Facebook changes its name to META - adds Threads

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2021, 3:59 pm

Facebook has changed its corporate name to Meta as part of a major rebrand.

The company said it would better "encompass" what it does, as it broadens its reach beyond social media into areas like virtual reality (VR).

The change does not apply to its individual platforms, such as Facebook, Instagram and Whatsapp, only the parent company that owns them.

The move follows a series of negative stories about Facebook, based on documents leaked by an ex-employee.

Frances Haugen has accused the company of putting "profits over safety".

In 2015, Google restructured its company calling its parent firm Alphabet, however, the name never caught on.

Facebook boss Mark Zuckerberg announced the new name as he unveiled plans to build a "metaverse" - an online world where people can game, work and communicate in a virtual environment, often using VR headsets.

https://www.bbc.com/news/technology-59083601

Re: Facebook changes its name to META

Postby st7 » October 28th, 2021, 5:40 pm

get ready for virtual Pokes :lol: :lol:

brickman

Postby brickman » October 28th, 2021, 7:19 pm

What kinda Kanye bulls#tt is this lol

Postby matr1x » October 29th, 2021, 1:32 am

That's like pornhub changing its name to Move or some dumb sheit like that

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 29th, 2021, 1:37 am

It's just foreshadowing their newest VR to Matrix/Oasis like product.

Kudos to Facebook for thinking into the future.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 29th, 2021, 3:05 am

this local?

Maco Every Trini Arse ?

or world wide

Make Everyone Think Alike

due to the supposed Covid 19 brought to you by Netflix, facebook, Youtube and Amazon these owners were made richer and now control the world together with micosoft because everyone had the same idea to post on youtube, sell on facebook, order from amazon and stay home watch netflix because it safer during a "pandemic" .expect the netflx, youtube and amazon to change name also.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2021, 11:09 am

It’s the parent company that changed the name to META. Facebook website and app remains the same.

It’s like when Google parent company changed its name to ALPHABET in 2015.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 29th, 2021, 11:12 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It’s the parent company that changed the name to META. Facebook website and app remains the same.

It’s like when Google parent company changed its name to ALPHABET in 2015.

True, except that Facebook intends to launch a revolutionary new product called the metaverse, while Google still keeps everything branded as Google or G something.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2021, 1:51 pm

^ true
would be interesting to see how it pans out
They've invested a lot in VR tech

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 29th, 2021, 3:08 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ true
would be interesting to see how it pans out
They've invested a lot in VR tech

It is definitely extremely interesting. Big tech is getting more and more ambitious and they have the money and brain power to do it.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 27th, 2022, 4:29 pm

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/meta-stock ... ost-value/

Meta's value has plunged by $700 billion. Wall Street calls it a "train wreck."

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2022, 4:31 pm

did duane get a trini tuner spot on metaverse?

Postby Rovin » October 27th, 2022, 6:28 pm

price of ochro remains unaffected ...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 27th, 2022, 6:39 pm

Rovin wrote:price of ochro remains unaffected ...

What about Bodi though? :(

Postby paid_influencer » October 27th, 2022, 7:55 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:https://www.cbsnews.com/news/meta-stock-down-earnings-700-billion-in-lost-value/

something funky going on with amazon too
FgGfU5QWQAIEKrc.jpg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 28th, 2022, 3:48 am

paid_influencer wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:https://www.cbsnews.com/news/meta-stock-down-earnings-700-billion-in-lost-value/

something funky going on with amazon too

They just predicted a weaker holiday season, that announcement lead to that drop you see there

Postby pugboy » October 28th, 2022, 6:20 am

the fakeverse world fading fast

Postby timelapse » October 28th, 2022, 6:39 am

pugboy wrote:the fakeverse world fading fast
To normal people like us,yes.To them incel fellas, sorry gamers across the world, not so much.I know men that literally cannot cope with socializing in the real world.
Is mostly boys.I highly discourage parents of boy chirren to have their child too dependent on digital machinations.They need to learn to interact with people in the real world.God ,you get me started.I have some younger cousins that will be sitting next to each other and chatting with each other over their phones.Once anybody starts talking ,they get annoyed.

Postby aaron17 » October 28th, 2022, 7:18 am

DMan7 wrote:

What about Bodi though? :(

hey..hey

Postby pugboy » October 28th, 2022, 7:23 am

yeah, I can see that group of persons being hooked on this,
but real estate and the big money push outside of gaming on it just doesnt seem feasible.

when I was in univ in the early 90s, we used to play text based rpgs, dikumuds
sometimes would spend 36hrs nonstop behind the screen.

timelapse wrote:
pugboy wrote:the fakeverse world fading fast
To normal people like us,yes.To them incel fellas, sorry gamers across the world, not so much.I know men that literally cannot cope with socializing in the real world.
Is mostly boys.I highly discourage parents of boy chirren to have their child too dependent on digital machinations.They need to learn to interact with people in the real world.God ,you get me started.I have some younger cousins that will be sitting next to each other and chatting with each other over their phones.Once anybody starts talking ,they get annoyed.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 28th, 2022, 7:35 am

This is all part of the plan

Placate the masses and u can do anything u want.

Literally blindfold the people and u can do even more. Allegory of the cave by Plato.

This will be linked to climate change/carbon footprint passports, "Join meta so you don't have to use ur car to see ur friends and family!"
Fossil Fuels will become illegal and we will thank big brother Zucks and Gates.

Not editing this post, Tis is my prediction, come back in 3 years and see if im correct.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 28th, 2022, 7:36 am

This*

See, not even gonna edit the typo

Postby timelapse » October 28th, 2022, 7:46 am

I also believe that prediction, and it has already been in motion for a long time now.Just by watching other tuners here,not judging,but most of you guys are heavily consumerist.These fancy gadgets do absolutely nothing to improve your life,but you chase after these things anyway.
Food prices sky high,but we running down every latest food fad.I have a pardna that can't bear to hear a conversation about food without jumping in with how he cooks with truffle oil and dem kinda folly.Mind you,he always broke.
Gas prices high,but we buying gas guzzlers.

Why? Online advertising in your face all the time, whether you recognize that is advertising or not.
Just a few examples.The digital world has become the new religion and it is doing a great job at being the opiate of the masses.

dogg

Postby dogg » October 28th, 2022, 8:46 am

Wrong. It goes up.

You have any managed funds mutual funds, annuities etc? If you don't start yesterday.

Anyways, ALL the managed funds have holdings in the inernational markets, esp the US stock market. When a giant company like Meta goes down, the value of your managed funds also go down. Hence Bodi prices more expensive

Postby Dizzy28 » November 9th, 2022, 10:51 am

Last week Meta announced layoffs were coming and today the number was given - 13% or 11,000 employees

Meta is laying off 13% of its staff, or more than 11,000 employees, CEO Mark Zuckerberg said in a letter to employees Wednesday.
“Today I’m sharing some of the most difficult changes we’ve made in Meta’s history,” Zuckerberg said in the letter. “I’ve decided to reduce the size of our team by about 13% and let more than 11,000 of our talented employees go. We are also taking a number of additional steps to become a leaner and more efficient company by cutting discretionary spending and extending our hiring freeze through Q1.”

Shares of Meta were up about 5.4% when markets opened. The layoffs come amid a tough time for Facebook parent company Meta, which provided lukewarm guidance in late October for its upcoming fourth-quarter earnings that spooked investors and caused its shares to sink nearly 20%.
https://www.cnbc.com/2022/11/09/meta-to ... oyees.html

Postby Rovin » November 9th, 2022, 12:09 pm

hmmm dise plenty ppl who lorse dey wuk ...

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 9th, 2022, 1:04 pm

yeah Q4 2022 and Q1 2023 gonna have a lot of cutbacks

also it have rel nonsense email girl positions in tech companies to make the company look fun and exciting for techbros to come in and get wuk like dog :lol:

Postby hover11 » November 9th, 2022, 1:27 pm

Economy is booming
Rovin wrote:hmmm dise plenty ppl who lorse dey wuk ...

Postby adnj » November 9th, 2022, 1:42 pm

Trini government layoffs are coming next.

Postby st7 » November 9th, 2022, 1:53 pm

adnj wrote:Trini government layoffs are coming next.

one can hope. too many govt workers who doh wuk and just collecting salary at the expense of taxpayers