Restaurants and service charge(tip)

evo-STI-k

Restaurants and service charge(tip)

Postby evo-STI-k » June 26th, 2008, 10:15 pm

Is it actually LEGAL for a restaurant to charge you service charge if you have ordered takeout and youre just collecting?

I just collected some food, and when the bill came service charge(tip) on their bill was included before vat.
when i asked how come i have to pay service charge- she laughed Teehee its automatically in the system.

Is this a norm?
:?:

Postby MG Man » June 26th, 2008, 10:17 pm

ask Pios

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 26th, 2008, 10:19 pm

MG Man wrote:ask Pios

:english:

Postby equipped2ripp » June 26th, 2008, 10:22 pm

ummm nope.

which restaurant is this?

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » June 26th, 2008, 10:25 pm

Not for take out... tell her wipe that Tee hee off her face and correct it.

Postby MG Man » June 26th, 2008, 10:28 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:
MG Man wrote:ask Pios

:english:

Good day Sir,
In matters relating to consumer affairs and the like, experience has shown that the Forum user who goes by the handle "Pioneer' is quite knowledgeable. While said user is highly opinionated and outspoken at times, his insight is quite valuable. As such, it would be wise to seek his counsel on this matter, to good end.

Do have a good day!
Kind Regards
Last edited by MG Man on June 26th, 2008, 10:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 26th, 2008, 10:30 pm

well said :lol:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 26th, 2008, 10:40 pm

:lol: very well said!

and it was at a popular sushi restaurant in the west!

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 26th, 2008, 10:45 pm

Pioneer -im very serious here!
is this a LEGAL matter ?

Postby Cjruckus » June 26th, 2008, 11:05 pm

but isnt the service charge split among all the waiters, hostess, bar tenders, and chefs? Along with what ever Tips are collected for the night. But a portion of the service charge pays their salary along with the upkeep of the establishment.

So technically by their chef cooking the meal, you are leasing the time on the burner, therefore the service charge is legit.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 27th, 2008, 8:02 am

pioneer wrote:wait did u call in the order then go pick up?

Yes- because if you go there and order you would have to wait almost an hour for food!

Postby crazybalhead » June 27th, 2008, 8:05 am

So they does cook de sushi?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 27th, 2008, 8:08 am

and im now looking at the Bill again- they even charge VAT after service has been added!

crazyboy- funny thing is their sushi still is not up to the standard of the one in Trincity mall!
its just that i didnt feel like driving that far for food! :?

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2008, 9:21 am

it popular because of the location and sushi is the latest gimmick gormet food
like the emperor's new clothes

if MT was to burn down people quality of life would real suffer

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 27th, 2008, 9:37 am

yuh went in de laughing man place?/

dat place expensive hoss... and de food not worth it

Postby bushwakka » June 27th, 2008, 10:14 am

yea....dey took u a for a fool

in fact, me an my friends go by restaurants an eat take out all de time to avoid dat extra 10%

urabus

Postby urabus » June 27th, 2008, 11:04 am

if u call in the order, some fast food places add the service charge

Postby UML » June 27th, 2008, 11:11 am

Cjruckus wrote:but isnt the service charge split among all the waiters, hostess, bar tenders, and chefs? Along with what ever Tips are collected for the night. But a portion of the service charge pays their salary along with the upkeep of the establishment.

So technically by their chef cooking the meal, you are leasing the time on the burner, therefore the service charge is legit.

...actually I heard from some workers in the ifood/service industry that some restaurants take the tips as well

very sad in reality....the rich get richer and the poor get children!!! :cry:

Cid

Postby Cid » June 27th, 2008, 11:59 am

so if they charge service charge on de bill you dont need to tip??

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 27th, 2008, 12:06 pm

wait....service charge is tip? i still leave a 20$ dollar tip in any rest i go :shock:

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2008, 3:42 pm

yeah, the service charge is printed on the bill along with vat etc
do workers get access to the billing system to see how much was done for the week ?

UML wrote:...actually I heard from some workers in the ifood/service industry that some restaurants take the tips as well

very sad in reality....the rich get richer and the poor get children!!! :cry:

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » June 27th, 2008, 6:15 pm

Ordered takeout from RT in Grand Bazaar and saw service charge on the bill. Asked the lady WTF you charging me service charge for? I not dining in. She said someone has to answer the phone and place the order so they charge you for that service :? Das wa you get for wanting premium bizniss

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » June 27th, 2008, 7:50 pm

jed i went pizza hut fr they self serve buffet n they charged me for service!!!but WDMC wrong wid them the only service they do was t bring d bill...n a pitcher of coke

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 27th, 2008, 8:20 pm

so why do we continue to put ourselves true this expense...its not a necessity....its not mandatory.....but yet we fork out the bills for a tiny amount of food..lol..and we love it...but....

HOW MANy here has had the oportunity to see the conditions food handling practices utensil washing etc in this country?????? you would be suprised...... :mrgreen:

i dont eat out anymore.

altec

Postby altec » June 27th, 2008, 8:29 pm

if we paying the workers for service then the employer them for what? is a ripoff ! you tip for service that is above average. We following USA where tipping as become standard, and if you don't tip then you get spit in your food.