HELP..Netbook connects to router but no internet.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 21st, 2012, 2:02 am

Tech Tuners...

I need a lil help.....I have a netbook that would connect to my router but I cant get any internet pages to open up.....says no internet access.....My laptop and other wireless devices connects to the router and internet easily.......but with the netbook I am not getting thru......

Has anyone ever experienced this....

Any help would be appreciated.....

netbook is running windows xp.....and internet is flow.......

thanks

Postby rfari » April 21st, 2012, 3:30 am

Make sure u don't have a static IP address in ur network configuration. Goto properties for ur network adaptor then I think u select tcp/ip. Cnt remember exactly. Wht the netbook doing with xp tho?

Re: HELP..Netbook connects to router but no internet.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 21st, 2012, 4:23 am

rfari wrote:Make sure u don't have a static IP address in ur network configuration. Goto properties for ur network adaptor then I think u select tcp/ip. Cnt remember exactly. Wht the netbook doing with xp tho?

seconded ,windows 7 ftw

help wise try a hard restart on the netbook (turn off wireless,take out batt3 and reboot)

^that usually works if my netbook sees any problem

Special1

Postby Special1 » April 21st, 2012, 6:48 am

You could also check and see if the firewall on the netbook has by accident been set to block your browser from accessing the net

Postby S_2NR » April 21st, 2012, 6:51 am

Hoss that could be so many things eh. Need more info

redras

Postby redras » April 21st, 2012, 7:18 am

mac address filer?

Postby hydroep » April 21st, 2012, 8:35 am

S_2NR wrote:Hoss that could be so many things eh. Need more info

Agreed.

OP you could try right clicking on the wireless connectivity icon and then click "Repair".

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 21st, 2012, 8:39 am

wrap netbook in foil

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 21st, 2012, 11:41 am

I am actually at a hot spot area and I am connected to the net right now with the netbook....

Its just at home I am connecting to the router but no internet activity.........

Im thinking its XP being the problem as all other laptops and devices home run other OS.....

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 21st, 2012, 11:46 am

Actually it's the proxy settings on the LAN config...... It's in options in the ie, wrench in chrome.... Or ie go under connections an LAN settings and make sure the proxy option is greyed out... For chrome it's somewhere there.... I believe it's bypass proxy... When i reach my desktop I'll let u kno for sure

Postby M_2NR » April 21st, 2012, 11:53 am

if this was win7... just right click > Troubleshoot problems. :lol:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 21st, 2012, 12:34 pm

shaq090 wrote:Actually it's the proxy settings on the LAN config...... It's in options in the ie, wrench in chrome.... Or ie go under connections an LAN settings and make sure the proxy option is greyed out... For chrome it's somewhere there.... I believe it's bypass proxy... When i reach my desktop I'll let u kno for sure

yeah i use chrome.....Ill have a look.....but question is why can i connect everywhere esle but not getting internet activity at home......puzzling......

dont think this machine could handle win 7........given the ram and stuff xp might b ethe best OS for this.....

Postby Sky » April 21st, 2012, 12:48 pm

You verified no static ip?
If you have one and the gateway so happens to be that of the hotspot and not your home router, that's your issue there.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 21st, 2012, 1:00 pm

Sky wrote:You verified no static ip?
If you have one and the gateway so happens to be that of the hotspot and not your home router, that's your issue there.

this sounds logical......may have to manually put in an ip...?

Postby skylinechild » April 21st, 2012, 1:29 pm

check adapter settings. make sure it's set to automatic IP and automatic DNS....

go in internet explorer and check under LAN settings and uncheck use proxy settings and check use automatic settings.

if youre getting through on a hotspot that means that the actual internal wireless adapter is fine.
is just your configuration is poor.

Postby redmanjp » April 21st, 2012, 2:33 pm

can you ping google.com?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 21st, 2012, 2:41 pm

nuthins happening at home redman

Crazymofo

Postby Crazymofo » April 21st, 2012, 3:07 pm

Yuh pay yuh internet bill?

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 21st, 2012, 3:08 pm

tis looks like a dns problem as others staed check that it is automatically applied. also access your router 192.168.1.1 in the address bar check that it isn't blocked on the router firewall

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 21st, 2012, 3:10 pm

u read the original post?......Everything all other devices are connecting except the net book

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 21st, 2012, 3:14 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:u read the original post?......Everything all other devices are connecting except the net book

yes that is why you should check it is not blocking the netbook

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 21st, 2012, 3:22 pm

page similar to this

Postby S_2NR » April 21st, 2012, 3:40 pm

nothing wrong with the router, its the netbook. yu try rebooting it or plugging into the router using a lan cable to see if it will work?

Postby maj. tom » April 21st, 2012, 7:25 pm

//Press the hard reset button on the router for 1 second till power LED blinks.
//Check your netbook adapter settings and make sure the IPV4 settings on "automatic."
//Make sure that no one has blocked your client ip address on the router.
//Make sure DCHP is enabled on the router.
//Is it connecting with a LAN cable? Then the wifi card may have squeaked.

-->Well then you need a new Wifi Card. You can get a good one on ebay for about $10USD in 4 -6 weeks China. Happened to me and I bought the same Realtek wireless model that went dead just like a dog crossing the highway. Easy to change yourself too. Plenty youtube videos to help you.

->>>On another note, install a Linux on your netbook. Ubuntu will give your XP netbook new life. It's not hard to use at all. It's free too. Or try Mint.
Last edited by maj. tom on April 22nd, 2012, 9:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Spitfir3 » April 21st, 2012, 9:04 pm

S_2NR wrote:nothing wrong with the router, its the netbook. yu try rebooting it or plugging into the router using a lan cable to see if it will work?

this.run a cable direct and see if you get access

Postby Mark! » April 21st, 2012, 9:22 pm

Throw netbook at router

Postby redmanjp » April 21st, 2012, 9:34 pm

if its a dns issue u should be able to ping IPs like 196.3.132.8 (tstt) and get through

do a trace route also

in a command prompt type

tracert 196.3.132.8

Postby AllTrac » April 21st, 2012, 9:42 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
Im thinking its XP being the problem as all other laptops and devices home run other OS.....

dont let people tell you that pack of sheit.
Anyone who says that just not technically inclined and would rather have the os troubleshoot the problem because they cant, even tho the os troubling shooting the problem has as much luck solving it as a 5 year old.

I didnt read the entire thread but do you have dhcp turned on, on the router?
can you ping a web address?
when you do a ipconfig /all, what address do you have on your card?

Postby wagonrunner » April 21st, 2012, 10:51 pm

but altrac, if this is the level diagnosis reach..............

Postby AllTrac » April 21st, 2012, 11:06 pm

wagonrunner wrote:but altrac, if this is the level diagnosis reach..............

oh sheit :lol: :lol: :lol: