- It is currently Wed Jun 19, 2013 6:17 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

 Post subject: 2013 Subaru XV
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 10:22 am 

thoughts?

Neal & Massy has the XV for the same price as the much larger Hyundai Santa Fe, but it's a few millimetres here and there smaller than the Tucson. The Subaru will more than likely maintain it's resale value as well.

in 2011 the XV used to be a jacked up Impreza, but they've changed the chassis and while it shares the Impreza's body panels and interior, it is a different vehicle having a wider track and shorter wheelbase. It sits almost 9" from the ground.

The transmission is Subaru Lineartronic (CVT) with fulltime AWD
the engine is non-turbo but is good on torque.

Comes standard with 7 airbags and factory backup camera with in-dash display

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

 Post subject: Re: 2013 Subaru XV
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:13 am 

good vehicle....but i not buying into it....jus cuz of who sellin it.....makes no sense getting a good vehicle like that and them ruining it with poor maintenance

this is cheaper than the legacy though i gather?

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:16 am 

Location: Poor Towelie, Leroy wrap living sausage with him. :(
4th pic with the interior looks sweet.

Misc stuff for sale and for free

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:17 am 

dealbreaker for me
cvts annoy me

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:31 am 

Location: just 3 pedals, 2 shift sticks and 0 spark plugs away
@315k......hmmmm

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:45 am 

Location: Heeeey...this rag smells like chlorof...............
cinco wrote:

dealbreaker for me
cvts annoy me

just pretend u driving a pirogue...........it works for me......sometimes I grab the handbrake and pretend it's the tiller

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:49 am 

Damian Scott is the sales guy?

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:49 am 

interior is repetitive and boring IMO.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:55 am 

cinco wrote:

dealbreaker for me
cvts annoy me

just pretend u driving a pirogue...........it works for me......sometimes I grab the handbrake and pretend it's the tiller

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:55 am 

Duane, serious boy??? Just put back the stock shocks on the evo, you will see how versatile vehicle it is.

Shane18
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:11 pm 

Test drove this last week for someone. Overall its not bad wrt handling and acceleration. Had a boosted forester before so felt like the little extra power was lacking, but still pulls ok, also has paddle shifters to simulate a conventional triptronic transmission if you want to use them. The other contenders were the Tiguan and RAV4 but I can't justify her paying $300+ for a basic RAV 4, whereas the XV may have a smaller engine but has loads of other features to compensate. The Tiguan is really descent but just concerned with resale value and after warranty parts prices.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:17 pm 

cinco wrote:

dealbreaker for me
cvts annoy me

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:22 pm 

hmmm could be the upgrade i'm looking for

will make a pass in and have a chat with them

EXODUS
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:23 pm 

kinda ugly...prefer the nissan xtrail!

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:23 pm 

i wonder how the upcoming CX5 will fare against it

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:29 pm 

Shane18 wrote:
Test drove this last week for someone. Overall its not bad wrt handling and acceleration. Had a boosted forester before so felt like the little extra power was lacking, but still pulls ok, also has paddle shifters to simulate a conventional triptronic transmission if you want to use them. The other contenders were the Tiguan and RAV4 but I can't justify her paying $300+ for a basic RAV 4, whereas the XV may have a smaller engine but has loads of other features to compensate. The Tiguan is really descent but just concerned with resale value and after warranty parts prices.

but the Tiguan starts at $327+ all the way up to $403+

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:32 pm 

cinco wrote:
i wonder how the upcoming CX5 will fare against it

Wondering the same thing, not much longer to wait to find out though.

link
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:34 pm 

wait 3 mths...RORO will probs flatline around 200k

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:36 pm 

I actually like the shaved quarter panel look of the Subaru XV, but CVT isn't for me.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:37 pm 

i keep looking at it and i see the suzuki sx4 hatch more and more

Shane18
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:46 pm 

but the Tiguan starts at $327+ all the way up to $403+

Nope, went in and got a quote for $311,000 on the road. That was the 180 hp model though.

link
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:57 pm 

noshownogo wrote:
I actually like the shaved quarter panel look of the Subaru XV, but CVT isn't for me.

Nissan Skyline 350GT...8spd seq shift...CVT cud hold down 400hp
cvt works !!

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:58 pm 

http://www.caranddriver.com/reviews/201 ... ive-review

See Car and Driver review of the XV above

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:02 pm 

My displeasure for CVT has nothing to do with how much power it can handle. I just don't like the busy drive you get from it and the elastic feel of the tranny.

This review below seems to have the same CVT and engine combination we're getting in T&T. Performance seems weak:

http://www.automobilemag.com/reviews/dr ... rst_drive/

http://www.insideline.com/subaru/xv-cro ... drive.html

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:21 pm 

Looks like a tiida/ sx4/ (insert generic look here). Question, can it run on super gasoline? If iss another premium premadonna.... do not want!! I looking at something like this/ SX4/ Nissan prarie esque vehicle maby in the next few years.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:24 pm 

yuh mean a pickney carryin vehicle

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:25 pm 

OP needs to apply for powerseller status ............roflmao

 Post subject: 2013 Subaru XV
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:36 pm 

crossdrilled wrote:
Looks like a tiida/ sx4/ (insert generic look here). Question, can it run on super gasoline? If iss another premium premadonna.... do not want!! I looking at something like this/ SX4/ Nissan prarie esque vehicle maby in the next few years.

you really old fashioned yes lol

Premium gas you complaining about?

What you using now? Regular?

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:41 pm 

Crossdrilled is a clown yes. "premium primadonna" Yuh need to get a ole cortina hoss. Cyabaraytah.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 3:15 pm 

Yes.. a baby hauler :lol:

My bro in law bought a corrola which can use super just after I bought my tiida, which can only use premium. I am sure he saves over a thousand dollars more than me because of the price of super gasoline compared to my fuel costs. Heck, since my brother installed the UK spec SR20 in the SSS bluebird, and had it tuned for super, his fuel bill has been lower, and he does wring out that engine as it tuned for high end like a honda with big arse cat back exhaust, extractors, and free flowing intake.

D suzki and dem could use super not so?

I dunno if you recall CBH, but my dad had a cortina...:lol:.