New SEA syllabus...requires students to do an indian dance

silver

New SEA syllabus...requires students to do an indian dance

Postby silver » January 29th, 2013, 2:21 pm

Apparently the new syllabus attempts to incorporate different aspects of life to try and foster a more 'well-rounded' student.
Some of the requirements include drama, art expression and congeniality awareness (manners?)..different requirements for different grades...

Just found this out about this from a friend..after a PTA meeting...anyone else with kids around this age heard?
Last edited by silver on January 29th, 2013, 2:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: New SEA syllabus...requires students to do an indian dan

Postby TRAE » January 29th, 2013, 2:27 pm

wtf is this sheit... any validity?

Postby Habit7 » January 29th, 2013, 2:30 pm

Well if it is true and you dont want you child to learn, don't send your child to a school where there are trees. You cant have a proper bollywood dance without swinging/hiding around a tree.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 29th, 2013, 2:36 pm

Habit7 wrote:Well if it is true and you dont want you child to learn, don't send your child to a school where there are trees. You cant have a proper bollywood dance without swinging/hiding around a tree.

ROFL wut?

Indian dancers need trees now?

moti

Postby moti » January 29th, 2013, 2:44 pm

silver wrote:Apparently the new syllabus attempts to incorporate different aspects of life to try and foster a more 'well-rounded' student.
Some of the requirements include drama, art expression and congeniality awareness (manners?)..different requirements for different grades...

Just found this out about this from a friend..after a PTA meeting...anyone else with kids around this age heard?

maybe you edited your post so as to not reflect the "Indian dance" part but change the topic as well nah

either way; i really don't think the authorities are crazy enough to allow "Indian dance" to be part if the syllabus.
however drama, art expression etc is a good thing

silver

Postby silver » January 29th, 2013, 2:47 pm

i just edited to include more information...the part about the indian dance is still true...
teachers said they had to attend a 2-day workshop on how to teach it.

Postby AllTrac » January 29th, 2013, 2:49 pm

stupes....and?

Postby BrotherHood » January 29th, 2013, 2:51 pm

Well as they does say, is We Time Now.

Postby Habit7 » January 29th, 2013, 2:52 pm

More than likely its optional, no problem

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 29th, 2013, 2:53 pm

silver wrote:i just edited to include more information...the part about the indian dance is still true...
teachers said they had to attend a 2-day workshop on how to teach it.

Sweet !
Nice to see some attention given to the majority race.

:drinking:

Postby AllTrac » January 29th, 2013, 2:55 pm

exactly, if you dont want your children to be exposed to it them dont send them to the work shop.

is everything allyuh hadda "ermahgerd!" so?

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » January 29th, 2013, 2:56 pm

great , long overdue . score 1 for PP

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » January 29th, 2013, 2:56 pm

great , long overdue . score 1 for PP

Postby Trini Hookah » January 29th, 2013, 3:00 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Well as they does say, is We Time Now.

Once you know.

silver

Postby silver » January 29th, 2013, 3:26 pm

hmmm i eh gettin chess burn...i jus wanna find out more facts from ppl that have kids around std 3-5 since they probably have to get familiar with the new syllabus...as i heard it, the indian dance was not an elective. The parents were informed that the child HAD to perform an indian dance (child is male btw), i found it strange that's all...wanted some corroboration from d tuner community incase is jus that school that pulling a gimmick!
d WTN comments an ting aside...I have nothing against teaching indian dance in school...as an elective...as a compulsory element that determines which secondary school your child goes to?
On another note however, i'm glad to see greater emphasis on other aspects of development of children such as arts. Include some Pan and theatre while dey at it!

Postby TRAE » January 29th, 2013, 3:37 pm

so basically its not only indian dance --- thats just one of the options---- and you toting?

do you usually jump the gun and get people to jump with you

Postby rollingstock » January 29th, 2013, 3:47 pm

They need to also incorporate classic indian singing.

Never know we may have a next Mohammed Rafi in our midst.

Postby cinco » January 29th, 2013, 3:53 pm

silver wrote:hmmm i eh gettin chess burn...i jus wanna find out more facts from ppl that have kids around std 3-5 since they probably have to get familiar with the new syllabus...as i heard it, the indian dance was not an elective. The parents were informed that the child HAD to perform an indian dance (child is male btw), i found it strange that's all...wanted some corroboration from d tuner community incase is jus that school that pulling a gimmick!
d WTN comments an ting aside...I have nothing against teaching indian dance in school...as an elective...as a compulsory element that determines which secondary school your child goes to?
On another note however, i'm glad to see greater emphasis on other aspects of development of children such as arts. Include some Pan and theatre while dey at it!

what school btw?

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » January 29th, 2013, 3:57 pm

rollingstock wrote:They need to also incorporate classic indian singing.

Never know we may have a next Mohammed Rafi in our midst.

Ent !

Doh beat up OP !

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » January 29th, 2013, 4:00 pm

are they gonna teach African dance what about Chinese....?? it must be equal across the board...

Postby BrotherHood » January 29th, 2013, 4:02 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:Well as they does say, is We Time Now.

Once you know.

HYMC.

Postby Sky » January 29th, 2013, 4:05 pm

Make dem dance and change fackin lightbulb!!!
Mix up de fackin country some more.
Anyone of one race not liking their kids take part in another race's culture is racist!
No excuses. I don't care, you're racist. I not taklin about religion eh, thas a whole different story.
Maybe in 20 years we'll have more well behaved citizens who don't care about race.
That goes both ways eh.
I thought the majority of the racist cnuts were over 50 and on their way out. Was ready to say good riddance. That whole fiasco in Tobago show other wise.

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » January 29th, 2013, 4:07 pm

JoeBama wrote:are they gonna teach African dance what about Chinese....?? it must be equal across the board...
only indian dance also a foreign language of choice ( 1 choice only offered- HINDI)

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » January 29th, 2013, 4:07 pm

JoeBama wrote:are they gonna teach African dance what about Chinese....?? it must be equal across the board...
only indian dance also a foreign language of choice ( 1 choice only offered- HINDI)

Postby Chimera » January 29th, 2013, 4:35 pm

if all the gangsters in laventille were forced to do indian dances as children, the country would be a much safer place.

you cyar decide to play gangsta and wha fight for turf when men have videos of you lote-laying around a tree as a child.
Last edited by Chimera on January 30th, 2013, 9:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RBphoto » January 29th, 2013, 4:44 pm

What ever happened to pan in schools? I never see any beatup for that :|

What wrong if males dance.... unless your child looks like CBH at that age you won't have a problem.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » January 29th, 2013, 4:45 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:if all the gangsters in laventille were forced to do indian dances as children, the country would be a much safer please.

you cyar decide to play gangsta and wha fight for turf when men have videos of you lote-laying around a tree as a child.

This. Win.

Postby bluesteel29 » January 29th, 2013, 4:46 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:if all the gangsters in laventille were forced to do indian dances as children, the country would be a much safer please.

it doh work so nuh dan....gangsta in tong dancin rong pole to dodge bullet normel normel

Postby Habit7 » January 29th, 2013, 5:03 pm

crossdrilled wrote:What ever happened to pan in schools? I never see any beatup for that :|

Sat said not in his schools unless they have a program Indian instruments like dholak, harmonium, tassa, etc

Patman

Postby Patman » January 29th, 2013, 5:12 pm

Its the Continuous Assessment Component, CAC ........ its based around VAPA
Last edited by Patman on January 29th, 2013, 5:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.