Know the law. Road laws of Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Know the law. Road laws of Trinidad and Tobago

Postby S_2NR » October 3rd, 2011, 5:55 pm

scoobert_doo wrote:looking for any information about vehicle tint in road laws..can anyone lead me in the right direction??

its up to the officer.

scoobert_doo

Postby scoobert_doo » October 3rd, 2011, 6:16 pm

hmm k...cus i keep tools in my car and was looking to go with a darker tint to keep peeping eyes out even wanted to tint the entire front windscreen....fedup of dese degenerate klongs an dem....men buss my back door window an ride out wid my firetruck hilti!!

Postby S_2NR » October 3rd, 2011, 6:22 pm

tint ur car darker if u want.
police could strip u if u have 35% if they feel it too dark.
just move smart.
when u see roadblocks wind down windows.

akintl0

Postby akintl0 » October 3rd, 2011, 11:53 pm

want to know if the vehicle inspection stickers still in effect

Postby BrotherHood » October 4th, 2011, 12:09 am

S_2NR wrote:tint ur car darker if u want.
police could strip u if u have 35% if they feel it too dark.
just move smart.
when u see roadblocks wind down windows.

outlaws1

Postby outlaws1 » October 11th, 2011, 5:50 pm

does anyone know for sure if when transferring a vehicle does both parties need to have insurance certificates

outlaws1

Postby outlaws1 » October 11th, 2011, 6:00 pm

does anyone here have experince in vehicle transferring

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » February 22nd, 2012, 9:01 am

Chapter 48:50
Part V

INSPECTION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
27. (1) A registered owner of a public service motor vehicle,
rental car, goods vehicle, omnibus, tractor or trailer shall produce
it for inspection by a Transport Officer, annually as the Licensing
Authority may direct and shall, at the same time, furnish him with
such information as may be required including the following:
(a) the name of the manufacturer of the chassis;
(b) model;
(c) engine number and number of cylinders;
(d) year manufactured;
(e) factory number of chassis, body number or VIN number;
(f) maximum gross weight in kilogrammes;
(g) type of body.

so, however, that a registered owner of a private motor vehicle or
motorcycle where such motor vehicle or motorcycle is five years
old or more, shall produce it for inspection by an examiner
biennially, at such premises designated for that purpose as the
Licensing Authority may direct.

(11) A registered owner of a private motor vehicle or
motorcycle, public service motor vehicle, rental car, goods vehicle,
omnibus or trailer who fails to produce the vehicle for inspection or
drives the vehicle without obtaining an inspection sticker and
certificate in accordance with these Regulations commits an offence
and is liable, on summary conviction, to a fine of five thousand dollars

fighter fire

Postby fighter fire » March 3rd, 2012, 1:56 pm

wat about lights to the side of the car? i got LEDs under both sides an rim lights, guess it doh have anything on under an side of vehicles....

Postby Hook » March 3rd, 2012, 1:59 pm

:lol: ask them that when they stop you nuh...you'll get a chance to explain to a magistrate that you don't think your lights fall under the term "unauthorized lights"

acelot

Postby acelot » March 17th, 2012, 6:56 am

Maybe I will go to a business trip to Trinidad and Tobago couple months later,I could use the knowledge of the Road laws of TT,and I will visit TriniTuner Co. Ltd.

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » May 14th, 2012, 8:01 am

shogun wrote:
Nigson wrote:have you guys ever driven behind a car and realise that the car seems as though it slowing down but you not seeing any brake light?

All of a sudden the car stop and no brake light....Man I fed up of these ppl..........hit them the charges.....they so lazy to change their blown tail light bulb

I think this is a ploy for others to ram into their car from behind so they could get money to do a body work........

Haha....i hate that sh!t.

I get that from a trailer truck on a dark road in the night. The smell of the burning rubber from his brakes was my only clue that he was slamming brakes.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » August 22nd, 2012, 5:28 pm

Any news of the impact of the new case involving Insurance and 3rd party drivers not listed on the policy?

Jnoreiga

Is tint on lights illegal

Postby Jnoreiga » November 11th, 2012, 3:30 pm

I want to know if you tint or darken your backlights if it is a charge?

Re: Is tint on lights illegal

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 11th, 2012, 4:29 pm

Jnoreiga wrote:I want to know if you tint or darken your backlights if it is a charge?

If you can provide a logical explanation go right ahead :roll:

Postby S_2NR » November 11th, 2012, 4:42 pm

Jnoreiga wrote:I want to know if you tint or darken your backlights if it is a charge?

Once people can still tell when u braking/indicating/reversing its not. Meaning lights are visible in daylight and night. No problem

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » November 13th, 2012, 11:28 am

The laws regarding tint is very subjective and carry a fine up to $4000. The law is that the windows or windshield must not be so tinted as to obscure the view of inside from the outside.

The problem is that magistrates tend to go with the police story, so if you could get a pic of the car and a licence officer to say that it isn't illegal helps your case.... Provided they catch you :)

insidious76

Postby insidious76 » January 23rd, 2013, 7:12 am

Don' you find it unfair that big time CRVs,Audi SUVs and Prados have really dark tint and when you driving a simple old model civic the police single you out and make you take out the tint?do those big time vehicles get stopped and their tint ripped as well?its just a question

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 23rd, 2013, 5:32 pm

indidious wrote:. . . .do those big time vehicles get stopped and their tint ripped as well?its just a question

Yes, I have seen a young lady peeling tint off in her VW Touareg.

Themightyheads

Postby Themightyheads » March 6th, 2013, 2:46 pm

LETS JUST SAY I BUY A VEHICLE AND GOING TO GET IT CHANGE OVER IN MY NAME AND THE LICENSE
officer say well this vehicle has to wait for "foreign sick" to undergo further testing... has anyone experienced this? if they say it stolen or tampered with what happens next with the vehicle?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 6th, 2013, 4:50 pm

Themightyheads wrote:LETS JUST SAY I BUY A VEHICLE AND GOING TO GET IT CHANGE OVER IN MY NAME AND THE LICENSE
officer say well this vehicle has to wait for "foreign sick" to undergo further testing... has anyone experienced this? if they say it stolen or tampered with what happens next with the vehicle?

If folly involved that money dead

Themightyheads

Postby Themightyheads » March 7th, 2013, 9:26 am

ok thank you sir.

watercat

Postby watercat » April 6th, 2013, 2:05 am

dude what is the fine if you break a traffic light at 1 am in the morning where the flashcameras are placed by hyatt?

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 6th, 2013, 8:51 am

Ive noticed alot of ppl asking questions on breaking the law rather than questions about following it...carry on

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 6th, 2013, 9:58 am

KiD wrote:Ive noticed alot of ppl asking questions on breaking the law rather than questions about following it...carry on

People follow laws only because of the possible repercussions of breaking them and not out of the kindness of their hearts. I'm not surprised by the questions whatsoever.

Postby Hook » April 6th, 2013, 11:25 am

People want to know what they can get away with, not what's right.

Postby TRAE » April 12th, 2013, 10:54 am

well i was talking to a police brethren and he say how if you wanna contest the tint allegation, they can impound the vehicle and direct you to return when a licensing officer is around to make it official then hand you a ticket. if you take it off when they ask you get away from the ticket.

however an officer also stopped me in the night under couva flyover to tell me bout my 35% tint so whatever...

Postby j.o.e » April 12th, 2013, 10:57 am

watercat wrote:dude what is the fine if you break a traffic light at 1 am in the morning where the flashcameras are placed by hyatt?

Doesn't matter there is no legislation or system in place to supoort the use of those cameras..its there only for testing

Postby TRAE » April 12th, 2013, 12:19 pm

my only issue is if i have a blown bulb, that happened while i was driving---- how i supposed to know jed, that means i hadda pay for something i am unaware of?

Postby DFC » April 12th, 2013, 12:35 pm