Serious question about (The) Adhan

Halfbreed07

Serious question about (The) Adhan

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 8th, 2010, 2:21 pm

I reside in Charlieville, my home is flanked, not very closely by two Mosques. At around 5:00am in the morning the call to prayers comes blaring into my room via VERY loud speakers. Needless to say for folks not having to be up so early it wakes us up, every morning. At the very least this is annoying, not to mention inconsiderate.

Does this have to be done? Can/should I report this? We not living in a Muslim state, if i were to blast Jim Reeves, for example, at that time everyday I doubt the neighbors would like it.

sensiman

Re: Serious question about (The) Adhan

Postby sensiman » November 8th, 2010, 2:29 pm

Too many demand their rights and beliefs to be respected, but don't take into to consideration the rights and beliefs of others. Talk to BAnzai, I believe he has some xperience with this dilema. I know of one mosque that reduced the volume of their mike after the Imam was respectfully informed that the volume causes detriment to some nearby neighbours. But somehow I don't think that approach will work for those two mosques you mentioned.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » November 8th, 2010, 2:30 pm

It's all about Religious tolerance.

Postby buzz » November 8th, 2010, 2:31 pm

pm banzai rasta

but but i've heard he's still in hiding :|

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 8th, 2010, 2:35 pm

shotta 20 wrote:It's all about Religious tolerance.

can u tolerate being waken up EVERYDAY at 5 from the sound of an old man 'shouting' in a foreign language?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » November 8th, 2010, 2:39 pm

You are within your rights to make a commplaint to the EMA.
They can take up your cause and have something done about it.

They just have to lower their volume, that's all.

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » November 8th, 2010, 2:41 pm

even tho im muslim, i still think they shouldnt do that ... if i was living next to a mosque i woulda sprang them speakers or damage them right tru. its VERY annoying.

Postby buzz » November 8th, 2010, 2:43 pm

btw is there a legal dB in trinidad ?

Postby buzz » November 8th, 2010, 2:43 pm

and if so do they measure it with an Ear-o-meter ?>

Postby RBphoto » November 8th, 2010, 2:43 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:I reside in Charlieville.

Den hush yuh mouth........... for your own good. :skurry:

Or just revert to Isam, it should not bother you then.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 8th, 2010, 2:48 pm

crossdrilled wrote:

thats why i eh do nothing bout it yet Richie..... :D :D

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » November 8th, 2010, 3:00 pm

buzz wrote:btw is there a legal dB in trinidad ?

yup there is. dont know wat it is tho. u can get the info from the ema. had some problems with neighbours and their music everyday. ema helped out with that ...

Postby RBphoto » November 8th, 2010, 3:04 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

thats why i eh do nothing bout it yet Richie..... :D :D

Dude, highway mosque (Which I go to) is Asja and the next masjid is jamat. I feel they going sound off competition, like the louder they play, the more followers they will get. The Asja people might be quite agreeable, but logon to Trinimuslims and post a thread about lowering the volume to see what the other congregation think. Use a fake-mail and name. Also make a female account, because if they think your request is unislamic, the would not take it on too bad because D trinimuslim crew regard women as stupid.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » November 8th, 2010, 3:13 pm

PapaC wrote:You are within your rights to make a commplaint to the EMA.

I had a similar issue with a Sports Bar next to my house. In my case it was just constant noise from dusk till dawn. I reported it to the EMA and they only just 'acknowledged' my complaint and did NOTHING more.

But I lucked out in the end, business buss for the Sports Bar and they had to close down.

Halfbreed07 if you plan to report it to the EMA, you'll have to keep harassing them until they do something to help you out.

you can start with this contact:

complaints@ema.co.tt

I'll PM a direct contact
Last edited by Cooper on November 8th, 2010, 3:17 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby ronsin1 » November 8th, 2010, 3:13 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote:
buzz wrote:btw is there a legal dB in trinidad ?

yup there is. dont know wat it is tho. u can get the info from the ema. had some problems with neighbors and their music everyday. ema helped out with that ...

the noise levels must not be more than 5db's more than the ambient sound levels in residential and commercial areas

for industrials I will have to get that information

Cooper

Postby Cooper » November 8th, 2010, 3:18 pm

^^^ The EMA website has the details for the actual limits

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 8th, 2010, 3:18 pm

Cooper wrote:
PapaC wrote:You are within your rights to make a commplaint to the EMA.

I had a similar issue with a Sports Bar next to my house. In my case it was just constant noise from dusk till dawn. I reported it to the EMA and they only just 'acknowledged' my complaint and did NOTHING more.

But I lucked out in the end, business buss for the Sports Bar and they had to close down.

Halfbreed07 if you plan to report it to the EMA, you'll have to keep harassing them until they do something to help you out.

i will, thanks

you can start with this contact:

complaints@ema.co.tt

I'll PM a direct contact

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » November 8th, 2010, 3:35 pm

I also live a few houses away from a Mosque.

And yes it is quite loud when they ready, but I've grown accustom to it and now i just sleep through it normal.

So...wait some years wuh i go tell u :lol:

Postby Gladiator » November 8th, 2010, 3:49 pm

get some earplugs.... they work wonders.

Postby Chimera » November 8th, 2010, 4:32 pm

u...gonna....ask....the...muh....muh....muhh....muslims..to lower their volume....

R.I.P. Halfbreed

Postby M_2NR » November 8th, 2010, 5:25 pm

If its bothering you, there are people called the EMA to help.

So um... when it's divali and ppl bussing bamboo and all these other illegal things? and new years eve with all the fireworks... see what i did there.

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 8th, 2010, 5:31 pm

Postby RBphoto » November 8th, 2010, 5:32 pm

M_2NR wrote::lol: :lol:

So um... when it's divali and ppl bussing bamboo and all these other illegal things? and new years eve with all the fireworks... see what i did there.

Daiz for like one day. It is a holiday to boot, so get some sleep in the day and enjoy it in the night.

Postby AllTrac » November 8th, 2010, 5:32 pm

this is a yearly thing so it can be tolerated. If the Mosque said they would do their calling for prayer once a year, i wont mind at all I would bear it. I also live charlieville a couple houses away from a Mosque and I go through the same thing, its quite annoying, since it takes away 1 extra hour of sleep for me in the morning.

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 8th, 2010, 5:33 pm

Charlieville u say... u arse dark yes.... i sure is less tan $10 for some foam earplugs...buy some in bulk..

Postby Chimera » November 8th, 2010, 5:35 pm

Look how we gonna have 2 less tuners soon na :(

we guh miss allyuh alltrac and halfbreed.

Postby AllTrac » November 8th, 2010, 5:41 pm

nah i give all dem parsad for divali (even tho i see it in de dustbin after :( )

Postby M_2NR » November 8th, 2010, 5:41 pm

crossdrilled wrote:

Daiz for like one day. It is a holiday to boot, so get some sleep in the day and enjoy it in the night.

The point was not that :|

he can easily go to the EMA and contact them just like banzai did. I really dont care how much noise ppl make. Yea i cant do anything for the night but thank God they outlawed the use of those things. Years before it used to be every night from a month before divali to right down to new years not just one day/night.

and alltrac... 1wtn all you have to do is contact the relevant authorities and buss a banzai i bet they will lower the volume.. if they dont.. (and they supposed to comply) they are not being moslem.

Postby AllTrac » November 8th, 2010, 5:42 pm

i friad dey know is me

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » November 8th, 2010, 6:04 pm

AllTrac wrote:

this is a yearly thing so it can be tolerated. If the Mosque said they would do their calling for prayer once a year, i wont mind at all I would bear it. I also live charlieville a couple houses away from a Mosque and I go through the same thing, its quite annoying, since it takes away 1 extra hour of sleep for me in the morning.

Why don't you get up and pray as well ? I know some hindu ppl who are up @ 5am to pray etc ... take the adhan as you wake up call to pray as well ...

Abu Hurairah reported that the Prophet said, "If the people knew what was in the adhan and the first row (of the prayer in virtue), and that they could not get it save by drawing lots, they would draw lots. If they knew the reward for praying the noon prayer early in its time, they would race to it. And if they knew the reward for the night and the morning prayers in congregation, they would come to them even if they had to crawl . " (Related by al-Bukhari and others. )

its a blessing to hear the call to prayer even if u're not muslim just take it as a sign to rem god even for 5 mins in your own way . ..