The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

bassotronics

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby bassotronics » May 3rd, 2012, 8:31 pm

Really looked forward in the design of the s3, now i'm kind of disappointed. I believe they could've done better in the design to make the phone look more fierce rather than being "cute".

sentraman

Postby sentraman » May 3rd, 2012, 8:43 pm

I find it looks sexy

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 3rd, 2012, 8:48 pm

X2 especially the white.

I think im won over by the s3.

Im sure it will get more sales than the 1x also.

Postby S_2NR » May 3rd, 2012, 8:51 pm

look how hugggeee that thing is ...
that is madness :faint:

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » May 3rd, 2012, 8:54 pm

The screen looks like the size of the entire iphone lol

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 3rd, 2012, 9:20 pm

gs3 disappointing...

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » May 3rd, 2012, 10:46 pm

bassotronics wrote:Really looked forward in the design of the s3, now i'm kind of disappointed. I believe they could've done better in the design to make the phone look more fierce rather than being "cute".

My thoughts exactly. It's too curved and just..not...appealing to me. The S2 design is nicer IMO. If they went with a similar design to the S3 leaving an extremely thin bezel, in a nice pearl white...that wouldve been nice

Edit: I meant S2. Lol
Last edited by Jonathan_337 on May 4th, 2012, 12:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » May 3rd, 2012, 10:57 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
bassotronics wrote:Really looked forward in the design of the s3, now i'm kind of disappointed. I believe they could've done better in the design to make the phone look more fierce rather than being "cute".

My thoughts exactly. It's too curved and just..not...appealing to me. The S3 design is nicer IMO. If they went with a similar design to the S3 leaving an extremely thin bezel, in a nice pearl white...that wouldve been nice

Definitely agree with you.

Postby sharkman121 » May 4th, 2012, 12:00 am

unfortunately i agree with you.. disappointed with the overall look as well after all that hype.

Postby sharkman121 » May 4th, 2012, 12:08 am

ting retailing for $850US on ebay arredy oui :|

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » May 4th, 2012, 12:22 am

Apparently, my phone's edge won't work unless I get one of the older type sims and cut it..I've tried everything and it hasn't worked so that's my last resort. So where can I get one of those sim cards made ?

Postby sharkman121 » May 4th, 2012, 12:27 am

oh thats the reason why? not sure where though.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » May 4th, 2012, 12:32 am

sharkman121 wrote:oh thats the reason why? not sure where though.

While digging for info on Google, I saw it helped two people and I made a post on XDA as well, and a guy said the same. So I'm guessing it's worth a shot

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 4th, 2012, 9:45 am

hmm....i recently changed my old sim to the new one and cut it...damn!

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 4th, 2012, 9:45 am

still have the old sim though but i think they deactivated it!

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » May 4th, 2012, 10:53 am

Yeah when u get a new sim I think they deactivate the other one. You have data on your One X ? I'm looking hard for a fix to this issue and that's the ONLY thing I'm seeing

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 4th, 2012, 12:01 pm

nah had the edge from shanna...but have to set it back up!

Postby sharkman121 » May 4th, 2012, 3:25 pm

Why the Samsung galaxy s3 is designed as it is:

http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/05/04 ... y-lawyers/

take a read.

Postby stev » May 4th, 2012, 3:58 pm

so how much u guys think the s3 wud cost? realistically. and how wud it affect the s2 price? i wud be very satisfied wit an s2 if the price drop since it have an s3 now. although i want d s3. lol

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » May 4th, 2012, 4:03 pm

stev wrote:so how much u guys think the s3 wud cost? realistically. and how wud it affect the s2 price? i wud be very satisfied wit an s2 if the price drop since it have an s3 now. although i want d s3. lol

S2's already going for around $3400 in some places... The AT&T version is around $2800.. So maybe S2 would drop to like.. 3k and S3 around $4500-$5000 at launch... Will eventually settle at $4000 I presume for a couple months well.. Just my thoughts

achillies

Postby achillies » May 4th, 2012, 4:45 pm

Strauss wrote:He as some great points that... well are obvious because even Apple users complain about them (e.g. having to manually set your default browser). But he contradicts himself in some places and don't realise what he calls "faults" are what others call features.

Lemme draw a from the desktop. If you use Photoshop on a PC and Mac, you'll notice that maximized, photoshop on Windows (and most apps) block your desktop with an ugly grey (can be changed) background. Mac users, because of the design of the taskbar, always see their desktop. PC users hate that feature on the mac because it introduces 'clutter'. Mac users love it because we have a habit of dragging and dropping from any app or the desktop into our active window.

People use what they are comfortable with. The reason why iOS is "easier" to use is all in black and white which you can look up yourselves. It's because a unified general interface is easier to deploy and pick up. And you can move from device to device and pick it up. With all the features of Android and customizing, you lose consistency. Both are trade-offs. None is better for everything. But Apple is making money of their products and Google has the popularity at least as they don't really make any money off it (although there is pressure now on Google to set a price). So you can clearly see that both are successful in their own way. One financial, the other is crowd support.

Lol, Strauss, what you talking about?

This video series is about one thing, the "notion" that one mobile OS is easier to use than the other.

I don't buy into that notion, but many people do and it motivates a lot of purchases.

Anyway, did you watch all the videos, do you agree with, wholly, partially or none at all?

Val

Postby Val » May 5th, 2012, 12:06 am

I find the S2 done so big, that the S3 is a bit ridiculous.

Anyone using Tasker?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 5th, 2012, 6:47 am

I tried to use it once, but it didn't work......that thing is basically programming.

If your a programmer you will like it.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » May 5th, 2012, 7:54 am

Val wrote:I find the S2 done so big, that the S3 is a bit ridiculous.

True, this is why I'm still considering if to sell my s2, just saw bmobile in Gulf City raised their prices from $4100 to $4500.

achillies

Postby achillies » May 5th, 2012, 9:20 am

Val wrote:I find the S2 done so big, that the S3 is a bit ridiculous.

Anyone using Tasker?

Why judge if you have never held it?

The S3 is a only a few centimeters longer than the S2 but it's the same width. And allyuh go end buying a ONE X that is half an inch shorter than the S3. Bess allyuh wait for the iPhone, it's rumored to have a 4 inch screen (hopefully that's not to big for you guys). If you guys find the S2 is too big, then you are not ready to own a modern android smartphone

Actually I was wrong, the One X is practically the same size

Strauss

Postby Strauss » May 5th, 2012, 2:15 pm

Can the GS3 fit in your pocket at all?!!

With other stuff like car keys, box of mints etc? I love big screens but that is a fricking TABLET !! The S4 going to have a 5.5" screen next I bet. I can't see myself driving comfortably with that in my jeans pocket.

Thought computers and devices were getting smaller at one point in time?

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » May 5th, 2012, 2:24 pm

Strauss wrote:Can the GS3 fit in your pocket at all?!!

With other stuff like car keys, box of mints etc? I love big screens but that is a fricking TABLET !! The S4 going to have a 5.5" screen next I bet. I can't see myself driving comfortably with that in my jeans pocket.

My One X fits in my pocket perfectly and my jeans pockets are tight/small. Fits in my hand really nice as the back is curved as well. I had an iPhone before, and before that a S2.. I missed the S2's screen when I got the iPhone cuz I mean.. 4.3" --> 3.5".. Now I went back from 3.5"---> 4.7" I will never be downgrading. Trust me when I say you will not regret upgrading in terms of screen size.

Technology is getting smaller, but screen sizes bigger. I don't think you'd want four 1.5ghz cores and an 8mp camera on a 2" screen.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 5th, 2012, 2:40 pm

these fones fit well in the pocket...no problem with sensation xl or one x so i doubt a small size difference in the GS3 will make much of a difference...but still i will go with the one x due to the better design, build quality, camera and processor...it feels really gd in the hand...

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 5th, 2012, 2:44 pm

lol sure right "jonathan_337"..once iphone come with a larger screen size (4.0" +)...i might change over next....but if they fall short again, well suck salt...d gs3 loss mih with the ole school appearance...d size ah d phone on the whole ah lil too big...doh know what they trying to accomplish...prob cause htc come with ah 4.7" screen they say lewwe go ah lil bigger...lol

achillies

Postby achillies » May 5th, 2012, 3:13 pm

Strauss wrote:Can the GS3 fit in your pocket at all?!!

I'm glad you made this post, when Apple makes a iPhone with a 4.8 inch screen, you would come back here and say it's perfect.