3rd Mobile provider coming?!

tiger balm

3rd Mobile provider coming?!

Postby tiger balm » September 12th, 2011, 12:23 pm

Well well folks seems that we can look forward to another mobile company. The PM announced at the Chinese/Caribbean conference today that the government intends to have a 3rd mobile provider to join bmobile and digicel. I'm not sure if the company will be approved by the end of the year or if that's the deadline for the bids though.

Wonder who we can look forward to?

By d way: this came across 12pm news today just incase some of u were wondering.

CNews link: http://www.ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=31638
Last edited by tiger balm on September 12th, 2011, 1:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: 3rd Mobile provider coming?!

Postby Stephon. » September 12th, 2011, 12:27 pm

This is good news, could only benefit the citizens, bmobile will always be the best at the mobile phone industry in Trinidad though, I'm just looking forward to the new deals bmobile will come up with to counter this new company. Its entertaining.

Postby Greypatch » September 12th, 2011, 12:28 pm

gotta learn some chinese then

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » September 12th, 2011, 12:31 pm

Greypatch wrote:gotta learn some chinese then

Is it a Chinese mobile provider?

Postby 16 cycles » September 12th, 2011, 12:38 pm

people gonna walk around with 3 phones now???

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » September 12th, 2011, 12:50 pm

16 cycles wrote:idiots gonna walk around with 3 phones now!!!

Fixed

Postby Country_Bookie » September 12th, 2011, 12:52 pm

Stephon. wrote:bmobile will always be the best at the mobile phone industry in Trinidad though, .

................................... .........________
................................... .,.-'"...................``~.,
.............................,.-".. ................................."-.,
.........................,/........ ......................................."…
.....................,?........... ........................................…
.................../............... ........................................…
................./................. .....................................,:`…
.............../................... ................................,:".....…
..............?.....__........... ..............................:`........…
............./__.(....."~-,_.... ..........................,:`........../
.........../(_...."~,_........" ~,_....................,:`........_/
..........{.._$;_......"=,_... ...."-,_.......,.-~-,},.~";/....}
...........((.....*~_......."=- ._......";,,./`..../"............../
...,,,___.\`~,......"~.,...... ..............`.....}............../
............(....`=-,,.......`... .....................(......;_,,-"
............/.`~,......`-........ .......................\....../\
.............\`~.*-,............. ........................|,./.....\,__
,,_..........}.>-._\............ .......................|..............`=…
.....`=~-,_\_......`\,......... ........................\
...................`=~-,,.\,.... ...........................\
................................`: ,,...........................`\.........…
.................................. ...`=-,...................,%`>--==``
.................................. ......_\..........._,-%.......`\
.................................. .,<`.._|_,-&``................`

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » September 12th, 2011, 12:53 pm

I hope it's a very established company so that it can force bmobile and digicel (for those of you who're with them) to bring better mobile technology to T&T. We really need another provider, the benefit of having digicel competing with bmobile has stagnated in the last year or two.

Postby RBphoto » September 12th, 2011, 12:55 pm

Tripple sim phone IYMC!!

Postby foss » September 12th, 2011, 12:57 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Tripple sim phone IYMC!!

0X

Postby RBphoto » September 12th, 2011, 1:03 pm

foss wrote:

0X

http://www.amazon.com/Standby-Quadband- ... =de_a_smtd

Have a batch on order. Applying for power seller status tomorrow.

Talk nah Raptor!!

:drinking:

Postby AllTrac » September 12th, 2011, 1:08 pm

nice, we welcome them all, the more the merrier. Need some more alternatives to cable and internet to.

Postby Habit7 » September 12th, 2011, 1:12 pm

the market would be more competetive if you can take your number with you across networks as it is in certain countries. For instance, if you have digicel and feel like you want to be with bmobile now, you can switch networks and still have the number you had with digicel

Postby UML » September 12th, 2011, 1:40 pm

glad to hear....wow the PM really does take my suggestions. :)

Postby redmanjp » September 12th, 2011, 1:42 pm

^^ aka number portability

would be good if they actually bring 4g services to phones hell even 3g would work cause right now we still using EDGE

Devourment

Postby Devourment » September 12th, 2011, 1:47 pm

Habit7 wrote:the market would be more competetive if you can take your number with you across networks as it is in certain countries. For instance, if you have digicel and feel like you want to be with bmobile now, you can switch networks and still have the number you had with digicel

There will be a lot of opposition of this from Bmobile.

There's no telling who the 3rd operator will be. Honestly, as far as I know, there were the last couple operators that have shown interest in T&T's market.

Verizon
Sask Tel
Claro

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » September 12th, 2011, 1:47 pm

Stephon. wrote:This is good news, could only benefit the citizens, bmobile will always be the best at the mobile phone industry in Trinidad though, I'm just looking forward to the new deals bmobile will come up with to counter this new company. Its entertaining.

More jobs, yes!

Postby foss » September 12th, 2011, 1:50 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
foss wrote:

0X

http://www.amazon.com/Standby-Quadband- ... =de_a_smtd

Have a batch on order. Applying for power seller status tomorrow.

Talk nah Raptor!!

:drinking:

BODOW !!!

Parvin

Postby Parvin » September 12th, 2011, 1:50 pm

Waiting to see if they bring in better services

Devourment

Postby Devourment » September 12th, 2011, 1:52 pm

Michael Knight... wrote:
Stephon. wrote:This is good news, could only benefit the citizens, bmobile will always be the best at the mobile phone industry in Trinidad though, I'm just looking forward to the new deals bmobile will come up with to counter this new company. Its entertaining.

More jobs, yes!

With respect to jobs, look for a Digi invasion all over again. This happens all over the world.

The new operator will look to hire the best employees from both TSTT & Digicel. Weakening both operators while simultaneously obtaining insider info on the competitor.

Once that's done, they will hire the plebs and pay them next to nothing while they do most of the work.

Postby AllTrac » September 12th, 2011, 2:05 pm

Devourment wrote:
Michael Knight... wrote:

More jobs, yes!

With respect to jobs, look for a Digi invasion all over again. This happens all over the world.

The new operator will look to hire the best employees from both TSTT & Digicel. Weakening both operators while simultaneously obtaining insider info on the competitor.

Once that's done, they will hire the plebs and pay them next to nothing while they do most of the work.

Thats good business. The company that loses its employees should of offered them better packages to keep them there.

Postby Habit7 » September 12th, 2011, 2:06 pm

Devourment wrote:
Habit7 wrote:the market would be more competetive if you can take your number with you across networks as it is in certain countries. For instance, if you have digicel and feel like you want to be with bmobile now, you can switch networks and still have the number you had with digicel

There will be a lot of opposition of this from Bmobile.

As opposed to more more competition?

Anyways, who will be willing to come into our tiny market in this guava crop season? Jamaica's 3 provider struggled until it gave in and was assimilated.
Could 3 man rat live in this hole?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » September 12th, 2011, 2:10 pm

and claro is bmobile??????? cornfused....hope its AT&T THO....or to me i heard it was some cdma company....sprint or verizon....cant remember...but i heard this some time this month

Postby Bizzare » September 12th, 2011, 2:31 pm

You guys are really getting excited much too quickly. Hopefully its a well known service provider, that offers GREAT SERVICE, COMPETITIVE FEES and most importantly NEWER TECHNOLOGY!!!

Digicel came and put an end to what was basically a monopoly (bmobile/tstt). That's great. The monopoly is already broken. So now, we don't need just another service provider.

If this new service provider is just as mediocre as the current two that exist, expect nothing different other than, Chinese who can barely speak proper English when you call the technical department, Beethamites/Laventillians in their every outlet who doesn't know a thing about customer service, and more half usable Iphone's 4s.

I'm looking forward to this and hope it isn't a disappointment.

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » September 12th, 2011, 2:33 pm

triple sim is old news it have 4 sim phones now

Kish

Postby Kish » September 12th, 2011, 2:35 pm

this isn't as simple as it sounds. i for one hope it never happens. it's loads of headache for the engineers in the companies and it also requires all international operators to make their changes. you stand the risk of trying to roam in a country and it doesn't work because someone forgot to add this config.

and with 3 operators it will be a disaster, the only way is more jobs with more staff to deal with managing these changes, so that's a plus as there will be more employment.

Postby stev » September 12th, 2011, 2:38 pm

meh...this gonna be a looong time from now.

I got word of this 6 months ago when i used to work for a chinese company that provides network hardware for TSTT.

they now announce this to the general public....i guess we looking at 1 or 2 years before we can get some service from them?

Postby Bizzare » September 12th, 2011, 2:46 pm

stev wrote:meh...this gonna be a looong time from now.

I got word of this 6 months ago when i used to work for a chinese company that provides network hardware for TSTT.

they now announce this to the general public....i guess we looking at 1 or 2 years before we can get some service from them?

Me also, I'm guessing we use to work at the same company? :o Maraval road?
I don't think it's the same company though, cuz I heard that was cancelled.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 12th, 2011, 2:48 pm

crossdrilled, no BLU no care

Postby Habit7 » September 12th, 2011, 2:52 pm

geekezone wrote:

this isn't as simple as it sounds. i for one hope it never happens. it's loads of headache for the engineers in the companies and it also requires all international operators to make their changes. you stand the risk of trying to roam in a country and it doesn't work because someone forgot to add this config.

and with 3 operators it will be a disaster, the only way is more jobs with more staff to deal with managing these changes, so that's a plus as there will be more employment.

Welcome to the 21st century http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mobile_number_portability