Re: Know the law. Road laws of Trinidad and Tobago

Postby TRAE » March 20th, 2014, 10:27 am

RS you resurrect this ched jed

Postby pete » March 20th, 2014, 10:34 am

I've looked through the act, the highway code and the study guides for vehicles about this but have not found anything -

Do you need permission in writing for having a tow bar installed on the back of a pickup and to use it for towing a licensed trailer?

Only things I've seen is that
1) Goods vehicles (heavy and extra heavy) require a revolving amber light when towing a trailer. To get a revolving amber light you need to have permission as it is an additional light. The vehicle is a light T, so does this mean that it does not need any letter?

2) It is an offence for a vehicle to tow anything other than a motor vehicle or licensed trailer. The trailer is licensed and insured.

Need to get the trailer inspected and I'm a bit apprehensive about going into LO without knowing for sure.

Jnoreiga

Postby Jnoreiga » April 19th, 2014, 11:25 pm

Is it illegal to have white led bulbs as your park light

Postby redmanjp » April 20th, 2014, 12:35 am

when last someone get charge for not inspecting a vehicle older than 5 yrs?

Steven Ramadar

Postby Steven Ramadar » April 20th, 2014, 6:55 am

pete wrote:I've looked through the act, the highway code and the study guides for vehicles about this but have not found anything -

Do you need permission in writing for having a tow bar installed on the back of a pickup and to use it for towing a licensed trailer?

1) Goods vehicles (heavy and extra heavy) require a revolving amber light when towing a trailer. To get a revolving amber light you need to have permission as it is an additional light. The vehicle is a light T, so does this mean that it does not need any letter?

2) It is an offence for a vehicle to tow anything other than a motor vehicle or licensed trailer. The trailer is licensed and insured.

Need to get the trailer inspected and I'm a bit apprehensive about going into LO without knowing for sure.

Call LO and find out. Safest thing to do

Postby zoom rader » April 20th, 2014, 8:29 am

pete wrote:I've looked through the act, the highway code and the study guides for vehicles about this but have not found anything -

Dude a pick up will do, I towed a single axle car trailer in LO for inspections a few times and never have they questioned the pick up or tow bar on pick up.
Boat men do it all the time .
Trailers they inspect for working brakes, tail lights, plates, MGW ect , chassis #, and insurance. This took less that 10 min each time I went.
Even got pulled aside in road block by LO and all they checked for was insurance and inspection cert for trailer . They never showed any concern for pick up as it had the inspection sticker on display. just flash a new coat of paint on trailer and make sure your fenders in order apart from the other checks.
The key for towing is the trailer has tobe under a certain axle weight, it will have it on the cert copy. Normally the cert copy will specify this as single axle industrial trailer, double axle trailers they may give you problems depending on the MGW.
Once a dumb beyotch kept asking me for engine number on trailer to issue insurance :-?
Last edited by zoom rader on April 20th, 2014, 8:45 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 20th, 2014, 8:32 am

Some trucks come stock with tow hook ..pajero...patrol...etc so dunno

bir

Postby bir » April 20th, 2014, 9:28 am

I want to get some info on seatbelts in 3 ton some say 3 ton drivers are exempted from wearing seatbelts but yet a pal of one got a ticket from one of these new recruits

Steven Ramadar

Postby Steven Ramadar » April 20th, 2014, 5:40 pm

bir wrote:I want to get some info on seatbelts in 3 ton some say 3 ton drivers are exempted from wearing seatbelts but yet a pal of one got a ticket from one of these new recruits

Yes drivers of 3+ tons are exempted. ..that's an uneducated officer. Reason for being exempted is to be able to maneuver the truck.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 20th, 2014, 11:22 pm

keep left except when overtaking.

just putting that out there

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » April 22nd, 2014, 2:09 am

Question. Is it legal to change suspension from leaf-springs to coil springs for a more comfortable ride?

Postby pugboy » April 22nd, 2014, 6:14 am

section 48:50

Cyclists are allowed to ride on road and take up a lane like a car
only allowed to ride two abreast(2 side by side) no more than that
south highway illegal for cyclists

Postby zoom rader » April 22nd, 2014, 6:55 am

pugboy wrote:section 48:50

Cyclists are allowed to ride on road and take up a lane like a car
only allowed to ride two abreast(2 side by side) no more than that
south highway illegal for cyclists

Half of these fcuk heads have never ridden a bike on major roads don't give a tosh about cyclists .

Postby Hook » April 22nd, 2014, 7:32 pm

People who drive, walk the streets differently as pedestrians. You see the regard for drivers, how they cross, when they say thanks etc.

It's the same with bikers/cyclists who drive. Generally speaking, drivers who've never rode, drive with scant regard for bikers/cyclists.

speedster

Postby speedster » April 23rd, 2014, 8:15 pm

is it true that you have up to the day before you have to go to court to pay a ticket?
was told so by an officer, but not able to confirm

Postby Morpheus » April 23rd, 2014, 8:20 pm

Hook wrote:People who drive, walk the streets differently as pedestrians. You see the regard for drivers, how they cross, when they say thanks etc.

It's the same with bikers/cyclists who drive. Generally speaking, drivers who've never rode, drive with scant regard for bikers/cyclists.

That helps yes. But friggin common sense and common courtesy goes a long way too.

Postby Hook » April 24th, 2014, 3:11 am

Yeah, dem so eh have no sense though.

hightower1591

Postby hightower1591 » September 22nd, 2014, 1:19 am

i know that im way off course here but i dont know where to look. guys does anyone know the present salary range for police officers

hightower1591

Postby hightower1591 » September 22nd, 2014, 1:20 am

i know that im way off course here but i dont know where to look. guys does anyone know the present salary range for police officers

blaqheart123

Postby blaqheart123 » October 26th, 2014, 8:19 am

very nice, it is good to know these stuff.

TechMD

Postby TechMD » December 13th, 2014, 3:34 pm

Bump!!

JMC

Postby JMC » January 27th, 2015, 7:29 am

Question guys, if you had been drinking (whether alot or just a couple) and while driving you realize you're kinda unfit to drive and decide to pull over and rest up, can you still get charged?. Have a debate with some padnas who do this and say once you park up and resting, your're not operating the vehicle, so you can't get charged. But ent you were operating the vehicle before?

Postby zoom rader » January 27th, 2015, 10:38 am

JMC wrote:Question guys, if you had been drinking (whether alot or just a couple) and while driving you realize you're kinda unfit to drive and decide to pull over and rest up, can you still get charged?. Have a debate with some padnas who do this and say once you park up and resting, your're not operating the vehicle, so you can't get charged. But ent you were operating the vehicle before?

Once you not behind the wheel operating said vehicle. But then again kinda ah dangerous tobe at the side of road alone.

Postby rollingstock » January 27th, 2015, 12:41 pm

Ha I could probably clear this up easily, but you wouldn't like the answer.

Postby zoom rader » January 27th, 2015, 12:46 pm

^^^ Well care to share your expertise, some tuners might change their alco drinking habits.

Postby Hook » January 27th, 2015, 1:12 pm

I think it's safe to assume that the police are NOT going to believe that Kit Walker drove the car from the point of inebriation to where you were found sleeping in it. You're probably going to get a DUI charge.

Postby rollingstock » January 27th, 2015, 5:48 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Well care to share your expertise, some tuners might change their alco drinking habits.

Why? Thought you guy were the experts when it came to the law?

Postby pete » January 27th, 2015, 8:26 pm

How effed up it would be coming back from a party your pardner decide to play a prank. Pulls over and leaves you there sleeping in the passenger seat and then this happens.

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » February 18th, 2015, 1:56 pm

latest laws added and draft proposed law that replaces most of the current laws also added to first page....Check them out

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » February 18th, 2015, 2:12 pm

You have the updated ones