***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 18th, 2015, 7:22 pm

If you do import make sure and contact Ministry to make sure you can do so and obtain whatever permits if needed.

Postby X_Factor » February 18th, 2015, 7:29 pm

i know home store in san juan sells chemicals and a few foreign items so you could give them a call

marlener

Postby marlener » February 18th, 2015, 7:29 pm

Will do, another reason to source it locally.

Postby X_Factor » February 25th, 2015, 9:52 pm

anyone ever saw a soil PH test kit selling locally?

Postby Chimera » February 25th, 2015, 10:11 pm

Western scientific has some for around $1700

Postby X_Factor » February 25th, 2015, 10:50 pm

Postby X_Factor » February 25th, 2015, 10:54 pm

i am curious since the plants on the first 1/3 of the bed is about 25% smaller than those in the other part so i wanna know why that is happening since they all get the same fertilizer schedule

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 26th, 2015, 6:09 am

X_Factor, I bought those test kits along with http://www.amazon.com/Luster-Leaf-1880- ... oil+tester and they work fine for me. Its not a commercial enterprise so a simple tester should suffice and I paid no duties via skybox

Postby Chimera » February 26th, 2015, 8:51 am

Agri office also does free testing

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » February 26th, 2015, 11:06 am

X_Factor wrote:i am curious since the plants on the first 1/3 of the bed is about 25% smaller than those in the other part so i wanna know why that is happening since they all get the same fertilizer schedule

What soil are you using for your grow beds?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 26th, 2015, 12:03 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Agri office also does free testing

If you have the patience

Postby X_Factor » February 26th, 2015, 12:22 pm

regular top soil
need some manure for them

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » February 26th, 2015, 12:55 pm

Your soil looks a bit messy & saturated though which may robb you of aeration & drainage.

Postby X_Factor » February 26th, 2015, 1:33 pm

drainage is good ....aeration might be a prob nothing a bag or 2 of manure and some limestone

Postby X_Factor » February 28th, 2015, 9:35 am

so i used some cal-nitro since making the last post and a noticeable improvement was seen, plants shot up in 2 days!

trying some bellis to control the spots in mih celery...we will see how that goes
only heard good things from it though

i need about 3 bags of cured manure to buy
anyone have a link?

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » February 28th, 2015, 8:52 pm

Fellow tuners

Could you point me in the right direction. I would like to obtain some data on growing of ground provisions and plantain?

Need to get information such as:
1) Where do you purchase the plants (e.g. suckers)
2) Yield per acre?
3) Cost of production ( fertilizers, etc.)
4) Any other items that I missed and should consider

If you have the info in your head; and you would like to give you a call to discuss please PM me your number

p.s. I searched the web and found sound data internationally and regionally (cardi.org) but would like to obtain local data

Thanks in advance

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 28th, 2015, 9:33 pm

cardi should have data on local, pay them a visit

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 1st, 2015, 8:34 am

faculty of science and agriculture in UWI(I believe is now faculty of agriculture) would be able to give you all the info you need in addition to what hustla said

Postby X_Factor » March 1st, 2015, 1:45 pm

francis1979 wrote:Fellow tuners

Could you point me in the right direction. I would like to obtain some data on growing of ground provisions and plantain?

Need to get information such as:
1) Where do you purchase the plants (e.g. suckers)
2) Yield per acre?
3) Cost of production ( fertilizers, etc.)
4) Any other items that I missed and should consider

If you have the info in your head; and you would like to give you a call to discuss please PM me your number

p.s. I searched the web and found sound data internationally and regionally (cardi.org) but would like to obtain local data

Thanks in advance

with those kinda crops theft is one of the major problems
imagine ur plantin 1 week away from being harvested and when u gone half missing...
or you plan to dig cassava and someone beat u to it...crop gone, money gone

so you will have to put things in place closer to harvest time to protect your crop and self

Postby Chimera » March 1st, 2015, 2:42 pm

Government gives a subsidy for farmers for fencing as well as security system.

But yup getting your crop stolen is a real heart breaking thing. Padna of mine was about to pick celery d other day.....and u know celery is last a few months once you pick and maintain properly.......someone pass and thief half the crop...and they cut down whole plants eh.....sorry for that person If he catch them. I also find praedial larceny squad to be a huge waste.more a nuisance to legit farmers than anything else

Postby X_Factor » March 3rd, 2015, 4:21 pm

picked a few today
pretty impressed with the grain and cob size....had to spray the rest for army worms
1425414004724.jpg
1425413990480.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 3rd, 2015, 8:16 pm

nice produce there meng^

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 5th, 2015, 11:24 am

Anybody have any info for cheap/wholesale Anthuriums? Looking for a large set to buy, if I could get wholesale would be good. They don't have to be full grown or with flowers. Small plants would do.
Exploring an option here.
Thanks.

Postby X_Factor » March 5th, 2015, 11:31 am

videsh agricenter
or search fb for family gardeners forum

Postby Chimera » March 5th, 2015, 11:35 am

right now you have to get a permit simply to use water from your ponds, drains etc to be able to water your plants

wasa seizing people pumps if you don't have a permit

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » March 5th, 2015, 11:50 am

ABA why are they seizing your pumps? any problems you encounter with your pawpaw?

Postby Chimera » March 5th, 2015, 12:01 pm

not me lol

other farmers that i know are complaining about it

right now i dont have anything plant, pawpaw crop dead

can't get workers so i doubt i replanting this year

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 5th, 2015, 12:51 pm

X_Factor wrote:videsh agricenter
or search fb for family gardeners forum

Thanks! But they don't have any now.
Anywhere else?

Postby X_Factor » March 5th, 2015, 7:09 pm

anyone here does back yard gardening and wanna split some bags of fertilizer?
its too expensive to keep buying a 3-5lb and may melt if i buy bags for myself

lemme know...
im interested in a 1/2 bag of agri limestone, urea, cal-nitro,

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 5th, 2015, 7:46 pm

ADONI wrote:Anybody have any info for cheap/wholesale Anthuriums? Looking for a large set to buy, if I could get wholesale would be good. They don't have to be full grown or with flowers. Small plants would do.
Exploring an option here.
Thanks.

take a hike up cumaca, have endless anthuriums (red,pink and white) and it free