Update:42 Die in U.S. 2012 heat wave

Postby redmanjp » July 22nd, 2011, 6:50 pm

global warming is going to kill us all eventually

http://latino.foxnews.com/latino/news/2011/07/22/24-die-in-us-heat-wave/

24 Die in U.S. heat wave

Washington – The U.S. National Weather Service extended Friday its high-temperature alerts to 30 states. The heat wave has already taken 24 lives.

The NWS also issued a code-red air quality warning, which means that staying outdoors for any length of time is dangerous, especially for seniors, children, heart patients and people with breathing problems.

Friday promised to be an extremely hot day in several states on the East Coast, according to the NWS, and if high temperatures are accompanied by high humidity, the heat index could reach 46 C (115 F) before easing to 33 C (91 F) by late in the weekend.

In New Jersey, local authorities said that some 100 people, mostly teenagers, fainted from the heat in Camden, where more than 12,000 people gathered for a rock concert.

In Raleigh, North Carolina, the thermometer hit 38.8 C (102 F) on Thursday, tying a record set in 1952, while the heat index was 42.2 C (108 F).

The first death related to the heat wave occurred in Kansas City, and authorities have reported another 13 heat-related deaths in Missouri, including two women over 70.

In Fountain Prairie, Wisconsin, a 65-year-old man with health problems died of the heat.

Read more: http://latino.foxnews.com/latino/news/2 ... z1SrPvPlwB
Last edited by redmanjp on July 8th, 2012, 2:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: 24 Die in U.S. heat wave

Postby K74T » July 22nd, 2011, 6:56 pm

Damn..

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 7:58 pm

Sunday, waiting for wife, looked at temp on display and saw 41ºC....but I think heat radiating from the evaporator could have contributed to that high temp....from the time the car started moving it dropped down to 33 ºC

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2011, 8:27 pm

Bet they were all fat.

Postby foss » July 22nd, 2011, 8:30 pm

wow.. not cool

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2011, 8:33 pm

^^ :lol:

rossi

Postby rossi » July 22nd, 2011, 8:34 pm

Stephon. wrote:Bet they were all fat.

So they cooked themselves then?

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » July 22nd, 2011, 9:28 pm

The elderly and infirmed are usually the first ones to go when there's a heat stroke... not necessarily the obesed....

Postby Country_Bookie » July 22nd, 2011, 9:37 pm

Seems like Amerikkka is going to hell.

Postby bluefete » July 22nd, 2011, 9:40 pm

Global warming does not exist!! Remember??????

Postby S_2NR » July 22nd, 2011, 9:44 pm

oh sheit..and i thought trinidad does get hot

Postby redmanjp » July 22nd, 2011, 10:04 pm

and yuh think it bad now- just wait a couple decades it's going to get worse

we in t&t have to worry about sea level rise though- coastal areas won't exist anymore

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 22nd, 2011, 11:02 pm

S_2NR wrote:oh sheit..and i thought trinidad does get hot

ENT !

when is 35c here we bawling but 46 must be rel presha

kinda weird its d usa though since normally u hear about africa & india heatwaves ....

Postby foss » July 22nd, 2011, 11:29 pm

eViLwOn wrote:The elderly and infirmed are usually the first ones to go when there's a heat stroke... not necessarily the obesed....

this definitely is more true than....

:roll: :roll:

Postby S_2NR » July 23rd, 2011, 1:35 am

is not US time now

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » July 23rd, 2011, 9:06 am

foss wrote:
eViLwOn wrote:The elderly and infirmed are usually the first ones to go when there's a heat stroke... not necessarily the obesed....

this definitely is more true than....

:roll: :roll:

Stephon be hating on booboolups people! :lol:

Postby noshownogo » July 23rd, 2011, 9:26 am

I sure record lows gonna ensue come this winter.

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » July 23rd, 2011, 10:28 am

Oh well...

Postby redmanjp » July 23rd, 2011, 8:27 pm

US having some extreme record breaking weather this year oui

tornadoes
floods
now heat

2012 coming fast

Postby redmanjp » July 8th, 2012, 2:49 pm

last year 24 this year 42! :shock:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-18758667

At least 42 people have died in a heatwave that has brought soaring temperatures to a dozen US states from the Midwest to the East Coast.

Crops shrivelled and roads and railway lines buckled in the heat.

Hundreds of records fell across the affected area on Friday and Saturday, but the heat was expected to ease slightly on Sunday.

Severe storms are expected to follow. Many homes in the region are still without power after storms a week ago.

Media reports say many of the deaths were of elderly people stuck in homes without air conditioning because of the outages.

Ten deaths in Chicago were blamed on the heat, and at least 10 each in the eastern states of Virginia and Maryland.

Three each died in Wisconsin, Ohio and Pennsylvania, and two in Tennessee.

A four-month-old girl died after being left in a car for "an extended period" outside her home in Greenfield, Indiana.

On Saturday temperatures reached 105F (41C) in Washington DC - just short of the hottest ever recorded in the city - and 107F (46C) in St Louis, Missouri, which also extended its record for consecutive days over 100F to 10.

"It's hotter than hell," tourist John Ghio, visiting the White House, told Reuters news agency.

"Too hot," said Chinese tourist Xiao Duan, 30, who was also visiting Washington.

"My father says it's like we're being burned by flames."

High temperatures have also hit parts of Canada, with temperatures on Friday breaking 11 daily records in Ontario.
Storms to follow
crews set up to help visitors at the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee, after storms 5 July 2012 A command centre in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park helped visitors after the deadly storm

Hundreds of thousands of people in West Virginia, Virginia, Ohio, New Jersey, Maryland and Indiana are still enduring power outages caused by storms that swept through the area one week ago.

A number of cities have opened cooling centres and extended opening hours for public swimming pools.

Some communities are offering meals to residents whose food has spoiled after their refrigerators stopped working.

Officials in Chicago cancelled summer schools classes in 21 buildings without air conditioning because of the heat.

The heat there buckled a major road, cracking and bulging part of Columbus Drive by 5in (12cm).

Cooler weather is said to be on the way for northern parts of the Midwest, although strong storms could accompany the lower temperatures.

Have you been affected by the heatwave? Are you still without power? Send us your comments using the form below.

Re: Update:42 Die in U.S. 2012 heat wave

Postby X_Factor » July 8th, 2012, 3:03 pm

being in the sun in the US is worse than being in the sun here
imo up there u feel like ur being cooked inside out