The Religion Discussion

QG

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - Election Results

Postby QG » July 4th, 2010, 1:29 am

Blink playing up these days...getting slow speed and alot of cancelled web pages! I had to leave the pc for a week :lol:

Yes back on topic...Manning caused his own demised!
A christian must never put a human being (obeah lady :lol:) before God! Manning did that. There is nothing wrong with a spiritual advisor, but when you get hooked on that and can't even call upon God himself for guidance, THEN YOU ARE SIMPLY SHOWING GOD THAT SHE IS GREATER THAN GOD HIMSELF!

d spike

Postby d spike » July 4th, 2010, 8:31 am

You know what I have found to be rather alarming? That there are people who will agree that each of us is unique... they will state that everyone is quite different... they will denounce organized religion for lumping humanity together... expound on the virtue of personal interpretation of scriptures... prate on about having Jesus as your personal saviour, and the importance of having a personal relationship with him...

...and then turn around and tell you that their perspective is THE right one... their interpretation of a book combined of many books, written by many different people from many different walks of life, spanning centuries, from differing cultures, different languages each with its own idioms, translated through different languages - sometimes by amateur translators who didn't fully understand the lingo - full of conflicting ideals and concepts, is THE proper interpretation...

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » July 4th, 2010, 9:32 am

d spike thats why you pray for enlightenment and why we meditate on scripture.. so god can reveal to you what he wants you to know and understand so you get further information on the topic..
the bible is not a textbook.. its a guide..

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 4th, 2010, 12:49 pm

d spike wrote:You know what I have found to be rather alarming? That there are people who will agree that each of us is unique... they will state that everyone is quite different... very true they will denounce organized religion for lumping humanity together...because organized religion inserts their tradition and personal thoughts and seeks to govern other people by it globally expound on the virtue of personal interpretation of scriptures... prate on about having Jesus as your personal saviour, and the importance of having a personal relationship with him...

...and then turn around and tell you that their perspective is THE right one... their interpretation of a book combined of many books, written by many different people from many different walks of life, spanning centuries, from differing cultures, different languages each with its own idioms, translated through different languages - sometimes by amateur translators who didn't fully understand the lingo - full of conflicting ideals and concepts, is THE proper interpretation...you see you forget a very important part here "INSPIRED BY GOD"if you submit to the holy spirit and not lean on to your own understanding, what ever he teaches you is always right ,He is never wrong
http://www.carm.org
The Bible was written by about 40 men in about 1600 years, dating from 1500 B.C. to about 100 A.D. These men wrote as they were moved by the Holy spirit (2 Pet. 1:21). They wrote not in words of human wisdom but in words taught by the Holy Spirit (1 Cor. 2:13).
so if the Holy spirit is the author, who do you think will be the revealer ? .......Only the Holy spirit and if you think you are capable of understanding it on your own , you will be on your own because God requires that you be humble and to be humble is to accept that you are totally Dependant on God and not on your own capabilities
D spike you're always advising people to "Find a theologian who ascribes to your brand of christianity, and follow his work"
but the best advise is to humble oneself to God and submit to the Holy spirit for He is the true teacher, not man.

d spike

Postby d spike » July 4th, 2010, 3:23 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:d spike thats why you pray for enlightenment and why we meditate on scripture.. so god can reveal to you what he wants you to know and understand so you get further information on the topic..
the bible is not a textbook.. its a guide..

Yes, the bible isn't a manual on how to do things. It (as is all scripture) is meant to guide you in how you should live your life. Values, not a series of instructions.
If only the more presumptuous among us would realise this... The Fundamentalist looks for the easy way out... the one answer/formula that will solve everything... Looking for the Yellow Brick Road that no one else has found before. This suits their purpose: by following the bible literally, " you're bound to be doing the right thing"; and they can claim "they found the Way", which strokes their collective egos just right - that maddening attempt at logic they have where "If you all are wrong, then we MUST be right - and so, as we are right, that also proves that you all are wrong."
If one is going to follow everything stated in the bible literally, then one is going to run into problems due to seemingly conflicting/contradictory statements - simply due to multiple translations, differing points of view of different authors who wrote at different times...

Seriously, you wonder exactly what these "new" christians think is meant by 'inspired writings' and 'revealed truth'? 'Inspired' means 'guided by the spirit of God'. Writings that are inspired are full of moral teachings, advice, instruction and guidance... all good, but more than just a purely human effort of a human mind trying to guide others to goodness (at least, that's what was agreed on by those who decided these writings should be included in the big ring-binder we call the bible). Revealed truth is far different (but self-explanatory). These are inspired writings that contain material that the human condition couldn't engineer on its own... BUT STILL WRITTEN BY A HUMAN WHO HAS A CULTURE AND IDIOM THROUGH WHICH HE TRANSMITS HIS INFO (which he will put in terms that he uses, explain what he is trying to be aware of from his point of view).
The way many of these "born-again" type of christian talk, you could swear that de Boss put whoever it was into a trance or something, and when the guy wakes up, he finds reams of writing...
Scripture is writings that are "inspired by God"... not, "gimme dat pencil, minion, lemme write dat fuh yuh..."

d spike

Postby d spike » July 4th, 2010, 5:50 pm

megadoc1 wrote:D spike you're always advising people to "Find a theologian who ascribes to your brand of christianity, and follow his work"
but the best advise is to humble oneself to God and submit to the Holy spirit for He is the true teacher, not man.

Authoring inane rantings and cutting/pasting articles does not put you in a position to advise others - apart from how to rant inanely and on matters involving cutting and or pasting. :lol:

While the Holy Spirit may be the true teacher, it has become plainly obvious to many (especially those who read your posts) that there are some who think that any sound that rattles their empty brain-pan must be be clamouring of the Holy Spirit... it takes knowledge and experience acquired from those who know the difference between that of God's voice and that of one's own hunger for notice, to tell the difference.

The reason I always advise a fundamentalist to go study theology is because their "beliefs" can only hold sway if they refuse to accept certain logical truths - and within the study of theology, one comes to realise that many religious beliefs are based simply on logic (without denying faith), and with this comes the realisation that fundamentalism is full of illogic and (unfortunately) error. Nothing in this existence, except God (or whatever you call Him, or Her, or It - be it simply a belief that Right is better than Wrong) is absolute, "black or white".
The problem with fundamentalism is that it can only accept absolutes - and Christianity supposedly teaches that God accepts the human condition, whatever efforts on our part are made, are sanctified and made perfect by him.
So a fundamentalist christian is a contradiction - and in order for such a faith to exist, it must stress whatever scripture applies, while ignoring that which doesn't. Of course, they vehemently state that all scripture is to be accepted as it is, literally - even the parts that weren't written for such a purpose.

Megadoc1, you have made it abundantly clear that you are obviously one of a specific type of people where religion is concerned: the quasi-christian who, after a situation in life has left a deep impression, hysterically demands every one else to repent and be saved, without much - and sometimes any - real introspection, or consultation with a professional. Their concepts are highly coloured and often irrational, and they fixate on scriptural passages that highlight their blinkered focus, ignoring all others that point out the difficulties in adhering to their particular tenets.

I was never responding to your ability to quote scripture, but to your crassness. As I said before, I don't see the point of attempting discussion with someone who accuses me falsely, and then doesn't have the cojones to either explain himself or admit error.
You called me a liar, my young spud, and you have never since explained yourself, only repeated your baseless accusations - only further entrenching my point.

The fact remains that you CANNOT cope with intelligent rebuttal, far less being able to take part in intelligent dialogue - unintelligible diatribe is more your style.

Don't come and pretend now at being civil, and making pseudo-intelligent remarks. You may have put down your tambourine, but you haven't taken off your unstrapped straitjacket yet - you aren't fooling anyone.

You claim to follow a religion that was meant to promote love, peace and brotherhood... yet you have spewed falsehoods, inanity, prejudice, blindness, indecision and lack of thought in your posts. How is this supposed to help your claimed religion? You are just serving to frighten people away from it. You would serve your cause even better by just clamming up.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 4th, 2010, 8:45 pm

d spike wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:D spike you're always advising people to "Find a theologian who ascribes to your brand of christianity, and follow his work"

Authoring inane rantings and cutting/pasting articles does not put you in a position to advise others - apart from how to rant inanely and on matters involving cutting and or pasting. :lol: ok nah if you say so

While the Holy Spirit may be the true teacher, it has become plainly obvious to many (especially those who read your posts) that there are some who think that any sound that rattles their empty brain-pan must be be clamouring of the Holy Spirit... it takes knowledge and experience acquired from those who know the difference between that of God's voice and that of one's own hunger for notice, to tell the difference.It doesn't matter what many think because the Holy spirit is a gift to those who believes in Jesus and He is there to guide you into all truth .
because of Him you know lies when you see them

Megadoc1, you have made it abundantly clear that you are obviously one of a specific type of people where religion is concerned: the quasi-christian who, after a situation in life has left a deep impression, hysterically demands every one else to repent and be saved,really? the reason everyone else needs to repent and turn to christ it is because thats the right thing to do, it have nothing to do with me and without much - and sometimes any - real introspection, or consultation with a professional. here we Go againTheir concepts are highly coloured and often irrational, and they fixate on scriptural passages that highlight their blinkered focus, ignoring all others that point out the difficulties in adhering to their particular tenets.

I was never responding to your ability to quote scripture, but to your crassness. As I said before, I don't see the point of attempting discussion with someone who accuses me falsely, and then doesn't have the cojones to either explain himself or admit error.
You called me a liar, my young spud, and you have never since explained yourself, only repeated your baseless accusations - only further entrenching my point.
as long as you continue with what you are doing that is something you will have to live with

The fact remains that you CANNOT cope with intelligent rebuttal, far less being able to take part in intelligent dialogue - unintelligible diatribe is more your style.
again it is not about what I can do

Don't come and pretend now at being civil, and making pseudo-intelligent remarks. You may have put down your tambourine, but you haven't taken off your unstrapped straitjacket yet -you aren't fooling anyone. again I say it is not about me
and I do not intend to fool else I would do like you and not proclaim that jesus is lord

You claim to follow a religion that was meant to promote love, peace and brotherhood... yet you have spewed falsehoods,hold up .. saying that that Jesus is the only way to heaven is false? inanity, prejudice, blindness, indecision and lack of thought in your posts. How is this supposed to help your claimed religion? You are just serving to frighten people away from it.I am not trying to help religion nor do I care about it I am just speaking the truth about God
and anyone who use the term "frighten people away from God" only proves how much they don't know him
You would serve your cause even better by just clamming up.you should try clamming up because you are the one that is spewing falsehoods, indecision and in conclusions

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 5th, 2010, 12:08 am

d spike wrote:The reason I always advise a fundamentalist to go study theology is because their "beliefs" can only hold sway if they refuse to accept certain logical truths - and within the study of theology, one comes to realise that many religious beliefs are based simply on logic (without denying faith), and with this comes the realisation that fundamentalism is full of illogic and (unfortunately) error. wait wait wait are you so convinced that someone who have experience the power of God, based on His very word and trusted God and saw His written promises come to fruition is in error? now thats illogical
jesus said if I believe in Him I shall lay hands on the sick and they shall recover
I tried it and so it was, are you gonna play satan now and tell me it wasn't so? do you really think you can convince me otherwise?

Nothing in this existence, except God is absolute,
The problem with fundamentalism is that it can only accept absolutes
absolutes truth that is from God alone
- and Christianity supposedly teaches that God accepts the human condition, whatever efforts on our part are made, are sanctified and made perfect by him.
Christianity teaches that our sanctification, is solely dependent on what Jesus did for us
So a fundamentalist christian is a contradiction - this is non sense or another trick in your book. a fundamentalist Christian is someone who believes in the fundamentals of Christianity which are
1. The Bible is the inspired Word of God, without flaw in its original form.
2. Christ was born of a virgin.
3. The miracles of Christ are historical events.
4. Christ's Crucifixion is substitutionary atonement (He willingly accepted the judgment for our sins).
5. Bodily resurrection.
coming to think of it a fundamentalist Christian is one that contradicts you due to his beliefs and experience with God based on the bible alone

and in order for such a faith to exist, it must stress whatever scripture applies, while ignoring that which doesn't. Of course, they vehemently state that all scripture is to be accepted as it is, literally - even the parts that weren't written for such a purpose.

Postby buzz » July 5th, 2010, 7:41 am

this thread will die down by page 120

a new emo member would join and flail insults and around page 130 thread lock

heed my prophecy :evilbat:

Postby sMASH » July 5th, 2010, 10:05 am

mega, i think he means that u should study ur religion a bit more, and in conjunction with some one who actually has. ur religion comes from that text, and maybe some things u take literally are supposed to be figurative, and maybe some things which u take figuratively need to be taken literally.
he is not telling u to denounce ur religion. ( may be i am right, maybe i am wrong)

and i am telling u to study that text as well as another for comparison, and see which one brings u closer to what u want.

the devil rarely ever comes to u with horns, tail, fangs, and a pitchfork.

Postby Razkal » July 5th, 2010, 3:04 pm

if god is omniscient, he must already know how he is going to intervene to change the course of history using his omnipotence....but..that means he can't change his mind about his intervention, which means he is not omnipotent....

as karen owens was referred to in Dawkin's The God Delusion:

Can omniscient God, who
Knows the future, find
The omniptence to
Change his future mind?

i find this paradox amusing...

axe

Postby axe » July 5th, 2010, 10:28 pm

This thread often worries me...I mean God is not mocked, whatever a man soweth that he shall reap. We are judged based on every word that we spew from our mouths even those that are transcribed on this thread. Some of you find it funny to make derogatory statements while others like to expound their pseudo-intellect. Careful you reap the whirlwind.

d spike

Postby d spike » July 6th, 2010, 6:55 am

axe wrote:This thread often worries me...I mean God is not mocked, whatever a man soweth that he shall reap. We are judged based on every word that we spew from our mouths even those that are transcribed on this thread. Some of you find it funny to make derogatory statements while others like to expound their pseudo-intellect. Careful you reap the whirlwind.

Like this fellow I quoted, I too have nothing to say at this point. :lol:

Postby Chimera » July 6th, 2010, 7:00 am

There was a program on direct tv on sunday, "Jesus in India" only got to see a few mins of it though, but the part I caught was that Jesus did not die on the cross, a modern surgeon said that if he was nailed at the hands and feet, and then mounted upright on a cross, he would have bled very slowly and he could have survived for over 6-12 hours in that position.

Program went on to say that he was taken down from the cross and nursed back to health by his disciples using myrrh and aloe, and as if he was seen alive, he would still be a wanted man so he started his journey to India.

Postby sMASH » July 6th, 2010, 8:05 am

is dat jesus of nazareth or jesus bar-abbas

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 8th, 2010, 11:09 pm

hey guys, check out this documentary, it is named "furious love" ,
I will post more clips as soon as they are uploaded
enjoy

Last edited by megadoc1 on July 9th, 2010, 1:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 8th, 2010, 11:43 pm

^ cool

was just watching this on TNT myself

Postby sMASH » July 10th, 2010, 9:15 am

second vid:
in order to gain salvation in this world the indonesians went by themselves, mutilated their bodies then visited with demons... in order that they be saved in this world immediately
according to the popular version of christianity, jesus supposedly went to pray by himself, then got his body mutilated by the romans, then died and went to hell, where the demons are.

third vid:
at 7:10 the woman sums up what understanding of the trinity there really is. she had gone through such turmoil that she should have a good understanding of a simple concept

then there is the removal of some spirits within and then the invocation of another to reside

we are taught that god is closer to us than ur jugular vein, we do not need another spirit close to us, occupying our body, other than us our selves.

then she also said that the devil showed up, and was like a spanish prince, really alluring. if the devil can have so many visual forms, how can u be sure what u came across is not the devil? we walk by faith not by sight.

'thou shall have no other god but me'- if he convinces u to worship something other than the singular unitary god, u are not worshiping god.

seems like 6 of one or half dozen of the other to me

pt 4:
those guys walking round not having success, says that they not doing it right. is like the feel the power of god is a power like in one of them children cartoons like naruto, where the need to master it or learn how to channel it. is as if they are the controllers and god is the controlled.

'who god leads on the right path, no one can lead astray, and who he leads astray no one can lead on the right path' to me, it seems foolish that they think that they can convert people and save them.

pt5: one thing i like is that the woman actually creating an avenue for the girls out of the crap

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 10th, 2010, 5:08 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 10th, 2010, 9:57 pm

^ how is that different from Benny Hinn?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 11th, 2010, 1:45 am

no one says it have to be different but even if it is
one thing remains the same .....Jesus Christ is lord and Saviour, king of kings
BTW whats wrong with Benny Hinn ?

Postby MG Man » July 11th, 2010, 2:04 am

axe wrote:This thread often worries me...I mean God is not mocked, whatever a man soweth that he shall reap. We are judged based on every word that we spew from our mouths even those that are transcribed on this thread. Some of you find it funny to make derogatory statements while others like to expound their pseudo-intellect. Careful you reap the whirlwind.

you fear your god, dont you

Postby buzz » July 11th, 2010, 9:42 am

buzz wrote:this thread will die down by page 120

a new emo member would join and flail insults and around page 130 thread lock

heed my prophecy :evilbat:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 12th, 2010, 12:37 am

megadoc1 wrote:no one says it have to be different but even if it is

I didnt say anything was wrong with him; I asked how is that different from him.

but this is just more evidence that you extract what you want from what you read.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 12th, 2010, 2:13 am

megadoc1 wrote:no one says it have to be different but even if it is

I didnt say anything was wrong with him; I asked how is that different from him.

but this is just more evidence that you extract what you want from what you read.
yuh see you cannot compare one Christian to another you, compare them to the word of God,
so tell me, in those vids, how did you come up with Benny Hinn?
I think the most "logical" (a word use in here often ) question would be "how is this different from Jesus Christ ?" :D :D

Postby 16 cycles » July 12th, 2010, 6:47 am

The Divine Comedy (Italian: La Divina Commedia) is an epic poem written by Dante Alighieri between 1308 and his death in 1321. It is widely considered the preeminent work of Italian literature,[1] and is seen as one of the greatest works of world literature.[2] The poem's imaginative and allegorical vision of the Christian afterlife is a culmination of the medieval world-view as it had developed in the Western Church. It helped establish the Tuscan dialect in which it is written as the Italian standard.[3] It is divided into three parts, the Inferno, Purgatorio, and Paradiso.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Divine_Comedy

Interesting read....may not be defined as religious texts....

d spike

Postby d spike » July 12th, 2010, 9:52 am

megadoc1 wrote: yuh see you cannot compare one Christian to another you, compare them to the word of God,

Why not? Who says you can't? You do it all the time, judging who is a Satan-worshiper, who should shut-up...

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 12th, 2010, 6:38 pm

d spike wrote:
megadoc1 wrote: yuh see you cannot compare one Christian to another you, compare them to the word of God,

Why not? Who says you can't? You do it all the time, judging who is a Satan-worshiper, who should shut-up...
compare them to the word of God
:?

Postby Chimera » July 12th, 2010, 8:43 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
d spike wrote:

word of God written by who again?

Postby Razkal » July 13th, 2010, 2:10 am

megadoc1 wrote:
d spike wrote:

you sir, after 100+ pages, are clearly of unsound mind to retort to the same cyclical, illogical hootnanny! wtf man? are you even trying to make a valid point or learn something??