wtk: tiling

optimus11

wtk: tiling

Postby optimus11 » November 22nd, 2012, 2:52 pm

whats the average price a good tileman would charge per square foot?

zoelikescheese

Re: wtk: tiling

Postby zoelikescheese » November 22nd, 2012, 3:17 pm

call 7765178

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 22nd, 2012, 4:06 pm

depends if the tile has pattern as well

optimus11

Postby optimus11 » November 22nd, 2012, 4:33 pm

ok lets say its a downstairs floor 20' x 20' recently cast. no furniture to move, no cupboards just big open space. plain ceramic tiles. only cutting would be by the walls

Postby skylinechild » November 22nd, 2012, 5:52 pm

ADONI wrote:depends if the tile has pattern as well

what??? first time i heard that there's an additional charge to lay down patterned tiles.
i know theres an additional charge if the tile has to be installed on the tip- like a diamond due to additional cutting etc etc but WRT to tile pattern.....next thing man might charge more to install blue tiles than red ones.... :lol:

air wick

Postby air wick » November 22nd, 2012, 6:18 pm

DIY buy a good electronic tile cutter and you good to go.

Postby maj. tom » November 22nd, 2012, 6:24 pm

6 to 7 dollars a square foot for labor alone. Thinset is about 48 dollars for a bag of 50 lbs. Big tiles take more thinset thickness and it depends on if the foundation is even.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » November 22nd, 2012, 6:27 pm

skylinechild wrote:

what??? first time i heard that there's an additional charge to lay down patterned tiles.
i know theres an additional charge if the tile has to be installed on the tip- like a diamond due to additional cutting etc etc but WRT to tile pattern.....next thing man might charge more to install blue tiles than red ones.... :lol:

yes apparently to follow the pattern takes a level of intelligence so hence you need to pay more :?

There is an arrow under the tile to keep the pattern ...
all you have to do is keep the arrow in the same direction and you good to go but tile men claim that it technical so ... :drinking:

optimus11

Postby optimus11 » November 22nd, 2012, 6:27 pm

maj. tom wrote:6 to 7 dollars a square foot for labor alone. Thinset is about 48 dollars for a bag of 50 lbs. Big tiles take more thinset thickness and it depends on if the foundation is even.

a professional tileman told me 10 - 12 dollars/sq ft :shock:

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » November 22nd, 2012, 6:49 pm

maj. tom wrote:6 to 7 dollars a square foot for labor alone. Thinset is about 48 dollars for a bag of 50 lbs. Big tiles take more thinset thickness and it depends on if the foundation is even.

$48 a bag of thinset??

thats robbery...most places are $39-$40 VI
once the floor is level you will only need 10 bags of thinset & 2 bags of grout.
50lbs bag usually covers 40 sq.ft.
grout is 250 sq ft. for 25lbs bag..using an avg of 4mm spacing.

but correct on the price of the tileman..$5-$7 is the going price now..
anything less than $5..RUNNN! unless u know someone personally who can vouch for that tileman..jus stay far from anyone charging too cheap..

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » November 22nd, 2012, 7:23 pm

Tile Expression Ltd. wrote:

$48 a bag of thinset??

once the floor is level you will only need 10 bags of thinset & 2 bags of grout.

anything less than $5..RUNNN! unless u know someone personally who can vouch for that tileman..jus stay far from anyone charging too cheap..

Bought my tiles here , the quality was real good though I must say...

optimus11

Postby optimus11 » November 22nd, 2012, 7:36 pm

$48 a bag of thinset??

^^this was very helpful. thanks!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 22nd, 2012, 7:54 pm

ppl does figure tile laying does be easy especially when u watch workmen do it on HGTV :lol: but when u do it in real life its hard back breaking boring work , did my store myself yrs ago so i know how it is

some ppl does bawl oh gad so much $ to lay down tile but them good tile men deserve their wages ...

Postby rspann » November 22nd, 2012, 7:58 pm

Tile expressions have a real good selection at excellent prices.Also ask him about Gregory,one of the best tilemen.

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » November 22nd, 2012, 9:11 pm

rspann wrote:Tile expressions have a real good selection at excellent prices.Also ask him about Gregory,one of the best tilemen.

thanks man!!

yes we have over 300 models in stock ceramic & porcelain.

However we tend not to recommend too many tile men..
i can only recommend a handful of guys who i know personally

Postby skylinechild » November 22nd, 2012, 11:27 pm

cherrypopper wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

yes apparently to follow the pattern takes a level of intelligence so hence you need to pay more :?

There is an arrow under the tile to keep the pattern ...
all you have to do is keep the arrow in the same direction and you good to go but tile men claim that it technical so ... :drinking:

but yet still men cant even lay tiles on edge to create a diamond pattern.....far less for followin an arrow

a professional tileman told me 10 - 12 dollars/sq ft :shock:[/quote]
now remember a square foot is 12 inches X 12 inches - if i'm correct....suppose youre using 12 inch tiles (12X12) essentially he charging you $12 per tile.....in this case i work them like animals small small tile and a HUGE area to tile....yuh want to buss price...take wuk... :lol: :lol:

some ppl does bawl oh gad so much $ to lay down tile but them good tile men deserve their wages ...[/quote] true but some of them are quacks...all they know is $$$.
they tiling and the tile bent....not level and thinset not applied correctly....therefore the tile sounds hollow and cracks...

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » November 23rd, 2012, 12:12 am

^^^ not only that..sometimes they leave air pockets in the between the tiles and thinset..this will eventually cause your tiles to pop out one by one...

this happens when guys don't mix the thinset properly..

Postby MG Man » November 23rd, 2012, 1:21 pm

what's the proper way to mix thinset?

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » November 26th, 2012, 1:36 pm

the info provided so far is spot on. A good tileman normally charges 7-8 dollars a tile and there NOT suppose to charge for pattern, what crazy man people we have in trini...I as teh employer have to pay extra for your lack of skill? utter madness!

@MG Man, the packaging normally has mixing instructions...I have seen thinset mixed without any measurements, they just look a good consistency but this can work either way. According to someone I spoke to already, you mix the thinset until it gets creamy or buttery (this is the consistency you want). He also said to take your tile trowel and rake the thinset, the ridges should stand up and not slump back down. However, this is not rocket science and if you are not mixing the quantity as per the manufacturers recommendations, a little maths can help you along the way to achieving proper consistency and strength.

Postby MG Man » November 26th, 2012, 1:38 pm

thanks man
I gonna try my hand at tiling soon..........hopefully it won't be as bad as the wall I put up a while back :P

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 26th, 2012, 3:40 pm

See they use this attachment 2 ah drill for mixing in a bucket
Thinset mixer.jpg
Thinset mixer.jpg (37.77 KiB) Viewed 7260 times

moving

Postby moving » November 26th, 2012, 4:07 pm

that attachment is the best thing ever.. mixing cement like a boss in no timeeee

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » November 26th, 2012, 4:46 pm

Bought Some Tiles From Tile Expression Today.... Was Very Reasonable And Trust Me They Have LOTS To Choose From... :)

Guy That Building My House Doing Tiling One Time He Said Around $5 - $10 Per Sq Foot Professionals Usually Charge...

Postby pugboy » November 26th, 2012, 4:51 pm

anybody could say they are a tileman and buss price, it is hard work

you should check their prior work for level tiles,
straightness, kept grade of floor, proper grout application

we hired somebody to tile a bathroom the other day
I came after he was finished and saw he finished the walls with a narrow piece
he couldn't understand when I tried to explain to him that he could have started with half of the bigger piece so it would have same piece on both sides instead of a 1/2" piece on the end.....
he said he always starts a wall with a full tile

they shouldn't mix too much thinset either, it sets fast so the common practice of adding water to the bucket to keep it smooth is wrong as it has already set with the concrete chemical reaction

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » November 26th, 2012, 6:11 pm

Geez, it looks like dem local tile men does bring their stupidness to America too. The Trini man that tile one of my bathrooms over the weekend charged more for pattern tiles. He say he talking "2 days" so I told him to go ahead. The man start on Tuesday and was supposed to be done by Wednesday night so guest could use that bathroom on Thursday (thanksgiving). Guess what? He finally finished the "2 day" job today :lol:
Also, it's a good thing I was checking up on him because he facked up a few tiles & had to dig them out :lol: I think the best line he hit me was "boi, I eh cater to do all this extra wok nah".. He must of said that like 10 times, but fack he! He got exactly what he quoted me when he first saw the job.
[/coolstorybro]

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 26th, 2012, 10:02 pm

have a tile man tiling my two bathrooms......we on day 5 and he halfway there....wtf....good thing he workin on a job.....but he is pissed that the plumber already installed the pedestal and toilets without allowing for the tiles to go down first.......
Last edited by *$kїđž!™ on November 26th, 2012, 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » November 26th, 2012, 10:08 pm

^^ thas joke a tile man came to tile my floor and for a whole day put down 3 tiles and in the evening telling me his back hurtin.

Postby turbosingh » November 27th, 2012, 6:36 am

:lol: :lol: Yuh get robbed blind!

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » November 27th, 2012, 11:18 pm

-Roach- wrote:Bought Some Tiles From Tile Expression Today.... Was Very Reasonable And Trust Me They Have LOTS To Choose From... :)

thanks

W2J

Postby W2J » November 28th, 2012, 8:36 am

$48 a bag of thinset??

where all of you coming up with those prices? Micro Milling white porcelain thin set is around $95.00 a bag. Labour price per sq ft is also off i.e if you want somebody good and your line straight.