The Religion Discussion

Postby 3stagevtec » September 7th, 2009, 7:05 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/8RV46fsmx6E&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

:wink:

Postby DFC » September 7th, 2009, 7:13 pm

oohhh hahahahah.

try to prove GOD without any scriptural reference and lemme hear yuh!
yuh cant!

According to the rasta Zoroaster ...god is the comforting ideal that society has developed . Think about it...all our scriptures are how many thousands of years old?

Back in the day....there was alot of mystery...questions which there were no answers..so the concept of God cleaned this up.
God did this....god did that...it was an act of god.

the usual scapegoat...together with satan..
they are being blamed for everydamn thing that happen.
why cant we human beings take responsibility for our actions? and not conveniently blame god or satan..poor fellas!

a 2yr old child born with aids....what..she drop from the sky?
no..she born with aids because she parents have it!

a 3yr old girl born with cancer or leukemia .......did that happen by guess?
or is it her parent's bad health or diet?

Marilyn Manson says..create a new god to medicate and to hate.
So lets make a new one..

its time for a new modern god. lets let go of the concept of a old bearded man.

The future of mankind is and advanced intellect and a semi-robotic body.
A Humanoid Optimus Prime should be the 21st Century god.
Modern and is the ideal we want to live up to.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » September 7th, 2009, 7:52 pm

MG Man wrote:I met him in a back alley............I stabbed him and he died.........

Thas why he not answering his phone? Darn :(

Humes

Postby Humes » September 7th, 2009, 8:06 pm

bluefete wrote:We all exist. As part of our existence, we have a body that we can see and touch. That makes us real.

But we also have a mind that we cannot see and touch. Because we cannot see and touch the mind, does this mean that it does not exist?

Is the mind an intangible thing?

Is the mind an integral part of our being? Or can we live without our minds?

So it is with God.

This is for MGMan, DFC and all the others who have plainly stated that God does not exist. :(

The mind doesn't come before the brain or exist without the brain. The mind is a construct of the brain. The mind is simply the sum of your thoughts and the way you personally use your brain.

We know brains exist because we've observed them, and we know how they work because we've observed how they work. We know thoughts exist because we've observed them, and we know how they work because we've observed how they work.

It is not so with God.

You need to start basing your arguments on something more solid than subjective philosophy.

Postby A172 » September 7th, 2009, 8:13 pm

a big, bearded dude liming in de sky

riteee :|

Postby A172 » September 7th, 2009, 8:14 pm

a plasma looking thingy thaz come outa yuh when yuh dead

yeh...ok :|

Postby bluefete » September 7th, 2009, 8:19 pm

Humes wrote:We know thoughts exist because we've observed them, and we know how they work because we've observed how they work.

It is not so with God.

A thought is an intangible reality. Until it is brought to a tangible reality.

It is a product of a physical entity. But it is not seen unless acted upon.

If there is no God, where did everything come from? Is it true in science, that there are unobservable spectra? Does this mean they do not exist?

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2009, 8:30 pm

crossdrilled wrote:I wonder if MGman car insurance up to date?

breds, I have insurance running on a car that parked since 2007........now THAT is optimism :lol:

Postby bluefete » September 7th, 2009, 8:39 pm

Look at Mars, brilliant, thats another planet and we humans can reach out and touch it with our evolved brains. If it were not for the people who broke away from the religious ways of accepting faith as answers, the real cool questions would never have been asked. Questions like, what are the stars, why do we look like monkeys, and why is the sky blue? The ladder is due to oxygen molecules in the atmosphere and the way sun light reacts and reflects off of them, the bible in Genesis 1:6-7 quite literally states its blue because it is water, a vast floating ocean. So while Christians ponder the greatness of their master and creator I am left wonder, if science and evolution are incorrect why is it that the religious try to aline them selfs with science? (science that they do not take the time to understand), which by no means suggests there is a God or a creator, 2+2=4 it does not equal God. Why don't they just show us God. Mean while, look at Mars, wonderful.

- Atheos5150, Sanmarcos Tx, USA, 05/9/2009 16:49

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/ ... z0QTFiITQw

I wonder where Mars came from and what happened to all the water it once had?

BTW - There was an earth before this one. The bible says so. That is why it is as old as it is.

Science & the Bible do agree.

*Quietly tiptoes out of thread before renewed attack by logicalists*

Postby DFC » September 7th, 2009, 8:58 pm

why do wee look like moneys..what shitnicitty is dis?...
why do Munkeys look like us?..thas what u shud ask.

thought and mind are just electrical signals daggering our synapses. Science has shown that when you think...electrical signals are passed from one part of the brain to another.

that is the mind..that is our thoughts...it can be seen. One day we will have the technology to decode these signals into a widescreen format..(as seen in Transformers 2)

There is an explanation why the sky is blue..soo too there is a scientific explanation why mars dried up.

Stop quoting ur bible man...

BTW - There was an earth before this one. The bible says so. That is why it is as old as it is.

wha?..earth before this one?.....

Postby bluefete » September 7th, 2009, 8:58 pm

How Ironic. This came out today in the Daily Mail

Why we are born to believe in God: It's wired into the brain, says psychologist

By Arthur Martin
Last updated at 9:18 AM on 07th September 2009

Humans are programmed to believe in God because it gives them a better chance of survival, researchers claim.

A study into the way children's brains develop suggests that during the process of evolution those with religious tendencies began to benefit from their beliefs - possibly by working in groups to ensure the future of their community.

The findings of Bruce Hood, professor of developmental psychology at Bristol University, suggest that magical and supernatural beliefs are hardwired into our brains from birth, and that religions are therefore tapping into a powerful psychological force.

His work is supported by other researchers who have found evidence linking religious feelings and experience to particular regions of the brain.

They suggest people are programmed to receive a feeling of spirituality from electrical activity in these areas.

The findings challenge atheists such as Richard Dawkins, the author of The God Delusion, who has long argued that religious beliefs result from poor education and childhood 'indoctrination'.

Professor Hood believes it is futile to try to get people to abandon their beliefs because these come from such a 'fundamental level'.

'Our research shows children have a natural, intuitive way of reasoning that leads them to all kinds of supernatural beliefs about how the world works,' he said.

'As they grow up they overlay these beliefs with more rational approaches but the tendency to illogical supernatural beliefs remains as religion.'

The professor, who will present his findings at the British Science Association's annual meeting this week, sees organised religion as just part of a spectrum of supernatural beliefs.

In one study he found even ardent atheists balked at the idea of accepting an organ transplant from a murderer, because of a superstitious belief that an individual's personality could be stored in his or her organs.

To reinforce his point, Professor Hood produced a blue cardigan during a lecture and invited the audience to put it on, for a £10 reward. This prompted a sea of raised hands to volunteer.

He then said that the notorious murderer Fred West wore the cardigan, causing most to put their hand down.

Although it was merely a stunt - the cardigan was not West's - the professor said this showed that even the most rational of people can be irrationally made to feel uncomfortable.

Another experiment involved asking subjects to cut up a treasured photograph. When his team then measured their sweat production - which is what lie-detector tests monitor - there was a jump in the reading. This did not occur when destroying an object of less sentimental significance.

'This shows how superstition is hardwired into our brains,' he added.

The Rev Michael Reiss, professor of science education at London University's Institute of Education and an Anglican priest, said he saw no reason why such research should undermine religious belief. 'We are evolved creatures and the whole point about humanity is that we are rooted in the natural world.'

Add your comments
Comments (164)

Here's what readers have had to say so far. Why not add your thoughts below, or debate this issue live on our message boards.

The comments below have not been moderated.

Debs:

What? I've read your posting 5 times and it still makes no sense to me.

Debs writes: 'Jesus Christ believed in God and Jesus believed the Bible to be true. So did the 40 different writers who wrote in a logical fashion over a period of 1600 years. No other book can claim that!'

According to Christians Jesus Christ was/is God. The Holy Trinity. God the Father, God the Son, God the Holy Ghost. So you would expect him to beleive in God because he thought he was God. Except that the Holy TRinity wasn't a concept when Jesus was alive - it was made up later. And who are these 40 different writers? Thousands of people have written about religion, for and against.

To be fair though, your writings are no weirder than those of most of the 'believers' here. There is no God. Get over it.

- Bob, Derby, UK, 07/9/2009 23:20
Click to rate Rating (0)

Report abuse

I wonder how many of the people who have no belief in God have taken the time to look at what the Bible REALLY teaches? It explains that man was created with a 'spiritual need' and that satisfying that need would bring happiness. It also explains why man is in the mess he has brought about and, even better, what God, who created the universe is going to do about it. A belief in a creator who cares about his creation gives a much more positive outlook to life than a belief in the chance of evolution and therefore no hope of salvation, because if evolution is true, it is not the survival of the fittest, but rather a gloomy prediction of the sun running out of power, if man hasn't destroyed us all with carbon emissions, etc beforehand. Jesus Christ believed in God and Jesus believed the Bible to be true. So did the 40 different writers who wrote in a logical fashion over a period of 1600 years. No other book can claim that!

- debs, alicante, spain, 07/9/2009 22:00
Click to rate Rating (0)

Report abuse

ISBN 1-902480-01-5 ( first published in 1934 ) concurs with this axiomatic scientific explanation for the hardwired Human belief in the mystery of life ( God ) as presented by Bruce Hood.
The Book goes the whole way and explains that as everyone is born with a " limited amount of free will " this belief can be rejected as a matter of choice and is independent of sectarian culture, personal social circumstances, education or level of intelligence.
How this difference in " belief " structure manifests itself in Human Society and personal behavior is, in my experience at least, best described by the difference between Gangs and Teams.
Gangs have sycophantic members.
Teams have individual players.
It really is a shame that Richard Dawkins is not aware of the difference.

- Catch-42, Macclesfield, Cheshire., 07/9/2009 21:01
Click to rate Rating (0)

Report abuse

The researcher in no way suggested that religion, any religion is true.

At our basic level (in the same realm as this research) tribal creatures. In addition we are afraid of the unknown and are willing, even eager to believe anything that explains the unknowns. Yes, there are regions of the brain that give pleasure when we believe deeply. This isn't a triumph for religion, nor even a validation of spirituality, it is a mechanism for bringing humans together.

What ties this all together is what I believe is a basic human trait, namely the capability for self delusion and being deluded by outside influences. It's why a man living in a hut in the poorest part of the world can be happier than a millionaire living in a mansion.

Faith, without proof, enables us to be directed as a group to do that what we don't understand a survival plus. Now, when a single person or small group may command power enough to destroy millions even billions... Irrational belief not so good.

- Ward, Bristol, TN United States of America, 07/9/2009 19:38
Click to rate Rating 3

Report abuse

To ask "Who created God" is to introduce an infinite regression. And you cannot transit an infinite. The question, therefore, is not valid.

- Bob Williamson, Cleveland, Ga, USA,

Of course it's a valid question. You are applying a scientific rule to a non-scientific scenario. You (and people like P Timings) deny evolution, believe in creation as written in the bible, and then want to apply scientific rules to other people's thinking. Talk about double standards.

There is no God. So nobody created 'him' any more than I was created.

On the radio in the UK this week there was an interview with a well known TV journalist, who covered the famines in Ethiopa. When asked how the experience changed him, he said that it removed any possibility in his mind of the existence of a merciful God. That's my view - the pain and suffering in this world is entirely incompatible with a good and merciful God. It is however entirely compatible with a world driven purely by natural forces.

- Bob, Derby, UK, 07/9/2009 19:28
Click to rate Rating 1

Report abuse

I Just wish people would concentrate a little bit more on this life and a little bit less on the next one.

- Danny, Liverpool, 07/9/2009 19:03

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... z0QTKNEbJb

Religious feelings: Shaolin monks who practise meditation have been linked to showing religious sensations in parts of the brain

Postby RBphoto » September 7th, 2009, 9:35 pm

Dem monks cyah jock eh...... that would really mess up some fellas if they ain't pelt a rounds in a day.....imagine for years....

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 7th, 2009, 10:26 pm

I rather die with hope than to live in despair. :|

That's why I believe in God.

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2009, 10:28 pm

the idea of god has caused so much despair in througout the history of humanity that it not funny
who says athiests live in despair anyway?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 7th, 2009, 10:30 pm

MG Man wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
the idea of god has caused so much despair in througout the history of humanity that it not funny

Their comforts are usually tangible which wither away with time or leave them on the never-ending search for happiness. With anything in life, when taken to the extreme it causes grief. Religion can attest to that as you've clearly demonstrated.

Postby A172 » September 7th, 2009, 10:33 pm

wonder if He does walk rong on de clouds dem wid slippers. :|

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 7th, 2009, 10:34 pm

A172 wrote:wonder if He does walk rong on de clouds dem wid slippers. :|

Closed-toe-rubber-ding-ding FTW :|

angel_player

Postby angel_player » September 7th, 2009, 10:35 pm

:lol: :lol: MG Man, yuh real jump on your 'high horse' n riding on this thread boy! :lol: Yuh real firing shots at we ppl who believe in God! But wha can I say, you may be aethiest or however u spell that :lol: (I cant even spell it) but I hope u at least living a proper and peaceful life eh breds!

Postby A172 » September 7th, 2009, 10:35 pm

Cleanliness is next to Godliness. :|

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 7th, 2009, 10:37 pm

A172 wrote:Cleanliness is next to Godliness. :|

...but I hear ken opening a doubles stand in front the Pentecostal church in Curepe :?

Postby A172 » September 7th, 2009, 10:38 pm

angel_player wrote::lol: :lol: MG Man, yuh real jump on your 'high horse' n riding on this thread boy! :lol: Yuh real firing shots at we ppl who believe in God! But wha can I say, you may be aethiest or however u spell that :lol: (I cant even spell it) but I hope u at least living a proper and peaceful life eh breds!

for every one person that doesn't believe/care bout God...there's at least ten more who would love to shove it down their throats why they 'should'..

ever tell anyone yuh now meet yuh doh believe in God and see what transpires? :|

one way street FTL :arrow:

Humes

Postby Humes » September 7th, 2009, 10:40 pm

bluefete wrote:A thought is an intangible reality. Until it is brought to a tangible reality.

It is a product of a physical entity. But it is not seen unless acted upon.

bluefete, a thought is a tangible, observable phenomenon. It takes the form of an electrochemical reaction in the brain. That's what the study of brainwaves and brain activity is all about. That's how we know which parts of the brains focus on specific actions and topics, etc.

If there is no God, where did everything come from? Is it true in science, that there are unobservable spectra? Does this mean they do not exist?

The answer to the first question is a simple, "We don't know." On a more personal note, I don't know about unobservable spectra.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 7th, 2009, 10:45 pm

Conrad wrote:

Their comforts are usually tangible which wither away with time or leave them on the never-ending search for happiness. With anything in life, when taken to the extreme it causes grief. Religion can attest to that as you've clearly demonstrated.

Atheists take comfort in everything everyone else takes comfort in except religious belief. It could be material things, relationships, family, their career, charity...anything at all.

There are sad atheists and very happy atheists, just like there are sad believers and very happy believers. Please don't make assumptions about what an atheist's lifestyle or life pursuits comprise.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 7th, 2009, 10:51 pm

Humes wrote:
Conrad wrote:

Atheists take comfort in everything everyone else takes comfort in except religious belief. It could be material things, relationships, family, their career, charity...anything at all.

There are sad atheists and very happy atheists, just like there are sad believers and very happy believers. Please don't make assumptions about what an atheist's lifestyle or life pursuits comprise.

Note the word "usually" and this can extend to many people, even inside the circle of "Christianity". Modern man has affixed happiness to tangible things. God isn't real because I can't feel him, because I can't see him, because this negative thing I can see is happening and he won't interfere.

What many confuse themselves with is religion and God. One can be manipulated to serve the greed or desires of man and the other is...well God. Nothing to compare, nothing to manipulate, nothing to test. What bothers many atheist is the lack of control that they feel when God is placed into thought. The idea that something/someone is beyond what can be understood. That's human nature as well, we fear what we can't understand similar to the need to worship a higher being.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 7th, 2009, 10:53 pm

BTW, I do agree. Some God believers do overdo the need to "spread the word of good, truth and tithing".

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » September 7th, 2009, 11:19 pm

Opinions are subject to each one right?....Is there a world inside this world? Secular humanism say we can be our OWN GOD!!..........Who choose so...DO SO...I suggest however to understand well your choice.... If you choose to believe God is some fallacy..oh well ..Kudos to an extra independant self sufficient thinker....A compromise to respecting every opinion doesnt suggest it's a surrender to truth.......A mind can't be turned unless it's open. .........................Out with this
Last edited by slimshiney on September 7th, 2009, 11:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby MG Man » September 7th, 2009, 11:22 pm

angel_player wrote::lol: :lol: MG Man, yuh real jump on your 'high horse' n riding on this thread boy! :lol: Yuh real firing shots at we ppl who believe in God! But wha can I say, you may be aethiest or however u spell that :lol: (I cant even spell it) but I hope u at least living a proper and peaceful life eh breds!

me???
proper life?
breds, I have seven chirren wid eight different modda.........two ah dem does pay meh bills (de chirren, not de moddaz)
..............no wait, dais rahtid :lol: :lol: :lol:

Humes

Postby Humes » September 8th, 2009, 12:17 am

Conrad wrote:What bothers many atheist is the lack of control that they feel when God is placed into thought. The idea that something/someone is beyond what can be understood. That's human nature as well, we fear what we can't understand similar to the need to worship a higher being.

I don't know where this "lack of control" concept enters the debate. It assumes that there's something there to not understand.

Being an atheists doesn't mean you feel more in control of your life or general knowledge than a believer. If anything, being an atheist makes you more mindful of just how arbitrary reality can be, and just how much is unknown.

Acknowledging that some things can't be known or understood is one of the cornerstones of agnosticism and atheism. They're the ones more likely to say "I don't know" when encountered with an unexplainable event, as opposed to tagging it with a supernatural label.

I also think this whole "God, not religion" thing is irrelevant to this discussion. We're talking about belief itself here. Whether it's some benevolent holistic spirituality, or some major corrupt religion, it all hinges on the belief of something atheists don't believe in.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 8th, 2009, 12:38 am

Humes wrote:I don't know where this "lack of control" concept enters the debate. It assumes that there's something there to not understand.

Being an atheists doesn't mean you feel more in control of your life or general knowledge than a believer. If anything, being an atheist makes you more mindful of just how arbitrary reality can be, and just how much is unknown.

Acknowledging that some things can't be known or understood is one of the cornerstones of agnosticism and atheism. They're the ones more likely to say "I don't know" when encountered with an unexplainable event, as opposed to tagging it with a supernatural label.

I also think this whole "God, not religion" thing is irrelevant to this discussion. We're talking about belief itself here. Whether it's some benevolent holistic spirituality, or some major corrupt religion, it all hinges on the belief of something atheists don't believe in.

Can't agree with you on both accounts but I respect that.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » September 8th, 2009, 2:37 am

cute corolla wrote:yet to be convinced that God's real

that because u drive a corolla :lol: