Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

kkkennelz

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby kkkennelz » March 14th, 2012, 12:36 pm

hey anyone have a contact # for charrans or does anyone have a contact for some quality orandas...

Postby UML » March 14th, 2012, 4:10 pm

rmtuner wrote:
UML wrote:where can i find this to buy in trinidad

wooden air diffuser.........i dont think the air stone making fine enough bubbles for the skimmer

or

anyone have the airstone from an old protein skimmer they not using?

Check Pantin's Pet Shop.

thanks.

wouldnt a sea urchin feed on the algae i have? is a sea urchin dangerous to live rock, coral or fish?

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » March 14th, 2012, 10:54 pm

i have a sea urchin in my tank and it eats everything on the rock and all the feather dusters gone nt sure about corals but i guessin it wud eat it

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » March 14th, 2012, 10:54 pm

i have a sea urchin in my tank and it eats everything on the rock and all the feather dusters gone nt sure about corals but i guessin it wud eat it

Postby UML » March 14th, 2012, 11:03 pm

damn thanks for the warning

Postby UML » March 15th, 2012, 7:15 am

k i think i solved the protein skimmer problem........noob mistake :oops:

now how do i get rid of the existing algae? starve it of light? (worried about my polyps and feather dusters etc. dying) or will it die as a result of lack of nutrients with the skimmer working now?

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » March 15th, 2012, 11:41 am

^^ How long is has the tank been running ?
And have your nitrites and ammonia reach to zero ?

Postby UML » March 15th, 2012, 1:42 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:^^ How long is has the tank been running ?
And have your nitrites and ammonia reach to zero ?

live rock was in a tub cycling for almost 3 months

nitrates and ammonia at zero...see above pic

i currently have the tank running without lights :?
Last edited by UML on September 24th, 2012, 12:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby UML » March 16th, 2012, 5:54 pm

where can i get these or similar type of algae eaters to buy?

i need a clean up crew

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 18th, 2012, 6:42 pm

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » March 19th, 2012, 12:02 am

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » March 19th, 2012, 12:05 am

URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/526/img03331v.jpg/]Image[/URL]

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » March 19th, 2012, 12:06 am

honda wa u tink it able??

Postby UML » March 19th, 2012, 2:33 pm

anyone have a number for the fish man from Diego Martin??????????

wicked.....trying to figure out how he tightened the fittings inside the bottle :shock:

eternal audio wrote:tank now start setting up

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/207/img03342.jpg/

nice work....looking good.

Postby UML » March 19th, 2012, 3:06 pm

could my algae problem be because my light too bright??
Last edited by UML on September 23rd, 2012, 11:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » March 19th, 2012, 3:27 pm

[quote="UML"]anyone have a number for the fish man from Diego Martin??????????

Santos
689 7227

Postby UML » March 19th, 2012, 3:28 pm

rmtuner wrote:
UML wrote:anyone have a number for the fish man from Diego Martin??????????

Santos
689 7227

thank u rmtuner

Postby sharkman121 » March 19th, 2012, 6:08 pm

UML wrote:could my algae problem be because my light too bright??

I have three 12K White T5 bulbs and one 450nm Blue T5 bulb running for 8hours a day...doh ask me what dem ting mean eh!!!

yup anytime u introduce new bright light to a system u get an algae bloom.

Postby UML » March 19th, 2012, 6:27 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
UML wrote:could my algae problem be because my light too bright??

I have three 12K White T5 bulbs and one 450nm Blue T5 bulb running for 8hours a day...doh ask me what dem ting mean eh!!!

yup anytime u introduce new bright light to a system u get an algae bloom.

thanks again.

trying to come up with a contraption to raise my lights to reduce heat and light intensity....any ideas?

so far i considering something like a bench of glass or wood over the tank and resting the light on it.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 22nd, 2012, 5:24 am

Anyone running one of those auto fishfeeders? What brand you using and do you have any issues with it

Postby UML » March 22nd, 2012, 10:25 am

8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)
Last edited by UML on September 23rd, 2012, 11:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 24th, 2012, 8:33 pm

FS; one Digital Aquatics ReefKeeper Elite Controller.......................Brand new
http://www.digitalaquatics.com/
comes with the following:
ReefKeeper Elite Plus
1 x RKE Head Unit
2 x PC4 - Power Controller 4
1 x SL1 - System Lab 1
1 x DA pH Probe (w/calibration packets)
1 x DA Temperature Probe
1 x SID - System Interface Device
1 x 6' USB Cable
1 x 6' Bus Cable
2 x 3' Bus Cable
2 x 1' Bus Cable
8 x Mounting Screws

I payed $349.99US or $2205TT
Asking back the same amount. PM me or call 354-4003

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » March 25th, 2012, 10:46 pm

the start of my tank wa u guys tink

Kasey

Postby Kasey » March 26th, 2012, 2:49 pm

Ah find Charran's rel disappointing now man. Went to Chai's Saturday and was very impressed with the professionality of the place and the service. Charran's on the other hand is the opposite. Not inviting at all. Chai's also have great prices too. Thats the cheapest I ever see red tail sharks for ($15.00 for one!!).

Chais also have nice birds too.

chris

Postby chris » March 26th, 2012, 7:30 pm

Anyone know where can i get 1" or 2" styrofoam to buy.
Also if setting up 4ft aquarium should i put piece of ply board before i put the aquarium on the stand.
Also where is chai"s

netsket

Postby netsket » March 26th, 2012, 8:34 pm

where can I get clip-on fans to buy?

similar to this

Postby sharkman121 » March 26th, 2012, 8:40 pm

chris wrote:Anyone know where can i get 1" or 2" styrofoam to buy.
Also if setting up 4ft aquarium should i put piece of ply board before i put the aquarium on the stand.
Also where is chai"s

wazir in aranguez has a whole heap of styrofoam different sizes. Also you can put the ply for added stability, i did with mine.

chris

Postby chris » March 26th, 2012, 9:18 pm

thanks. anyone know anywhere in south that have the styrofoam?

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » March 26th, 2012, 9:31 pm

lookin for some calico orandas to buy asap , can anyone send me in the rite direction?

Postby UML » March 26th, 2012, 10:08 pm

chris wrote:Anyone know where can i get 1" or 2" styrofoam to buy.
Also where is chai"s

Termal Impac.......they build the prefab "insulation/styrofoam type" houses
http://www.tiahco.com/
located North (next door) of the Chaguanas Fire Station (off the highway by Nagar site)

you get it dog cheap there..i think i bought a 6ft piece and got it for like $17

I usually buy 1inch depth

the only thing u have to go one day to order it and collect it the next day....dont know if u can make arrangements to order early and pass back later that day.