Sunday, May 26th, 2013

- It is currently Sat May 25, 2013 10:48 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1429 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 48  Next
shaneelal
 Post subject: Re: TSTT WiMax - review
PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2010 8:26 pm 

Smokey wrote:
noobie wrote:
shottah_crew wrote:
heshere2001 wrote:
Thanks Tstt. Thanks Digicel. Wimax for the fail.

LTE is the future.

Future? Yeah, but maybe when they have 6G and 7G at the rate them goin...

The developed countries like the US and Europe are going with LTE.

Over 40 manufacturers are going with LTE. So all the latest phones will be using LTE first, and maybe a WiMAX version later, if ever.

So manufacturers are now dumping WiMAX on third world and developing nations, citing cheaper costs and rollout fees.

The thing is that once LTE reaches critical mass (2011), there isn't going to be a cost advantage to WiMAX anymore.

LTE 4G can handle both top end Phones and Rural internet.

Analysts are already calling this battle in favor of LTE. Pretty soon we are going to have the equivalent of HD-Dvd in the Caribbean when everyone else is using BluRay.

Again, this isn't totally true.....WiMAX won't die. While it will never become a mainstream Cellular Broadband format, it was always meant for more fixed wireless applications and wireless broadband (not on phones, but on laptops). Look at the what Sprint and Clearwater have deployed in the US....you think TSTT's Blink on the go WiMAX will disappear once the launch LTE? Why would they clog up the system with Mobile phone users and real internet users? Keep them separate and not congest the system.

You must also realize that WiMAX network deployment is not significantly cheaper than 3G. In fact, if TSTT or Digicel were to go 3G they'd save money in the long run in terms of Network Capex as a lot of the same equipment is easily upgraded to LTE from 3G.....not so with WiMAX.

WiMAX however made sense to 'poorer' nations because, the user devices are cheaper than 3G devices which are already dirt cheap, so you can imagine how cheap they are. These devices are always a significant cost. TSTT is giving away Blink on the Go 4G modems...

Also, WiMAX and LTE share very similar technology and therefore can achieve almost equal speeds.....and one is here now (WiMAX) and readily available, the other is still a year away from being commercially launched.

There's an even bigger factor at play here.....TATT.....which has awarded large amounts of spectrum in the 2.5GHz band for WiMAX.....I think both TSTT and Digicel has 50 MHz each....which allows for very fast data rates and a lot of capacity for growth.

TATT hasn't awarded any significant amount of spectrum for LTE. Therefore, even if TSTT or Digi were to launch LTE, they'd have such limited spectrum that the max speeds would be 1mbit.

Very informative post. During RFI presentations by the big players in the LTE market Alcatel, Nokia Siemens etc.. they stated that LTE phones etc won't be cheap as current phones are until approx. 2013. Most people in Trinidad have non smart phones and those that do a small portion actually use the features. If any company in Trinidad has to adopt this technology, the devices will have to be cheap such that it won't have to be heavily subsidized.

scotty_buttons
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 7:05 pm 

Is it true that the WiMax is currently prepaid? just spoke with someone working tstt..not in that sector tho and she said that it's currently prepaid and u pay per bandwidth use..is that true?
i was of the notion that u pay a fixed price for the 2mb package...unlimited!

Geek-e-Zone
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 7:19 pm 

the on the go turbo is unlimited, but if u want the wifi router w/ wimax at home that one is prepaid.

kinda doh make sense but anyhow..... these nights i gettin trouble to get an ip address on the wimax though.

shaneelal
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 7:20 pm 

scotty_buttons wrote:
Is it true that the WiMax is currently prepaid? just spoke with someone working tstt..not in that sector tho and she said that it's currently prepaid and u pay per bandwidth use..is that true?
i was of the notion that u pay a fixed price for the 2mb package...unlimited!

There are both prepaid and unlimited packages-

http://www.blinkbroadband.tt/index.cfm/1,106,0,0,html/BLINK-for-Home#/ajax/home_all_packages.cfm?previewid=0

scotty_buttons
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 7:28 pm 

dude, which one is wimax..cuz i not seeing any there..jus the normal broadband modem and blink on the go
but thanks geekerzone..that really doh make sense for real eh..guess il go wit blink on the go for now

Geek-e-Zone
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 7:30 pm 

on the go TURBO is wimax and evdo using the usb dongle. the prepaid one is wimax at home using a wimax router

scotty_buttons
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2010 7:53 pm 

ohh ok ok i see it now..sorry..my bad :lol:
thanks!

Nighttroll
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:17 am 

I went to TSTT to find out if there is service for the wimax in my area and if there is then I wanna sign up...
They located my house on google map with the signal strength shown bordering yellow and green and said i'm good to go with wimax.
Then said, this is only for users that signed up for blink that they cannot provide the service to because of lack of facilities in their exchange.
So the woman went and talk to a few people and came back and said that my area has no more provision to provide blink to any more customers. This i know about a year ago because i enquired about blink and they said the same. I do not have a lan line. My neighbours have lan line and have no choice but to go with greendot since there is no more provision for additional blink customers in my area.
So they have confirmed that i cannot get blink on a lan line.
They said the only way i can get the wimax modem is to apply for a lan line, then apply for blink , wait for them to tell me no more blink in my area and only then i will get the wimax modem. Then disconnect the lan line.
I said doesn't make sense to apply for a lan line when both of us already know that i can't get the blink over a lan line. That is the only way i'm going to get it they said.
They going to make me waste $200 and more to apply for a lan line that we know doesn't work for blink, waste their technician time to come install the lan line, i'll have to pay again to have the lan line disconnected when i do get the wimax. So much unnecessary steps , time and money wasted.
I said this lan line is no use for me if i can't get blink on it. That is the only way to get the wimax modem.
Eventually i got the demo modem for a day to check for the signal at home and it was excellent and signed up for the lan line the next day...
That is a real stupid way to do business, waste everybody time and make me waste my money.. I even offer to pay to apply for a line and pay to get it disconnected but have no technician to come install it .They said i have to go with procedure.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 6:09 am 

They have demo modem?
I was told tht no wimax service in my area but she said if I knew someone with the wimax modem I could borrow it to see if itstill works because tht can happen.
She said they doing upgrades, I asked when...she said knowing tstt I doubt it would ever upgrade.

shaneelal
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 6:27 am 

Remember that they have to deploy at a alot more sites than CDMA due to higher frequency of WimAX being used. It'll take them time to roll out to more than 300 sites.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 6:44 am 

Seems to me they have wimax in areas tht already have Blink.
They should come in areas like mine to upgrade.....we have no Blink, wimax or Blink on the go service and also no Flow. So other option is Greendot....

demented
PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 10:09 pm 

Nighttroll wrote:
I went to TSTT to find out if there is service for the wimax in my area and if there is then I wanna sign up...
They located my house on google map with the signal strength shown bordering yellow and green and said i'm good to go with wimax.
Then said, this is only for users that signed up for blink that they cannot provide the service to because of lack of facilities in their exchange.
So the woman went and talk to a few people and came back and said that my area has no more provision to provide blink to any more customers. This i know about a year ago because i enquired about blink and they said the same. I do not have a lan line. My neighbours have lan line and have no choice but to go with greendot since there is no more provision for additional blink customers in my area.
So they have confirmed that i cannot get blink on a lan line.
They said the only way i can get the wimax modem is to apply for a lan line, then apply for blink , wait for them to tell me no more blink in my area and only then i will get the wimax modem. Then disconnect the lan line.
I said doesn't make sense to apply for a lan line when both of us already know that i can't get the blink over a lan line. That is the only way i'm going to get it they said.
They going to make me waste $200 and more to apply for a lan line that we know doesn't work for blink, waste their technician time to come install the lan line, i'll have to pay again to have the lan line disconnected when i do get the wimax. So much unnecessary steps , time and money wasted.
I said this lan line is no use for me if i can't get blink on it. That is the only way to get the wimax modem.
Eventually i got the demo modem for a day to check for the signal at home and it was excellent and signed up for the lan line the next day...
That is a real stupid way to do business, waste everybody time and make me waste my money.. I even offer to pay to apply for a line and pay to get it disconnected but have no technician to come install it .They said i have to go with procedure.

What area is this? I was told something similar...got the land line installed (only worked for total 3 non consecutive weeks) and applied for blink broadband. Up to now ( after I give back up the landline because it not working, techs come about 5 times to reapir and not getting through, and bills coming with all sorts of calls being made) no Blink rep come by me or even call. TSTT is the worst!!!

Nighttroll
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 7:25 am 

The area is Freeport

blacktriple_s
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 9:03 pm 

^ I'm interested in finding this out as well!!

theblitz
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 11:09 pm 

Nighttroll, if you can, PM me the details of how you went about gettin a demo modem please. The motherfackers told me the same borrow a friends modem crap and thats the only way to test it.

douglaking
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 11:38 pm 

They told my cousin who lives behind me that it wasn't available in my area. I managed to get one due to work and well..I'm on it now...and it pulling nice!

SnapCracklePop
PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:04 am 

i work at a company that uses 3g/4g devices to power a lot of our equipment.
i have over 40, 3G USB devices.
and recently got 4-5 4G/WiMax USB devices.

worked great for the first 3-4 weeks, and after that. the Wimax connection refused to stay connected, it would connect and immediately disconnect.

this is after my rep from tstt told me that they don't work. and they keep disconnecting.

let me put it this way, if there was any other company that could offer me the services i need to run my business i would cancel all my TSTT subscriptions and never look back......

worst customer services, worst technical service, worst anything, sadly, i have experience with Lisa communications, and digicell, and they are both just as bad....

i like the guys from greendot though. never had any issues, although, i have not dealt with them that much.

my recommendation, stay away from the USB Wimax Devices....waste of time...

theblitz
PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:32 am 

lol I'm only looking into it because of no other available services in the area

agreed about bad cust. service though

Nighttroll
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 8:17 am 

Update: I got my wimax yesterday.
When i got the demo device about 3 months ago there was the green signal light in only certain positions in my house. With the device i got yesterday all most anywhere in my house is green light. You get the orange and red only if you put the device lying down or in the middle of a room , so I thought that TSTT did a bit of upgrade with the signal strength.
Lo and behold it works anywhere in my house....but that catch is, the speed test fluctuates about 0.3-0.6 mbs and i paid for 2mbs. Eventually into the night by trying out different places in and out of the house. The best location seems to be upstairs by a 8'x7' window sling up close to the middle of it. This is on the Eastern side. Started to get about above 1mbs at around 11pm and started to get above 1.5mbs around 1.00am. It kept this speed untill around 7.00am this morning. I'm not sure if it will hold this speed during the day.
Moral of the story: If you get a demo device or borrow a friend device to check for signal strenths , always do a speed test. If it says green light then it will work but not guarante the speed. Only way is to do the speed test. Also, on the signal strength map from TSTT, I live in the bordering area between the green and yellow region.
Can someone tell me if the speed is affected by the amount of users on it at the time?

Nighttroll
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 9:24 am 

I forgot to mention that i did call for support and spent nearly and hour and eventually they said I should return it and get another device to try out. I believe that being in the yellow and green region there are issues with the speed.
Time to cut my .

Nighttroll
PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:29 am 

Update: I moved the device from my window back to my comp. desk. I'm getting the 2mb from the speed test.
It seems as though the first 2weeks of having it , there were problems with the system where the speed test was reporting 0.3- 1.75mb and was fluctuating real bad. tstt was screwing around with the system
Its been about 5-6 weeks of having it and the signal is stable now at 2mb/s and i'm happy with the service.
. is now gone !!

PostPosted: Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:12 pm 

yesterday blink was doing some upgrade
i have the blink entertainment with the internet package
for the past few weeks my tv would need the box to be reset because the remote would stop working lo and behold yesterday the tv cut off and rebooted on its own and no more problems thus far...

speedaholic
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 10:42 pm 

anyone tried connecting a wireless router to thier Wimax modem??? i did and its not working @ all! :S

Nighttroll
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:34 am 

speedaholic wrote:
anyone tried connecting a wireless router to thier Wimax modem??? i did and its not working @ all! :S

what problem are you getting?
It is a simple install.
Try resetting you router to default , then connect to the router , then change security settings on the router. You can remove the usb dongle on the wimax.

15devils
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:13 am 

the service good man,it all depends where you live to
i admit the process to get the service is shitty,they should offer the service to everyone who interested,but then it have some people who live in no coverage areas,and claims their friends etc have it close to them,and when they getting no signal,dey vex.

speedaholic
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:54 am 

Nighttroll wrote:
speedaholic wrote:

what problem are you getting?
It is a simple install.
Try resetting you router to default , then connect to the router , then change security settings on the router. You can remove the usb dongle on the wimax.

okay well i have a linksys WRT54G2 wireless router.. i did remove the usb Dongle.. and connected the lan cable from the wimax modem to the router.. and then another lan cable from the router to my pc... My main reason for doin this is because my dad's pc in his room is not connecting to the wifi signal the Wimax modem is givin so i wanted to try the linksys to see if it wud work... any help??

Nighttroll
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:20 am 

With default setting on the router you should see the linksys ssid from the laptop...Connect to it and see if it works..
If you not seeing it just reset the router with the switch at the back - hold for 10sec with router on and it will reset.

996vtwin
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:58 pm 
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

:D

speedaholic
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:37 pm 

doesnt work.. tried that..

Chiney
PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:45 pm 

The question was asked here alrdy. But no serious answer was giving. Can someone share their view if he/she has or had it? Highly considering it. Hoping to get feed back on coverage and speed as well. Want to go tomorrow and get it once it checks out.

Anyone?

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1429 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 48  Next