Dangerous Dogs Act - Trinidad and Tobago

silent_riot

Re: Dangerous Dogs Act goes into effect August 1, 2012

Postby silent_riot » May 16th, 2012, 7:12 am

It's the owner's fault for not securing his dogs on his property. The dogs were acting normally imo. The owner should be charged (with involuntary manslaughter or something)...

Postby Greypatch » May 16th, 2012, 9:48 am

I don't know if it's my dogs that bit the lady."

:? :? :? :? :? :?

Postby crazybalhead » May 16th, 2012, 11:43 am

UML wrote:see wah ah mean......la romaine, belmont, enterprise, PT FORTIN!!!

no westmoorings, valpark, lange park, etc.

*$kїđž!™ wrote:what u all say bout this one now..???...

firstly no gate....

secondly the owner not sure if it was her dogs that attacked the lady....

microchipped dogs will be identified

A colleague of mine was bitten while walking in goodwood park last year, rott's. It happens. man went and got stitches and didn't make a big scene out of it, thais all.

Postby Stephon. » May 16th, 2012, 11:57 am

Damn @ the front page of the express, rip pitbull owners.

Postby Habit7 » May 16th, 2012, 11:58 am

How come we love to bark and call for similar traffic laws like developed nations, yet when we want to enact dog laws like UK and New Zealand ppl receiving chessburn?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-18064875

I can imagine the outcry if they were to enact and enforce the current speed limit with radar guns.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » May 16th, 2012, 12:06 pm

PUT these DOGS in question to SLEEP and JAIL the owner for 3 years!

why put the dogs to sleep? because im sure that this pregnant lady went provoking the dogs RIGHT?

Postby crazybalhead » May 16th, 2012, 12:15 pm

Habit7 wrote:How come we love to bark and call for similar traffic laws like developed nations, yet when we want to enact dog laws like UK and New Zealand ppl receiving chessburn?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-18064875

I can imagine the outcry if they were to enact and enforce the current speed limit with radar guns.

The police need to practice their mathematics sir.

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 16th, 2012, 12:28 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:PUT these DOGS in question to SLEEP and JAIL the owner for 3 years!

why put the dogs to sleep? because im sure that this pregnant lady went provoking the dogs RIGHT?

noone is against these punishments when something like this happens, it is fair prevention that we are fighting for this owner was clearly not fit to own dogs this is what the legislation should be aiming to prevent and it should not be breed specific it should be a dog ownership license for all breeds.

Postby crazybalhead » May 16th, 2012, 12:34 pm

So no hate for the pot hound involved?

Postby Stephon. » May 16th, 2012, 12:50 pm

firstly no gate....

Just last year I was running from two pit bulls in west moorings :lol:
Then again, it was my girlfriend's father that purposely let them go when I was there. :fist:

Sivic Distributors

Postby Sivic Distributors » May 16th, 2012, 5:47 pm

Regardless of the defect in the legislation it is needed now more than ever....Trinidadians don't know about the concept of responsibility.... All along it was a liberty, you took advantage of this liberty and exploited it at the expense of innocent citizens... now pay the price.... Kill em all!!!

Postby sMASH » May 16th, 2012, 6:44 pm

crazybalhead wrote:A colleague of mine was bitten while walking in goodwood park last year, rott's. It happens. man went and got stitches and didn't make a big scene out of it, thais all.

cause he know he would not get through, cause a rott is not a dangerous dog.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 16th, 2012, 11:23 pm

a guy on my street has a pitbull mix.......he also doesnt have a gate and the dog wanders about his yard......

I am always in my car driving past so i never study it but if i have to walk that street one day.......

Dangerous Dogs Act goes into effect August 1, 2012

Postby S_2NR » May 16th, 2012, 11:59 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:a guy on my street has a pitbull mix.......he also doesnt have a gate and the dog wanders about his yard......

I am always in my car driving past so i never study it but if i have to walk that street one day.......

If attacked and have a licensed firearm, shoot the dog.

The end

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » May 17th, 2012, 1:16 am

S_2NR wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:a guy on my street has a pitbull mix.......he also doesnt have a gate and the dog wanders about his yard......

The end

if you don't have a gun, just yell "pow! pow! pow!" and hope for the best...

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » May 17th, 2012, 7:29 am

So with ALL of the hype , given this last incident- are these Dangerous animals STILL at their current home? if so WHY were they NOT REMOVED ?
Why is the owner allowed to go about their normal lives? they should be put into a jail cell and as athe perfect example FORCED into PAYING ALL medical expenses that this victim has to incurr, if th eowner cannot pay, then Auction off every last thing she HAS in order to do so............

People must learn responsibility.................

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 17th, 2012, 8:15 am

Agreed on the responsibility...If you cannot keep your dog in your property, you don't deserve to have one. Leave a muzzle on your dog, train your dog, fence your yard and keep the dog on a leash which doesn't exceed the yard boundaries.

I don't agree that dogs are at fault in attacks and should be put to sleep, the dogs' owners are responsible. Putting the dogs to sleep condones the fact that only the dogs are at fault, and the owner has no responsibility, which is wrong.

joel

Postby joel » May 17th, 2012, 11:03 am

It simple inno and all the ppl saying "enact the law nah, eet go help" do not realize that it will not. No body is against any facking law. The law is worded poorly. Why admit a law is flawed, implement it and THEN look to fix it after? What jackass ness is that?
It remains though, if you cannot properly house your dog, whatever type of dog it is, do not have any.

Ps, if anybody see dem dogs that was in that yard and could say that they are pitbulls then alyuh real good.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » May 17th, 2012, 3:16 pm

S_2NR wrote:

The end

and then like all we are accustomed to everyone will BAWL: dem was good dogs and never do nobody nutthen.................

Postby SR » May 17th, 2012, 3:41 pm

firstly no gate....

dais cuz yuh does get it clint eastwood style

shoot first ask questions later if found in someone yard

Postby Habit7 » May 25th, 2012, 10:51 am

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 27th, 2012, 5:30 pm

THANK YOU GOD FOR GIVING OUR LEADERS SOME SENSE!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 27th, 2012, 5:31 pm

People please do not kill or abandon your dogs!!!

Postby nemisis » May 27th, 2012, 5:48 pm

Of course not, who would do that certainly not all the responsible dog owners being affected by the upcoming bill

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 27th, 2012, 7:22 pm

i saw an abandoned pit walking between santa cruz and maraval,
i wanted so badly to put him in the car and bring him home until i could find a home for him. Unfortunately i don't know how well it would go with my dogs and i just can't realistically take the risk of my dogs getting injured and i feel really hurt that i was unable to help. is there anyone able to house these dogs or something. this bill is really going to make things worse.

Postby nemisis » May 27th, 2012, 7:27 pm

jm3 wrote:i saw an abandoned pit walking between santa cruz and maraval,
i wanted so badly to put him in the car and bring him home until i could find a home for him. Unfortunately i don't know how well it would go with my dogs and i just can't realistically take the risk of my dogs getting injured and i feel really hurt that i was unable to help. is there anyone able to house these dogs or something. this bill is really going to make things worse.

The bill coming at night, kidnapping the dogs and letting them loose onto the streets?

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 27th, 2012, 7:30 pm

lol you are one sad little troll boy. go back to trolling yt or something and let the grownups talk.

Postby rollingstock » May 27th, 2012, 9:54 pm

Hadda agree with nemisis, these same callous owners that would abandon their dog instead of paying $500 a year and insurance fees are the same idiots that the bill is targeting.

Dangerous Dogs Act goes into effect August 1, 2012

Postby S_2NR » May 27th, 2012, 10:09 pm

jm3 wrote:lol you are one sad little troll boy. go back to trolling yt or something and let the grownups talk.

Jus so? :lol: :lol: :lol:

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » September 12th, 2012, 8:02 am

The Dangerous Dogs Act should return to Parliament in early October, according to Law Reform Commission chairman Samraj Harripaul. His statements come after a stray pit bull was chopped to death in Couva over the weekend. In May, a review of the act, which was initially expected to take effect last month, was ordered by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar after public uproar from animal rights activists and dog owners.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2012-09- ... next-month