Lasko fan recycling/upcycling?

Postby *KRONIK* » July 31st, 2023, 2:49 pm

Anybody have any good ideas for recycling/upcycling old lasko fans?

Re: Lasko fan recycling/upcycling?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 31st, 2023, 7:37 pm

Some of the appliance repair shops might take it for parts. Or can fix it for small$

Postby pugboy » July 31st, 2023, 8:10 pm

some of them the switch can be rigged over

Postby *KRONIK* » August 1st, 2023, 7:08 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Some of the appliance repair shops might take it for parts. Or can fix it for small$
Well, yea

It have a piper up by we does walk around with a grocery trolley and pick up used fans, fix them and sell for a small money.
So i say i woulda give him them

I have a few old ones pack down and 1 on the way out

Postby *KRONIK* » August 1st, 2023, 7:09 am

pugboy wrote:some of them the switch can be rigged over
I aint looking for no headache to play "fixit guy"

If i cant reuse them for something else, i'll discard them

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2023, 7:29 am

yeah you the thing is multiple issues with them
some is the switch
sometimes some fuse in the cord
also some thermal fuse in the motor
and bushings sticking which wear out the motor

Postby *KRONIK* » August 1st, 2023, 7:44 am

pugboy wrote:yeah you the thing is multiple issues with them
some is the switch
Lol

I feel u is the man to check all of them for me inno

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2023, 7:48 am

lol boy
i pickup one of the expensive floor ones somebody dump and a guy fix the switch for me
but couple others couldn’t fix

i think the older ones with the protection fuses easier to fix
newer ones is to dump
*KRONIK* wrote:
pugboy wrote:yeah you the thing is multiple issues with them
some is the switch
Lol

I feel u is the man to check all of them for me inno

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 3rd, 2023, 8:23 am

take out the grease and save it in a lil container.

It comes in handy for greasing up other fans.

Because I tried all kinda random grease and it almost always seizes up shortly after. And idk where to get that specific grease down here
(If anyone knows, it will be much appreciated)

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2023, 8:57 am

use a lithium grease, doesn’t get stiff

Postby *KRONIK* » August 3rd, 2023, 9:52 am

pugboy wrote:use a lithium grease, doesn’t get stiff
Lithium forms a crust tho

For that application, i would use a silicone based grease

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2023, 11:27 am

depends on the brand i guess
i have a tube which stays soft
meant for use on cdrom drives

Postby *KRONIK* » August 3rd, 2023, 1:08 pm

pugboy wrote:depends on the brand i guess
Ohh ok

I have some left over from my poly bushings also

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 4th, 2023, 7:39 am

pugboy wrote:depends on the brand i guess

yeahhhh, da er go wuk bai

Lasko/other fans run hot af. So the grease needs to handle high temps, but still be unrestrictive at cold starts

When I was younger I tried NP molylube/bike axel grease/10w30/3in1/WD40/Coconut oil (for luls)

all of them either got less viscous and leaked out, or just outright seized up.

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2023, 8:28 am

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 9th, 2023, 8:30 am

not bad inno

But sadly, if your motor gone, your blades/grill/retainer nut gone long before

fan motor kinda robust compared to plastic

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2023, 9:08 am

not always
prob half or more are issues with switch or some electrical issue within motor

if a fan last long enough for blades etc to break down then it real old

ruffneck_12 wrote:not bad inno

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 9th, 2023, 9:23 am

yuh blight me. my lasko spoil this weekend.
Started spinning slow and now it not even starting. It's moving freely, so it's either coil or capacitor. More than likely it's the cap needs replacing, so I'll get the fixit man to sort it for a lil 70-100

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 9th, 2023, 2:41 pm

pugboy wrote:not always
prob half or more are issues with switch or some electrical issue within motor

if a fan last long enough for blades etc to break down then it real old

ruffneck_12 wrote:not bad inno

T&tec overvolting yall awa? :lol:

I used to rel play up with fans an ting when I was small, stalling the motor for luls etc

The motors always held out

(or maybe I was just lucky with the fans I had)

Postby Country_Bookie » August 9th, 2023, 2:49 pm

Anyone know a fix to reduce the noise in these fans? Motor still pumping strong but the part in the center of the blades that needs to be turned to tighten it gets slack very quickly. Was wondering if some thread seal might do the trick.

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 9th, 2023, 2:58 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Anyone know a fix to reduce the noise in these fans? Motor still pumping strong but the part in the center of the blades that needs to be turned to tighten it gets slack very quickly. Was wondering if some thread seal might do the trick.

Gotta make back the threads somehow... The nut basically have no more threads, thread seal will essentially remove the threads on the shaft :lol:

put some vaseline on the shaft,,, and some epoxy in the hole,(make sure the hole clean).... wait for it to get tacky/hard then screw it on
(so the epoxy will stick to the nut and not the shaft

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 9th, 2023, 3:26 pm

^ Aye this man talking about fans or something else?

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 9th, 2023, 9:15 pm

PTFE tape / thread seal does the trick and holds out for my cleaning cycles of 3-4 months depending on location in the house.
The nut is cross threaded or worn.

Postby wagonrunner » August 9th, 2023, 11:27 pm

wrt grease, i been ekeing out some lurther life of ones with burnt bearings using Automatic transmission fluid..

i recommend if you have the space, and doing an exact replacement, keep the old ones.
there are 5 fans of a type here, and my last two old donors have already been gutted for parts.
the only things left were the pedestals, and the shields. everything else got swapped.