achillies

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby achillies » June 14th, 2012, 7:49 pm

sentraman wrote:I now buy mine.

S2 for sale with otterbox case and MHL

From bmobile?
This phone causing a craze on Google+, lots of people interested, many looking to get it from bmobile, then insert their digicel sim, didn't hear one talk about any supplementary "Android" plan.

Postby S_2NR » June 14th, 2012, 8:06 pm

meh, too much $$$ for a phone.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » June 14th, 2012, 8:37 pm

achillies wrote:
sentraman wrote:I now buy mine.

S2 for sale with otterbox case and MHL

From bmobile?
This phone causing a craze on Google+, lots of people interested, many looking to get it from bmobile, then insert their digicel sim, didn't hear one talk about any supplementary "Android" plan.

yes bmobile Trincity

sentraman

Postby sentraman » June 14th, 2012, 8:46 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
blacklight wrote:
Its amazing how the ad never says that you will have to sign up for a android plan with ridiculous rates to get the phone.

Dont know why bmobile dont stop the nonsense of a different service rate based on the handset you purchase.

really unfortunate if thats the case, otherwise the price didnt seem that bad.

where you get that info from sharkman?? that is not true. I just bought one and you dont have to sign up for a plan.

Val

Postby Val » June 14th, 2012, 9:24 pm

Was it unlocked? Do you think it's worth the upgrade over the S2 for you?

Postby pugboy » June 14th, 2012, 10:21 pm

anybody using Galaxy Mini ?
Looking to buy one

Val

Postby Val » June 14th, 2012, 10:47 pm

I had the Galaxy Ace, and used the Mini already. Would never buy the Mini over the Ace, if you're looking at that price range.

blacklight

The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby blacklight » June 15th, 2012, 12:29 am

sentraman wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:
blacklight wrote:
Its amazing how the ad never says that you will have to sign up for a android plan with ridiculous rates to get the phone.

Dont know why bmobile dont stop the nonsense of a different service rate based on the handset you purchase.

where you get that info from sharkman?? that is not true. I just bought one and you dont have to sign up for a plan.

Well according to the Bmobile website, that's what they have. Probably changed the purchasing procedure inlight of heavy competition.

Postby sharkman121 » June 15th, 2012, 12:57 am

sentraman wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:
blacklight wrote:

Never said you have to sign up for anything...just posted a picture i got from bmobiles facebook. But if you dont have to sign up for an android plan, its a good deal.

Postby teems1 » June 15th, 2012, 8:02 am

sentraman wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:
blacklight wrote:

Well if it comes with no Android plan, I'm set.

Will the prepaid version be unlocked?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » June 15th, 2012, 9:11 am

Okay question.

If I pick up the S2 (for someone; no cash for S3), I suspect it will get Jellybean. I mean the hardware is very capable and I don't see how much more taxing JB will be. But what about after? Anyone has a roadmap for the phone and OS support? ICS showed how Android has matured so I'm guessing they will just keep tweaking the OS now, adding features, and not making major changes.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 15th, 2012, 10:47 am

guys -
looking to make the switch from BB in the corporate environment... maybe looking to go android

Digicel's android offerings are very poor however, they are offering us the Samsung 5360 (http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_y_s5360-4117.php).

What are your opinions on this phone?
Will it stand up for 2 years?
Some users will be out in the field constantly... Is the OS responsive enough that users will not be frustrated.
Email will be POP, not exchange.

Thanks in advance

Val

Postby Val » June 15th, 2012, 7:12 pm

Strauss wrote:Okay question.

If I pick up the S2 (for someone; no cash for S3), I suspect it will get Jellybean. I mean the hardware is very capable and I don't see how much more taxing JB will be. But what about after? Anyone has a roadmap for the phone and OS support? ICS showed how Android has matured so I'm guessing they will just keep tweaking the OS now, adding features, and not making major changes.

If you're open to custom ROMs, you'd be comfortable with the S2 for a long time as unofficial ports of the new OS's would be made for it.

But the S2 is a 2011 phone. I don't think that they will provide official updates etc for a long time e.g. Samsung Galaxy S.

Postby stev » June 18th, 2012, 11:56 am

sharkman121 wrote:Image

i see ur bmobile S3...

Postby teems1 » June 18th, 2012, 12:00 pm

Went early Saturday to both TCM and Westmall bmobile. Both were sold out of the S3.

Weaksauce....

stretch

Postby stretch » June 19th, 2012, 12:05 pm

anyone could confirm if the s3 from bmobile was unlocked?

achillies

Postby achillies » June 19th, 2012, 1:41 pm

stretch wrote:anyone could confirm if the s3 from bmobile was unlocked?

It is, at least for the device I saw.

Postby sharkman121 » June 19th, 2012, 2:00 pm

so bmobile and digicels S3's are the same price. I guess it comes down to the external factors or "sweeteners" that they offering is what would make you pick one over the other.

DOne know digicels month free of 4g speed will entice more ppl, question is...what is bmobile offering.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 19th, 2012, 2:36 pm

dont understand this whole unlocked or not question :|

both carriers are offering the phone @ the same price, so buy it from the carrier ur sim card belongs to? or do ppl actually walk around with 2 sim cards and keep swapping them? :|

if someone is asking cos they intend to use the phone internationally, then ok.

Postby sharkman121 » June 19th, 2012, 2:45 pm

i think is because ppl intend on buying from digicel and using bmobile sim or vice versa

kar_freak

Postby kar_freak » June 19th, 2012, 3:43 pm

looking for a working galaxy s2 motherboard...pm if you have one or know where i can get one please and thanks

stretch

Postby stretch » June 19th, 2012, 3:43 pm

I asked because i plan to use internationally, when i head back out to work. The number supplied, on the page before for the s3 for 5k. dont wanna call on the holiday but does anyone know if he has in stock? need one before 30th of this month.

RickyJ12

Postby RickyJ12 » June 19th, 2012, 5:03 pm

HUGE ANDROID FAN HERE!. ANDROID 4 LIFE!!! All who upgraded to android 4.0?

achillies

Postby achillies » June 19th, 2012, 9:32 pm

People wish they could've gotten it cheaper from bmobile unlocked then slip in a Digicel Sim, but Digicel started offering it at the same price.

All this is moot anyway because Supercurio has tweeted that he has already written an app that would unlock any S3 and it's very close to release, and I am sure it's going to be dirt cheap.

And if you use Samsung Android phones and don't know who Supercurio is, well that's really unfortunate.

EDIT: He released it, and it's free

Postby Greypatch » June 20th, 2012, 7:15 pm

so both carriers offering unlocked units (s3) ?

Postby RASC » June 20th, 2012, 7:51 pm

Ditto what Greypatch is asking... Also are they only in white? Saw a pebble blue in person... ¡Me Gusta!

achillies

Postby achillies » June 20th, 2012, 8:54 pm

RASC wrote:Ditto what Greypatch is asking... Also are they only in white? Saw a pebble blue in person... ¡Me Gusta!

I've seen the pebble blue version, won't buy a white version of any phone at all, if the screen is surrounded by white.

Postby Greypatch » June 21st, 2012, 10:13 am

no bmobile/digicel peeps here ?
what about peeps who already purchased the unit ?

stretch

Postby stretch » June 21st, 2012, 10:41 am

yea find the thread get quiet.

jhtuner

Postby jhtuner » June 21st, 2012, 10:49 am

Woi woi.how this forum so dead...by the way people I saw the S3 dam its sexy...the white 1.let's hear from those who can afford it...how it performs.I give it a 10/10 for its looks.lol