importing a used car from the us

Postby SR » September 24th, 2008, 5:29 pm

what is required
is it possible

at what cost?

nismoid

Postby nismoid » September 24th, 2008, 6:08 pm

i think the same rules as roro cars will apply in this case, with respect to the age limit and mvt etc

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » September 24th, 2008, 6:17 pm

once it's not as a returning resident, the same RORO import rules apply- if the car is being imported to be licensed/registered.

Postby SR » September 24th, 2008, 6:22 pm

so an antique is out of the question then

Postby Cjruckus » September 24th, 2008, 6:34 pm

Unless you are a returning resident and owned it for 4 years i believe.

that was the rule when i was coming home.

And of course if its yours you pay no tax.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 24th, 2008, 6:35 pm

So say it's not a returning resident's car.
Would the Left Hand Drive be an issue or incur any additional fees or cost when licensing/registering?

Postby SR » September 24th, 2008, 6:38 pm

its a 1950

runs on the road

Postby Cjruckus » September 24th, 2008, 6:40 pm

Once it was yours for 4 years, no restrictions on importing.

Postby SR » September 24th, 2008, 6:41 pm

i'm not a returning resident

Postby Cjruckus » September 24th, 2008, 6:45 pm

if you want to go Retro, buy a Minx.

TK!

Postby TK! » September 24th, 2008, 10:18 pm

left hand drive is a no no ... only taxis get special permission for that .. or returning residents .. this i infer from observations.

some1 told me bout the taxi part tho.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » September 24th, 2008, 10:38 pm

i sur eu cu dbring it in as an antique lol

sheppie08

Postby sheppie08 » September 24th, 2008, 10:43 pm

If you do bring in a vehicle from the US and you are not a returning resident, to be able to licence it for use on T&T roads it must be converted to right hand drive .

Postby honda hoe » September 24th, 2008, 10:46 pm

its a 1950

i'm not a returning resident

no u won't be able to import it

only LHD cars dat are given permission are returning residents, ambulances, hearses

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » September 24th, 2008, 10:49 pm

^it that simple... really

Postby SR » September 24th, 2008, 11:28 pm

stupid in my opinion

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » September 25th, 2008, 6:33 am

so is $4 per liter...
but wah you go do...

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 25th, 2008, 7:57 am

i well say sr looking tuh buy a HYBRID to combat rising fuel prices oui :!:

Yeo

Postby Yeo » September 25th, 2008, 8:00 am

Wha bout if u are a Trini living in the US, it's yours for 4-5 yrs, and yuh want to bring it home as a returning resident but yuh not really returning home....

Freelander

Postby Freelander » September 25th, 2008, 8:54 am

so u saying u go let SR hook u up with the car for 4 years and u bring it back home and then duss it back to the states?

is that what ur ijmplying yeo?

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » September 25th, 2008, 9:00 am

get someone in the embassy to bring it in for you.they are allowed to bring their cars in and sell them when the leave.

LHD is a real hassel they dont like to register them but this in trinidad you can get anything for a price :roll:

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 25th, 2008, 9:00 am

hmm... so...if you owned a rhd japanese import in the states for 4yrs (that is more than 5 yrs old, say a 200sx)and u want to bring it down...i assume no problem?

Postby crazybalhead » September 25th, 2008, 9:01 am

Yuh know, I open this thread, and I KNOW is some ole POS SR gorne and see up dey and ready to propose to it. :lol: :lol:

Fuzz Master

Postby Fuzz Master » September 25th, 2008, 9:11 am

see allyuh missing the big question....So what kinda car it is??

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 25th, 2008, 9:17 am

lol@ cbh :D

Postby SR » September 25th, 2008, 8:52 pm

car has been sitting in a temp and humidity controlled warehouse for 18 years

yes its a POS

but somtimes the old POS is better than the fresh young ting

Postby SR » September 25th, 2008, 9:10 pm

ah fraid to post pics on tuner

people does teif yuh pictures

Postby SR » September 26th, 2008, 11:49 am

Fuzz Master wrote:see allyuh missing the big question....So what kinda car it is??

good question

Yeo

Postby Yeo » September 26th, 2008, 12:09 pm

car has been sitting in a temp and humidity controlled warehouse for 18 years

good question

People only now thinking is a classic.

Postby SR » September 26th, 2008, 12:10 pm

pics posted u know where yeo