Thursday, May 23rd, 2013

- It is currently Thu May 23, 2013 7:37 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 371 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 10:13 pm 

where did this figure of insurance costing $500 come about ?

I doubt any insurance company is going to give any and everybody public liability insurance costing only $500 knowing they could be taken for wrong death, grievous assault and all kind of thing

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 12:13 am 

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/MAU ... 49195.html

MAULED
Dogs attack pregnant woman, undergoes surgery to save arm

By Susan Mohammed susan.mohammed@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: May 15, 2012 at 10:58 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 15, 2012 at 10:58 PM ECT
A PREGNANT woman underwent emergency surgery yesterday to save her arm after she was mauled by three dogs.
Two of the dogs are mixed with the pitbull breed.
Kurleen Cooper, 36, who is five months pregnant, yesterday complained she was not feeling any movement in her womb after she was attacked by the dogs at Pt Fortin.
The dogs tore the flesh off her left arm and bit her on the head, hands, inner leg, left ear and stomach.
Cooper's family said they were told by doctors last night the surgery would attempt to reconstruct the damaged arm or amputate it.
Cooper is the mother of three other children, aged six, seven and 17.
She was walking along South Central Road, Pt Fortin shortly after 8 a.m. after dropping her children to school and was heading back home.
She was passing a house owned by businessman Ronnie Maharaj when one of the dogs ran out from the property and charged at her.
Maharaj buys and sells fish and was said to have acquired the dogs after he was robbed a number of times.
The two other dogs, which are mixed with the pitbull breed, followed and leapt on Cooper and knocked her down.
The dogs bit Cooper about her body, and the pregnant woman fought back, she told relatives.
Cooper's sister, Kurlet Cooper Julien, said: "She told me that she was fighting back. She told me when she got the bites, she actually bit one of the dogs. She was kicking the dogs. Because she was kicking, they bit the inner part of her legs."
Police were told that the dogs were "called off" by one of Maharaj's employees.
Cooper was rescued from the roadside by a passerby and residents from the area, who contacted the police and the Emergency Medical Services.
She was rushed to the Point Fortin Area Hospital for treatment, where her wounds were bandaged and she was given a tetanus shot.
She was later transferred to the San Fernando General Hospital and her condition was listed as "serious".
"She told doctors that she is not feeling the baby. They checked and there was movement, but when she came to the hospital, she said she felt something was wrong with the baby. The family is traumatised. I wouldn't even wish this on my worst enemy," said Julien.
The dogs were loose in the yard, and there is no gate installed to the front of the house, according to an employee of Maharaj who was at the Point Fortin Police Station assisting investigations yesterday.
However, June Garib, Maharaj's wife, said when she left for work at 5 a.m., the three dogs, along with three others they own, were chained at the back of the house.
"When I came home I saw the dogs tied. I asked if anyone let go the dogs and they said 'no'. I don't know if it's my dogs that bit the lady."

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 12:14 am 

what u all say bout this one now..???...

firstly no gate....

secondly the owner not sure if it was her dogs that attacked the lady....

jm3
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 1:35 am 

UML wrote:
marlener wrote:
Maybe they tried with the ridgeback that I had often throwing stuff over the fence for her to eat. and got through with the rott once,Everyone crosses the road at the sight of the pit,One robbery and the murder occurred the week between dogs after one was poisoned. My pit eats from two persons ONLY and a certain colour bowl.

btw any doh can be trained to do that..get another dog :|

but honestly i think pitbulls should be only owned by the rich!!!

same way some have range rovers, benz, bmw, FUL, swimming pools, etc. and some do not....well a pit bull is a do not!!! you just have to accept it...as u have accepted the other things u dont have.

i wont be owning a pitbull :|

if u use the companion excuse....get a pothound.....or even a parrot or wife....whichever talks less!!

yea cause i cant remember hearing pit bull mauling in westmooring, valpark, lange park etc.....only place like la romaine, belmont, enterprise, etc.

cause d ppl rich cud afford a wall, gate and kennel..das why yuh doh hear bout attacks in these areas....they responsible and dont have an open yard with a dog tied its entire life on a chain.

btw poor ppl doh need such a dog anyway....cause who d ass going to rob your scrunting ass anyway....u cant build a wall....so wah dey comgin tuh rob ur ass for?!! yuh eh find the 10 children ur unemployed ass minding is enough responsibility and sufferation?!!

the dog owners complaining baout paying $500 for the insurance....wtf $500 ah facking year?!!! you really dont like ur dog!!!

then they complain that they have 10 dogs to insure.....who the fack tell u own 10 pitbulls anyway....if is a business u cud afford to pay the money...........if u cud afford to own 10 pitbulls and buy food and pay for vet then dont complain for having to pay the insurance cause u u cud afford it....or else u really dong like ur dogs....ent u pay insurance for ur house and car....well pay insurance for ur dog!!!

so rich ppl own pit bulls..plain and simple!!

lol uml is making sense although in a crude way of doing it.

jm3
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 1:38 am 

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

firstly no gate....

she is the kind of owner that i think we all agree needs to be punished and legislation is needed to prevent people like her owning ANY dog.

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 1:39 am 

jm3 wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:

firstly no gate....

she is the kind of owner that i think we all agree needs to be punished and legislation is needed to prevent people like her owning ANY dog.

AGREED...

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 5:52 am 

see wah ah mean......la romaine, belmont, enterprise, PT FORTIN!!!

no westmoorings, valpark, lange park, etc.

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

firstly no gate....

microchipped dogs will be identified

mediahouse
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 7:00 am 

ban them dam dogs

silent_riot
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 7:12 am 

It's the owner's fault for not securing his dogs on his property. The dogs were acting normally imo. The owner should be charged (with involuntary manslaughter or something)...

I find your lack of kickpanel, disturbing.

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 9:48 am 

Quote:
I don't know if it's my dogs that bit the lady."

:? :? :? :? :? :?

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 11:43 am 

UML wrote:

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

firstly no gate....

A colleague of mine was bitten while walking in goodwood park last year, rott's. It happens. man went and got stitches and didn't make a big scene out of it, thais all.

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 11:57 am 

Damn @ the front page of the express, rip pitbull owners.

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 11:58 am 

How come we love to bark and call for similar traffic laws like developed nations, yet when we want to enact dog laws like UK and New Zealand ppl receiving chessburn?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-18064875

I can imagine the outcry if they were to enact and enforce the current speed limit with radar guns.

RIPEBREDFRUIT
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 12:06 pm 

PUT these DOGS in question to SLEEP and JAIL the owner for 3 years!

why put the dogs to sleep? because im sure that this pregnant lady went provoking the dogs RIGHT?

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 12:15 pm 

Habit7 wrote:
How come we love to bark and call for similar traffic laws like developed nations, yet when we want to enact dog laws like UK and New Zealand ppl receiving chessburn?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-18064875

I can imagine the outcry if they were to enact and enforce the current speed limit with radar guns.

The police need to practice their mathematics sir.

jm3
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 12:28 pm 

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:
PUT these DOGS in question to SLEEP and JAIL the owner for 3 years!

why put the dogs to sleep? because im sure that this pregnant lady went provoking the dogs RIGHT?

noone is against these punishments when something like this happens, it is fair prevention that we are fighting for this owner was clearly not fit to own dogs this is what the legislation should be aiming to prevent and it should not be breed specific it should be a dog ownership license for all breeds.

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 12:34 pm 

So no hate for the pot hound involved?

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 12:50 pm 

UML wrote:

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

firstly no gate....

Just last year I was running from two pit bulls in west moorings :lol:
Then again, it was my girlfriend's father that purposely let them go when I was there. :fist:

Sivic Distributors
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 5:47 pm 

Regardless of the defect in the legislation it is needed now more than ever....Trinidadians don't know about the concept of responsibility.... All along it was a liberty, you took advantage of this liberty and exploited it at the expense of innocent citizens... now pay the price.... Kill em all!!!

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 6:44 pm 

crazybalhead wrote:
A colleague of mine was bitten while walking in goodwood park last year, rott's. It happens. man went and got stitches and didn't make a big scene out of it, thais all.

cause he know he would not get through, cause a rott is not a dangerous dog.

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 11:23 pm 

a guy on my street has a pitbull mix.......he also doesnt have a gate and the dog wanders about his yard......

I am always in my car driving past so i never study it but if i have to walk that street one day.......

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 11:59 pm 

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
a guy on my street has a pitbull mix.......he also doesnt have a gate and the dog wanders about his yard......

I am always in my car driving past so i never study it but if i have to walk that street one day.......

If attacked and have a licensed firearm, shoot the dog.

The end

Soundwave
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 1:16 am 

S_2NR wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:

The end

if you don't have a gun, just yell "pow! pow! pow!" and hope for the best...

RIPEBREDFRUIT
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 7:29 am 

So with ALL of the hype , given this last incident- are these Dangerous animals STILL at their current home? if so WHY were they NOT REMOVED ?
Why is the owner allowed to go about their normal lives? they should be put into a jail cell and as athe perfect example FORCED into PAYING ALL medical expenses that this victim has to incurr, if th eowner cannot pay, then Auction off every last thing she HAS in order to do so............

People must learn responsibility.................

silent_riot
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 8:15 am 

Agreed on the responsibility...If you cannot keep your dog in your property, you don't deserve to have one. Leave a muzzle on your dog, train your dog, fence your yard and keep the dog on a leash which doesn't exceed the yard boundaries.

I don't agree that dogs are at fault in attacks and should be put to sleep, the dogs' owners are responsible. Putting the dogs to sleep condones the fact that only the dogs are at fault, and the owner has no responsibility, which is wrong.

I find your lack of kickpanel, disturbing.

joel
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 11:03 am 

It simple inno and all the ppl saying "enact the law nah, eet go help" do not realize that it will not. No body is against any facking law. The law is worded poorly. Why admit a law is flawed, implement it and THEN look to fix it after? What jackass ness is that?
It remains though, if you cannot properly house your dog, whatever type of dog it is, do not have any.

Ps, if anybody see dem dogs that was in that yard and could say that they are pitbulls then alyuh real good.

RIPEBREDFRUIT
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 3:16 pm 

S_2NR wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:

The end

and then like all we are accustomed to everyone will BAWL: dem was good dogs and never do nobody nutthen.................

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 3:41 pm 

UML wrote:

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

firstly no gate....

dais cuz yuh does get it clint eastwood style

shoot first ask questions later if found in someone yard

DLS Trinidad and IASCA Caribbean

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2012 10:51 am 

civic minded
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 5:30 pm 

THANK YOU GOD FOR GIVING OUR LEADERS SOME SENSE!!

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 371 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next