69%
No
31%

Total votes: 72

Pregnant and playing MAS

Postby RBphoto » January 26th, 2012, 8:19 am

Simple question... you are in a delecate state of health and are responsible for incubation another human being.... you will go and play up in a band? I find it unsettling. As a sanity check, please tel me if you think it is OK. IMO... too much risk for the fetous. Now if you get preggers a week or two before.. this is probably not an issue. So I am not asking hether they should play or not. Since abortion is illegal in Trinidad, should anything happen to the fetous, should the mother *sic* be held crimminally responsible and charged for her reckless behaviour? The last line bolded was a WTF moment for me.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/featured ... 12183.html

Trinidad Express Newspaper National News of Trinidad and Tobago
Print this article

Pregnant & playing mas
Originally printed at http://www.trinidadexpress.com/featured ... 12183.html

By Kimoy Leon Sing
January 23, 2012
Can you play mas if you are pregnant?
According to obstetrician/gynaecologist Dr Sherene Kalloo, there is no easy yes or no answer to this question but a combination of factors that moms-to-be should be mindful of when partying on the road. From your choice of footwear to your choice of costume, expectant mothers need not fear about having a good time during the Carnival season but must exercise extreme caution and common sense when faced with large crowds, she said.
As a mother herself, she said, “It will depend on the patient and how far along they are in their pregnancy, what complications they may have and how high-risk the pregnancy is. In other words, it will be based on the guidelines given by your obstetrician. If they have gotten the all-clear by their doctor, then pregnant mothers must also expect some limitations.”
“If the sweet sounds of the music trucks entice you to move, wave a little and wine a little, but avoid jumping because it can cause trauma to the foetus and lead to a miscarriage,” she said.
“If you decide to play mas while pregnant, women that are earlier in their pregnancy are at less risk compared to those who are later on in their pregnancy. This is so because expectant mothers within their second and third trimesters are carrying more weight, which puts further strain on the back and abdominal muscles,” she said.
Hoping everyone has a safe Carnival, Dr Kalloo had some additional guidelines for pregnant women.

Stay in a group
Make sure and be in the company of two or three friends, which can form a barrier around you of sorts to prevent trauma to your abdomen. If someone hits your belly accidentally, it can cause separation of the placenta. This can lead to premature labour and haemorrhaging, which can cause death to the baby.
Infection
Do not hold up your urine. You can get a bladder infection, which can also lead to premature labour. Find a clean toilet to do what you have to do. Avoid stopping at the side of the road; the risk of infection is very high.

When to rest
If you experience any cramps, pain or spotting —stop and rest. If spotting continues, see your doctor immediately. Being in direct sunlight for hours can put pregnant women at risk for headaches. Panadol and paracetamol are safe to use for headaches and all types of pain while pregnant.

Type of clothing
No tight clothing. Thongs, which are common around Carnival time, should not be worn for a prolonged period of time. This can put you at risk for bacterial and yeast infections, as well as irritation to the vulva and chafing. Try to choose a costume that is not heavy and gives you more coverage. When you are pregnant, you are more at risk for injury since your balance is off during this time. Pick a costume you can control.

Shoes
No high heels. Flats and flat boots are fine, but try getting one bigger than your natural foot size. You would be on your feet a lot and they can swell during the day, so having a bigger size would make you more comfortable.

Sanitise
Walk with hand sanitiser.

Water
Drink a lot of water to prevent dehydration.

According to the US website consumerreports.org, everyone should use sunscreen when heading out in the sun, but pregnant women might want to choose ones that don’t contain retinyl palmitate, an ingredient that could possibly increase the risk of birth defects. They noted when checking the labels, the ingredient is sometimes spelled retinol palmitate.
According to Dr Kalloo, if a woman has had a miscarriage, there is no need to panic because there is a 90 per cent chance of having a full-term pregnancy in the future.

Re: Pregnant and playing MAS

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 26th, 2012, 8:29 am

I don't think it's a black and white answer. Depends on several things like how far along the woman is. Women are pretty resilient. More than most men realize. Month 8 and 9? I'd say nah. But who knows for the months before.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 26th, 2012, 8:32 am

Ent Wendy Fitzwilliam do it dan. And she come out fine.

Postby RBphoto » January 26th, 2012, 8:35 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Ent Wendy Fitzwilliam do it dan. And she come out fine.

She is hardly a moral role model.

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2012, 9:27 am

crossdrilled wrote:

If your role model is the waif type who needs help to stand when breeze blowing, keep your prejudice private, and bat in your crease.
The women I know, and come from are a resilient bunch, and while chivalry isnt dead, pregnancy is not a form of illness.

What are your views on sex during pregnancy? would you / have you?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 26th, 2012, 9:46 am

lots of women run and jog during pregnancy.
http://www.runningskirts.com/PregnancyFitness.html
they don't seem to think they are in a "delicate state of health"

Postby bushwakka » January 26th, 2012, 10:01 am

depends on if they are consuming alcohol etc etc

dont tell me cuz they gone an play mas an sumbody throw dem to the ground that they shud be held responsible for putting themselves in a dangerous environment

light wining an gyrating shud be fine....after all is exercise is it not?

Postby Trini Hookah » January 26th, 2012, 10:02 am

Baby hadda jump up too. :|

Postby AllTrac » January 26th, 2012, 10:07 am

crossdrilled wrote:

If your role model is the waif type who needs help to stand when breeze blowing, keep your prejudice private, and bat in your crease.
The women I know, and come from are a resilient bunch, and while chivalry isnt dead, pregnancy is not a form of illness.

Dear brethren, after analyzing your remarks, I have come to the termination that sadly there is some profound incineration in your thorax. My findings begs the question,
You livid comrade?

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2012, 10:12 am

If your analysis leads to that conclusion, methinks the goodly doctor is diagnosing his own symptoms.

Postby A172 » January 26th, 2012, 10:21 am

Alltrac, ROFL!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » January 26th, 2012, 10:34 am

CALL KAMALA!!!!!! LEH WE LOCK DOWN D COUNTRY........
world done gonna end later this year, so this year for sure we can see ah whole set ah carnival children in september, then ontop of that when people people realise 2012 was a hoax, we gonna have a next batch of mishap children in aug 2013.....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 26th, 2012, 10:37 am

AllTrac wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

Dear brethren, after analyzing your remarks, I have come to the termination that sadly there is some profound incineration in your thorax. My findings begs the question,
You livid comrade?

d phoq :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » January 26th, 2012, 10:43 am

shaq090 wrote:so this year for sure we can see ah whole set ah carnival children in september

Oho, you were out in 8 months then? :|

And how is this occurrence different from any other year? :|

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » January 26th, 2012, 11:00 am

vrampersad14 wrote:
shaq090 wrote:so this year for sure we can see ah whole set ah carnival children in september

Oho, you were out in 8 months then? :|

And how is this occurrence different from any other year? :|

damm counted this month by mistake, but there will be more kid this year tho, alcohol + probly might be last year = ..... the obvious

Postby RBphoto » January 26th, 2012, 11:10 am

When I say delicate state of health, I do not mean that they have a disease. I mean thet they are putting themselves at RISK. The feotus is a fragile thing, regardless if the mother can run a marathon. I did not say exercise should be excluded.

Exercise is good during pregnancy!!! Just as important as a ballanced healthy diet. My wife only put on 12 pounds for the pregnacy because she lost some fat from exercise and proper diet... in the early stages my wife and I jogged as usual, same pace. She still used dumbells and barbells for weight training, just did not push herself as hard as before, and gradually did less and less as pregnancy progressed. I practice yoga regularly and introduced her to it during this time as well.... so no treating her like an egg and stay home and only eat.

By the way, every woman is different. Some women can work up until the day before delivery, some need strict bed rest after the first month in order to have a normal pregnancy. Everyone has to check their OBGYN to see where their status falls.

The concerns I have are:

1) The belly getting a lash
2) Dehydration/ heat stroke etc
3) IF there is a medical emergency, how being in the middle of a throng of people can affect evacuation
4) Some costumes have relative heavy props.... they can be in for more strain than they anticipate.
5) The propensity for some to drink alcohol
6) Trips and falls... happens to the best of us.

Note, I did not say ban preggers from carnival..... that is a personal decision. I am just saying that even after weighing all the doctor's advice and taking precautions... you are still putting your child at risk. You should have to deal with the conequences if anything goes wrong.

Postby TRAE » January 26th, 2012, 11:19 am

thats the issue with these people in trinidad--- party without thinking

Postby black start » January 26th, 2012, 11:45 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

You livid comrade?

d phoq :lol: :lol: :lol:

my thoughts exactly :shock:

Postby rfari » January 26th, 2012, 12:25 pm

one of my main concerns would be the loud music affecting the unborn but they old enough to geh breed and if it THAT important to them to play mas then go ahead yes

Postby RBphoto » January 26th, 2012, 12:46 pm

rfari wrote:one of my main concerns would be the loud music affecting the unborn but they old enough to geh breed and if it THAT important to them to play mas then go ahead yes

I think people are missing my point... I don't think anyone should be made to stay home form carnival.... their body.. their right. I am talking about taking responsibility if something goes wrong.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » January 26th, 2012, 1:04 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:lots of women run and jog during pregnancy.
http://www.runningskirts.com/PregnancyFitness.html
they don't seem to think they are in a "delicate state of health"

light exercise and being in a situation where there is alcohol and violence is highly possible is two completely different things

Driven

Postby Driven » January 26th, 2012, 1:26 pm

too much risk for too little reward

Postby rfari » January 26th, 2012, 1:34 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
rfari wrote:one of my main concerns would be the loud music affecting the unborn but they old enough to geh breed and if it THAT important to them to play mas then go ahead yes

I think people are missing my point... I don't think anyone should be made to stay home form carnival.... their body.. their right. I am talking about taking responsibility if something goes wrong.

That was just my failed attempt at sarcasm. Just certain things should be obvious to adults but the priorities are all messed up. Particularly in trinidad. I agree with ur points so far.

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2012, 1:58 pm

Natural selection is natural.
i see nothing wrong with a pregnant chick coming out.
But you have to / must to, and something happen, it's better that way.

Postby pioneer » January 26th, 2012, 4:40 pm

nun wrong wid dat...she cya geh pregnant twice

win-win situation if you ask me

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 26th, 2012, 5:30 pm

pioneer wrote:nun wrong wid dat...she cya geh pregnant twice

win-win situation if you ask me

Postby Rooki3 » January 27th, 2012, 12:25 pm

AllTrac wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

You livid comrade?

Postby stev » January 27th, 2012, 1:31 pm

so people have to play mas? there is carnival next year unno.

Postby TRAE » January 27th, 2012, 2:34 pm

sh!t happens

Postby BrotherHood » January 27th, 2012, 3:09 pm

Go out to carnival at your own risk. If something unfortunate happens, deals with it!!!