looking for an i.t job!

binary132

looking for an i.t job!

Postby binary132 » October 3rd, 2013, 5:09 pm

deteled
Last edited by binary132 on October 7th, 2013, 10:10 am, edited 5 times in total.

Centric

Re: looking for an i.t job!

Postby Centric » October 3rd, 2013, 6:01 pm

Got papers to prove that mayne? Btw MS Office is up to 2013. Better get familiar because they gonna roll out that software in ministries soon. Impressive skills tho.

NicholasM.

Postby NicholasM. » October 3rd, 2013, 6:11 pm

Nice Skills. Hope You Get Tru Bro.

Centric

Postby Centric » October 3rd, 2013, 6:27 pm

Don't forget to post a contact number!

Oh wait..too late

Postby DFC » October 3rd, 2013, 7:14 pm

I want help in cracking an excel password. I tried 20+ programs and almost every type of trick there is.

Can u do it?

binary132

Postby binary132 » October 3rd, 2013, 7:40 pm

thanks for the comments....and yes DFC i can do it..

Postby skylinechild » October 3rd, 2013, 8:56 pm

check Caribbean jobs online they had a few vacancies recently...OP why not just summarise and say you have A+ and done.?? good luck..

binary132

Postby binary132 » October 3rd, 2013, 9:44 pm

BUMP!

i am doing my a+, and network + course right now.....my lecturer told me, that this class is tooo slow for me, because of the experience i have!

binary132

Postby binary132 » October 4th, 2013, 7:30 pm

BUMP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 5th, 2013, 3:29 pm

basically ur in the bunch with the rest of (OMGIKNOWHOWTOOPENAPCANDBASICTROUBLESHOOT,MABEICANGETAAWESOMEJOB) as the rest of people advising the IT joob seekers these days, basic A+, N+ aint cutting it these days, its awesome that ur starting somewhere but seek further education like a AAS or Bsc in computers, IT companies are suckers for people perusing those qualifications, what better way to hook them in and pay them lesser than someone with the actual thing... but yuh must be competent tho! btw try CCNA and you'll be orn like corn

binary132

Postby binary132 » October 5th, 2013, 6:27 pm

typical
Last edited by binary132 on October 7th, 2013, 10:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

binary132

Postby binary132 » October 5th, 2013, 6:35 pm

Cisco Certified Network Associate Routing & Switching is boring by the way. but i kinda like it....
Last edited by binary132 on October 7th, 2013, 10:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 5th, 2013, 9:05 pm

binary132 wrote:Cisco Certified Network Associate Routing & Switching is boring by the way.

ok mang, try ojt..... but wait, basic troubleshooting is too lowclass for you..... JTA hiring... no need to troubleshoot, just cash/pack and if system fails call in the big boys.... btw the big boy just gonna TROUBLESHOOT, fix in >20mins and be paid your monthly salary.... justsayingmang.....

binary132

Postby binary132 » October 5th, 2013, 11:09 pm

SAD.....shaq090. humm....lemme see, it look like u have nothing to do, just running through post after post...with ah bad vibz...telling people nonsense, just to make them feel bad...so u can feel happy. anyhow, that means...GET A LIFE! If u have no good advice to help me...do not post here or OP that is me, will just delete u comment.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » October 5th, 2013, 11:58 pm

Not to bash u or anything but everything u listed there is pretty basic a+ and n+ stuff any company expects of a technician. But good luck with tje job hunting tho.keep sending out resumes something will pop up .

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 6th, 2013, 8:04 am

ok mang...... gl btw....hope u get something tho......

Centric

Postby Centric » October 6th, 2013, 9:10 am

I have A+ and lots of certificates under networking (Net+, CCNA, MCSE, VMWare, CCNP, CCDA etc)...went to an interview for an IT position and one of the interviewers asked me to describe an orange to a blind person. That question alone was the high point of the entire interview. The only reason I didn't get through is because I didn't have a car at the time. So, are certificates really THAT necessary?

urabus

Postby urabus » October 6th, 2013, 9:23 am

don't take on some of these (waste of time) comments

at least you're trying to 1) educate yourself and 2) seek employment - which I know is quite tough especially if u have no contacts

try OJT if u're under 35
I also know the Min of Lab has a national employment service being offered where you submit your resume online http://nes.gov.tt/
check the daily newspapers

good luck with ur studies n finding a job

assassin

Postby assassin » October 6th, 2013, 9:48 am

Ojt really is not a bad starting point if u wanna earn a salary while studying

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » October 6th, 2013, 10:05 am

Im not in IT and i dont pretend to know it all cuz thats not my field. but i do have some friends who are IT techs and they maintain that short courses and experience are much more helpful in getting a job than an IT degree. A+, Net+, Cisco, etc.

I'm sure having the degree would help. I'm just saying if two job applicants apply for the same job, one with a degree and no exp., the other with no degree but has exp, short courses, the latter will probably get the job.

urabus

Postby urabus » October 6th, 2013, 11:12 am

It depends Kevinknr, the tech support posts, help desk posts and other junior posts wont require the degree, but the senior positions like systems analyst, engineers, database admin, network admins etc.....those we look for the degrees

So i wud definitely recommend going for the degree eventually

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 6th, 2013, 11:15 am

kevinknr wrote:Im not in IT and i dont pretend to know it all cuz thats not my field. but i do have some friends who are IT techs and they maintain that short courses and experience are much more helpful in getting a job than an IT degree. A+, Net+, Cisco, etc.

I'm sure having the degree would help. I'm just saying if two job applicants apply for the same job, one with a degree and no exp., the other with no degree but has exp, short courses, the latter will probably get the job.

so y u think that all people wit degrees have no experience? in the world of music there is a saying, there is a right way, a wrong way and your way...... how would you know the right way if all your experience is backyard computer repairs? education has a major play..... degree just shows that u are willing to go the extra mile to learn! employers are suckers for people who love what they do!

binary132

Postby binary132 » October 6th, 2013, 6:13 pm

thank u all for the advices in helping me get a job. I am still trying to get something to help me with my studies. i am going to update this post with all my skills etc. God bless.

binary132

Postby binary132 » October 6th, 2013, 8:52 pm

BUMP@@@@@@@@

binary132

Postby binary132 » October 7th, 2013, 9:54 am

BUMP!!!!

ragzinc

Postby ragzinc » October 7th, 2013, 10:03 am

I'm actually hiring - but to see a post like this -i'll pass

im pretty sure no one will hire you....

binary132 wrote:SAD.....shaq090. humm....lemme see, it look like u have nothing to do, just running through post after post...with ah bad vibz...telling people nonsense, just to make them feel bad...so u can feel happy. anyhow, that means...GET A LIFE! If u have no good advice to help me...do not post here or OP that is me, will just delete u comment.

what shaq actually said is true - most 15 years olds have what your entire OP stated

hell i did A+ and network+ at 16.....

binary132

Postby binary132 » October 7th, 2013, 10:06 am

wow ragzinc wow.....thats good....

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 7th, 2013, 1:54 pm

Strange thing is companies play you. They want your experience but don't want to hire you because you have no certs/papers. You have papers but no experience.
I sat home for two years after doing A+ until I got a job with no experience. Almost was on the verge of going to work for free to get experience.