Iwer George insults Machel

Re: Iwer George insults Machel

Postby Habit7 » February 18th, 2015, 10:41 pm

In kaiso there are nation building songs, political songs and humorous songs.

It seems that UNC supporters ears are only cocked to kaiso when UNC in power, and the political songs are critical of gov't. Statements like
UML wrote:Chutney sing about rum, kaiso sing about Race and Politics!
16 cycles wrote:Lulz...majority of kaiso has always been for one party throughout our brief history...
show their gross ignorance of the art form, their gross ignorance of its centenarian history and their myopic perception of things political.

Let me leave you with article about US Secretary of State Colin Powell basically telling Panday to suck it up, take your criticism like a man and stop trying to stifle freedom of expression.

MUSIC; Colin Powell's Calypso Tour
Published: April 26, 1998

When Americans think of calypso music, they usually imagine a steel-drum orchestra playing beachfront Muzak. Gen. Colin Powell grew up with the real thing: Trinidadian music derived from traditional African chanting and drumming, often containing sexual double-entendre lyrics. Although Powell, the son of Jamaican immigrants, was a model Episcopalian acolyte during his boyhood in the Bronx, he's no choirboy. The reserved military man is a serious calypso fan, and his favorite artist is the Mighty Sparrow, a legendary singer who is known as ''the master of the naughty phrase.'' During a recent visit to give a speech to Trinidad's business community, Powell -- pictured with the Sparrow (center) and Trinidad's Prime Minister, Basdeo Panday (right) -- demonstrated that he knows the territory, both naughty and nice. Here's a look.

MARCH 22, 3:30 P.M.: Calypso has long served as Trinidad's form of negative political advertising. As Powell helps inaugurate a new museum collection named for Eric Williams, the first Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago, he says that political opponents subjected Williams to numerous scathing calypsos. Prime Minister Basdeo Panday, who gets zinged frequently, asks Powell what would happen if his opponents stopped singing critical calypsos about Panday's administration. Powell says that would be very bad, arguing that such calypsos were ''the best possible evidence that people took Williams seriously.''

6:30 P.M.: Prime Minister Panday fetes Powell with a calypso-packed reception in his home. Powell is in full glory -- singing along, laughing, clapping. He turns it up a notch when the Mighty Sparrow -- the ''Mount Olympus of Calypso,'' Powell calls him -- moves on to more raucous songs. (In ''Philip, My Dear,'' Prince Philip finds the Queen of England in bed with another man; she retorts by insulting the Prince's manhood.) The Sparrow closes with a ''nice'' calypso about the General: ''Thank you, Colin Powell, you've done remarkably well.. . .Your success in Desert Storm, you made Saddam conform.''

''Of all the honors I've received,'' Powell says, ''this is the best.''

MARCH 23, 11 A.M.: Earlier this morning, Powell told a group of reporters that calypso is really about traditions that ''bind young people to past generations.'' In a speech to Trinidad's business community, he is slightly earthier: ''It's not just the good calypso I like. I like the naughty stuff too, you know.'' Powell recalls that when he wanted to relax at work, even after he became Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, he thrilled to the bawdy music of his youth. ''My aides didn't understand the lyrics,'' he says, ''and they were too dirty for me to translate.''

http://www.nytimes.com/1998/04/26/magaz ... -tour.html

Postby UML » February 18th, 2015, 10:50 pm

Or the racially tolerant US :roll:

Allyuh really doh deserve to make it into costaatt oui!!!

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » February 19th, 2015, 7:45 am

uml i still looking for the racist comment.

Postby 16 cycles » February 19th, 2015, 8:04 am

Habit7 wrote:In kaiso there are nation building songs, political songs and humorous songs.

It seems that UNC supporters ears are only cocked to kaiso when UNC in power, and the political songs are critical of gov't. Statements like

UML wrote:Chutney sing about rum, kaiso sing about Race and Politics!

16 cycles wrote:Lulz...majority of kaiso has always been for one party throughout our brief history...

show their gross ignorance of the art form, their gross ignorance of its centenarian history and their myopic perception of things political.

On the one hand, it is democratically healthy that, in a competition funded by the State, the performers are free to criticise the Government. On the other hand, this freedom is only apparent since many calypsonians practise self-censorship when their preferred poli­tical party is in office, as was demonstrated during the ten years of the People’s National Movement (PNM) administration headed by Patrick Manning. In that decade, calypsoes critical of the government’s many failings were few and far between.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 56991.html

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » February 19th, 2015, 8:22 am

nobody eh stopping you or anyone else from singing kaiso @16. if u don't like the current line up change it

but uml... how is Iwer causing a racial divide by saying machel winning because of the ppg????

Postby 16 cycles » February 19th, 2015, 8:36 am

i ain't stop...not stopping...is our culture.....always listen to dimanche gras / calypso etc....

i just pointing out the perception.....

as H7 said...there are gems almost every year - denise plumber , stalin, shadow etc....

just pointing out when it comes to ones with political commentary.....see above...

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » February 19th, 2015, 8:47 am

cool.

But i still trying to find out from uml how is Iwer causing a racial divide by saying machel winning because of the ppg

idk... but reading this statement.... i'm a little confused as to who exactly is pushing this racial divide.

UML wrote:He pushing race to divide and rule just like the PNM...I doh even think he even win anything under the PNM but Machel has!!! So I cant see how politics involved in the music...cause we will see who won the Road March

More worrying is the divisive nature of kaiso, no wonder it cannot develop into what soca and chutney is fast becoming. Chutney sing about rum, kaiso sing about Race and Politics!

Indian culture, music and religion never degrades or discriminates any person based on race or political affiliation....but kaiso does!

Postby Habit7 » February 19th, 2015, 9:00 am

This
16 cycles wrote:as H7 said...there are gems almost every year - denise plumber , stalin, shadow etc....
just pointing out when it comes to ones with political commentary.....see above...
is very different to this

Postby 16 cycles » February 19th, 2015, 9:04 am

^ should have put in political calypsoes....my bad

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » February 19th, 2015, 9:12 am

eyeballz wrote:cool.

But i still trying to find out from uml how is Iwer causing a racial divide by saying machel winning because of the ppg

idk... but reading this statement.... i'm a little confused as to who exactly is pushing this racial divide.

UML wrote:He pushing race to divide and rule just like the PNM...I doh even think he even win anything under the PNM but Machel has!!! So I cant see how politics involved in the music...cause we will see who won the Road March

More worrying is the divisive nature of kaiso, no wonder it cannot develop into what soca and chutney is fast becoming. Chutney sing about rum, kaiso sing about Race and Politics!

Indian culture, music and religion never degrades or discriminates any person based on race or political affiliation....but kaiso does!

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » February 19th, 2015, 1:33 pm

Let me make it clear for you UML

The op

mrtrini45 wrote:Image

What prompted the whole thing

CoobalsinPls wrote:How Machel and the PP in love and that is why he always winning? And how Machel go start losing once the PNM win?

Your own comment

Sensible comment

tdavies wrote:When will ppl realize dat racial divide is what wins elections. It is not beneficial to have a almost equal afro and indian community getting along. If this happens then citizens have to choose a party based on something other than dominant ethnicity.........

and so i ask (because i chupid nah).....how is Iwer causing a racial divide by saying machel winning because of the ppg

Postby sliderz1 » February 19th, 2015, 1:38 pm

how come Gwen din more likes?

pic of Gwen?

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » February 19th, 2015, 8:36 pm

Uml quantify yuh statement nah