3ne2nr fishermen

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 29th, 2009, 9:04 pm

What is the preferred bait to use ? I´m interested in catching Red Fish and perhaps King Fish but more interested in Red Fish

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 29th, 2009, 9:05 pm

Er..No red oman jokes please :)

Oleander

Postby Oleander » July 29th, 2009, 10:33 pm

these fishy ones are good

thetrinioracle

Postby thetrinioracle » July 29th, 2009, 10:39 pm

Mr Gear wrote:What is the preferred bait to use ? I´m interested in catching Red Fish and perhaps King Fish but more interested in Red Fish

FRESH SHRIMP

Oleander

Postby Oleander » July 29th, 2009, 10:41 pm

Fresh Shrimp?
it don't fall off the hook or the fish just eat it and leave the hook..
how does that attract the fish?

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2009, 11:48 pm

you talking about 2 different fishing techniques here
red fish normally caught with lines with sinker, ie banking
king fish/carite caught on lines with live bait or trolling bait, not on the ocean floor, no sinker

Mr Gear wrote:What is the preferred bait to use ? I´m interested in catching Red Fish and perhaps King Fish but more interested in Red Fish

Postby X_Factor » July 29th, 2009, 11:58 pm

^^yep
there are bottom feeders ( cro-cro, salmon etc) that u need sinkers to hit the bottom of the sea floor and dead bait - shrimp, bonito, herring, fry dry etc

top feeders - carite, carvali, king fish,"beching" etc respond to live bait or trawling technique to catch them
some ppl call it floating line

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 30th, 2009, 12:23 am

i still rather use squid instead of the shrimp...it does stay on the line alot longer...but where are some gd fishing spots?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 30th, 2009, 1:43 am

If you salt the shrimp and leave it in the sun for bout 1hr, it hardens and stays on the hook longer.
I grew up fishing around the back of Anchorage, after the Wasa station... Boy the back there had some serious jungle :lol: Yuh driving pass old army bunkers etc.

These days I prefer this method 8-)

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/pFTjeaDlxDI&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby foss » July 30th, 2009, 2:14 am

X_Factor wrote:^^yep
there are bottom feeders ( cro-cro, salmon etc) that u need sinkers to hit the bottom of the sea floor and dead bait - shrimp, bonito, herring, fry dry etc

top feeders - carite, carvali, king fish,"beching" etc respond to live bait or trawling technique to catch them
some ppl call it floating line

i've caught carite banking already .. maybe 2 1/2 feet in length :shock: 8-)

off the north coast .. years ago though ..good times yes .. hmm .. need to plan a fishing trip soon yes !!

Postby X_Factor » July 30th, 2009, 7:09 am

If you salt the shrimp and leave it in the sun for bout 1hr, it hardens and stays on the hook longer

its not really stayin on the hook longer eh...its about being fresh to attract the fish as well...we dont salt bait ne more...just buy it fresh and put it in ice till we'r ready for it..usually within the same day or 2 for the most
fresh shrimp once put on the hook properly stays very long as well

size of hook is also important eh

and yea i've seen my father and them catch small carite in the gulf while banking and using dead bait but those are usually smaller than 2lbs.....the 4lbs and up is the fellas to go for!!

Sabot

Postby Sabot » July 30th, 2009, 7:35 am

8-)
Last edited by Sabot on June 29th, 2014, 12:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby X_Factor » July 30th, 2009, 7:41 am

thats real deep dread...what weight sinkers u all use to hit that 160ft depth?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » July 30th, 2009, 7:57 am

X_Factor wrote:thats real deep dread...what weight sinkers u all use to hit that 160ft depth?

8-)
Last edited by Sabot on June 29th, 2014, 12:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

r p m

Postby r p m » July 30th, 2009, 9:05 am

alligators obviously walked in... duh

:lol: :oops:

Postby joker » July 30th, 2009, 9:13 am

i am yet to catch a fish with artificial bait :roll:

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 30th, 2009, 9:36 am

my average everyday fishing trip with nets not line...............

if allya want fresh bait check me ........... fresh shrip & fish everyday :twisted:

wall

Postby wall » July 30th, 2009, 9:39 am

in my opinion tarpon fishing is the most exciting and fun iv had yet. especially right on the corner of the 2nd boca or better yet trawling just outside point lisas or the long jetty outside point a pier ,catching a few 80lb + tarpon is the norm you just hadda watch for the police boat or pilot boats that come and harass yuh arse

Postby joker » July 30th, 2009, 9:44 am

skunk2^^3/4 mesh?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 30th, 2009, 9:49 am

joker,

na i think is 1 '' i go have to ask the net man

d bag tail of the net is 1/4'' i knw that one for sure ......

Skanky

Postby Skanky » July 30th, 2009, 9:54 am

manualmx wrote:
X_Factor wrote:thats real deep dread...what weight sinkers u all use to hit that 160ft depth?

Yeah its a little deep, in fact you hardly feel the bite sometimes.
If the current is strong we use 10oz otherwise 6-8oz will do.

Current was so bad with us once we had to use 1.5lbs back in April on 40lb test.....preshah.
Banking nice and all but the real fun is trolling or live bait.

Here's a tip...if you fishing rough water like manzanilla from the beach, before you cast out tie the bait with a piece of thread so it dont come off the hook too easily.

Postby Razkal » July 30th, 2009, 10:39 am

wall wrote:in my opinion tarpon fishing is the most exciting and fun iv had yet. especially right on the corner of the 2nd boca or better yet trawling just outside point lisas or the long jetty outside point a pier ,catching a few 80lb + tarpon is the norm you just hadda watch for the police boat or pilot boats that come and harass yuh arse

now we talking 8-)

monsters are always in transit there and around there, wicked awesome spot but you'll be seriously humbled in no time if your gear isn't up to the task :lol:

*remembers 40lb test with 4.5' tarpon on the business end....not good.* :lol:

wall

Postby wall » July 30th, 2009, 10:53 am

haha yeh ive lost enough fish there but i honesty prefer lighter tackle like 30lb test for a better fight instead of fishing 80lb test and just skating the fish in. like tht wahoo in d picture was on 30 lb test on a lil shimano trinidad reel

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » July 30th, 2009, 11:32 am

any surf fishermen in here... want to know there the Crevalle are biting.

the link below may have some fishin info for u..

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... e&&start=0

Postby X_Factor » July 30th, 2009, 3:00 pm

Skanky wrote:
manualmx wrote:

Yeah its a little deep, in fact you hardly feel the bite sometimes.
If the current is strong we use 10oz otherwise 6-8oz will do.

Current was so bad with us once we had to use 1.5lbs back in April on 40lb test.....preshah.
Banking nice and all but the real fun is trolling or live bait.

Here's a tip...if you fishing rough water like manzanilla from the beach, before you cast out tie the bait with a piece of thread so it dont come off the hook too easily.

thats what i know, we fished in lil 70-100ft of water on normal current and had to use 14oz-20oz sinkers otherwise the line would just get washed up at the back of the boat...so that 10oz weight in 160ft water kinda hard to believe...and that might take forever to hit the floor

most of our fishing is banking...we normally hire a boat by Alcan there in chag and they take us out for the night
i'd love to try real trawling one day for sure!!

Cavali is one of the sweetest fishes to pull...a lil 4-5lb fish and u swear u hook a monster!!

any of u all use these type of hooks?
http://fishcopia.com/files/circle_hook.jpg

Sabot

Postby Sabot » July 30th, 2009, 6:57 pm

Last edited by Sabot on June 29th, 2014, 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Damien » July 30th, 2009, 7:24 pm

Wall check this tarpon

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 30th, 2009, 7:42 pm

Skunk2 wrote:Image

This pic remind me of the days when my ole man owned HMP25.. A 70ft Steel trawler than used to be docked at the old fish market in sea lots

Ancho, aka Bluefish does hit on anything that move... My method for catching Bluefish is a 6-8oz Krocodile Spoon with a 6" wire leader and 50lb braided line.. Just cast out in the school and reel in fast.. Once they spot that shiney spoon, they does hit like a freight train :twisted:

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » July 30th, 2009, 10:43 pm

Where sells fish guns? Peake's
I looking for a 6ft and a 3ft one

Postby foss » July 30th, 2009, 11:23 pm

Mr. Cheese wrote:Where sells fish guns? Peake's
I looking for a 6ft and a 3ft one

pm pimptacular