Is there a demand for UMTS 3G in Trinidad & Tobago?

Is there a demand for 3G UMTS in T&T?

YES
90%
NO
10%

Total votes: 80

mojosodope

Re: Is there a demand for UMTS 3G in Trinidad & Tobago?

Postby mojosodope » April 18th, 2011, 11:16 am

Bareback wrote:Why don't you go and demonstrate in front of TATT, maybe they might at least give you ah 5%.

I am not really sure where or even why many of you think that a company is mandated to invest hundreds of milions of dollars into a service simply because it is new or that you are angry that you cannot get it. Then you will not want to pay the price for it or you will find something else to complain about.

If the service is not what you want then leave that company! What's next you will want to plug in directly to the MCI fiber link?

You think any less progress is made by doing nothing and compensating for inadequate qualities of service? Man you don't know what you're saying they're so many people that would pay for the service if it was offered but that's it, its not even offered

AND you don't have any options to leave the service as there are only two damn providers in the whole country and both of them don't offer anything more than the other. so chill with your sheit.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 18th, 2011, 11:44 am

If you do not understand economics or business you really should tone down a bit before you show others the limited extent of your knowledge. What I know about the telecom industry and the provision or lack thereof of 4G goes beyond any level of knowledge you could possible fathom.

I would save you insults for your mirror!

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 18th, 2011, 12:06 pm

Bareback wrote:If you do not understand economics or business you really should tone down a bit before you show others the limited extent of your knowledge. What I know about the telecom industry and the provision or lack thereof of 4G goes beyond any level of knowledge you could possible fathom.

Enlighten me because I didn't say anything about 4G I just emailed TATT asking if there were plans for real HSPA +

and if you know so much about the telecom industry feel free to let us know what you're talking about and shed some more light I would gladly defer to your expertise

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » April 19th, 2011, 8:21 pm

Just wanted to clear up some things here...

First of all I started the 3G thread over at TSTT Forum, but honestly that forum might as well be dead, with only 2 or 3 people active on it...

I've sent emails about 3G service in T&T months ago to both bmobile and TATT, and haven't received any response from either

bmobile and Digicel both offer true EDGE service (Class 10 @ 236.8 kbps), which is what their GSM data network runs on. It facilitates Blackberry Internet Service, and the data service which all our non-Blackberry smartphones run on (iPhone 4s, Nokia N8s, etc).

Regardless of the fact that bmobile themselves call this service (the $150/month postpaid unlimited package) GPRS, it is in fact EDGE. If it were only GPRS, the maximum download speeds attainable would be ~56 kbps, and I'm sure that many of you realise that on a good day, where the network isn't overloaded, you can actually get a max of ~240 kbps down. Or at least I do on my C7.

EDGE is technically known as a 2.75G network, as it falls in between 2.5G (GPRS = ~56 kbps) and 3G (UMTS = 384 kbps and HSPA 7.2 Mbit/Sec).

Currently HSPA networks are being upgraded support 21 Mbit/Sec, and this is known as 3.5G.

Hope that helps...

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 19th, 2011, 9:36 pm

jsm1985 wrote:Just wanted to clear up some things here...

First of all I started the 3G thread over at TSTT Forum, but honestly that forum might as well be dead, with only 2 or 3 people active on it...

I've sent emails about 3G service in T&T months ago to both bmobile and TATT, and haven't received any response from either

bmobile and Digicel both offer true EDGE service (Class 10 @ 236.8 kbps), which is what their GSM data network runs on. It facilitates Blackberry Internet Service, and the data service which all our non-Blackberry smartphones run on (iPhone 4s, Nokia N8s, etc).

Regardless of the fact that bmobile themselves call this service (the $150/month postpaid unlimited package) GPRS, it is in fact EDGE. If it were only GPRS, the maximum download speeds attainable would be ~56 kbps, and I'm sure that many of you realise that on a good day, where the network isn't overloaded, you can actually get a max of ~240 kbps down. Or at least I do on my C7.

EDGE is technically known as a 2.75G network, as it falls in between 2.5G (GPRS = ~56 kbps) and 3G (UMTS = 384 kbps and HSPA 7.2 Mbit/Sec).

Currently HSPA networks are being upgraded support 21 Mbit/Sec, and this is known as 3.5G.

Hope that helps...

I know HSPA networks are being upgraded but they're still not being upgraded to Evolved HSPA right?

and do you have any information if HSPA is being deployed here?

Smokey

Postby Smokey » April 19th, 2011, 10:00 pm

Bareback wrote:If you do not understand economics or business you really should tone down a bit before you show others the limited extent of your knowledge. What I know about the telecom industry and the provision or lack thereof of 4G goes beyond any level of knowledge you could possible fathom.

Again, another idiot. Please use your vast knowledge to defend why TSTT spend TT $300M+ on a WIMAX Network which after a year has hardly grown it's customer base.

Wouldn't that money have been better spent on deploying 3G which is FAR more in demand that the USB dongle only WIMAX?

Plus, TSTT's implementation of WIMAX is so sh*tty it's not even funny. I get higher speeds on my EVDO card versus my WIMAX dongle. TSTT says its due to the higher frequency (2.5GHz vs 850MHz) and that they'll need to put down more towers to cover my area. Problem is that aint happening any time soon.

3G on the other hand uses similar GSM Frequencies 850,1900 and 2100 which would have given me coverage.

UMTS (3G) Networks are being deployed through out the world using the latest HSPA+ release which offers 21mbits. I've heard the next generation HPSA (probably 3.9G) can do 168mbits.

Seems like TSTT made a fatal mistake and invested in BETAMAX when everyone already owns VHS.

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » April 19th, 2011, 10:11 pm

mojosodope wrote:

Hope that helps...

I know HSPA networks are being upgraded but they're still not being upgraded to Evolved HSPA right?

I'm not sure about exactly which networks worldwide are using HSPA+ or not.. in most instances Evolved HSPA (+) is whenever data rates are over 21 Mbit/s and over...

The first gen of HSPA is normally 7.2 Mbit/s - 14 Mbit/sec.

You can check where has HSPA+ here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Evolved_HSPA

I have no insider information on what 3G/4G networks are in the pipeline for Trinidad. All I know is that I can't deal with EDGE much longer :(

Funny enough, I just saw on page 22 of today's Express, that there is a full page teaser ad, with the words "My" and a red circle. I'm guessing this is a stylised version of "My Hotspot"

The footer reads "4G. Wireless. Personal Hotspot"

Very interesting indeed, and I hope it's not just another data only 4G solution. LTE or HSPA please! *keeps on dreaming*

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 19th, 2011, 10:20 pm

jsm1985 wrote:
mojosodope wrote:

Hope that helps...

I'm not sure about exactly which networks worldwide are using HSPA+ or not.. in most instances Evolved HSPA (+) is whenever data rates are over 21 Mbit/s and over...

The first gen of HSPA is normally 7.2 Mbit/s - 14 Mbit/sec.

You can check where has HSPA+ here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Evolved_HSPA

I have no insider information on what 3G/4G networks are in the pipeline for Trinidad. All I know is that I can't deal with EDGE much longer :(

Funny enough, I just saw on page 22 of today's Express, that there is a full page teaser ad, with the words "My" and a red circle. I'm guessing this is a stylised version of "My Hotspot"

The footer reads "4G. Wireless. Personal Hotspot"

Very interesting indeed, and I hope it's not just another data only 4G solution. LTE or HSPA please! *keeps on dreaming*

yeah I know right? can't wait to not wait for sheit to load on me phone.. :shock:

T-Mobile USA rolled out their HSPA + at 21 Mbps a while ago and I read all the wiki's long time ago lol.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 20th, 2011, 7:53 am

Smokey wrote:

Again, another idiot. Please use your vast knowledge to defend why TSTT spend TT $300M+ on a WIMAX Network which after a year has hardly grown it's customer base.

Wouldn't that money have been better spent on deploying 3G which is FAR more in demand that the USB dongle only WIMAX?

Plus, TSTT's implementation of WIMAX is so sh*tty it's not even funny. I get higher speeds on my EVDO card versus my WIMAX dongle. TSTT says its due to the higher frequency (2.5GHz vs 850MHz) and that they'll need to put down more towers to cover my area. Problem is that aint happening any time soon.

3G on the other hand uses similar GSM Frequencies 850,1900 and 2100 which would have given me coverage.

UMTS (3G) Networks are being deployed through out the world using the latest HSPA+ release which offers 21mbits. I've heard the next generation HPSA (probably 3.9G) can do 168mbits.

Seems like TSTT made a fatal mistake and invested in BETAMAX when everyone already owns VHS.

Why you such a flecking h0m0??? You can't see I am saying it makes no sense to spend the f@cking money? Your idiocy and g@yness knows know end you dumb a$$ butt pirate!

Postby Stephon. » April 20th, 2011, 8:04 am

Smokey has a point though. Don't insult me but I'm just saying.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 20th, 2011, 9:00 am

Bareback's just trolling

Postby janfar » April 20th, 2011, 9:18 am

Trollers gonna troll...

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 20th, 2011, 11:01 am

janfar wrote:Trollers gonna troll...

:idea:

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » April 20th, 2011, 12:12 pm

Back on topic, apparently the teaser ad is about MiFi. *yawn*

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 20th, 2011, 1:23 pm

jsm1985 wrote:Back on topic, apparently the teaser ad is about MiFi. *yawn*

yeah i heard, smh, figures.

Smokey

Postby Smokey » April 20th, 2011, 1:46 pm

Bareback wrote:
Smokey wrote:

Why you such a flecking h0m0??? You can't see I am saying it makes no sense to spend the f@cking money? Your idiocy and g@yness knows know end you dumb a$$ butt pirate!

LOL what an intelligent response. And why can't they spend the f*cking money again?

Yea, i forgot us laymen aren't allowed to question the motives behind TSTT's decisions.

Also, i doubt you know half as much about 3G & 4G as me, and i don't even work in the industry.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 20th, 2011, 2:24 pm

Smokey wrote:
Bareback wrote:
Smokey wrote:

LOL what an intelligent response. And why can't they spend the f*cking money again?

Yea, i forgot us laymen aren't allowed to question the motives behind TSTT's decisions.

Also, i doubt you know half as much about 3G & 4G as me, and i don't even work in the industry.

Yeah he was talking sheit to me too I don't doubt that he has some knowledge but he's just coming off as a pompous ignorant ass. Whats the deal with this MiFi tho?

unimatrix001

Postby unimatrix001 » April 20th, 2011, 3:04 pm

LTE is in d pipes for this year... whether allyuh want to believe it or not

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 20th, 2011, 3:15 pm

unimatrix001 wrote:LTE is in d pipes for this year... whether allyuh want to believe it or not

lets say I do believe it...because you aren't the first I've heard it from and I've heard it from more sources on the TSTT forums etc... LTE doesn't make much sense as long as they don't provide backend support, and by that I mean for 3G.

*I'm not sure if they provide LTE they automatically cover the bands so we can get 3G on our current phones* If someone could clarify this..

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » April 20th, 2011, 8:46 pm

No, LTE is a whole other ball game from current 3G networks. If we were to get a LTE network, we would probably use the Americas band (700 MHz), which isn't a frequency that current 3G uses anyway.

I would love if all the people claiming that LTE is coming could just say at least the source of their information and any other info they might have heard... I'm pretty sure none of you signed any NDAs

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 20th, 2011, 9:08 pm

jsm1985 wrote:No, LTE is a whole other ball game from current 3G networks. If we were to get a LTE network, we would probably use the Americas band (700 MHz), which isn't a frequency that current 3G uses anyway.

I would love if all the people claiming that LTE is coming could just say at least the source of their information and any other info they might have heard... I'm pretty sure none of you signed any NDAs

well I know the U.S has 700 Mhz reserved for future UMTS and they use the 1900/850 right now for 3G.

LTE is actually is more like the first draft than current 4G as it doesn't comply with the IMT's standards for 4G.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3GPP_Long_Term_Evolution

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » April 20th, 2011, 11:17 pm

Well also T-Mobile's 3G uses the 1700MHz band, in addition to 850/1900 MHz by AT&T.

Yeah, LTE is technically called 3.9G. The true 4G incarnation will be LTE advanced.

unimatrix001

Postby unimatrix001 » April 20th, 2011, 11:20 pm

I jess glad i never buy no phone after meh 6230. wen da LTE come out, den i go buy a new phone

heshere2001

Postby heshere2001 » April 20th, 2011, 11:41 pm

unimatrix001 wrote:I jess glad i never buy no phone after meh 6230. if da LTE come out, den i go buy a new phone

K better

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 20th, 2011, 11:42 pm

unimatrix001 wrote:I jess glad i never buy no phone after meh 6230. wen da LTE come out, den i go buy a new phone

saw your same post on the tstt forum haha, I just hope whatever they do they do it right this time and provide the adequate amount of bandwidth and network quality to handle the ridiculous amount of users who would be interested in this service. If it has anything close to the ping you get with the current service the speed increase will barely count.

Smokey

Postby Smokey » April 22nd, 2011, 5:06 pm

unimatrix001 wrote:LTE is in d pipes for this year... whether allyuh want to believe it or not

Sadly it isn't in any pipeline.... both Digi & Bmobile are at least 2 years away for launching it. Trust me, their cores, and transmission networks aren't even close to ready.

jsm1985 wrote:Well also T-Mobile's 3G uses the 1700MHz band, in addition to 850/1900 MHz by AT&T.

Yeah, LTE is technically called 3.9G. The true 4G incarnation will be LTE advanced.

That's technically true, but it's not like the user experience will change very much.

The speed the end user receives depends on tonnes of other factors. One vendor with 3G HSPA+ using 40MHz of Spectrum will outstrip any LTE Advanced Network that's using only 10 MHz. Not to mention, ur signal strength, quality, users on the network......blah blah blah.

Postby M_2NR » April 22nd, 2011, 6:00 pm

So after 3 pages.. we getting 3G this year or not? :|

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 22nd, 2011, 6:04 pm

one bmobile in store rep tried telling me that they're currently in the process of upgrading the current 3G/4G network so it actually works with phones and that they would be rolling it out this year, hah I know reps usually aren't right but I for one hope they do get rid of WiMax and implement HSPA+. But I don't know how likely that is since the new hotspot they just rolled out with Blink clearly says WiMax on it, I don't know if it is capable of HSPA+ links, unlikely it has the chipset for that. :(

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 22nd, 2011, 6:05 pm

M_2NR wrote:So after 3 pages.. we getting 3G this year or not? :|

I would like to think so, but who knows they might actually come through and surprise us.....lol.

unimatrix001

Postby unimatrix001 » April 23rd, 2011, 8:11 pm

M_2NR wrote:So after 3 pages.. we getting 3G this year or not? :|

sadly not for phones.
Smokey wrote:

Sadly it isn't in any pipeline.... both Digi & Bmobile are at least 2 years away for launching it. Trust me, their cores, and transmission networks aren't even close to ready.

they may be 2 years away from launching it to the public...but dat doesnt mean it not in d pipes for this year