KFC AUSTRALIA to pay £5m to girl poisoned by chicken meal

Skanky

KFC AUSTRALIA to pay £5m to girl poisoned by chicken meal

Postby Skanky » April 27th, 2012, 6:12 am

Just posting this up for the trinis who can't do without their 'box of dead' and for the fast food enthusiasts in general.

Fast-food chain KFC has been ordered to pay A$8m (£5m) in damages to the family of an Australian girl who was left severely brain damaged and in a wheelchair after being poisoned by a chicken meal.

In 2005, Monika Samaan, then aged seven, her parents and her brother were admitted to hospital with salmonella poisoning after eating a "Twister" chicken wrap at a KFC restaurant near Sydney.

KFC, owned by Yum! Brands, said it was a tragic case but was "deeply disappointed and surprised by the decision" and would appeal against it.

Last week, a New South Wales supreme court judge ruled in favour of the family, saying KFC had breached its duty of care to the girl. On Friday, it awarded the family A$8m in damages, as well as court costs.

Australian media quoted their lawyer, George Vlahakis, as saying Monika's illness had "exhausted the very limited resources of the family".

"The compensation ordered is very much needed," Vlahakis said.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/ap ... CMP=twt_gu

Re: KFC ordered to pay £5m to girl poisoned by chicken meal

Postby turbosingh » April 27th, 2012, 6:24 am

Steups i well say is Trinidad!

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » April 27th, 2012, 6:36 am

Bought 1 spicy thigh about two weeks ago from the outlet in Montrose, ate it 9pm in the night...approximately 3am in the morning is a dred shayting take meh yes....hour later it was round two....and it continued probably up to 10 am yes....i swear i lost 20 pounds yes...not me and KFC again pal....

Postby Mark! » April 27th, 2012, 6:38 am

£5m for my child's well being? its a hefty sum of money but, that aint getting her better :(

200sx

Postby 200sx » April 27th, 2012, 6:56 am

No amt of money could compensate for the brain damage, stress, and pressure the family had/ have to go true!

But it would help out a lot!

altec

Postby altec » April 27th, 2012, 7:01 am

Biggs3ne wrote:Bought 1 spicy thigh about two weeks ago from the outlet in Montrose, ate it 9pm in the night...approximately 3am in the morning is a dred shayting take meh yes....hour later it was round two....and it continued probably up to 10 am yes....i swear i lost 20 pounds yes...not me and KFC again pal....

Hmmmm...eat KFC and lose weight.

note to self, go on an all KFC diet.

Postby Stephon. » April 27th, 2012, 7:40 am

Sould have had a twix.

Postby Bizzare » April 27th, 2012, 7:47 am

might spend half that back on KFC in dey lifetime.

Postby cinco » April 27th, 2012, 9:18 am

Biggs3ne wrote:Bought 1 spicy thigh about two weeks ago from the outlet in Montrose, ate it 9pm in the night...approximately 3am in the morning is a dred shayting take meh yes....hour later it was round two....and it continued probably up to 10 am yes....i swear i lost 20 pounds yes...not me and KFC again pal....

yuh sure is kfc yuh talkin bout or d tings dat does lime on dah corner?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » April 27th, 2012, 9:38 am

well Look who going to rekindle with their ex.. and go for dinner by KFC.. "Here's a twister babe; for you" :D

Postby black start » April 27th, 2012, 9:51 am

200sx wrote:No amt of money could compensate for the brain damage, stress, and pressure the family had/ have to go true!

exactly

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 27th, 2012, 12:22 pm

so daz why the prices gone up.....

Postby Greypatch » April 27th, 2012, 1:16 pm

left severely brain damaged and in a wheelchair

most trinis there already....KFC safe like gold in T&T

Postby Greypatch » April 27th, 2012, 1:17 pm

dais malju hoss..wear ah blue bartex and yuh safe 8-)

Postby turbosingh » April 27th, 2012, 2:05 pm

Greypatch wrote:
left severely brain damaged and in a wheelchair

most trinis there already before entering KFC....KFC safe like gold in T&T

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 27th, 2012, 2:19 pm

I am for one glad. they need to stop turning a blind eye on their quality control. they would see their worker 'dig they bamsee' and see not one thing wrong bcuz they getting their money and its not them to eat it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 27th, 2012, 3:21 pm

ah padna now buy ah zinger special for $36...d phoq,best I buy ah foot long subway...

Postby redmanjp » April 27th, 2012, 3:31 pm

KFC causing brain damage- i think a lot of trinis have ah mild version at least :mrgreen:

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » April 27th, 2012, 3:34 pm

exactly. subway footlong and you full

tourniquet

Re: KFC AUSTRALIA to pay £5m to girl poisoned by chicken mea

Postby tourniquet » April 28th, 2012, 9:49 am

this explains a lot