfectly.

Hyundai developed a bad name long time ago and it has followed them since...
Hyundai have improved the quality of their vehicles since then and are continuing to improve every year.
I own a Hyundai Sonata 2003 and never had any problems.
parts are a bit expensive and hard to get but last long and the ride quality is very good.
as with any vehicle normally maintain your vehicle and that's it.

Tonio2000

Postby Tonio2000 » June 28th, 2009, 2:30 pm

well i drive a kia but i know they both are kinda the same, the engine is easy in fact i learned a lot from it, to me regular service and maintenance is key for me, but getting parts is very hard, car city really over does it and so does south korean connection, everybody looks down on thees korean cars but they are the most reliable u can come over, and when customized look better than most, im nearly to 150thou kms and my car is still going strong, i didnt know anything about the engine belt and had my engine replaced to an SR18 which is heavier and a bit tuff on the car but it pulls through quite nicely,driven an hyundai once and it was very smooth on the road. :lol:

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » June 30th, 2009, 10:39 am

this brand is talked don pon in Trini...with exception of the owners who knew to maintain properly....the older generation had minor quality issues...however i know the brand has made a huge comeback due to a boost in the organization's quality assurance team....The Elantra,Tucson,and even the almost out of reach gemini (in Trinidad that is)...they all came out leaders in many categories..........from what i know.. The Tucsons are quite realiable once maintained properly...........

Honda_Crew

Postby Honda_Crew » July 1st, 2009, 7:52 am

I would say hyundai is not as bad as Trini's normally say it is.
I used to drive a hyundai elantra 2003 model and would give
it a 10/10. Reason being is that the vehicle use to get the world of
lix. Handleing was very impressive, vehicle comfort was excellent
and the interior always kept a new showroom smell.

But when it comes to the Santa fe things were not all as good.
Interior was comfortable and nice, but it had to visit the dealer
a couple of times due to mechanical issues.

rookie

accent

Postby rookie » July 9th, 2009, 1:47 am

2000 model accent still got the original paint on her handles like a dream 5 fwd box stock an i love it

muxz0r

Postby muxz0r » August 1st, 2009, 10:24 pm

meh tucson bess......no problems...comes with a standard skid plate which protected meh under body from a neglected light pole stump overgrown by grass....the skid plate eff up but at least is ony dat

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 3rd, 2009, 10:47 am

the new elantra is a class of a vehicle. rest assured, nobody stealing it and the quality makes u feel you're driving something more expensive plus opt for the leather package GLS model with 8 airbags and the 16" rims......its a lovely ride and no compromise towards safety.

josh111

Postby josh111 » August 23rd, 2009, 3:13 pm

I recently bought a 2005 hyundai tucson roro and it's just brilliant
gas mileage is ok ride is quiet and very smooth and overall the vehicle is good looking, i used royal purple oil in my last oil change and works great only uses 3 and 1/2 quarts it's cheap to do regular maintenance it's cheaper to maintain than my frontier!!!!!!!
WHO SAYS HIGH MAINTENANCE COSTS!!!!!!!!!
I ALSO TEST DROVE A VITARA AND THE TUCSON RIDES 100% BETTER VITARA IS A BIT BUMPY ON THESE T&T ROADS GET A TUCSON AND THE AC BLOWS VERY COLD!!!!

speedy3517

Postby speedy3517 » August 25th, 2009, 4:25 pm

wat about the new genesis coupe neal and massey bringing that down here as yet?

Return to “HYUNDAI”