2011 model + Kia Sportage Owners

Sportage, Sorento, Soul, Rio, Cerato, Optima

kriticalkase

Re: 2011 model + Kia Sportage Owners

Postby kriticalkase » May 30th, 2013, 8:41 pm

tyre pressure is 33psi front and rear. that's the pressure Kia recommended and I check once every month verify.

van came with kumho kl21 and its pretty good thus far but I may change brands whenever I change tyres.

Postby Damien » May 30th, 2013, 10:05 pm

Vin123 you have the model with the 18" wheels?

I always see that model rims dirty up with brakes dust

vin123

Postby vin123 » June 1st, 2013, 7:26 pm

kriticalkase wrote:tyre pressure is 33psi front and rear. that's the pressure Kia recommended and I check once every month verify.

van came with kumho kl21 and its pretty good thus far but I may change brands whenever I change tyres.

33??? wow...I measured mines and its reading 28 all round...I have the some Kumho KL21 17"
I guess I need to air them up!! :shock:

Damien wrote:Vin123 you have the model with the 18" wheels?

I always see that model rims dirty up with brakes dust

I have the 17's but yes our front rims are covered in black brake dust.
When I inquired about it they told me that even BMW's and other high end brands have the same dust because of the type of brake pads used.
One time I didn't wash the rims for 4weeks and the rims were semi black and it looked reeel hot but pressure when I decided to wash them LOL
Van is nearly at the end of warranty so we will be changing brand of brakes so I will let you know if it still getting dirty lol

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » June 1st, 2013, 8:44 pm

you are right, the brake dust is a lot.

When you open the driver side door, there is a label which gives a guide to the tyre pressure.

Vin, I am assuming that you already changed your brake pads, do you know the part # by chance?

Postby Damien » June 1st, 2013, 10:16 pm

Vin123 how would you rate this kia sportage?
Is it a safe and reliable vehicl?
Does it age fast /rundown?
WWould you buy a next one?
Is it worth the money?
Thanks for your info

vin123

Postby vin123 » June 1st, 2013, 10:21 pm

I changed brakes about 3times not sure.
will check the part number tomorrow and get back to you
viewtopic.php?f=39&t=464037

You are right! Driver door opened, behind/ closer to the seat belt there is a label!! I never noticed that lol
it say 33 O_O
my tires are severely lacking air!!

bgh

Postby bgh » June 26th, 2013, 1:32 pm

So, how allyuh Sportage's working? Any new issues? Any Upgrades?

vin123

Postby vin123 » June 27th, 2013, 2:12 pm

Damien wrote:Vin123 how would you rate this kia sportage?
Is it a safe and reliable vehicl?
Does it age fast /rundown?
WWould you buy a next one?
Is it worth the money?
Thanks for your info

Sorry...I now saw your reply.

I rate it up...never in my life would I think KIA would be up there, much less own a KIA and be proud and happy.
I had some sucky experiences with the said company but other friends didn't so maybe its just my luck lol

Age fast/run down? so far no but I'm doing south to north runs every day....van is nearly 2yrs and I'm at 70k already and its working fine.

Worth the money...just wished I got the 4x4 turbo diesel or gas.
If any tuners has the 4x4 turbo or gas lemme get a drive please...wanna see how it drives...or a R34 or R35 LOL

Safe? So far yes....I went on a hiking trail and my friend also has a Sportage and our ABS engaged in the same spot so I guess its good to know the technology is consistent. Other than the problems I mentioned in the threads I have had no other mechanical or any failures of any sort with respect to the Sportage.

I have a friend who works WASA and they had a fleet of tuscon and sportage and surprisingly from what I've head the Sportages are holding their ground better than the Tuscon O_O

I rate it 10/10

Postby Damien » June 29th, 2013, 9:42 am

thanks man

vin123

Postby vin123 » July 16th, 2013, 12:14 pm

kriticalkase wrote:tyre pressure is 33psi front and rear. that's the pressure Kia recommended and I check once every month verify.

what brand you looking to change to?
and profile?
also why you changing? lol
thanks.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » July 16th, 2013, 9:45 pm

stock tyres are 225/60/17 kumho kl21.

I plan on on keeping the same tyre profile when that time comes to change. Ride and handling is excellent.

I generally change tyres once the tread wear is approx. 50%. The Kumho have worked well thus far.
Traction in rainy conditions is excellent.
Road noise is minimal
Ride comfort is great.
The tyres have approx. 27000kms and they seems like new still. I am impressed with these Kumho kl21.

May try Continental as an alternative brand just to have an idea for comparison.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » July 17th, 2013, 8:28 pm

Guys, I do lots of hway driving and when I arrived at the gas station I realized I got
450kms on 1/2 tank.

I think that's excellent fuel economy. For a moment I thought I had a diesel sportage.

that's the best I have gotten since I have had my sportage.

bgh

Postby bgh » July 22nd, 2013, 7:59 am

yep, those 6 gears work wonders on the highway... I would get about 300kms on 1/2 tank, east- west driving as school is out.

vin123

Postby vin123 » August 10th, 2013, 4:59 pm

450km! WOW
how fast I mean how slow do you drive! LOL
the most I've gotten is 350km and the least is 230km

So anyone ever underwashed and did shock oil?
I did both Thursday evening and while driving I felt like I had no brakes.
Kinda drove a bit fast and applied the brakes frequently to "burn off" any residual oil from the shock oil BUT Drove the Highway North and South both Friday and Saturday and I still feel my brakes are weird...for lack of a better word.
Any advice?
Fluid levels are okay...I passed my fingers on the rotor disc and they don't feel oily.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » August 10th, 2013, 10:39 pm

vin, I suspect shock oil got on either your pads or rotors. Hope your bakes return to normal soon.

vin123

Postby vin123 » August 12th, 2013, 5:29 pm

ya I came to the same conclusion but I thought it would have burnt out by now...did north to south runs, thur, fri, sat and sunday.
went in the firm today...they sandpapered it and used some absorbent but they didn't want to tell me what kind :S
thanks

Val

Postby Val » August 14th, 2013, 1:25 pm

Maybe your pads glazed on the rotors with the oil

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » August 27th, 2013, 9:17 pm

So, I changed my 1st set of front brake pads on my Sportage doing approx. 30,200kms.
I heard the sensors and took it in to Kia.

Even though I did not have an appointment the changed it.
Brakes feel pretty good.

I hope these gives good service just like the original set.
I paid approx. $850 from SS.

bgh

Postby bgh » August 27th, 2013, 9:32 pm

30k, wow thats good. Change my wife own about 25k. you should notice a reduction in break dust on the front rims... well it takes longer to build up.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » August 28th, 2013, 8:35 pm

you r right. the brake dust is very little.

I really wish it could stay this way.
I will check the rear brakes this weekend just to see how much life it has left.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » September 25th, 2013, 8:05 pm

so I had service today at 33000kms.

Everything was routine except my rear brake pads was replaced.
They had some life left in them but not much.

I expected that the rear would have lasted to approx. 45000kms.

the brakes however feels pretty good.

No complaints at 33000kms.

Postby Damien » October 3rd, 2013, 7:52 pm

Got my sportage this week, ex white. really impressed with the vehicle

need to order some rubber mats and probably do the brake light upgrade

any info appreciated

bgh

Postby bgh » October 3rd, 2013, 8:21 pm

Damien wrote:Got my sportage this week, ex white. really impressed with the vehicle

need to order some rubber mats and probably do the brake light upgrade

any info appreciated

Welcome man do enjoy...

Ebay for accessories and anything you need.
Light are about 450 usd, I'm still thinking about it.

Check car boutique for the mats and have them upgrade your horn one time. You will need it.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » October 3rd, 2013, 9:09 pm

I got a set of Kia rubber mats from Marud in marabella for $250. these look really nice. These mats are larger than the OEM and it has the kia logo.

I agree, the stock horn is horrible.

bgh

Postby bgh » October 3rd, 2013, 9:16 pm

How does it fit on the driver side?

Postby Damien » October 4th, 2013, 1:22 pm

I must say i was a bit embarrassed when i sounded that horn lol
Gonna check out those mats in marabella and car boutique as well, How much the horn cost?
bgh 450Us not so bad, you have a link?

bgh

Postby bgh » October 4th, 2013, 1:49 pm

I believe it was about 180 and about 60 to install. I did some other work so not sure if he charged me.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/140850016584#ht_9056wt_1163
visit his kspeed motors store and you will like what you see avatar.

Postby Damien » October 4th, 2013, 6:42 pm

nice stuff man thanks for the link!

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » October 4th, 2013, 9:26 pm

the driver side mat was not designed for the sportage organ type accelerator pedal design. All you need to do is a little cutting and u on like socks.

Postby Damien » October 5th, 2013, 9:19 am

called both suppliers they have universal mats

really want some oem ones don't mind ordering some

Return to “KIA”