Mig welder question

car

Mig welder question

Postby car » June 4th, 2012, 8:02 am

I'm looking to purchase a mig welder for home use . A millermatic 140 or similar, but it requires a gas of 75% argon and 25% CO2 . Any one knows where this is sold and details of the price with canister? I don't need 100lbs of gas, a 20-50lbs max will work. I'm not looking to buss meh pocket as it is for home use only and I dont want the cheap welder that use the flux core wire.

Re: Mig welder question

Postby zoom rader » June 4th, 2012, 11:06 am

Why not use flux core instead? Its cheaper to use that gas.

car

Postby car » June 4th, 2012, 11:23 am

I prefer the gas as it gives a really clean weld. If the price is too much for home use , I may go with the flux core.

Postby zoom rader » June 4th, 2012, 11:29 am

Ok the last time i checked, u have to pay a private dealer for the first bottle which was about $1500 4yrs ago and then it was about $350 for the argon. You wont get the 25-50lbw bottles unless u buy them yourself and fill them at IAL gases. The samller bottles cost more that the 100lbw.

Postby dougla_boy » June 4th, 2012, 11:37 am

call Industrial Gases Ltd.....they supply argon...but flux core is better.........what u plan on welding tho? because unless u welding aluminum or something u would need argon.......

car

Postby car » June 4th, 2012, 11:38 am

The welder alone is more than 6k so this gas looking out of my budget.
Thanks

Postby pugboy » June 4th, 2012, 4:04 pm

you only need argon mix if you doing aluminum and other fancy metals
if so a 140amp machine won't cut it

for regular steel co2 only is fine

IGL is the only place to get gas

co2 is cheap, the only catch is there is a $2000 deposit and
they only rent the standard size big tanks which last a very long time
unless you welding whole day but you say you are home user like me

tank rental is $20/month and to fill tank is $70
you will pay more in back rent in the long term
when you carry back the tank to refill
buying your own tank is over a grand but will probably work out better in long term
since I paid a few hundred in back rent after one refill

Postby brams112 » June 4th, 2012, 6:02 pm

Buy the cheap one in price mart nah op.

Postby zoom rader » June 4th, 2012, 7:33 pm

brams112 wrote:Buy the cheap one in price mart nah op.

NO dont buy that, It not worth it. But a good lincon, Miller or hobart. Prices ranger from $5000 and up.

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » June 4th, 2012, 9:21 pm

you only need argon if you are going to weld aluminum and if so you would be better off purchasing a tig welder. i have a lincoln electric weldpak 3200 mig welder that i use for my automotive projects,i also have my own gas cylinder 20lb (co2) 8-) .

car

Postby car » June 5th, 2012, 7:29 am

I'm looking to learn how to weld with mig and do small home project with mild steel. I'm also buying it to use on thinner metal that my arc welder will not be able to handle. Maybe in the future I'll try different metals. I already have an ac/dc 225 lincoln arc welder that I bought 4 months ago and it have only seen about 3 hours use during that time. I may weld something only once a month so the gas would not be a worthwhile investment for now. The 140 amp should be good enough for home use, anything bigger I'll go to my arc welder. I'll still look into the 230V millermatic 180 but my budget is only 10k for the welder. I don't want to spend more than that just for home use. The pricesmart one is not even good for home use.

Postby zoom rader » June 5th, 2012, 7:38 am

Hirotoshi wrote:you only need argon if you are going to weld aluminum and if so you would be better off purchasing a tig welder. i have a lincoln electric weldpak 3200 mig welder that i use for my automotive projects,i also have my own gas cylinder 20lb (co2) 8-) .

Dued tigs are not cheap, last time I checked it was 20 grand and up, plus u got to have the skills, tigs are not for everyone.

buddy5052

Postby buddy5052 » June 5th, 2012, 10:51 am

The cheapest way out is to buy a tig rig and use with that machine u presently have, u would have to get a cylinder of argon tig works with straight polarity and set the machine to dc and u good to go.If u want to go this way I can link a used rig for $1500

car

Postby car » June 5th, 2012, 11:15 am

I think I'll get the Lincoln sp-180t MIG Welder for now.

Postby buzz » June 5th, 2012, 11:16 am

Hirotoshi wrote:you only need argon if you are going to weld aluminum and if so you would be better off purchasing a tig welder. i have a lincoln electric weldpak 3200 mig welder that i use for my automotive projects,i also have my own gas cylinder 20lb (co2) 8-) .

Dued tigs are not cheap, last time I checked it was 20 grand and up, plus u got to have the skills, tigs are not for everyone.

There are smaller units for hobbyists/ light work but IMO much better for aluminum welding but yeah it's hard to master.

Postby MG Man » June 5th, 2012, 12:04 pm

buzz wrote:

There are smaller units for hobbyists/ light work but IMO much better for aluminum welding but yeah it's hard to master.

not if u believe those clowns on 2Guys Garage 'it's just as easy as makin' a stack of dimes' :lol:
Granted he did make it look easy, making a little pool, moving, making another pool, to get the 'stack of dimes' effect

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2012, 3:08 pm

easier way to just shoot overlapping tacks one by one at higher heat to get stacked look
not the best strength wise but who cares, lol

car

Postby car » June 29th, 2012, 12:27 pm

I got my lincoln sp180-t yesterday.
I'm going to try the flux core welding this weekend.
I was wondering is i can use a LPG cooking tank, the 20 lbs ones and change the screw on head to the appropriate one and get it filled with Ag/Co2 ? Would this be possible ?

Postby zoom rader » June 29th, 2012, 12:31 pm

No you cant use it. The filling station will not fill this bottle. All Ag/Co2 tanks have to be within specs. Its a worldwide safety thing