Re: All these guns

Postby UML » August 24th, 2010, 11:06 am

DOMA worried by military type of weapons found
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/DOM ... 56799.html

Story Created: Aug 24, 2010 at 12:54 AM ECT

Story Updated: Aug 24, 2010 at 12:54 AM ECT

PRESIDENT of the Downtown Owners and Merchants Association (DOMA), Gregory Aboud, says the alleged find of arms and ammunition at the home of former construction mogul Hafeez Karamath in Valsayn had raised "great" concerns within the business community.

In a media release yesterday, Aboud said serious crimes like murder and kidnapping take place with guns.

"The proliferation of guns is directly related to our worsening state of lawlessness," he said, adding that the incident was more disturbing because the type of weaponry allegedly found was normally used in military operations.

Aboud called for an urgent investigation into how the weapons got into the country.

"The implications of this episode go way beyond the questions of crime and could potentially become an issue of national security," he said.

As a means of stopping the influx of such illicit cargo in future, Aboud suggested screening and X-ray technology on in-bound cargo, barrels and containers at the country's ports of entry.

"We wish to emphasise that those who are bringing illegal guns into Trinidad and Tobago must also be caught and prosecuted," he said.

HAHAHAH Man complaining cause he fear competition....same reason they got rid of Dole Chadee and the rasta brothers from Savonetta (cant remember their name right now)

Postby Sky » August 24th, 2010, 11:32 am

Woulda been funny if a group of bandits tried to invade that Valsayn house tho...
PAAPCAARRNN!!!

Postby Chimera » August 24th, 2010, 12:02 pm

UML wrote:
HAHAHAH Man complaining cause he fear competition....same reason they got rid of Dole Chadee and the rasta brothers from Savonetta (cant remember their name right now)

R.I.P UML

Postby sMASH » August 24th, 2010, 12:08 pm

Cjruckus wrote:
rossi wrote:
UML wrote:I thought they would be fasting during the holy month?!! :?

what makes you think they are practicing Muslims?

Maybe the AK47s?
That would be my guess.

steups.... lol

Postby AllTrac » August 24th, 2010, 12:29 pm

UML wrote: Aboud said serious crimes like murder and kidnapping take place with guns.

Postby Rooki3 » August 24th, 2010, 5:01 pm

Rooki3 wrote:who is the lawyer ian allen praises, jus say the name & done :?
Attorney Om Lalla
http://www.facebook.com/people/Om-Lalla/654146142

on the radio they said it was Pamela Elder!!!

yuh know she is a boss, dem getting off some how!!!!

Postby Chimera » August 24th, 2010, 5:02 pm

^^^ Pams is SC on the case

brickman

Postby brickman » August 24th, 2010, 5:40 pm

Heard the son got off on $1.5 mil bail & all had their passports taken away.

Postby Sky » August 24th, 2010, 6:31 pm

AllTrac wrote:
UML wrote: Aboud said serious crimes like murder and kidnapping take place with guns.

It sound like a G. Bush kinda statement eh :lol: :lol:

mitsutt

Postby mitsutt » August 24th, 2010, 7:15 pm

Sky wrote:
AllTrac wrote:

It sound like a G. Bush kinda statement eh :lol: :lol:

Aboud funny eh :lol:
Btw, im sure they didnt get information on d source of the guns.

Postby eliteauto » August 24th, 2010, 7:24 pm

was the act to make possession of arms and ammunition a strict liability offense passed?

Postby rollingstock » August 24th, 2010, 7:34 pm

eliteauto wrote:was the act to make possession of arms and ammunition a strict liability offense passed?

Possession of a firearm was always a strict liability offence, only possession has to be proven. No mens rea is required to be proven.

Maybe what you wanted to ask was whether they ever passed the bail amendment bill restricting the granting of bail for this offence, ans, no!
Only several capital offences were identified.

Postby UML » August 24th, 2010, 7:34 pm

The system has failed us. The PNM still has deep roots in the system :shock:

Postby eliteauto » August 24th, 2010, 7:44 pm

eliteauto wrote:was the act to make possession of arms and ammunition a strict liability offense passed?

Possession of a firearm was always a strict liability offence, only possession has to be proven. No mens rea is required to be proven.

Maybe what you wanted to ask was whether they ever passed the bail amendment bill restricting the granting of bail for this offence, ans, no!

no the act was being changed to have the burden of innocence fall on the accused not have to prove the actus reus through the virtual complainant, this was in the Bill in clause 5(2)(a)

blackboy381

Postby blackboy381 » August 24th, 2010, 7:47 pm

karamath have daughters?

Postby Cjruckus » August 24th, 2010, 10:49 pm

by chance... those bongs sold locally?

Just a curious question....

rossi

Postby rossi » August 24th, 2010, 10:53 pm

Cjruckus wrote:by chance... those bongs sold locally?

I think they are. I know they have the ones used to smoke tobacco that look almost the same...I think it's called a hookah.

Postby Rooki3 » August 24th, 2010, 10:56 pm

^^^ what he said, i also know them as hookahs

Postby UML » August 25th, 2010, 1:58 am

Cjruckus wrote:
rossi wrote:
UML wrote:I thought they would be fasting during the holy month?!! :?

what makes you think they are practicing Muslims?

Maybe the AK47s?
That would be my guess.

and this

pinks

Postby pinks » August 25th, 2010, 8:12 am

ways..da man is jus 22yrs an runnin racket like da..hmm..jus goes to show..after money is power!

Postby tr1ad » August 25th, 2010, 8:14 am

Postby Trini Hookah » August 25th, 2010, 8:18 am

pinks wrote:ways..da man is jus 22yrs an runnin racket like da..hmm..jus goes to show..after money is power!

not dirty money pal..

Postby rollingstock » August 25th, 2010, 9:42 am

eliteauto wrote:

no the act was being changed to have the burden of innocence fall on the accused not have to prove the actus reus through the virtual complainant, this was in the Bill in clause 5(2)(a)

The burden of proof was always on the accused to prove that he was not in possession of the firearm or is exempted as stipulated in 16:01, magistrates were the one that skewered the facts needed to prove the offence thereby causing the prosecution to prove possession. This led to the clause you quoted being included to clarify a point of law.

Postby Chimera » August 25th, 2010, 9:44 am

I think that place (eyecandy/newyorknewyork?) opposite rituals in trincity has them

I brought mine in though

Postby rollingstock » August 25th, 2010, 9:58 am

^^^ :? :? :? :? :?

I usually get my hookahs on Murray street, there's a wide variety available.

Postby A172 » August 25th, 2010, 10:13 am

look how small khalil geh :shock:

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » August 25th, 2010, 10:57 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

I think that place (eyecandy/newyorknewyork?) opposite rituals in trincity has them

I brought mine in though

a bong and hookah are two separate devices, although they can be improvised to be used for the same thing.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 25th, 2010, 11:16 am

Mr Gear wrote:It appears to me that this guy is selling weapons. There could be no other explanation.

But take a look at the photos on the newspapers' websites. Carefully look at the boxes. The boxes are all the same which indicates that the weapons came from the same supplier. Additionally, the boxes and clean and crisp which suggests that the weapons were not hidden in between other stuff and squeezed up. These weapons were neatly and professionally handled. There must be a Customs Officer or two involved in this.

I call BS on the raid by ACIB. I think that the Police got a tip off and in order to protect the tipster they used the guise of a raid looking for UDECOTT documents.

I hope he never makes bail because he appears to be a serious weapons smuggler. What about all the other weapons that passed through him that were not discovered before this raid ?

i dont recall seeing any print on d boxes to indicate those are what those guns come in so i guess they probably came inside a hollowed out plywood stack under customs nose & they just bought d cardboard boxes locally with plastic windows in them (just like cake boxes) so u can see what it have in there without having to open d boxes

from what i saw on tv is some serious looking machine guns so who r d buyers for these types of weapons ? - i cud understand it might have a ready market for "normal hand-guns" but them tings looking like what u see in them gangsta & scarface type movies ... :shock: :shock: :shock:

rossi

Postby rossi » August 25th, 2010, 1:44 pm

pioneer wrote:ah yes justice

if it was ah blackman an he wife from morvant/laventille he eh gettin no bail

money talks

exactly! btw, wha ever happened to those blackmen from those places? they still up to the usual? :?

mitsutt

Postby mitsutt » August 25th, 2010, 11:55 pm

pioneer wrote:ah yes justice

if it was ah blackman an he wife from morvant/laventille he eh gettin no bail

money talks

True dat, and d two main newspapers print a small picture in black and white of the items siezed :D . Lalla real sad, then he coming on crime watch and talking about fighting crime but representing criminals? money talks.