Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby eliteauto » September 1st, 2014, 10:01 am

14 months is great to get the tangelo bearing, well done

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 1st, 2014, 12:47 pm

not sure about the cherry..its a first time thing...what food does it require?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 2nd, 2014, 9:41 am

What poison can I used on 'Kuzuo" vines? One side of the bound is abandon cane land so it open up with bull grass, with those vines coming across.
Also where can I get a decent backpack spray can?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 3rd, 2014, 10:18 am

any local garden shop...Most men use to yellow and red spray cans.As per poison:

1: lanate
2: gramoxone
3: round up
4: swiper
5: 2 4 d

Postby nervewrecker » September 12th, 2014, 5:58 pm

Noviate creative labs on Facebook have a competition to build an app for agri.

Dennis61

Postby Dennis61 » September 14th, 2014, 5:03 pm

pioneer wrote:Anyone got tru for agri assistant with service commission?

As far as I know, no one has been called. Pursuing a career in agriculture has been frustrating for me with my degree and much more so for some with their masters. Unfortunately I switched career paths to electrical engineering because I can't see myself getting anywhere with Agriculture.

Postby nervewrecker » September 14th, 2014, 7:56 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:any local garden shop...Most men use to yellow and red spray cans.As per poison:

Those don't stick around and do in necessary damage after they serve their purpose?

Clean Whistle

Postby Clean Whistle » September 14th, 2014, 8:17 pm

Organic FTW

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 14th, 2014, 8:18 pm

Yeah....better to hire a piper or give a cepep guy ah wuk to clear d area

Clean Whistle

Postby Clean Whistle » September 14th, 2014, 8:19 pm

Nah they are not farmers

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » September 15th, 2014, 1:36 pm

Not necessarily farming but I'm in the market for someone to provide some quality landscaping in a small area of my home as well as perform monthly weeding and wacking services. Can anyone make a recommendation?

Postby eliteauto » September 15th, 2014, 3:41 pm

anyone here familiar with growing passion fruit? I want to know if using the seeds from a fruit is the best way or should I buy seedlings? Also how deep do the roots go as I'm considering setting the seeds in a half barrel and using a nylon trellis up on to a PVC frame that I built as corner gazebo, i figure the vine would provide shade and hit me some fruit at the same time. Thoughts?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 15th, 2014, 4:23 pm

Elite i used seeds and they propagated fine.....i havent been taking good care of thrm though so the vines are suffering, i attempted to build a trellis but got lazy but its a great way to keep them in control because they climb and stretch alot

No Mediacore

Postby No Mediacore » September 15th, 2014, 5:28 pm

Passion fruits nice but watch out for the pests...too many pests does b attracted to that vine

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 15th, 2014, 5:31 pm

Apart from the few ants i dont have any pests on mine

Postby Chimera » September 15th, 2014, 5:33 pm

eliteauto wrote:anyone here familiar with growing passion fruit? I want to know if using the seeds from a fruit is the best way or should I buy seedlings? Also how deep do the roots go as I'm considering setting the seeds in a half barrel and using a nylon trellis up on to a PVC frame that I built as corner gazebo, i figure the vine would provide shade and hit me some fruit at the same time. Thoughts?

i had a old greenhouse frame (the greenhouse plastic had rotted away completely)
that i plant some seeds (from the fruit) at the base of each post for the green house

they grew great, had endless passion fruit even after giving away.

the roots grow 5-10 inches maximum so it should be good in a half barrel.

they do attract a LOT of pests though

anything and everything will come.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 15th, 2014, 6:08 pm

How come you guys getting pests though......mine has none, probably as mine hasnt started to flower yet

Postby Chimera » September 15th, 2014, 6:29 pm

The pests will come for the fruit

No Mediacore

Postby No Mediacore » September 16th, 2014, 3:31 am

A good greenhouse as mentioned wood provide some safety

Apart from the average pest the vine is sensative to pestilence, disease and plagues such as melee bug and blight

Postby eliteauto » September 16th, 2014, 7:44 am

thanks guys, I'll try it and monitor for pests

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 16th, 2014, 9:03 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:any local garden shop...Most men use to yellow and red spray cans.As per poison:

Those don't stick around and do in necessary damage after they serve their purpose?

I find they work good..with a few days of sun grass is brown and easy to root out...

in other news: pursuing a career in agriculture is very difficult in this country,very few administrations looking for "qualified people" and even if you get through is dog pay in yuh arse....HOWEVER,persons holding agriculture credentials are highly regarded overseas.Canada tops that list

snatman

Postby snatman » September 16th, 2014, 10:43 am

How long do pimento and hot peppers plants remain viable? err Scorpion too.
Have a few plants coming up in the back yard
You gotta chop them down and replant after a few months?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 16th, 2014, 11:01 am

pimentos and peppers can last up to two months maybe more depending on how you treat them(spraying necessary insecticide,pesticide,plant food etc etc) not sure about the scorpion though.

snatman

Postby snatman » September 16th, 2014, 11:08 am

wot the hell, only 2 months

steups.

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 19th, 2014, 1:46 pm

I bought a scorpion pepper plant from La Vega some time ago. Thing saw real trouble to grow despite using pesticide, fertilizer, etc as shakes mentioned. Bore one small pepper and then died. Anyone else ever got trouble growing them?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 20th, 2014, 2:05 pm

Found quite a lot of these lil suckers on my passion fruit vine today...there goes my no pest run
1411236286637.jpg

Dennis61

Postby Dennis61 » September 20th, 2014, 3:32 pm

NR8 wrote:I bought a scorpion pepper plant from La Vega some time ago. Thing saw real trouble to grow despite using pesticide, fertilizer, etc as shakes mentioned. Bore one small pepper and then died. Anyone else ever got trouble growing them?

How did it die, wilt, rot, did it turn black?

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 20th, 2014, 5:20 pm

It looked as if it was over watered, but wasnt. Leaves were light coloured for a pepper plant and kinda shriveled. Was around 8 inches in height as it bore the one pepper and then died.

Dennis61

Postby Dennis61 » September 20th, 2014, 5:40 pm

Sounds like a macro nutrient deficiency that may have resulted from the soil lacking nutrients, the pH was too high or poor root development. I would blame the soil here

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » September 20th, 2014, 5:58 pm

NR8 wrote:I bought a scorpion pepper plant from La Vega some time ago. Thing saw real trouble to grow despite using pesticide, fertilizer, etc as shakes mentioned. Bore one small pepper and then died. Anyone else ever got trouble growing them?

There can be several factors that pertain to your problems,understand that native soils are notorious for poor drainage which may show symptoms as wilting or overwatering causing root rot.

Seedlings purchase from a nursery are usually poor in health,they will expire and never reach its full potential.

When a plant show signs of stress,fertilizing and drenching insecticides are useless.Mother nature will eradicate your plants.
Last edited by lipstick war on September 21st, 2014, 10:29 am, edited 3 times in total.