what is the best way to kill a tree

Postby SR » August 7th, 2009, 2:40 pm

tree is located in an empty lot next door and ah fedup of the dam leaves clogging up my guttering and yard

we do not have access to have it cut down and the owners do not keep the land clean

this issue has been to court already and that is the only time the owners would cut the bush

my main issue is i need the most effective way to kill the tree

any agri people in here??

neoise

Postby neoise » August 7th, 2009, 2:42 pm

let a woman climb it :twisted:

Postby wagon r » August 7th, 2009, 2:43 pm

....get honda hoe to pee on it.....

...dat fcuker could kill stone... :|

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 7th, 2009, 2:44 pm

gramoxone at the roots.
lots of it
but brace for TONS of dead leaves blowing in yuh yard.

Postby noshownogo » August 7th, 2009, 2:46 pm

1chainsaw

if you walking across to pour chemical is better you just chop da fcuker down

trvs

Postby trvs » August 7th, 2009, 2:47 pm

i was gona say let a honda man "roll over it"

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » August 7th, 2009, 2:47 pm

noshownogo wrote:1chainsaw

I'm sure he'd have done that already, but I also sure he wants to avoid a trespassing or vandalism charge..

Postby janfar » August 7th, 2009, 2:48 pm

Take a drill, bore holes in the trunk and insert diesel...

Postby noshownogo » August 7th, 2009, 2:49 pm

let a diesel van pull it down, man want to brag bout torque...let them show their torque :twisted:

Postby SR » August 7th, 2009, 2:49 pm

cutting it down is out of the question unless it is done by a govenrment agency

Postby wagon r » August 7th, 2009, 2:50 pm

jadez wrote:wagon r

i was gona say let a honda man "roll over it"

.......they doh produce enough torque to roll over it.....that why i suggested he pee....

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » August 7th, 2009, 2:50 pm

copious amounts of lanate

Postby noshownogo » August 7th, 2009, 2:51 pm

saxman642 wrote:

I'm sure he'd have done that already, but I also sure he wants to avoid a trespassing or vandalism charge..

so how he gonna get to it to kill it with chemicals, its still trespassing and vandalism. If yuh doing the wrong thing, do it right the first time :lol:

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » August 7th, 2009, 2:52 pm

Taken from- http://forestry.about.com/od/treephysio ... _organ.htm

Killing a Tree Manually
Killing a tree is hard work, particularly if you avoid using chemical assistance. You have to cut off a tree's water, food and/or sunlight at a critical time in it's life cycle to do the job. Herbicides work by gumming up or shutting down a tree's working parts to deprive the plant of one or more of the above.
See: Chemical Weed-tree Control.
Using the Bark
Trees can be killed without herbicides or chemicals but extra time, patience, and understanding of tree anatomy is necessary. You most especially need to know about the function of a tree's inner bark - cambium, xylem and phloem - and how they combine forces to effect a tree's life.
See: Parts of a Tree - Bark
The bark is a tree's most vulnerable body part above ground. Bark is made up of cork and phloem which protects the cambium and xylem. Dead xylem cells carry water and minerals from the roots to the leaves and is considered the tree's wood. Phloem, a living tissue, carries manufactured food (sugars) from the leaves to the roots. The cambium, which is a moist layer only a few cells thick, is the regenerative layer that gives birth to xylem on its inside and phloem to its outside.
Destroying the Bark
If the food-transporting phloem is severed all the way around the tree (a process called "girdling"), food cannot be carried to the roots and they will eventually die. As the roots die, so does the tree. Periods of rapid growth, usually from March until June in North America, are the best times to do girdle a tree. These spring growth spurts are when tree bark "slips". The phloem and cork layer easily peels free, leaving the cambium and xylem exposed.
Remove as wide a section of bark as you have time for to make an adequate girdle ring. Then scrape (or chop) into the surface of the xylem to remove the cambium. If any cambial material remains, the tree will heal. The best time to girdle is before the trees leaf out. The process of leafing out will deplete energy stores from the roots, which stores cannot be renewed if the phloem conduit has been interrupted.
Avoid the Sprout!
Some trees are prolific sprouters and produce adventitious twigs near an injury. If you don't remove or kill the entire root, you just may have to control these sprouts. Sprouts coming out below the girdle must be removed as they will continue the process of feeding the roots if left to grow. When you are removing these sprouts, it is a good idea to check the girdled strip and remove any bark and cambium that may be trying to bridge the wound.
Last edited by phreakazoid on August 7th, 2009, 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » August 7th, 2009, 2:53 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/E9x8rBKC4BE&hl=en&fs=1&color1=0x006699&color2=0x54abd6" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed>

Postby noshownogo » August 7th, 2009, 2:54 pm

SR seriously, is it posing a danger to you or your property? Is it looking like its leaning towards or over your property? Does said tree carry any kinda infection e.g. blight etc?

If yes then i suppose you have a case to have it taken down, if no then i suppose you'd have to live with the nuisance or do something illegal.

Postby gt4tified » August 7th, 2009, 2:56 pm

SR wrote:cutting it down is out of the question unless it is done by a govenrment agency

That could be erm *arranged* if you want eh....ent CEPEP is a gov't agency?

Postby SR » August 7th, 2009, 3:00 pm

i know it can be arranged but it would have to be so legally as they will have to have a crew legally cleaning the lot and clearing the bush eyc

this would have to come from the court

i am looking for a simple solution

the owners of the land are not cooperative and thier own yard looks the same (they live next to the empty lot)

they put up a fence a few yearss ago to stop us from cutting the grass and keeping the land clean

Postby Maserati » August 7th, 2009, 3:00 pm

noshownogo wrote:
saxman642 wrote:

so how he gonna get to it to kill it with chemicals, its still trespassing and vandalism. If yuh doing the wrong thing, do it right the first time :lol:

some plastic bags/balloons filled with the chemical lobbed at the base of the tree :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 7th, 2009, 3:06 pm

Maserati wrote:
noshownogo wrote:
saxman642 wrote:

some plastic bags/balloons filled with the chemical lobbed at the base of the tree :lol:

Talk done, some vydate mixed with diesel could do the trick..

Just to be safe, throw directly at the base of the tree so that no plants/greenery around the tree looks suspect to chemical use.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 7th, 2009, 3:11 pm

I have a cunning plan, which I will give you for free.
*looks around nervously*

No-one suspects a rastaman, so...

Postby SR » August 7th, 2009, 3:15 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I have a cunning plan, which I will give you for free.
*looks around nervously*

roflmao

picks up phone to call d rasta

Postby Hook » August 7th, 2009, 3:17 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I have a cunning plan, which I will give you for free.
*looks around nervously*

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 7th, 2009, 3:22 pm

lol @ Lanate with VTEC! :lol:

Postby pugboy » August 7th, 2009, 3:29 pm

lanate won't work, its an insecticide not herbicide
neither will gramaxone, gramaxone only burns the foliage

best bet is roundup which goes down and kills everything but if its a tree it will require plenty applications to the foliage

AlliDr

Postby AlliDr » August 7th, 2009, 3:38 pm

Agent Orange sprayed from the air was quite sucessfull during the Vietnam War..........................with some "minor" side effects.............

Postby Hook » August 7th, 2009, 3:40 pm

lol...look how all d tree killers coming out the woodwork wit dis ched nuh

and a ched posted by d original chuna basket maker to boot! :lol:

I feel somebody kill a tree by SR and he rounding up suspects

Postby X_Factor » August 7th, 2009, 3:57 pm

get something called "Valpar" or "Valpa" from an agri shop, u can call them first to make sure they have it, my father used it on a "chennete" tree some years ago and killed it in no time

axe

Postby axe » August 7th, 2009, 4:08 pm

lanate and gramoxone cannot kill a tree....lanate is an insecticide and gramoxone (paraquat) is deactivated in contact with soil....vydate is an insecticide and it has methanol in it (dangerous! esp when it comes to vision!)

try an amine (24D or 24D5T)....or pour kerosene or diesel in large amounts around the tree trunk
Last edited by axe on August 7th, 2009, 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.