Cement Price Goes Up

Re: Cement Price Goes Up

Postby Rooki3 » March 6th, 2012, 6:39 pm

what justifies the extra .50c kiss put on all dey kiss cakes??

dis is real madness, i buss een d shop wid a $1 to buy a goodie 0nly to realise i cyar afford it

Postby brams112 » March 6th, 2012, 10:00 pm

to top it off kiss lost touch,,,

Postby S_2NR » March 6th, 2012, 10:18 pm

all this beat up over prices.. :lol:

Just dont buy

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 6th, 2012, 11:43 pm

thats madness with the goodies and the kiss cake....I dont buy it any more......

rambo22

Postby rambo22 » March 7th, 2012, 1:33 am

ravi_kyle wrote:WTF Chaguanas General Hardware says $95.00 per bag...WTMC wrong with theses people...The f....in cement should remain in they f....in han and F...kin dry these MC Hardware....

Hi-Way Hardware is the same thing. People should mark these MC and don't shop dey when things get back to normal.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 7th, 2012, 1:44 am

rambo22 wrote:
ravi_kyle wrote:WTF Chaguanas General Hardware says $95.00 per bag...WTMC wrong with theses people...The f....in cement should remain in they f....in han and F...kin dry these MC Hardware....

Hi-Way Hardware is the same thing. People should mark these MC and don't shop dey when things get back to normal.

exactly......these ppl are real crooks......what goes around comes around.....one day they gonna end up in sheit and wonder....ohhh what i ever do wrong?

Postby turbosingh » March 7th, 2012, 6:37 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:thats madness with the goodies and the kiss cake....I dont buy it any more......

Me too :( But $95 for cement that's sheit!

Postby Damien » March 7th, 2012, 11:05 am

hold strain things might be back to normal by next week

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 18th, 2012, 11:43 pm

whats the price these days....I've halted my project until this situation normalizes....

Postby Damien » March 19th, 2012, 9:27 am

it aint normalize yet so hold strain

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » March 20th, 2012, 10:45 am

any update on this matter?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 20th, 2012, 11:06 am

stiill on strike as far as i know....

its a mth now......those daily paid workers prob broke this rounds...

Postby Damien » March 20th, 2012, 8:07 pm

they have a shipment coming in tomorrow check the hardware's

Postby brams112 » March 20th, 2012, 8:19 pm

ur real know what going on boi^^^

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 20th, 2012, 8:38 pm

tstt & tcl in the same boat yes.. If tcl and harricrete is the same price... I wonder what I would buy considering I have a digicel phone.

Postby brams112 » March 20th, 2012, 8:43 pm

imports always cuts local a$$ everytime,ur dont watch battle of the imports orr what,,,

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 22nd, 2012, 2:02 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_No ... 55706.html

No TCL deal yet'
Minister, union to meet again tomorrow

By Camille Bethel camille.bethel@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Mar 21, 2012 at 10:55 PM ECT
Story Updated: Mar 21, 2012 at 10:55 PM ECT
LABOUR Minister Errol McLeod's intervention in the negotiations between Trinidad Cement Ltd (TCL) and its striking workers failed to resolve the dispute yesterday.
McLeod met separately with officials of the company and the Oilfields Workers' Trade Union (OWTU) at the Ministry's St James Street, San Fernando, office.
He was seeking to bring to an end the almost-month-old strike, where workers have refused to accept anything less than a 12 per cent wage increase, having rejected the company's offer of 6.5 per cent.
Following the meetings yesterday, McLeod said, "We have just ended after about five hours of very important discussions. We have adjourned to meet again in the next two days. We are talking. I (have) great but guarded optimism."
President-general of the OWTU Ancel Roget, who is leading negotiations for the striking workers, said "All in all, we are hopeful that negotiations will end in a positive conclusion, but we hold out no such hope at this point in time. But we will continue with the conciliation process. We have been told by the Minister that we should go review our positions, both parties, and should come back on Friday and that is what we are prepared to do."
Roget said TCL did not want to settle the wage negotiations because there were some who wanted the company to be bought by a foreign interest.
Roget said it is costing the company and country much more than what it would to settle the negotiations. He said, "The union has demonstrated flexibility. We continue to do that on Friday."
Reminded that the OWTU settled last month for a nine per cent increase on behalf of Petrotrin workers, Roget said "it is not a one-size-fit-all" since TCL made billions in profits.
Roget said recent acts of violence reported by TCL employees are company-orchestrated.
"The company is going to all limits to get public sympathy. The union has nothing to do with any of the incidents that took place."
He said, "The hardware owners who are price-gouging at this time are the ones who ought to be condemned because they are the ones taking advantage of a just struggle. But you hear no one making pronouncements on those issues." See Page 10.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 23rd, 2012, 1:14 am

things getting real heated these days

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/TCL ... 17196.html

TCL withdraws wage offer, blanks OWTU talks
...blames union for acts of violence against company

By Carolyn Kissoon carolyn.kissoon@trinidadexpress,com
Story Created: Mar 22, 2012 at 10:52 PM ECT
Story Updated: Mar 22, 2012 at 10:52 PM ECT
TRINIDAD Cement Ltd (TCL) has withdrawn its offer of a seven per cent wage increase to striking workers and has refused to continue negotiations with the Oilfields Workers' Trade Union (OWTU), blaming the union for acts of violence and terror tactics against the company.
TCL general manager Satnarine Bachew said yesterday the company would not be attending the conciliation meeting at the Ministry of Labour in Port of Spain today.
Bachew wrote to Labour Minister Errol McLeod yesterday, stating: "Following the meeting (Wednesday), we have seen a dramatic escalation in the illegal acts, violence and terrorism emanating from the OWTU's strike camp. Overnight, cars were parked across the entrance of the company's access way, tyres were burnt and the union called a "mob" to intimidate anyone who tried to enter the compound. Under these circumstances, TCL wishes to advise that we can no longer participate in the scheduled meeting (today) as we will not negotiate with terrorists."
McLeod mediated in separate meetings with both parties at the ministry's San Fernando offices on Wednesday where TCL made the seven per cent offer.
However, the union refused the company's proposal and demanded a 12 per cent increase. Five hours later, the meeting ended unresolved.
The workers intensified their strike action on Wednesday night, burning tyres and blocking the company's entrance with vehicles. Company officials said a shuttle transporting employees out of the company was blocked. The bus returned to the compound and waited for police escort to leave the compound, the Express learned.
Bachew stated the company has made every effort to deal with the OWTU in a "constructive manner", but this was met with aggression towards management and employees, who accepted the company's individual contracts.
"We wish to further advise that we are withdrawing the settlement position communicated to parties at (Wednesday's) meeting and will revert to our position prior to the breakdown on February 23, 2012. To remind you, our position at that time was a 6.5 per cent increase in wages, with an additional two per cent on gain-sharing and the removal of the guarantee in the final year and the reconfiguration of the qualifying criteria to one per cent for every $15 million," Bachew stated.
Bachew stated the company was willing to meet with McLeod but will not agree to have any meetings with the executive of the OWTU "unless they actively demonstrate an ability to control their militant members".
The company accused the OWTU of only paying "lip-service" to the acts of violence being perpetrated by the local branch, which has endangered the lives of employees, their property and company assets.
"It is clear that the campaign of violence is being orchestrated by the OWTU because they are fearful that the strike is crumbling due to lack of support from TCL employees. In today's environment, this type of behaviour is intolerable and must be condemned in the strongest possible terms," the letter stated.
OWTU president general Ancel Roget and branch president Lawrence Renaud could not be reached last evening. Both have denied striking workers were involved in the attacks.
McLeod declined comment on the latest TCL position last night.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 23rd, 2012, 1:21 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Str ... 17176.html

Strikers block cement ship from docking
By Carolyn Kissoon
Story Created: Mar 22, 2012 at 10:52 PM ECT
Story Updated: Mar 22, 2012 at 10:52 PM ECT
The entrance to the Trinidad Cement Ltd (TCL) jetty in Claxton Bay was blockaded with vehicles yesterday, forcing a cargo ship transporting cement to turn around and head to the Port of Port of Spain.
Striking workers also blocked the company's main gates, preventing trucks from getting to the factory.
Burning tyres were placed at a secondary entrance, despite police guards at the site.
The actions of workers followed Wednesday night's blockade of the entrance using burning tyres and pilfered police barriers.
The company had planned to resume operations at the port yesterday, allowing customers in South and Central Trinidad easy access to the cement aboard the cargo vessel, shipped from its subsidiaries in Jamaica and Barbados.
Instead, ongoing strike action at the cement factory intensified on Wednesday evening, following a breakdown in conciliation talks at the Minister of Labour's office in San Fernando, even as 160 workers have broken ranks and returned to work.
TCL's general manager, Satnarine Bachew, said yesterday, "The plan was to sell bag cement from our jetty. The boat was going to dock, and we would have sold cement as part of our normal operations. But because of the impasse at the gates, we have aborted that plan, and we will sell cement from north Trinidad as we have been doing since the strike action."
Bachew said cement was being produced at the plant for bulk customers, and TCL continues to import cement to meet demands on the local market.
"We have loyal customers out there, and we do not want the construction industry to grind to a halt, so we are doing everything in our power to bring in cement," he said.
Bachew explained that the construction industry was on a downturn since 2009, and TCL was operating in an environment where revenue was declining, costs increasing and profitability declining.
Bachew said some 160 workers had already accepted individual contracts offered by the company.
"And more employees would like to come to work, so what we seeing here is that there are other acts to prevent employees from coming to work. It is very clear in that we have no intentions from backing down from what we intend to achieve, which is continuing to run our operations to sell cement to the market and keep the business going as best as we can," he said.
Bachew also warned retail customers to be aware of unscrupulous hardware dealers.
"We will continue to put cement on the market. The more cement on the market, it will close the gap between supply and demand. And we are encouraging customers to shop around because not all of the hardware dealers are exploiting the situation." —Carolyn

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 23rd, 2012, 1:23 am

renewable resources......

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 23rd, 2012, 1:25 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Pol ... 17186.html

POLICE officers cannot secure Trinidad Cement Ltd's (TCL) facilities in Claxton Bay and Mayo on a 24-hour basis, and the company will have to rely on its estate police officers.
This according to a senior police officer who said yesterday that TCL had also hired additional private security as a result of strike action by workers from February 27.
Police are investigating several reports, including the attempted fire-bombing of two homes belonging to strike-breakers, threatening phone calls and the attack on a bus shuttling workers out of the company's Claxton Bay compound last week.
There have been no arrests, and TCL's management has called for a greater police presence in order to protect workers not involved in the strike.
Wednesday night's blockage of the main entrance to TCL happened while no police officers were at the site.
The protest was broken up by Crime Suppression Unit officers.
A police source told the Express yesterday: "We have no special instructions. Just to maintain law and order, and we are doing that. We try as best as possible to maintain a presence there. In the event we are not there, we try to get there as fast as we get the information that things might be stirring up."
Last night, the Trinidad and Tobago Manufacturers' Association (TTMA) reiterated its call for Labour Minister Errol McLeod to invoke Section 65 of the Industrial Relations Act in an effort to resolve the current impasse with TCL. Section 65 states the minister could seek injunctive measures to bring the industrial action to a halt and to order the parties to appear before the court, the TTMA said in a statement.
"The association is concerned about the worsening situation at TCL, with reports of escalating violence. We note that TCL has every right to keep its business going despite the strike, and its employees also have the right to work if they do not wish to strike," the TTMA said.
"The TTMA strongly condemns the violent acts carried out against the company's employees seeking to return to work and urges the police to enforce the law and protect our citizens. The reports of violence at the protest site and at workers' homes must be investigated and the perpetrators brought to account for their actions."
The TTMA also noted the ongoing protest was negatively affecting the construction industry, as well as those manufacturers that utilise cement in their products.
"In addition, the industrial action at TCL is being felt throughout the economy of Trinidad and Tobago as several major infrastructure development projects are facing delays, cost overruns and job losses," the group added.

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » March 23rd, 2012, 1:30 am

life in guyana is better

rambo22

Postby rambo22 » March 26th, 2012, 5:53 pm

What the MC Lena's Hardware at Caroni Savannah Rd Chaguanas want $120 a bag now.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 26th, 2012, 5:59 pm

^^^and they does want to know why, when bad things happen to them?......some ppl just so damn greedy!!!!!

Postby Stephon. » March 26th, 2012, 6:01 pm

S_2NR wrote:all this beat up over prices.. :lol:

Just dont buy

What about the people that are currently building their homes and got trapped by this halfway through?

what if those same people are renting and was waiting on their home to be completed to move in to a place they can call their own? If they don't buy then they're going to be spending more money in the long run anyway

Postby sMASH » March 26th, 2012, 6:06 pm

take it or leave it. we had to do a small project, so we bought two bags of the saccrete and mixed that with the half bag of cement we already had.

the major projects put off until things come verrrry settled.
not only the cement prices high, the block prices gone up too. then there is the cost of delays if a shipment does not arrive but u still hadda pay men.
we on pause......

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 26th, 2012, 6:07 pm

Stephon. wrote:
S_2NR wrote:all this beat up over prices.. :lol:

Just dont buy

What about the people that are currently building their homes and got trapped by this halfway through?

what if those same people are renting and was waiting on their home to be completed to move in to a place they can call their own? If they don't buy then they're going to be spending more money in the long run anyway
some don't ponder a thought all the way through.....I
myself am guilty of such....

Postby brams112 » March 26th, 2012, 8:55 pm

anything above 75 is not justified because south have cement at that price,plus everybody collected at the same place,,,,so how south selling at 75 and central and north more and they at about the same distance orr closer to collecting it?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 30th, 2012, 8:39 pm

rambo22 wrote:What the MC Lena's Hardware at Caroni Savannah Rd Chaguanas want $120 a bag now.

thats robbery.....

Amit

Postby Amit » March 30th, 2012, 9:01 pm

general selling 130