Cement Price Goes Up

Re: Cement Price Goes Up

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 3rd, 2012, 10:35 am

Anyone thought about calling consumer affairs on these hardwares?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 3rd, 2012, 11:14 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Anyone thought about calling consumer affairs on these hardwares?

hmm interesting..but fellas who building have enough headache and would not have time for this....

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 3rd, 2012, 11:22 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Anyone thought about calling consumer affairs on these hardwares?

hmm interesting..but fellas who building have enough headache and would not have time for this....

True eh but which you rather, spend $10+ extra per bag of cement you use or make a report.

Pretty sure if enough people call they would treat the matter as urgent.

Cement Price Goes Up

Postby nemisis » June 3rd, 2012, 12:19 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:

True eh but which you rather, spend $10+ extra per bag of cement you use or make a report.

Pretty sure if enough people call they would treat the matter as urgent.

have anyway to skip the hardwares and get it straight from TCL

Cement Price Goes Up

Postby nemisis » June 3rd, 2012, 12:37 pm

What TCL should do is publish an ad stating the recommended retail price of their cement. Let's see how the hardwares will react then.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 3rd, 2012, 4:21 pm

nemisis wrote:What TCL should do is publish an ad stating the recommended retail price of their cement. Let's see how the hardwares will react then.

thats a good idea.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 3rd, 2012, 4:26 pm

nemisis wrote:What TCL should do is publish an ad stating the recommended retail price of their cement. Let's see how the hardwares will react then.

You would think that's their first course of action after the shortage eh

firstchoicett

Cement Price Goes Up

Postby firstchoicett » June 3rd, 2012, 5:12 pm

Prices gone down our hardware had for 65 and the next restock price should drop again .

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » June 3rd, 2012, 8:05 pm

TCL said that the price should go back down to pre-strike dollar when the high price klinker (raw material) is completed. This should take approx 4 weeks to do. So we waiting to see.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 4th, 2012, 12:39 am

cincuanta wrote:TCL said that the price should go back down to pre-strike dollar when the high price klinker (raw material) is completed. This should take approx 4 weeks to do. So we waiting to see.

ok well i would love to see it go down back to $48 a bag....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 4th, 2012, 12:42 am

oh yeah and fack those establishments who were trying to dig out ppl eye by selling at black market prices.......they surely not getting my businesss.......ppl who wanted to sell me at $120 a bag......I remember allyuh........

Postby nemisis » June 4th, 2012, 8:01 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:oh yeah and fack those establishments who were trying to dig out ppl eye by selling at black market prices.......they surely not getting my businesss.......ppl who wanted to sell me at $120 a bag......I remember allyuh........

yeah i had a remodel i wanted to get done and those new cement prices forced me to put it on hold, i remember all the hardwares in my area i visit and the first to normalize their prices will be the sole hardware i utilize. i preferred to spread my money around by purchasing at various establishments but gotta evidently small business don't have it hard enough if a quick profit better than maintaining customers.

Postby 1UZFE » June 4th, 2012, 8:19 am

nemisis wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:oh yeah and fack those establishments who were trying to dig out ppl eye by selling at black market prices.......they surely not getting my businesss.......ppl who wanted to sell me at $120 a bag......I remember allyuh........

yeah i had a remodel i wanted to get done and those new cement prices forced me to put it on hold, i remember all the hardwares in my area i visit and the first to normalize their prices will be the sole hardware i utilize. i preferred to spread my money around by purchasing at various establishments but gotta evidently small business don't have it hard enough if a quick profit better than maintaining customers.

pal i had a house to build n dat cement sheit have my work on hold since February...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 29th, 2012, 11:31 pm

was waiting on cement prices to go back down but WTF.....it remaining at the same $65 even though TCL promised that it would go back down to pre strike prices at the end of may....

these ppl taking real advantage!!!!!

i highly doubt it would go back down to $50.....

what prices u guys gettin it at?

silversurfer TnT

Postby silversurfer TnT » June 30th, 2012, 10:57 am

I have dealership with TCL and we are paying $57.50 a bag vI, rumor is the price will drop this monday

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 30th, 2012, 8:16 pm

silversurfer TnT wrote:I have dealership with TCL and we are paying $57.50 a bag vI, rumor is the price will drop this monday

if it doesnt drop....I will check u ok...

Postby brams112 » June 30th, 2012, 8:21 pm

At that price sliver how much you are selling for boi?and where are you located?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 30th, 2012, 11:04 pm

Prices should go back down by next month...

Postby nemisis » June 30th, 2012, 11:27 pm

firstchoicett wrote:Prices should go back down by next month...

ban him if cement price aint drop mods.... playing with people emotions!!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 30th, 2012, 11:29 pm

yeah they said it would drop by the end of May......

still paying $65 for this......and I cant hold out any longer...hadda buy the damn thing...

Cement Price Goes Up

Postby nemisis » July 1st, 2012, 12:58 am

Not only you I still waiting and watching I refuse to pay the Robert price and I I is one man not buying isn't much protest but better than none.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 6th, 2012, 11:33 pm

price check?...

firstchoicett

Cement Price Goes Up

Postby firstchoicett » July 7th, 2012, 9:26 am

Think it's between 75-85

Dragular

Postby Dragular » July 7th, 2012, 4:48 pm

i'm buying 600 bags and bhagwansingh quoted me $60.00 a bag
R Maye hardware quoted $65.00
Desai hardware was $62.00

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 7th, 2012, 5:53 pm

firstchoicett wrote:Think it's between 75-85

no way last 2 weeks it was no more than $65

So the srtike over so long and we still have to paying these black market prices...what the hell...

TCL management raking in some good money cause of this strike.....Big xmas bonus in sight for them

I think its about time some ministry official intervenes and get tcl to get back their pre strike prices.....

wing

Postby wing » July 7th, 2012, 6:00 pm

A & S aka Tiki ......$55 per bag vat inc.
Bonaventure Rd. Gasparillo

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 7th, 2012, 9:12 pm

wing wrote:A & S aka Tiki ......$55 per bag vat inc.

I could work with this...

Postby nemisis » July 7th, 2012, 10:05 pm

wing wrote:A & S aka Tiki ......$55 per bag vat inc.

if true well done

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 31st, 2012, 4:49 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Cem ... 52656.html

Cement prices to go down
By Carolyn Kissoon carolyn.kissoon@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Jul 30, 2012 at 11:01 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jul 30, 2012 at 11:01 PM ECT
Trinidad Cement Limited (TCL) general manager, Satnarine Bachew, announced yesterday that the temporary surcharge imposed on bagged cement has been removed.
And cement prices are expected to go down in the coming weeks, he said.
Bachew said a 42.5 kilogramme bag of cement was increased by $13 during the recent industrial relations impasse. He said the company was forced to increase prices two weeks after workers began strike action on February 27.
"The additional charge was driven by the higher cost of satisfying the local cement demand due to extenuating circumstances created by the strike (among these, the importation of cement and clinker, an intermediate product in the manufacture of cement) from other TCL Group operations in Barbados and Jamaica, administrative and other logistical challenges," he stated in a release yesterday.
Bachew said cement prices are expected to revert to "pre-strike prices". Cement retailed at $49.50 to $54.50 per 42.5 kilogramme bag of TCL Premium Plus before the strike.
Bachew said the company's production was back to full capacity, removing dependency on imported product and clinker.
"There have been significant operational and financial setbacks from which we are still recovering, however, we indicated that our ex-factory prices would revert by end of July and therefore, we are duty bound to honour our word within the specified timeframe," he stated.
Bachew said, however, that the company will be reviewing its pricing regime in the 4th quarter of 2012. TCL thanked its loyal customers, shareholders, investors, employees and other stakeholders for their understanding and support during a "very challenging period" in the company's history.
TCL began importing bagged cement from its subsidiaries in Jamaica and Barbados, after the Oilfields' Workers Trade Union (OWTU) served strike notice following a breakdown in negotiations. The strike ended 92 days later after the OWTU requested that the matter be referred to the Industrial Court.
Cement prices ranged from $60 to $69 at hardwares polled by the Express yesterday.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 2nd, 2012, 11:32 pm

still paying $64 a bag.....