Thursday, June 20th, 2013

- It is currently Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:22 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 438 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 15  Next
christopherwilliams2
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 10:46 pm 

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2012-04- ... e-august-1

Quote:
Twelve years after it was debated and passed in Parliament with a three-fifths majority, the Dangerous Dogs Act will take effect from August 1. This follows a Cabinet decision last Thursday to enforce the law by Proclamation of the President. The Act prohibits importation and breeding of three categories of dogs, the Pitbull Terrier, Fila Brasiliero and Japanese Tosa.

The Minister of Local Government will have the power to declare any other type of dog dangerous if they present a serious danger to the public. In a release yesterday, the Ministry of the Attorney General said the law was being enforced because of recent and growing attacks on citizens by pitbulls. “The facts show that often these dangerous dogs are not properly trained or secured. In recent times, dangerous dogs have been allowed to escape onto the road and attack persons, causing severe injuries and, in some cases, death,” the ministry stated.

Within three months of the law coming into force, owners of dangerous dogs must have them spayed or neutered by a veterinary surgeon and they must be registered with the Ministry of Local Government. Dog owners must also obtain an annual licence from their municipal corporation at a cost of $500 a dog.
In addition, they must have at least $250,000 worth of insurance for each dog. Citizens who keep or own unlicensed dangerous dogs will be liable to be fined $50,000 and one year imprisonment on summary conviction.

PDF Download of Dangerous Dogs Act
http://bit.ly/ISXoMl

Last edited by christopherwilliams2 on Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 10:50 pm 

so how do you prove a dog is a certain breed ?
does it have to be 100% bloodline papers from akc etc ?
are they using dna ?
oops I forgot pitbulls don't really have a true genetic bloodline

christopherwilliams2
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:17 pm 

i guess all dem boys on de block walking bareback wid dey pitbull bess have de vex money ready....

illegal , 'underground' breeding jus got lucrative.

jm3
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:24 pm 

lol the rest of the world debates removing bsl and trinidad decides to start enforcing it. nice work again idiots in office when you gonna enforce some other laws.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:39 pm 

LOLOLOL@ this "law"

Who came up with this...drunkened kindergarden kids?

How about a dangerous people act?

ROFL@ this part

Quote:
The Minister of Local Government will have the power to declare any other type of dog dangerous if they present a serious danger to the public.

In simple terms, that means the ministry can "declare" a pothound or a pompek a dangerous dog.

The developed world prolly pissin their pants over this one :lol:

jm3
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:43 pm 

wow this is a very unfair peace of legislation im not sure if my dogs are included in this or not as they are niether pitbulls or bread from pitbulls but to many apear to be pitbulls they have there uk kc certificates though and are microchipped with there registration numbers. anyone have any further insight on this?

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:45 pm 

I don't see the problem nuh... all my dogs are pitbu.... pothounds...

The easiest way to win an argument with a woman... is to stop talking.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:48 pm 

If allyuh read that, they can classify ANY dog as being dangerous.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:48 pm 

Well time for pit men to switch to rott

bigga514
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:53 pm 

Wtf I support the idea of dog insurance and fines for dogs that get out etc. But dem on some kinda crack

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:55 pm 

Prove the breed of the dogs scientifically... and the fine might be paid.

Otherwise... lawyers need to be paid.

Sad thing is... Italian Mastiff already going to $10k++ a pup... so now what ? $25k each ? *strokes beard*

civic minded
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:59 pm 

the amount of dogs people will start dumping on the side of the road...

I really hate these people that do this.

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=55&t=505359

jm3
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:05 am 

im not fighting down the inspections of the security of premises or the insurance.
but the whole idea of destroying dogs and punishing innocent owners if this isn't complied with is the usual barbaric backward trini thinking.
it would make more sense to destroy animals and fine owners in the event of something happening if the dogs had not been registered and or insured.
Innocent until proven guilty should be applied to this legislation.
If they want to enforce this then they should have no problem rounding up everyone in beatham and lavantille as some people in there have killed people (Ooh anti gang legislation and soe) and impounding all cars where a vehicle of the same make and model was involved in a fatal accident (road blocks) hmmm i see a pattern here could it be impossible to enforce and ill prepared canvas legislation.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:06 am 

They need to set up an 800 tips so Ican get some pocket change ratting out suspects

Pablo660
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:22 am 

They just make life better for bandits and kidnappers to freely enter any home now
I belive a person should be fined to the full extent of the law for attack by dogs on people(YES)
and also a good idea is to integrate insurance into owning a pet for protection incase the worse happens
but to outright class certin dogs as being dangerous and eventualy detering peoples last line of defence as i see it to the elements is bad.
If Tnt had a good police patrol passing regularly and not we being fearfull of venturing out/Yeah
we wouldnt need a " bad dog" in our yard who chose to own one.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:27 am 

Pablo660 wrote:
They just make life better for bandits and kidnappers to freely enter any home now
I belive a person should be fined to the full extent of the law for attack by dogs on people(YES)
and also a good idea is to integrate insurance into owning a pet for protection incase the worse happens
but to outright class certin dogs as being dangerous and eventualy detering peoples last line of defence as i see it to the elements is bad.
If Tnt had a good police patrol passing regularly and not we being fearfull of venturing out/Yeah

Meh Peter paying for Paul with regards to the pit bulls. As for last line of defense German shepherd and rott can be just as effective if not better suited to handling the bandit or occasional Horner man

Pablo660
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:33 am 

lol but paul ent paying for all
I had a german and he was worse than my 3 pit we had
Rots i guess,
Camyan i guess go have to work for now and what about these eletric fence i see all these developments puting up, is that legal to

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:41 am 

Pablo660 wrote:

^^ Well put....

but the dog can be a big help all around because if you come in my yard... it's better the dog catch you than I do.

nemesis
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:44 am 

nemisis wrote:
Pablo660 wrote:

Meh Peter paying for Paul with regards to the pit bulls. As for last line of defense German shepherd and rott can be just as effective if not better suited to handling the bandit or occasional Horner man

Irrelevant. Specifically says any dog can be considered dangerous. I know all of one person that was seriously attacked by a dog and it was a Shepherd anyway. If it was only those 3 breeds it would just mean everyone would switch to Mastiffs anyway. Bully Kutta ftw! Think it has always been a breeding and caging problem though. Majority of these dogs around are poorly bred and untrained.
Anyway, everyone screwed cause some people never bothered to pay attention. wygd.

Pablo660
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:57 am 

Question
I quickly read thru and at the end the classified 3 breed
Are they in contradictory to what they saying as if i had a bad ass set of lets say 20 pompecks
and all them bad would they be classed as dangerous( sorry example a lil far fetched lol but possible)
And Sorry to hear about that attack owners should have a heart and pay for all medical assistance etc and there is physcological scars too
there is consequences to owning a dog and watching it grow up know how u need to secure ur premesis and pay for training / i did and was the best ever

aspsounds
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 4:12 am 

I dont see the problem... If u want protection...get a pothound.... is only 3 breeds...

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 4:17 am 

"spayed or neutered"i would quicker vote they do this to humans i.e the rapist,kidnappers,killers etc wonder what would be the outcome if someone jump yuh wall and the dog maul dem is better to say you maul the person.might cost you cheaper :|

silent_riot
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:18 am 

It would be really sad if dog owners start to kill off their dogs because of these new fees.

I find your lack of kickpanel, disturbing.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:28 am 

Steups..what kind of backward BS is this..

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:38 am 

silent_riot wrote:
It would be really sad if dog owners start to kill off their dogs because of these new fees.

they do not need too, they can let the government do it for them

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:40 am 

wow.......

slimshiney
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:59 am 

AIR HEADEDNESS!!!....

hospitals better prep themselves for mauling galore...........they're gonna be like pothounds on the side of the roads..........

Last edited by slimshiney on Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:00 am 

Buh all pits not dangerous my neighbour pit is 3yrs an it never bark yet,he does lick everybody who pass!

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:05 am 

turbosingh wrote:
Buh all pits not dangerous my neighbour pit is 3yrs an it never bark yet,he does lick everybody who pass!

That's the most psycho type, silently sampling everyone that passes till it finds the perfect one o bite..

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:06 am 

What next...a dangerous guns act?

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 438 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 15  Next