Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby UML » March 5th, 2012, 7:00 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:^^ Don't worry about it. You gonna get the diatoms when your tank is going through its initial cycle.
It will go away eventually but can pop pack up once there's enough nutrients and silicates.

If you see cyano then you need to look into circulation.

ok thanks...i was worried because i was thinking it was the early stages of the cyano.

it looks more like this

Postby sharkman121 » March 5th, 2012, 7:51 pm

Yeh UML this is all part of the initial cycling process, weve all gone thru it when first setting up the tank. It will go away in time, keep monitoring yr water parameters.

Are you doing yr reading on ReefCentral as well?

Postby UML » March 6th, 2012, 7:47 am

sharkman121 wrote:Yeh UML this is all part of the initial cycling process, weve all gone thru it when first setting up the tank. It will go away in time, keep monitoring yr water parameters.

Are you doing yr reading on ReefCentral as well?

sometimes :oops:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 8th, 2012, 8:20 am

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » March 8th, 2012, 10:51 pm

wen i get my tank goin honda i buyin dat...... :)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 9th, 2012, 3:17 am

eternal audio wrote:wen i get my tank goin honda i buyin dat...... :)

i bought one similar to that by raj a few wks ago for $3500. Real nice bright colors when it expands. Looks real good in the tank....................... I look at it for hrs. If you see how the colors really pop under the blue LED's. Growing real nice. Thats my best coral in the tank right now. Was to take some pics of it.

next thing i know my wife waking me up telling me is time to go to work.......... STUEPS did'nt have the same dream the next night though...................:lol: :lol: :lol:
Last edited by HondaB20B on March 9th, 2012, 8:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 9th, 2012, 3:49 am

Your tank big enough to hold these..................... :lol: :lol: :lol:

check d prices :shock: :shock: :shock:
0805111-216.jpg
Wrought Iron Butterflyfish US2700
0805111-216.jpg (34.96 KiB) Viewed 1708 times
0117121-170.jpg
Crosshatch/Bluethroat Triggerfish Hybrid US1300
0117121-170.jpg (36.12 KiB) Viewed 1708 times
0221121-281.jpg
Black longnose tang US850
0221121-281.jpg (28.19 KiB) Viewed 1708 times

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » March 9th, 2012, 11:51 pm

naaaaaaaaa i aint buyn dem ting hosss no way no way

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » March 9th, 2012, 11:51 pm

went by raj today check ur pm honda

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 10th, 2012, 1:30 am

YUP, When owning a reef tank, you cant have champagne taste but mauby money

Someone on RC said this.......... "SPS are kind of like Women...Hard To Understand, Not easy to keep, Hard to find a good one, and they sometimes go crazy and leave you."
Doh let yuh woman see this........... :skurred: :skurred: :skurred:

Postby UML » March 10th, 2012, 9:32 am

my pump discharging champagne bubbles every 30 seconds.......any idea on how to remove the bubbles from my line? Will it stop after a while? Or do I have to just bleed the line to get the air out?

netsket

Postby netsket » March 11th, 2012, 7:45 am

Anyone know where have Arowana selling?

Postby UML » March 12th, 2012, 12:20 pm

8-) 8-)
Last edited by UML on September 24th, 2012, 1:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » March 12th, 2012, 12:38 pm

yep algae bloom alright...

dunno what to tell you considering that you have no fish. Algae stems from either excess nutrients/lighting or both. so it has to be one of the two.

Postby sharkman121 » March 12th, 2012, 12:39 pm

use yr test kit and run some tests though, it would give you an indication of any of yr water parameters are out of sorts.

wireless

Postby wireless » March 12th, 2012, 12:42 pm

Hey guys do you need a license to import aquatic plants??

Have any of you guys ever import aquatic plants from ebay or anywhere?

i don't want to bring in a big way just for my tanks.

Postby UML » March 12th, 2012, 1:12 pm

sharkman121 wrote:yep algae bloom alright...

dunno what to tell you considering that you have no fish. Algae stems from either excess nutrients/lighting or both. so it has to be one of the two.

no fish AND DI water :? :cry:

sharkman121 wrote:use yr test kit and run some tests though, it would give you an indication of any of yr water parameters are out of sorts.

i checked 2 days ago and it was good....will check again.

i think its the lighting......will the algae scrubber solve this issue?
Last edited by UML on September 24th, 2012, 12:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » March 12th, 2012, 1:27 pm

The algae scrubber is really for excess nutrients in the water column. Light arrangement is not supposed to be an issue when you have no fish in yr tank.

But u still have alot of light for someone with no fish and coral..(well except the polyps). My tank has been running actinics predominatly for the past few months with no ill effects. So try reducing the lighting for the interim.

What filtration system do you have though?

Postby sharkman121 » March 12th, 2012, 1:29 pm

wireless wrote:Hey guys do you need a license to import aquatic plants??

not too sure about this, maybe others can chime in but i believe some sort of licence is needed being that its live and may need quarantine procedures etc.

Postby UML » March 12th, 2012, 4:11 pm

sharkman121 wrote:The algae scrubber is really for excess nutrients in the water column. Light arrangement is not supposed to be an issue when you have no fish in yr tank.

But u still have alot of light for someone with no fish and coral..(well except the polyps). My tank has been running actinics predominatly for the past few months with no ill effects. So try reducing the lighting for the interim.

What filtration system do you have though?

algae scrubber? raise light? give up? lol

filtration is sump with filter media and charcoal.....have a filter sock to install still
Last edited by UML on September 24th, 2012, 12:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby UML » March 12th, 2012, 9:47 pm

parameters from left to right are Nitrate, pH, Nitrite, Ammonia

Should I expose my tank to less light per day? currently run light from 8:30am to 4:30pm

or could it be because its a new tank that hasnt cycled properly as yet?

having some protein skimmer issues too....so i think that adding to it...some days i get waste some days i dont....i think it could be the water height in the sump. :?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » March 13th, 2012, 9:59 am

UML what kind of protein skimmer you have?

Postby UML » March 13th, 2012, 10:24 am

rmtuner wrote:UML what kind of protein skimmer you have?

Instant Ocean Sea Clone 100

i see it start back making waste.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » March 13th, 2012, 2:21 pm

UML wrote:

Could be how your tank is new.
You should invest in an in sump protein skimmer though.
Works much better.

Postby sharkman121 » March 13th, 2012, 2:31 pm

Dont particularly like the Sea Clone skimmer line... but a few ppl have reported it working fairly well.

Postby UML » March 13th, 2012, 7:06 pm

rmtuner wrote:
UML wrote:

Could be how your tank is new.
You should invest in an in sump protein skimmer though.
Works much better.

i was thinking it was because the tank new....but i still feel the skimmer facking up...it real sometimeish......it not reliable wrt skimmate.

actually it is a hang on OR in sump protein skimmer....i currently have it inside my sump.

which protein skimmer would u recommend if i decide to buy one?

sharkman121 wrote:Dont particularly like the Sea Clone skimmer line... but a few ppl have reported it working fairly well.

the reviews are mixed....more negative than positive.....i dont know how a skimmer supposed to work because im a newbie so i cant really give a review....but the headache i getting i wouldnt advise anyone to buy it.

i just put a airstone in the chamber to see if it will produce more skimmate.

which protein skimmer would u recommend if i decide to buy one?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 13th, 2012, 8:20 pm

netsket wrote:Anyone know where have Arowana selling?

you check the man in grand bazzare?

saw he also bought in some fish he say is ah cross between ah teata (sp) and ah stingray.

Postby UML » March 13th, 2012, 9:11 pm

where can i find this to buy in trinidad

wooden air diffuser.........i dont think the air stone making fine enough bubbles for the skimmer

or

anyone have the airstone from an old protein skimmer they not using?

wireless

Postby wireless » March 14th, 2012, 10:07 am

sharkman121 wrote:
wireless wrote:Hey guys do you need a license to import aquatic plants??

not too sure about this, maybe others can chime in but i believe some sort of licence is needed being that its live and may need quarantine procedures etc.

Thanks Sharkman..
Does anybody else have an idea on how to import live plants???

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » March 14th, 2012, 10:41 am

UML wrote:where can i find this to buy in trinidad

wooden air diffuser.........i dont think the air stone making fine enough bubbles for the skimmer

or

anyone have the airstone from an old protein skimmer they not using?

Check Pantin's Pet Shop.