Express vs "Janice Thomas"

Humes

Express vs "Janice Thomas"

Postby Humes » January 31st, 2011, 9:55 am

Because I feel this is going to start a trend. Too many people with easy internet access totin feelins on this issue, and I suspect Express is just the first target. It will only get worse if/when the investigation deepens.

This, combined with the (successful) requests for Facebook and Youtube to remove Reshmi-related content, adds a new dimension to this controversy.

Apparently shite just got real.

'Express' editor, reporter under cyber attack
Story Created: Jan 30, 2011 at 10:44 PM ECT
A vicious personal attack was yesterday launched against Express managing editor Omatie Lyder and political reporter Anna Ramdass by someone adopting the alias "Janice Thomas", as this newspaper continues its investigation into how Reshmi Usha Ramnarine came to be hired as director of the Strategic Services Agency (SSA) with false credentials.
The attack came in the form of an e-mail addressed to editors and reporters of the Express and staff of TV6, which accused Lyder and Ramdass of a personal vendetta against Ramnarine and threatened that "their day in the sun is over".
"This is the beginning... they will understand the consequences of their actions...," the e-mail stated.

The e-mail was also posted on Caribbean Talk, a site for bloggers on issues of the day. However, following complaints from this newspaper, it was pulled by the moderator.
The moderator subsequently issued a warning to bloggers to desist from posting libelous entries and personal attacks.

The Express is weighing all its options in this matter.

Humes

Re: Express vs "Janice Thomas"

Postby Humes » January 31st, 2011, 9:58 am

For quick reference:

Facebook, YouTube remove 'unauthorised' Ramnarine photos
By Denyse Renne
Story Created: Jan 30, 2011 at 10:44 PM ECT

At least two major social networking sites have removed or limited uploads of pictures and newspaper articles related to former Strategic Services Agency (SSA) director Reshmi Usha Ramnarine and Advisor on Engagements and Policy in the Prime Minister' Office, Sasha Mohammed.
The sites—Facebook and YouTube—which had pictures circulating of the duo at various events, have been stripped following complaints to the sites that the pictures being used were unauthorised.
Even newspaper articles mentioning Ramnarine and Mohammed were deleted from Facebook. One such incident occurred on the Peoples' National Movement (PNM) Facebook page, where Express articles were removed.
Following this, several bloggers expressed dismay, with some even vowing to email officials of Facebook asking for an explanation.
Facebook in a disclaimer instead said, "Content that you uploaded to the site has been removed per a report that it was unauthorised.
"To prevent this from occurring in the future, please make sure that you have permission to post all content that you place ... on Facebook.
"If you have questions or concerns, please visit the following section of Facebook's Help Centre.
"Thanks for your understanding in this matter."
The issue of Ramnarine's appointment and subsequent resignation from SSA has been generating a lot of debate on Facebook, with several people denouncing the appointment. People have also been using Ramnarine's picture as their profile picture. There were also deleted.

Postby Hook » January 31st, 2011, 10:00 am

</concern>

Postby Greypatch » January 31st, 2011, 10:08 am

why ppl feel the need to attack others when the truth comes out in the open.

doh play mas if yuh fraid powder.

doh get vex when ppl see yuh cocoa in de sun.

accept responsibility for your actions like an adult and move on.

Postby K74T » January 31st, 2011, 10:09 am

[/ent this was voted for]

Humes

Postby Humes » January 31st, 2011, 10:11 am

Ramdass speaks. (Or spoke)

Ramdass: My integrity is intact
Published: Sun, 2011-01-30 21:52

Contacted yesterday, journalist Anna Ramdass of the Express Newspaper who has been vigorously pursuing Ramnarine’s follow-up stories, said it was one of her colleagues, Denyse Renne, and not her who broke the first story on Ramnarine:

“The story is one of national importance as its affects national security and I could assure you I have no personal agenda against Ms Ramnarine or anyone.” Ramnarine said as a journalist, “I keep my professional integrity intact.” Asked whether she was Ramnarine’s friend, Ramdass did not want to comment. Several attempts to reach managing editor of the Express, Omatie Lyder, proved futile yesterday.

Humes

Postby Humes » January 31st, 2011, 10:14 am

This Guardian story has the distinct smell of BS to me, but for the sake of fairness...

‘She has been hounded’

Close family members insisted she was the victim of a vicious personal agenda by senior members of the media fraternity attached to a prominent daily newspaper (not the Guardian), who once used to be her very best friends between 2006-2007. “She has been hounded by the reporters who were once her friends,” a relative claimed.

The media practitioners were known to be close friends and “liming partners” with Ramnarine and the photos of her in a causal manner which were used in the newspaper were taken back then, a family source said. After Ramnarine ended her friendship with one of the media practitioners, she struck up a relationship with a relative of another media practitioner. After Ramnarine ended her friendship with the media workers and their relatives in 2007, she cut off all contact with them, but certain individuals kept trying to maintain contact.

On her application for a job at the newspaper, a family source disclosed, she had been complaining that her job at the SIA was getting “too dangerous and stressful” and was ready to move on. She unwittingly did this, family members said, trusting her friends. Family members have now retained the services of a lawyer who is now looking to see if there was any questionable action on the part of the newspaper.

Postby tr1ad » January 31st, 2011, 10:21 am

why this thread? there is already a discussion about the SIA/SSA

Postby Hook » January 31st, 2011, 10:26 am

Humes wrote:Ramdass speaks. (Or spoke)

Contacted yesterday, journalist Anna Ramdass of the Express Newspaper who has been vigorously pursuing Ramnarine’s follow-up stories, said it was one of her colleagues, Denyse Renne, and not her who broke the first story on Ramnarine:

“The story is one of national importance as its affects national security and I could assure you I have no personal agenda against Ms Ramnarine or anyone.” Ramnarine said as a journalist, “I keep my professional integrity intact.” Asked whether she was Ramnarine’s friend, Ramdass did not want to comment. Several attempts to reach managing editor of the Express, Omatie Lyder, proved futile yesterday.

:lol: :lol: :lol: *looks for pic of Carnival 2007 BHP Billiton media lime DDI with myself, Omatie, Ana and Reshmi being serenaded by Black Sage while waiting on the boat*

Postby Team Loco » January 31st, 2011, 10:29 am

i'd hit it!!

Postby tr1ad » January 31st, 2011, 10:31 am

Hook wrote:

:lol: :lol: :lol: *looks for pic of Carnival 2007 BHP Billiton media lime DDI with myself, Omatie, Ana and Reshmi being serenaded by Black Sage while waiting on the boat*

how much yuh willing to pay dan?
before i sell it to the press

Postby Hook » January 31st, 2011, 11:13 am

tr1ad wrote:
Hook wrote:

how much yuh willing to pay dan?
before i sell it to the press

:lol: I study de only ppl go still have dat will be Chase or Germs, but dey eh leakin' dat jus so
but if u have it, you sell it brudda! I jus wah ah copy fuh my own files...freebie bizniz :D

Humes

Postby Humes » January 31st, 2011, 11:37 am

tr1ad wrote:why this thread? there is already a discussion about the SIA/SSA

Read the OP. This a bit tangential to the SIA. This is more media-related.

Postby rollingstock » January 31st, 2011, 11:39 am

Team Loco wrote:i'd hit it!!

Postby TRAE » January 31st, 2011, 3:42 pm

eh?

Postby Hook » January 31st, 2011, 3:49 pm

^^^ daz d big bumcie ting in yuh avatar awha?

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » January 31st, 2011, 4:26 pm

TRAE wrote:Image

eh?

daiz ah horse face fadda!

Postby TRAE » January 31st, 2011, 4:32 pm

Hook wrote:^^^ daz d big bumcie ting in yuh avatar awha?

nah jed that thing is de janice

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 31st, 2011, 5:52 pm

pioneer wrote:It's very dangerous precedence when people try to silence the media, we live in a democratic society. People need to remember that.
exactly! where do you draw the line?

Postby ronsin1 » January 31st, 2011, 6:02 pm

pioneer wrote:It's very dangerous precedence when people try to silence the media, we live in a democratic society. People need to remember that.

is pioneer he have no lines

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » January 31st, 2011, 6:39 pm

ronsin1 wrote:

someone stole his pencil...

Postby K74T » January 31st, 2011, 6:46 pm

Soundwave wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:

someone stole his pencil...

and ruler

Postby tr1ad » January 31st, 2011, 7:29 pm

with a ruler you can measure your dog
up and down
and sideways
then you can build a house for your dog

Postby Cjruckus » January 31st, 2011, 7:31 pm

well Duane, you can start by pushing a PNM agenda on the forum.

keep the government in check.

This PPenis has to stop.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 31st, 2011, 8:24 pm

^ no thankyou, we only provide space for discussion. Any agenda will be your own.

Postby bushwakka » January 31st, 2011, 9:02 pm

who de hell is janice thomas

Postby Bizzare » January 31st, 2011, 9:13 pm

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » January 31st, 2011, 9:18 pm

keek keek keek...

nneeiiigghh...p-b-b-b-b-h-h

Postby Cjruckus » January 31st, 2011, 9:30 pm

this Indi-ots disgust me.

Postby Hook » January 31st, 2011, 9:35 pm

eh fork allyuh eh...dat Janice sweeter dan all de feuners allyuh lil boys does be chasing and clamoring for their attention *sends friend request* wha time Häagen-Dazs does close again?