Tuesday, May 21st, 2013

- It is currently Tue May 21, 2013 3:14 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Jump to:  

 Post subject: Sign Language Translator
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 12:52 pm 

Sign language translator turns gestures into spoken letters, makes for a better world

By far one of the greatest challenges of sign language has been to translate it for everyday folk that wouldn't know where to begin a conversation with the deaf. Cornell University engineering students Ranjay Krishna, Seonwoo Lee and Si Ping Wang -- along with some help from Jonathan Lang -- used their final project time this past semester to close this gap in one of the more practical solutions we've seen to date. Their prototype glove uses accelerometers, contact sensors and flex sensors to translate complex finger gestures from the American Sign Language alphabet into spoken letters: after converting hand positions to digital signals, the test unit both speaks out the resulting letters and sends them to a computer, where they can be used for anything from a game (shown in the video below) to, presumably, constructing whole sentences. Along with being accurate, the Cornell work is even designed with a mind towards how it would work in the real world, as the glove and its transmitter are both wireless and powered by 9-volt batteries. We hope that the project leads to a real product and an extra bridge between the deaf and the rest of us, but in the meantime, we'll be happy that at least one form of powered glove is being put to the noblest use possible.

http://www.engadget.com/2012/05/15/sign ... n-letters/

pretty cool IMO. i always find it hard to learn sign language.

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 1:02 pm 

looks like a masturbation assistor

Last edited by Mark! on Tue May 15, 2012 1:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mamoo_pagal
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 1:07 pm 

nice!!

Peanut Punch
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 1:19 pm 

wow, that's great

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 2:09 pm 

It looks like a meggie that now suck a lemon...wait thought it was a request.nevermind

Xplode
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 2:15 pm 

yeah watch them,next few years , billionaires

If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer. Matthew 21:22

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 3:05 pm 

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 3:11 pm 

:lol: :lol: hol yuh arse

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 3:17 pm 

stev wrote:

pretty cool IMO. i always find it hard to learn sign language.

always? how many times have you tried to learn?

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 3:42 pm 

oh goar....i was talkin bout any new language.