What would you do if there was a coup

Postby Slartibartfast » July 28th, 2015, 12:54 pm

Outline potential scenarios and how your would react (if at all). Just interested in what reactions would be. Older tuners, feel free to share personal stories about how your reacted or what it was like for you in the last coup and what you would do differently (if anything at all).

Re: What would you do if there was a coup

Postby MG Man » July 28th, 2015, 12:56 pm

curfew party

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 28th, 2015, 1:02 pm

Barricade my business to try and keep out the looters.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 28th, 2015, 1:06 pm

Loot Rory's businessplace!!!

Postby Habit7 » July 28th, 2015, 1:13 pm

I tort Rory does sell box drains?

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » July 28th, 2015, 1:14 pm

^^^^^
hahahaaa

Postby Chimera » July 28th, 2015, 1:22 pm

Kill all the neighbours. Just in case they decide they wanna come steal.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » July 28th, 2015, 1:23 pm

Barbeque and some drinks

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 28th, 2015, 1:23 pm

make meh care

Postby make meh care » July 28th, 2015, 1:26 pm

well the first thing to do is look for all them ladies and have a big fete .

Postby K74T » July 28th, 2015, 1:29 pm

Participate

Postby Redman » July 28th, 2015, 1:39 pm

Well the priority is food and water and security....which ever is applicable at the moment.

In all seriousness I would move the family back to my/her parents place cuz they have plenty tankage.
And dogs.

I think the biggest issue for me would be people looking to rob houses /home invasion and having to defend against that.

Other than that wait for it to blow over...
and hope for current and internet to stay on.

I dont think we have the ingredients for a civil war...so an attempt to grab power by the gun will get a response from the US.
So I figure it would last a week or 2

Daran

Postby Daran » July 28th, 2015, 1:47 pm

use it an excuse to become a refugee in the EU

Postby Slartibartfast » July 28th, 2015, 1:49 pm

Like a co-worker was telling me earlier, a coup only works when there is already civil unrest and the population is divided. Now there is some unrest but the people the group of people that staged the coup before is in a vast minority so I don't see it being successful because they won't have the support from most of the country.What I'm worried about is if they bring in "foreign" reinforcements. I feel I might do the same. Lock up and wait for it to bow over.

If water or electricity goes though, then it's real problems.

antlind

Postby antlind » July 28th, 2015, 1:49 pm

I would migrate to Tobago.

Postby dougla_boy » July 28th, 2015, 2:50 pm

loot courts.....

they have done me enuff injustice....time for payback

Postby Dizzy28 » July 28th, 2015, 2:55 pm

dougla_boy wrote:loot courts.....

they have done me enuff injustice....time for payback

You looking for a TCL TV Warranty to??

Daran

Postby Daran » July 28th, 2015, 3:47 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Like a co-worker was telling me earlier, a coup only works when there is already civil unrest and the population is divided. Now there is some unrest but the people the group of people that staged the coup before is in a vast minority so I don't see it being successful because they won't have the support from most of the country.What I'm worried about is if they bring in "foreign" reinforcements. I feel I might do the same. Lock up and wait for it to bow over.

Truth be told, a coup if attempted will fail because the vast majority of people will never support it. Bakr and them get smarter now, all they do is spread rumors of a coop to get what they want. They have shown by being the baddest hired thugs around, they are a power onto themselves.

Postby RBphoto » July 28th, 2015, 3:50 pm

I would buy peanut butter.. lots and lots of peanut butter and Matouks jam. I would sell it to all the people who hoarding crix.

Postby Redman » July 28th, 2015, 3:54 pm

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
dat bullet proof

Postby rollingstock » July 28th, 2015, 3:54 pm

Kill people.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » July 28th, 2015, 3:59 pm

Prostitution

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 28th, 2015, 4:20 pm

make a thread on tuner

Postby Country_Bookie » July 28th, 2015, 4:45 pm

I would start downloading porn in case the internet goes down.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » July 28th, 2015, 5:39 pm

Daran wrote:
Truth be told, a coup if attempted will fail because the vast majority of people will never support it. Bakr and them get smarter now, all they do is spread rumors of a coop to get what they want. They have shown by being the baddest hired thugs around, they are a power onto themselves.

I dont know. Given how fast people run when 3 man make a jail break. IO dont think the citizens of TT are going to be any sort of resistance. The Biggest obstacle to a coup is still the Army and Police. Unless its the Army and Police doing the coup. Then we all screwed.

Postby 88sins » July 28th, 2015, 5:56 pm

Redman wrote: an attempt to grab power by the gun will get a response from the US.

Didnt happen last time. So imo odds of a U.S. intervention in the event of a second attempt would be highly unlikely

Postby Monk BANzai » July 28th, 2015, 6:15 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Like a co-worker was telling me earlier, a coup only works when there is already civil unrest and the population is divided. Now there is some unrest but the people the group of people that staged the coup before is in a vast minority so I don't see it being successful because they won't have the support from most of the country.What I'm worried about is if they bring in "foreign" reinforcements. I feel I might do the same. Lock up and wait for it to bow over.

Abu thought the ppl would have rallied behind him when he stormed the Parliament. And they probably would have....had he not shot ANR Robinson..after that was "f*ck it..we looting"...

Trini's are not gonna risk life and limb for country like that ....sad really... cuz it showed our true colors...destroying Port-of Spain rather than preserving it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 28th, 2015, 6:20 pm

Redman wrote: an attempt to grab power by the gun will get a response from the US.

Didnt happen last time. So imo odds of a U.S. intervention in the event of a second attempt would be highly unlikely
if the attempted coup by the Jamaat-Al-Muslimeen took place post 9/11, we may have definitely seen a US response.

Postby 88sins » July 28th, 2015, 6:36 pm

Pre or post 9/11 same difference.

America primarily looks out for America & Americans. Their elected officialls generally do not give a fifth of a fart about other small nations. History has shown that the only way that the govt of the U.S.A. will get involved in other countries affairs is if the U.N. is getting involved, or that country in question has assets they may find stategically useful to an objective they may have.

Daran

Postby Daran » July 28th, 2015, 6:40 pm

88sins wrote:Pre or post 9/11 same difference.

America primarily looks out for America & White Americans. Their elected officialls generally do not give a fifth of a fart about other small nations unless they have oil. History has shown that the only way that the govt of the U.S.A. will get involved in other countries affairs is if the U.N. is getting involved, or that country in question has assets they may find stategically useful to an objective they may have, which Trinidad is given our oil industry and close proximity to Venezeula

corrected.