Re: The TSTT / Bmobile discussion thread

Postby aaron17 » October 29th, 2023, 11:16 am

So that is why tstt is down.

Postby aaron17 » October 29th, 2023, 11:19 am

So we hadda change round credit card again? Steups
Even though bmobile say it aint compromise...the banks does say something else and we hadda change it.

ShadowtheUnknown

Postby ShadowtheUnknown » October 31st, 2023, 4:04 pm

TSTT is outright lying when they claim there was no data breach. There is lots of discussion about this on the inter webs and it seems like they might have been aware of multiple penetrations but this one only made news because the data dump was public. And I can assure you the data is out there. The image above is a screenshot from the site where the data leak is held on the deep web. Down to people ID cards addresses and phone numbers there

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 1st, 2023, 5:04 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:image_2023_10_28T19_41_22_024Z.png

tstt never denied that the hackers got data, they were just trying to play semantics with their press release and said nothing was deleted or manipulated. That is enough to get everyone to think that the hackers got nothing.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/tstt-condemns-cy ... a-deleted/

Local service provider TSTT has condemned the actions of hackers who it says attempted to gain access to the company’s systems but insists no data was deleted from TSTT’s databases or manipulated.

TSTT said in a statement Monday that on October 09, cyber attackers attempted to gain unauthorised access to its systems and that TSTT’s incident response processes were swiftly activated.

“The company took immediate steps to minimise the security vulnerability, successfully isolating its systems and applications. These applications were subsequently quarantined, rebuilt and put back into production as part of clearly defined policies and procedures,” TSTT said.

The company said it also enlisted the support of internationally recognised cybersecurity experts and partners in investigating the attempted breach and advising on the implementation of appropriate additional security measures and protocols.

“Some of these recommendations have already been implemented,” it said.

TSTT added that its cyber security processes operated optimally and were able to restrict “these criminals’ malicious plans”.

“At this time, the company has not corroborated data currently in the public domain purported to be TSTT’s customer information, and it should be noted that the various TSTT platforms generate terabytes of data,” it added.

The company said it will continue to invest in hardening its IT environments under the guidance of international cyber experts to ensure the security of customer information.

Postby The_Honourable » November 1st, 2023, 11:39 pm

From facebook:

TSTT (bmobile ) has denied that any data from the breach was deleted or manipulated...but the Ransomware group never tried to do that.
They have copied and have now started releasing the copied files online. 800k are affected due to the breach!!!
Citizens IDs are now being posted to the dark web!
TSTT has dropped the ball, Republic Bank has dropped the ball.
#tstt #bmobile #republicbank #cybersecurity #fraud #ransomware

https://www.facebook.com/keron.rose22/p ... pnasiFhqsl

Postby The_Honourable » November 1st, 2023, 11:43 pm

ShadowtheUnknown wrote:TSTT is outright lying when they claim there was no data breach. There is lots of discussion about this on the inter webs and it seems like they might have been aware of multiple penetrations but this one only made news because the data dump was public. And I can assure you the data is out there. The image above is a screenshot from the site where the data leak is held on the deep web. Down to people ID cards addresses and phone numbers there

You're right... this is bad...

From Facebook:
There needs to be a Class Action suit against TSTT.
So people have an understanding of how bad the TSTT Data Center Breach situation is.
Your birth Certificates are published online in the data dump.
Your letters of Indebtedness are published!
People will be able to use your Driver's License, National ID cards, birth certificates for identity theft in multiple countries...this isn't limited to just Trinidad.
Them having your home addresses puts your security at risk!
The moreeeeee we dig deeper into the files...the more sensitive data about the country is being revealed!
#tstt #bmobile #cybersecurity

https://www.facebook.com/keron.rose22/p ... 4ophKjTdal

Postby maj. tom » November 2nd, 2023, 7:54 am

Until the government takes an interest in passing laws to compel companies to enforce rigid data protection it will keep getting worse. What happened to all the leaked data in the Massy hack? Well 2 weeks passed and everything was ok.

And we're so far behind on real world legislation regarding internet data protection and consumer privacy, AI is here and already far beyond what we can imagine they can do with all this leaked data. That 2 forms of ID to open bank accounts and do business in TT, look TSTT just gave AI hackers all that data for free.

Once again, please apply 2FA to all your accounts where possible, and use a secure authenticator app that can generate random security keys on a single personal device protected with biometrics. And keep your systems and browsers updated with the latest security patches. Most browsers now force https which means older http websites won't work, but too bad. It's on them to get a security certificate if they want visitors.

Re: TSTT Ransomware Attack - Customer data on dark web

Postby The_Honourable » November 3rd, 2023, 10:49 am

Over one million TSTT customer records on dark web

Over one million records of personal information belonging to customers in the Telecommunications Services of Trinidad and Tobago’s (TSTT) database have been dumped on the dark web, contrary to the company’s assertion that the data was not compromised in a cyberattack.

Over the weekend, international hackers Ransomexx announced that they infected TSTT with ransomware and stole as many as six gigabytes (GB) of its data, including names, e-mail addresses, national ID numbers, phone numbers and “a lot of other sensitive data”.

TSTT issued a statement saying that at the onset of the threat, its incident response processes were “swiftly activated”.

However, IT experts said the data leak is on a large scale and customers’ information as well as TSTT’s private information about its operations are all on the dark web.

Caribbean Communications Network (CCN—Express and TV6) IT head Keenan Martinez said yesterday he estimated over a million records in total were leaked online.

“I can confirm based on the examination of the data by the Ransomexx group that personal information is accessible and has been leaked,” he said.

He said about four databases are accessible to the public for downloading.

The leaked information includes people’s names, addresses, telephone numbers, identification card information, and driver’s licence details.

He said there are folders containing scanned documents such as letters of transfer of authority or ownership, as well as photos of identification cards.

Martinez said of major concern is the leak of TSTT’s operational information and all the credentials for TSTT’s Mausica data centre.

Cyber security strategies

Asked whether he considered this a major security breach, Martinez said: “Definitely. I would. I believe it is a major concern for consumers because persons’ personal information is on the web, that information can be used by malicious persons for fraud. They can target persons in terms of where they are living,” he said.

Martinez explained that to access this information, a person would need to use a “TOR” browser and locate the link.

“You cannot use a regular Google Chrome browser and put in an URL in there and access the content,” he said.

He said he did not see any financial information such as credit card numbers.

These ransomware groups use a “TOR” browser that allows one to access dark web content. He said a person would need to search for the URL’s location.

“Once they gain access to that URL, they would see many other companies that have been breached by that Ransomexx group, one of the first lines you see is TSTT Breach. When you click on it you get a synopsis of the data, you will also see a link to be able to download the content and they have it broken up into three or four parts,” he said.

He explained that Ransomexx is a group that hacks into company systems and demands a ransom to be paid by threatening to release confidential information.

The ransom, he said, is paid through various avenues, including cryptocurrency such as Bitcoin, among others.

Asked how one removes the data from the dark web, Martinez said:

“One cannot. Initially, when a Ransomexx group targets a company—it’s either you pay them what they are asking for, or they post the data online,” he said.

He said there is no way to stop other hackers or people from downloading and taking the personal data.

Companies, he said, should focus on cybersecurity strategies that protect against cyberattacks. He said companies should refrain from paying ransoms because there have been reports of different ransom groups collaborating to share information.

“So Ransomexx group A would get funds from the company and then pass on the information to Ransomexx group B,” he said, adding that the cycle continues.

Massive fines

Enterprise risk and security consultant and owner of the Computer Forensics and Security Institute (CFSI) Shiva Parasram told the Express yesterday that criminals can access this information and target people.

“It is incredibly dangerous because now somebody can call you and say ‘we have your information, I am from TSTT, we want to send somebody to check your Internet, your router, your phone, they coming to your house’. They have all your information,” he said.

He said under the European Union, if a company does not disclose a breach in 72 hours, they have massive fines to face.

“If TSTT was under the EU they would probably have to close down based on the fine alone,” he said.

He said TSTT cannot get rid of the information from the dark web, but it can seek help from international companies at an exorbitant price to try to “scrub” the information—but this is tricky because hundreds of thousands of people and hackers can download the information.

“We are seeing passwords and people’s ID card numbers and private information. So anyone can go on the dark web and access the information,” he said.

He said there are files to indicate whether people pay with card or cash.

He explained that “TOR” is virtual private browser that hides one’s identity when in accessing the dark web and anyone can use this to access this leaked information.

“There are passwords for TSTT’s internal system as well on there, so I have no clue how they can downplay this and say it is not a breach,” he said.

What TSTT said:

Attempts to reach TSTT for comment yesterday were futile, but in a media release, on October 30, the company confirmed it was the victim of a cyberattack, but said “there was no loss or compromise of customer data, ie, no data was deleted from TSTT’s databases or manipulated”.

TSTT said it cannot confirm whether the information revealed by Ransomexx is their customer data.

“At this time, the company has not corroborated data currently in the public domain purported to be TSTT’s customer information, and it should be noted that the various TSTT platforms generate terabytes of data,” TSTT stated in the media release. According to TSTT, on October 9, cyberattackers attempted to gain unauthorised access to its systems.

“Cyber threats of this nature are a continuous feature of modern digital operating systems, and telecommunications infrastructure is no exception to these threats and incursions. TSTT has continuously invested resources in the millions of dollars in its processes and IT infrastructure to protect its systems and the data it produces and stores,” it said.

TSTT said at the onset of the threat, its incident response processes were “swiftly activated”.

Internationally-recognised cybersecurity experts were also enlisted to help deal with the problem, TSTT said.

“The company took immediate steps to minimise the security vulnerability, successfully isolating its systems and applications. These applications were subsequently quarantined, rebuilt and put back into production as part of clearly defined policies and procedures. The company also enlisted the support of internationally-recognised cyber security experts and partners in investigating the attempted breach and advising on the implementation of appropriate additional security measures and protocols. Some of these recommendations have already been implemented,” it stated.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 1013c.html

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 3rd, 2023, 11:19 am

There it is, TSTT tried to obfuscate by saying nothing was deleted or manipulated.

They kept dodging the fact that the hackers just downloaded information and kept a copy of it.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 3rd, 2023, 11:57 am

So what information exactly can they (the hackers) access?

Is it just what TSTT had on record?

Postby st7 » November 3rd, 2023, 12:03 pm

more tax in we mc after class action lawsuit lulzz

Postby 16 cycles » November 3rd, 2023, 12:09 pm

will see how unbiased TATT is in their response to this...

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2023, 12:28 pm

they showing pics of ppl id cards they used to sign up for services

Postby Chimera » November 3rd, 2023, 1:38 pm

a conman's dream treasure trove there

damn

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2023, 1:45 pm

crooks wouldn’t rush to use yet
they will hold info for later use

Postby Chimera » November 3rd, 2023, 1:48 pm

lol christmas coming up

watch how much fraudulent loans/hire purchase plans/ vehicle transfers going to happen

Postby Chimera » November 3rd, 2023, 1:56 pm

some nice info to trick ppl who don't know na

Call a person and tell them they win XYZ, you give them their DP or ID number or DOB without asking them for it, tell them you calling from courts or some other random grocery and they get selected for a prize or vacation or flights

They just hadda pay a $1000 administrative fee/insurance fees/ flight fees

try that on 500 people i bet you catch 50

Postby The_Honourable » November 3rd, 2023, 4:18 pm

Yes TSTT customers, your personal information is on the dark web

THE Telecommunications Services of Trinidad and Tobago’s (TSTT) has admitted that the information released in the darkweb by Ransomexx hackers indeed comprises data from their customers.

As such TSTT said it is now apologizing to those whose information was accessed by these cyber terrorists.

The admission follows a story in today's Express which highlighted that over one million TSTT customer records were posted on the dark web following a ransomware attack:

"During the past seven days, TSTT has been working with its international cyber security experts and has undertaken a rigorous examination of data published on the dark web after a ransomware group claimed ownership of a cyberattack on the telecommunications company," TSTT stated.

"Although the published material was easily accessible, the corroboration process was time consuming because it required cross referencing data across multiple extensive databases to verify sources. With the support of our cyber security consultants, the company has determined that the data released contains largely identifying information, and TSTT apologizes to those customers whose information was accessed by these cyber terrorists," it stated.

TSTT said it is still scrutinizing the data, but that the 6GB stolen from Ransomexx represents less than one per cent of the petabytes of data the company produces and stores.

"Moreover, it represents information of a small subset of TSTT’s customer base. A single customer could generate hundreds or thousands of records of non-critical, non-sensitive transactions. The majority of TSTT’s customers’ information was not accessed," it stated.

Over the weekend, international hackers Ransomexx announced that they infected TSTT with ransomware and stole as many as six gigabytes (GB) of its data, including names, e-mail addresses, national ID numbers, phone numbers and “a lot of other sensitive data”.

On Monday TSTT issued a statement saying that at the onset of the threat, its incident response processes were “swiftly activated”.

However, IT experts said the data leak is on a large scale and customers’ information as well as TSTT’s private information about its operations are all on the dark web.

Caribbean Communications Network (CCN—Express and TV6) IT head Keenan Martinez said yesterday he estimated over a million records in total were leaked online.

TSTT said it was determined that some of the data was accessed from a legacy system, which is no longer utilized by TSTT but which contains data that is, in many instances, no longer valid.

"This data is kept to ensure TSTT is compliant with relevant laws as it relates to retention of customer information," it stated.

TSTT said its investigation found that no customer passwords or credentials were accessed.

"Due to the nature of the data accessed, internal and external security analysts have advised that there is no elevated risk of fraudulent activity for the group of customers impacted. Some of the information can already be easily accessed via the telephone directory’s white pages. However, TSTT reminds all customers to be vigilant and alert to potential scams and fraudulent activity and report them where necessary," it stated.

"It is important to note that certain statements currently in the public domain regarding the publication of personal data are inaccurate and invalid," TSTT stated.

TSTT said it does not request, require and/or store on its databases any of the following information related to its customers:

-Credit Card information
-Customer passwords
-Approvals for housing
-Shipping documents

TSTT also denied what it labelled as "false, misleading, and damaging statements regarding its data centre."

"TSTT’s data centre (TIA 942-B, Rated 3, SOC-2, DCOS Maturity Level 3 and ISO) is the most secure, resilient and reliable data centre in Trinidad and Tobago, the Caribbean and ranked highly in the Latin American region," it stated.

"TSTT categorically refutes claims that its data centre was breached and therefore any claims of our corporate client data or credentials being accessed as a result of an alleged breach of our data centre is totally inaccurate, ill-informed and mischievous," TSTT stated.

"We strongly urge responsible parties to exercise utmost caution and responsibility when publishing and disseminating information. Due to the sensitive nature of this, it is imperative to verify and obtain information from credible and expert sources, as inaccurate and misleading reports can misinform and potentially damage public trust and also harm our company. This is why TSTT is taking meticulous steps to thoroughly verify all information. We also urge members of the public to exercise discernment in the information they consume, ensuring they receive it from credible and reputable sources to make well-informed decisions," TSTT stated.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/yes-ts ... 01677.html

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 3rd, 2023, 4:39 pm

TSTT making the "murders on the rise but serious crimes are down" type of press release the police love to use.

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2023, 5:42 pm

so they going on the words of the hackers saying they got 6gb and nothing more

seems they trust what the hackers saying

Postby Kenjo » November 3rd, 2023, 5:49 pm

Postby maj. tom » November 3rd, 2023, 6:24 pm

ah yes well everything is ok now.

Postby paid_influencer » November 3rd, 2023, 6:28 pm

customers need to hold the executives at TSTTs accountable for those press releases.

From the start, TSTTs was not being forthcoming on what data was breached. The initial statement on the breach was clearly calculated to obscure what the actual impact on customers could be.

The follow-up statement today, in response to the Express front-page article, continues with even more obfuscation and technical jargon to purposefully confuse customers on what data was compromised.

TSTTs need to state, in clear and certain terms, in major media outlets, for all to hear, what customer information has been leaked to be potentially used by malicious persons.

The journalists have found:

ID cards
    Passports
    Driver's Licences
    Birth Certificates
    Customer Addresses

say it in big so everybody, even tanty and uncle, understand.

----
And the GOVERNMENT, THE AG, whoever is charged with looking out for citizen's welfare in this country, need to come out and say the repeated corporate pattern of

DENY
    OBFUSCATE
    MINIMISE
    ADMIT

is not morally acceptable. If somebody big with political influence (the AG or ROWLEY even) calls it out then the corporations will fall in line, even if we don't have political will for the legal penalties that exist in the more developed nations.
Last edited by paid_influencer on November 3rd, 2023, 6:46 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Postby paid_influencer » November 3rd, 2023, 6:35 pm

what could people really do with a copy of my id card and dp tho

could they get an island finance loan

ready finance?>

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » November 3rd, 2023, 6:51 pm

Since i got my bmobile sim my ID card expired twice, DP expired about 3 times, my signature changed completely and i changed my address... so i think i good.

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2023, 7:01 pm

the id# and dp# number stay same tho

fokhan_96 wrote:Since i got my bmobile sim my ID card expired twice, DP expired about 3 times, my signature changed completely and i changed my address... so i think i good.

Postby paid_influencer » November 3rd, 2023, 7:03 pm

ID card number and DP number doh change tho

edit: beaten :o

Postby paid_influencer » November 3rd, 2023, 7:25 pm

398703653_714466617382245_8494004391965859435_n.jpg

tatt say doh save your passwords to websites (???)

also doh save credit card data to websites (so.. enter it manually on amazon and dominos every time you hadda order?)

what dotishness tatt really want we to. do

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2023, 8:26 pm

maybe they will issue new numbers just how credit card company does give you a new card number when they get hacked lol

paid_influencer wrote:ID card number and DP number doh change tho

edit: beaten :o