Ever slaughtered an animal?

Humes

Ever slaughtered an animal?

Postby Humes » December 29th, 2010, 11:35 am

First thing: This isn't an animal rights thread. I love meat.

But I've always believed that if you eat meat, you should either witness an animal being slaughtered, or kill one yourself. I went to buy chicken for Christmas once by a meat vendor, and some people were turning away from the birds being killed. I thought it was kinda hypocritical...yuh could eat it but yuh cyar watch it dead? At least give the animal that respect.

I kinda feel similarly about the death penalty (which, again, I'm not against). People who hand out death sentences should also carry out death sentences. But that's another thread.

So...how many of you have killed or regularly slaughter animals*? Thoughts and experiences?

*Cyats doh count.

Re: Ever slaughtered an animal?

Postby wagonrunner » December 29th, 2010, 11:58 am

as a child, granny, would point out which chicken she baking on sunday. and it would be me, the bucket, a knife, and that fowl on sunday marning.

Postby noshownogo » December 29th, 2010, 12:04 pm

Where i lived before was opposite a poultry shop and i frequently witnessed chickens being placed in these cylinders upside down. Their heads were then severed as their still twitching bodies were left to drip. They were then removed and plucked by this machine with a wheel (from what i recall) and then placed into a boiler.

All this reminiscing making me feel for a dinner special 1lick...

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » December 29th, 2010, 12:06 pm

Some people cannot stand the sight of blood, hence not being able to watch an animal be killed.

I do not agree with you wrt "if you eat meat, you should be able to watch the animal get slaughtered". For someone who is seeing it for possibly the first time in their life, it's different, the scent, sight, sounds etc is scary and horrifying for some.

For Eid Ul Adha i've killed, Sheep, Goats, other than that occasion I've killed ducks, rabbits, chicken etc, at first it was scary, but when it became a norm after doing it for a number of years.

Postby RBphoto » December 29th, 2010, 12:20 pm

Grew up with lots of ducks and chickens in my yard. Chickens were not a problem to kill, but ducks could fly in a straight line for nearly 50 feet headless... freaky sight to behold. Every sunday as wagon put it... I rather slaughter and boil than pluck and gut, so I did not mind doing it as the alternative was worse..

Postby wagonrunner » December 29th, 2010, 12:30 pm

Humes wrote:First thing: This isn't an animal rights thread. I love meat.

But I've always believed that if you eat meat, you should either witness an animal being slaughtered, or kill one yourself. I went to buy chicken for Christmas once by a meat vendor, and some people were turning away from the birds being killed. I thought it was kinda hypocritical...yuh could eat it but yuh cyar watch it dead? At least give the animal that respect.

say what now?
that's respect? by chance do you have a service every time you mow your lawn?
or swat a mosquito?

Postby wagonrunner » December 29th, 2010, 12:33 pm

crossdrilled, thats what the bucket was for.
cover them with it, lift slightly, so they poke head out, and yatax.
body beats up in bucket, not all over the yard.

Postby sharkman121 » December 29th, 2010, 12:34 pm

Humes wrote: I thought it was kinda hypocritical...yuh could eat it but yuh cyar watch it dead? At least give the animal that respect.

Why.

Postby turbosingh » December 29th, 2010, 12:50 pm

pioneer wrote:sorry to hear you grew up in poverty :|

An how did poverty come in slaughtering an animal! :?

Postby foss » December 29th, 2010, 1:06 pm

I never killed an animal for food.

Can't bring myself to doing that. I've seen it done (well with poultry) but I just look at it as being done for consumption. Don't think I can look at grazing animals getting slaughtered though, they look like they suffer more (damn Nat Geo)

I've always wanted to go out in the bush and hunt... don't know if I can manage killing the mother or father of young ones though, so who knows

air wick

Postby air wick » December 29th, 2010, 1:14 pm

I've helped slaughter chickens, ducks, goats, pigs, and various types of wild meats

It doesn't bother me because i know that it's being killed for food and not for just killing sake...

Postby RBphoto » December 29th, 2010, 1:16 pm

wagonrunner wrote:crossdrilled, thats what the bucket was for.

Nah... If I remember right (more than 15 years I ain't kill a bird..), it was buss throath, dip in big pot of boiling water and cover with metal lid and let them beat up in there. We would do two chicken and a duck every Sunday till theives wiped out our 40 ducks and 20 chickens in one night.

The only inhumane slaughter i ever witnessed was when we were slaughtering a pig. My uncle had a sharp, long knife which he used to get a clean stab straight into the heart. One day the blade broke while he was stabbing the chest about 4 inches in, and he missed the heart. To kill the pig they had to use a hand awl and drill into the sucker chest. Took 10 minuites for the thing to dead.

Postby Bizzare » December 29th, 2010, 1:18 pm

Humes, you sound like a brilliant guy/ girl (don't know 4 sure) who thinks deep and sheit but...... no offence, I find your posts to be weak, hypocritical and not making sense..... Again, no offence, just my opinion. Well at least this one and the one entitled "You aren't so different from those you fear..." are the two I'm speaking about.......

Postby tr1ad » December 29th, 2010, 1:19 pm

foss wrote:I've always wanted to go out in the bush and hunt... don't know if I can manage killing the mother or father of young ones though, so who knows

Postby Rainman » December 29th, 2010, 1:20 pm

turbosingh wrote:

Cause it have chicken selling in HI-LO.

Postby foss » December 29th, 2010, 1:28 pm

tr1ad wrote:
foss wrote:I've always wanted to go out in the bush and hunt... don't know if I can manage killing the mother or father of young ones though, so who knows

:? I meant for the experience, in case you were thinking something else

xaira

Postby xaira » December 29th, 2010, 1:30 pm

xactly, it have rich people who does mine chicken so they dont have to be eating all the chemicals and injection mass produced chicken does undergo,

3 experiences for me, i have like 20 chickens, and evry once in a while 1 will get sick or mauled by a predator or injured in a fight

1)the first time it was a chicken i raised from small, mom bought it as a chick and i took care of it, it got very sick and it dont make sense going vet when u have like 20 sooo, we get the bucket, we get the chopper, mom decides she gonna kill it since it might b hard for me 2 do the deed, head poke out, "eeh"..............u never see a nife drop so slow in u life, cut the chicken just enough to cause severe injury but the chicken still alive, now the chicken scared as f@#k and in pain and mom get weak bcuz she see blood so i have to wrestle my chicken to the floor and kill it

2)one get sick, its wile chickens so we couldnt catch it in d big a$$ yard, corner it with a pitch fork, and stab it until it stop moving

3) another 1 i raised by myself, run away from the nest just 3 days after he hatch bcuz his brothers and sisters taking to long to come, got mauled in a fight, waited a couple days to see if he would heal but when i noticed that the pain was becoming unbearable i had 2 act, (do not read if u a puss)...........................................with a heavy heart got bucket, wiremesh, hose, (aint feel like cleaning no blood 2day) put him in the bucket, cover it with the wire mesh, put a brick on top and watched the bucket full, he never took his eyes off me, but he was so calm it was like he knew

Humes

Postby Humes » December 29th, 2010, 1:31 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
Humes wrote: I thought it was kinda hypocritical...yuh could eat it but yuh cyar watch it dead? At least give the animal that respect.

Why.

I think it's important to know how the things you enjoy get to you in the first place. And to be fully aware of all the ugly parts of production, even if only as a mark of maturity.

A lot of people are against 10-year-old children laboring in sweatshops, but they want to wear certain brands of clothing. Others against war in the Middle East, but they buy gas-guzzling vehicles. If yuh find a chicken getting its neck sliced is cruel and disgusting...why yuh eating KFC?

drop ho

Postby drop ho » December 29th, 2010, 1:33 pm

De phoq i does see here.....
Wha kinda pu-c it have here???... bout showing respect for dead chicken and poverty cause yuh does kill chicken to eat and assist in killing?..........sad

boy if yuh miss the heart ah the pig is 1 30 pound sledge hammer to head quick quick.....

Postby shogun » December 29th, 2010, 1:33 pm

:lol: :lol: Sorry, i still cyar get over 'yatax'...good sound effect there meng.
Never had to kill an animal myself, not sure if i could....unless i absolutely had to.

Humes

Postby Humes » December 29th, 2010, 1:35 pm

wagonrunner wrote:say what now?
that's respect? by chance do you have a service every time you mow your lawn?
or swat a mosquito?

It's a subjective thing, but them examples yuh give not so different from the ideology behind Halal slaughter.

Humes

Postby Humes » December 29th, 2010, 1:44 pm

xaira...good lord, dread. Thanks for sharing eh man, but jeezan.

Postby shogun » December 29th, 2010, 1:44 pm

Humes wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:

Why.

I think it's important to know how the things you enjoy get to you in the first place. And to be fully aware of all the ugly parts of production, even if only as a mark of maturity.

A lot of people are against 10-year-old children laboring in sweatshops, but they want to wear certain brands of clothing. Others against war in the Middle East, but they buy gas-guzzling vehicles. If yuh find a chicken getting its neck sliced is cruel and disgusting...why yuh eating KFC?

not to mention, the terror and bloodshed meted out to the african peoples (children included), in the diamond harvesting mines. ...yet it doesn't stop people from wanting that bling so bad they turn a blind eye.

Sasquat007

Postby Sasquat007 » December 29th, 2010, 1:47 pm

watch a sheep being halal , coulda cry lol , let c i kill iguanna , sheep

Postby wagonrunner » December 29th, 2010, 1:49 pm

tr1ad wrote:

hunt, not camp. 0X

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » December 29th, 2010, 2:01 pm

wagonrunner wrote:crossdrilled, thats what the bucket was for.

Now you know how its done...

I made the mistake of not using a bucket before.

Chicken, duck, pig all is meat, humans evolved to be on top the food chain. We didn't accomplish that eating fruit and ground provision alone. :wink:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » December 29th, 2010, 2:20 pm

xaira

Postby xaira » December 29th, 2010, 4:34 pm

CUTEST LITTLE YELLOW FURBALLS - FREE EGGS TILL THEN

truth d man speak

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 29th, 2010, 4:58 pm

pioneer wrote:For the record i fully support sweat shops (even the local ones), i laugh everytime i see a child sellin orange or coloring books in price plaza (child labor).

I also support war.

Indeed - but isn't price PLAZA (emphasis on PLAZA) in Chaguanas?

As in central / "south".

As in no-pioneer land?

Postby AllTrac » December 29th, 2010, 5:03 pm

rainman wrote:
turbosingh wrote:

Cause it have chicken selling in HI-LO.

hilo chicken or any prepackaged frozen chicken couldnt NEVER cut like a fresh kill one.

definite taste difference.