Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby wheelbarrow » October 29th, 2014, 2:59 pm

That's a writer for Phandroid

Sinz

Postby Sinz » October 30th, 2014, 10:49 am

Well I gave up on the N6 (for now at least) and went with the OnePlus One. Heard someone here mention that Let's Talk had them and I got the last one they had in stock :D Good lookin out. Amazingly fast device, especially coming from the S3. Got about 8 hours screen time on my first charge too ..... so umm, yeah lol

Came across one major bug tho where if you have a third party launcher like Nova and tried to change the wallpaper, you keep getting a recurring lockscreen error that prevents you from even using the device. Here's a vid of someone with the issue...

http://youtu.be/1r6mwVUS1NM

If you have swift fingers however you can navigate to the settings panel and change the wallpaper back using the Theme Choser. Other than that, the phone has thoroughly impressed me.

Last edited by Sinz on October 30th, 2014, 1:06 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby Spitfir3 » October 30th, 2014, 11:42 am

what do you mean you give up on the n6? did you own it and it turned out to be sheit or is it not available to purchase locally?

Sinz

Postby Sinz » October 30th, 2014, 11:53 am

Gave up cuz of the price really. Got someone to order it for me abroad and bring it in next month, but decided to go with a cheaper alternative last minute. Might just get the N9 for Christmas. Oh btw, Let's Talk said they'd be getting the N6 about a couple weeks max after launch. For those who are interested.
Last edited by Sinz on October 30th, 2014, 1:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Spitfir3 » October 30th, 2014, 12:23 pm

got any idea how much it retails for? also how much did the one plus cost if you don't mind me asking

Sinz

Postby Sinz » October 30th, 2014, 1:01 pm

Got the One for 3400. Which isn't a bad price at all. There's someone else here on tuner selling for the same price. Last I checked he had one left too. Didn't get an estimated price on the N6 from them though. But i'm guessing it won't be cheap.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 30th, 2014, 2:05 pm

So you bought a flagship killer for the price of a flagship? Let that sink in.

Wasn't the whole point of that phone to be a cheaper alternative?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 30th, 2014, 2:11 pm

Had my eyes on the one but not too impressed with the camera shots as compared with my S4, + I refuse to pay so much more than the actual retail price of that phone as good as it may be. Can't believe you went with the one+ over the N6 tho.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » October 30th, 2014, 2:19 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:So you bought a flagship killer for the price of a flagship? Let that sink in.

Precisely. Just greed have those guys selling it for that much. I was not going to buy one from them. Save $1000 by trolling the oneplus forums for an invite. It works.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 30th, 2014, 2:21 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:Had my eyes on the one but not too impressed with the camera shots as compared with my S4, + I refuse to pay so much more than the actual retail price of that phone as good as it may be. Can't believe you went with the one+ over the N6 tho.

Im disappointed with S4 camera tbh. G2 camera was miles better.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 30th, 2014, 2:31 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:Had my eyes on the one but not too impressed with the camera shots as compared with my S4, + I refuse to pay so much more than the actual retail price of that phone as good as it may be. Can't believe you went with the one+ over the N6 tho.

Im disappointed with S4 camera tbh. G2 camera was miles better.

I kinda pleased with it, low light shots not that good but shots taken with proper lighting are pretty decent. My next phone has to have a much better display/camera so is either the N6 / Note 4.

Sinz

Postby Sinz » October 30th, 2014, 2:45 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:So you bought a flagship killer for the price of a flagship? Let that sink in.

Don't know what needed to sink in. Name one 'flagship' with those specs that can be bought locally at that price? If you do, I'll mail you a cookie.

So what if it cost more? It wasn't a thousand more Cap. It's not like I have friends in customs and shipping/clearing wouldn't have been an issue. I just didn't want to go through the stress of ordering online. Needed a phone now as my S3 was frustrating me to no end. I think the price was good. Nowhere near the 4700 I saw someone asking for on this forum the other day.

Well as I said, I didn't think it was such a bad price. And you do understand that the N6, even without factoring in other costs would add up to way more than the One right? Not so hard to believe that price could be a determining factor.

Postby Spitfir3 » October 30th, 2014, 6:20 pm

i like how ulyuh biggin up the n6 n thing eh but even doh it looks good on paper anyone ever actually used one and can back up this device?
Last edited by Spitfir3 on October 30th, 2014, 6:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » October 30th, 2014, 6:29 pm

Moto built nexus phone is hardly a no name brand. The device itself is pretty much guaranteed to be awesome but price wise, compared to other nexus devices in the past, not so much.

Postby Spitfir3 » October 30th, 2014, 6:33 pm

yea i probably shouldn't have said no name brand but more like lesser brand

hopefully the older devices drop in price even the nexus 4 is still kinda pricey

Postby Trini Hookah » October 30th, 2014, 7:40 pm

Nexus 4 has hardware bugs. Digitizer in a few I've seen locally loses touch for varied sections.

Postby stev » October 30th, 2014, 9:20 pm

Angry Birds: Transfomers now available:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... DWidgetWeb

Postby nervewrecker » October 31st, 2014, 3:57 pm

I not seeing any available invites to give my friends for inbox. Wah wrong?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » October 31st, 2014, 4:07 pm

Check under the compose button.
If it not there, then yuh doh have none to give.

Google only gives 3 at a time. And they give when they feel like

Postby nervewrecker » October 31st, 2014, 4:28 pm

Alright, I'll wait till I have.

Thanks for the invite btw

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » October 31st, 2014, 4:53 pm

Don't see the use of it. Gmail good enough for me. Find myself still checking gmail lol

Postby Trini Hookah » October 31st, 2014, 5:05 pm

Wheelbarrow ymc

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » October 31st, 2014, 5:45 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Wheelbarrow ymc

8-)

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » October 31st, 2014, 7:41 pm

it took like 3days for me to share invites

Any who I have one more invite to giveaway pm me

Postby nervewrecker » October 31st, 2014, 9:16 pm

Ball in Yuh court dey hookah

FullStop

Postby FullStop » November 1st, 2014, 7:52 am

Anyone know where I can get a OnePlus One invite? Looks like sonygoup's last one might be gone. Would like to get my gf one for her birthday. It was either this or a Note 3, but the Note3 price still way too high.

Postby Trini Hookah » November 1st, 2014, 8:34 am

FullStop wrote:Anyone know where I can get a OnePlus One invite? Looks like sonygoup's last one might be gone. Would like to get my gf one for her birthday. It was either this or a Note 3, but the Note3 price still way too high.

I think he had inbox invites tho.

Postby S_2NR » November 1st, 2014, 1:07 pm

FullStop wrote:Anyone know where I can get a OnePlus One invite? Looks like sonygoup's last one might be gone. Would like to get my gf one for her birthday. It was either this or a Note 3, but the Note3 price still way too high.

iphone. cant go wrong bro.
girls love iphones.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » November 1st, 2014, 1:36 pm

S_2NR wrote:

iphone. cant go wrong bro.
girls love iphones.

This is true. Is the in thing.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 1st, 2014, 3:00 pm

cant blame them iphone has one of the best cameras and girls like selfies.....no brainer.

android also just not getting this photo thing right with over compressed photos as compared to ios much better compression resulting in a much smoother looking photo (referring to the hardware image processing issue eg on instagram and photos in general)