The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Swisha

Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby Swisha » May 11th, 2010, 11:42 am

Android 2.2 'Froyo' and Flash run like butter on Nexus One

While Adobe evangelist Ryan Stewart wants us to focus on Flash 10.1 performance -- admittedly impressive -- running on his Nexus One, we can't help but be distracted by the Android 2.2 "Froyo" build apparently supporting his device. Can you blame us? It's not like we're alone with waning interest in Flash, especially for video playback. Anyway, from the looks of the homescreen in the grab above, we'll be treated to an updated launcher, Android tutorial, and global search box when the OS is revealed (presumably) at Google I/O starting May 19. And with the giant Froyo statue apparently already delivered to the GooglePlex's confectionary art show, well, the stage is set for 2.2 to be launched in time for Adobe's planned June release of Flash 10.1.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/05/11/andr ... -one-vide/

heshere2001

Postby heshere2001 » May 11th, 2010, 12:24 pm

Want to know which flavour of the N1 you guys have.

* 3G coverage on networks that use the 850 MHz, 1900 MHz, and 2100 MHz frequency bands (recommended for use on AT&T in the US)
* 3G coverage on networks that use the 900 MHz, AWS, and 2100 MHz frequency bands (recommended for use on T-Mobile in the US)

I know we dont have a 3G network and we may never get one but I still wanna know :oops:

achillies

Postby achillies » May 12th, 2010, 4:46 pm

Is there anyone in here with a rooted device running rooted roms???

achillies

Postby achillies » May 12th, 2010, 8:04 pm

For my Android Fam:

http://www.androlib.com/android.applica ... e-nzi.aspx

check it out!!!!!!!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 13th, 2010, 6:52 pm

Android 2.2 'Froyo' to include USB tethering, WiFi hotspot functionality

And the good Froyo news just keep flowing in. TechCrunch have flexed their exclusive muscle this morning in revealing their discovery that Android 2.2 will come with built-in tethering and WiFi hotspot support. That means you'll be able to use your phone's 3G internet connection to hook your laptop up to the worldwide webosphere, with a choice of wired or wireless methods. Of course, this dreamy scenario will be subject to the big bad network operators permitting -- or at least not forbidding -- you to do such awesome things with your hardware, but at least we know the goods are being baked into this forthcoming release from Google.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/05/13/andr ... pot-funct/

Postby Greypatch » May 13th, 2010, 7:03 pm

yuh getting on man..

I suppose users of 2.1 on a N1 will be updated easily

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 13th, 2010, 7:48 pm

yep we'll get an over the air update...

roam
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby roam » May 17th, 2010, 7:11 pm

Do any of you N1 guys have a problem with the battery life of your phone? I just got one, and it's nice and all, but the battery runs down relatively quickly. I use the phone moderately, and a full charge barely last me a day... shouldn't it be a bit more?

Anyone else experiencing this?

Postby Greypatch » May 17th, 2010, 7:12 pm

depends on how much you use it and what you have on...

generally last me 2 days...

if my kid uses it to play games a lot less than that

roam
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby roam » May 17th, 2010, 7:48 pm

Thanks for the prompt response Patch.

Greypatch wrote:depends on how much you use it and what you have on...

I hear you, and I agree.

I haven't quite figured out the right way to turn off, or exit an app yet. For instance, it seems that you have to hit the back, or home button to get out of the web browser when you're done with it. But does that really close it? It appears to be still running in the back ground... but probably on less resources.

So if the apps are never really closed, wouldn't they still be using power?

Kish

Postby Kish » May 18th, 2010, 4:40 pm

just tried the gmaps live wallpaper for android 2.x it's definitely something to try. i found those map widgets too bulky for the screen. but with this background you can have your icons on top it and zoom in and out of the map that shows your current location.

looking forward for more features and updates...,

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 18th, 2010, 6:35 pm

jus a reminder that Google reveals Android 2.2 (Froyo) tom. @ the Google I/O conference...

what we know about 2.2 so far:

450% faster than 2.1
Flash support
USB & WiFi tethering
updated launcher

Postby Greypatch » May 18th, 2010, 8:04 pm

looking forward to Version 2.2

roam will have to do a bit of research for background apps use

Postby RASC » May 19th, 2010, 2:43 am

mitch wrote:jus a reminder that Google reveals Android 2.2 (Froyo) tom. @ the Google I/O conference...

what we know about 2.2 so far:

450% faster than 2.1
Flash support
USB & WiFi tethering
updated launcher

SUHWEET

achillies

Postby achillies » May 19th, 2010, 4:26 am

http://www.appbrain.com/app/com.fede.launcher

Sweet home replacement app
Peep it........

Postby SUPAstarr » May 20th, 2010, 11:53 am

Android 2.2 Froyo officially announced

No huge surprises here, but Google just announced Android 2.2 "Froyo" at I/O, and the big addition is a just-in-time compiler, which brings a 2-5x speed boost to the system.

Postby SUPAstarr » May 20th, 2010, 11:56 am

8:54AM "We think we can claim froyo has the fastest mobile browser."

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 20th, 2010, 12:22 pm

Postby SUPAstarr » May 20th, 2010, 12:25 pm

android jus win, right then an there....yes kick apple in the nutsss

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 20th, 2010, 12:29 pm

install apps to SD card

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 20th, 2010, 12:38 pm

using Wi-Fi hotspot to get an iPad online :lol: :lol: :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 20th, 2010, 12:49 pm

a web based client of the Android Marketplace allowing Over The Air installations

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 20th, 2010, 11:07 pm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 22nd, 2010, 7:58 pm

just downloaded and installed 2.2 on my N1...

Android 2.2 Froyo manual update found, now available for select Nexus One devices

It was only a matter of time. The direct link to download the Android 2.2 "Froyo" update from Google's servers has been found. According to XDA-Developers, it only works if you have a "non-rooted stock ERE27 system" Nexus One. Meet the requirements? Can't wait any longer? Download link below.

Download

http://www.engadget.com/2010/05/22/andr ... r-non-roo/

Postby M_2NR » May 22nd, 2010, 8:07 pm

mitch, n00b question, you being rooted right? that doesnt affect anything right?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 22nd, 2010, 8:19 pm

nah i never rooted so it didnt affect me...

Postby M_2NR » May 22nd, 2010, 8:21 pm

ohhh :shock:

Postby Greypatch » May 22nd, 2010, 9:23 pm

so just search on market or is it automatic ?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 22nd, 2010, 11:03 pm

^it's a manual update if u dont want to wait until Google pushes the update OTA to ur phone...

u can read here if ur willing to try it on ur own...
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=686605

if not, just wait until u get a notification that a system update is available on ur phone

Postby M_2NR » May 23rd, 2010, 2:00 am

http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-root-nexus-one-on-android-2.2-9140787/

Have a read. It haz instructions in there (hotlinked)