Need IT job!

iloveDirt

Need IT job!

Postby iloveDirt » July 16th, 2012, 10:39 pm

Looking for a job south/central.Computer science & mgmt graduate UWI ,pc repair technician ,a+ certified.other qualifications computer related.Any postitions/ideas where to check please let me know.Caribbean jobs are mostly for pos!. Thanks for any help.

Re: Need IT job!

Postby Bizzare » July 16th, 2012, 10:58 pm

Trinidad too small for a professional who's in need of a job to be bothered by location. You don't need a job, you want a job. POS is only 1hr - 1.5hrs away from South.

Postby stev » July 16th, 2012, 11:37 pm

do an online search for businesses in south and central. eg. searchintt.com. visit those company's websites. contact them by sending your resume. be bold face, u might get lucky....i didnt see an IT job in south or central in the past 3 years. all of them are in POS.

maybe u shud try the industry like IT in IPSL, PLN etc.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 16th, 2012, 11:45 pm

If you're looking for a job in IT in TT you can't be picky. IT is dead in Trinidad ... looking to get out of it myself. Despite all the 'knowledge economy' talk no big developments in that area .... the industry is dead and local market over saturated and non-competitive.

Postby r3iXmann » July 17th, 2012, 12:33 am

ek4ever wrote: the industry is dead and local market over saturated and non-competitive.

Only if you're a small fry or have a small fry mentality

Postby Bizzare » July 17th, 2012, 12:37 am

I was gonna him what sector in IT he's into to make that statement, but we've been through this several times here. IBTSky

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 17th, 2012, 7:43 am

have you tried going through the OJT programme?
it might give you sometihing to do while you look for a more suitable position

some companies take in trainees to evaluate them and them keep them afterward.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » July 17th, 2012, 6:39 pm

ek4ever wrote:If you're looking for a job in IT in TT you can't be picky. IT is dead in Trinidad ... looking to get out of it myself. Despite all the 'knowledge economy' talk no big developments in that area .... the industry is dead and local market over saturated and non-competitive.

THIS!

Take what you get, where you get it. Don't be picky.

The IT market in Trinidad is over saturated and very tough to stand out in, everyone has a degree with A+ and Net+. If you get something in north, make the sacrifice and take it, you need a foundation.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 17th, 2012, 6:52 pm

sad that computer science graduates need to be looking for IT jobs.

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » July 17th, 2012, 6:52 pm

database men , sql experts and programmers are usually paid 15k

If you just know basic tech sheit and trouble shooting then you will get 5-7k even with degree n sheit

TriP

Postby TriP » July 17th, 2012, 7:36 pm

check Nu Iron,Atlantic LNG,Phoenix Park Gas,Point a Pierre..for IT openings

Postby r3iXmann » July 17th, 2012, 8:05 pm

Captainzaak wrote:
ek4ever wrote:If you're looking for a job in IT in TT you can't be picky. IT is dead in Trinidad ... looking to get out of it myself. Despite all the 'knowledge economy' talk no big developments in that area .... the industry is dead and local market over saturated and non-competitive.

THIS!

The IT market in Trinidad is over saturated and very tough to stand out in, everyone has a degree with A+ and Net+. If you get something in north, make the sacrifice and take it, you need a foundation.

A+ net+ and degree are the only it certs? Steupse. Small fry syndrome as mentioned earlier

Postby stev » July 17th, 2012, 8:26 pm

Captainzaak wrote:The IT market in Trinidad is over saturated and very tough to stand out in, everyone has a degree with A+ and Net+. If you get something in north, make the sacrifice and take it, you need a foundation.

USEFUL things in A+ can be learned from experience by an average guy with internet and a PC to fool around with.

net+ is meh...CCNA + CCNP is something to make u stand out. I am currently studying CCNA by myself.

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » July 17th, 2012, 9:01 pm

There are opportunities in I.T. But most of them are for I.T. technicians for medium-large companies. A technician also has lots of opportunities for advancement - senior technician, I.T. Manager, etc.

A person in I.T. could also work for himself. I have a friend in IT who handles networking contracts for small businesses, repairs computers, laptops, etc. He makes quite a lot.

My point is, the market isn't oversaturated. There are several areas in IT you can work in.

Postby teems1 » July 17th, 2012, 9:38 pm

mediahouse wrote:database men , sql experts and programmers are usually paid 15k

If you just know basic tech sheit and trouble shooting then you will get 5-7k even with degree n sheit

Architects usually can demand an even higher salary than the elite programmers/analyst.

I don't think there are any qualified or experienced Enterprise Architects locally tho. Usually better to hire a consultant. We would more than likely have a few persons who could fill the role of Solutions or Application Architect.

Postby r3iXmann » July 17th, 2012, 10:32 pm

teems1 wrote:
I don't think there are any qualified or experienced Enterprise Architects locally tho.

Err. WHAT?! Where I work there are about 3 in our Trinidad branch alone. Other companies have quite a few of their own.. But I guess that's my cue to leave this thread. Further advice to those reading: open your mind, expand your knowledge and don't take advice from your average local "it man" ; especially half the dribble posted in this thread :|

Postby stev » July 17th, 2012, 11:35 pm

not sure if reixman is co worker :|

FullStop

Postby FullStop » July 17th, 2012, 11:46 pm

yall working schlumberger? they would have qualified architects.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 18th, 2012, 10:47 am

take what you get bro, just because you have a degree, doesnt mean ur gonna be a manager one time. take what you are getting now, get ur foot in the door and put in some work. always try to be better, it will pay off.

the field is a bit on the saturated side but i think this generation of "degree holders" are just lazy and expect stuff to be handed to them because they have a degree making this situation look worse that it really is. it doesnt work like that. grab what u can get now and start racking up that experience bro.

i wish you the best and i hope u have better luck than me lol

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 18th, 2012, 10:48 am

keep up with the press,ah brethren tell meh AATT hiring soon.idk

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 18th, 2012, 12:27 pm

The real problem with IT in TT is a lack of understanding within the profession, if I can use that word. If you look locally there are vacancies for the basic IT tech, a grunt with typical IT certs. The issue is IT is still misunderstood and not seen for its strategic value but rather a cost of doing business. I have come across many instances where organisations have no clue as to what they need or how to structure and develop their IT capacity.

I have no interest in performing technical grunt work again .... did that for 10 years. My interest is in ICT4D ... getting IT to play a significant and transformational role in economic development. The IT services sector is dog-eat-dog with bursts of innovation here and there ... nothing to be excited about.... have colleagues who have left even after being begged to stay. Our National ICT 2012-2016 plan shows some promise but again delivery is too slow and not in sync with any national development plan. By the time the components are implemented, if they are, the environment would have changed again.

Also local salaries are pathetic .... having worked in the past for external organisations that pay U$5000 - 10000

So after almost 20 years in the industry, usual technical and PM certifications, experience at local and regional level working with governments, regional and international institutions, a B.Sc., M.Sc and soon MBA what are the job prospects here in Trinidad?

Postby Bizzare » July 18th, 2012, 12:43 pm

Another problem with IT in Trinidad is no interest in specialization.

Postby stev » July 18th, 2012, 12:44 pm

are they still referring to telecom as part of IT or did they separate it yet?

Postby r3iXmann » July 18th, 2012, 12:48 pm

Bizzare wrote:Another problem with IT in Trinidad is no interest in specialization.

nah men wanna specialise in a+ and net+ and expect to get big salary..then complain d market saturated :lol:

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 18th, 2012, 12:53 pm

stev wrote:net+ is meh...CCNA + CCNP is something to make u stand out. I am currently studying CCNA by myself.

+1. Those and CCIE (a rare find in the Caribbean). CCNP and up will open up doors both locally and internationally.

Best wishes with your studies. Can't go wrong with CISCO certifications.

Postby Sky » July 18th, 2012, 12:58 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
A+ net+ and degree are the only it certs? Steupse. Small fry syndrome as mentioned earlier

A+ and N+ are for hobbyists now I find yes.
MS and Cisco have enough certs to make your brain hurt for the next 5 years, and they're not alone.
It have dbase shizz
It have security shizz
It have Virtualization shizz
And much more. Project management is a serious part that a lot of people overlook also.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 18th, 2012, 1:02 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
Captainzaak wrote:

THIS!

But reix, on a local scale you're mostly dealing with employers that cannot provide extensive experience on the networking/administration side of things. Small fry syndrome is a reflection of the small fry experience afforded at local companies.

Not sure how this may differentiate for IT programmers.

Postby stev » July 18th, 2012, 1:03 pm

^^^thanks.

fuh real though, i never met anyone with CCIE cert. as yet.

in my last job i dealt with a lot of people from TSTT datacoms and transport planning. only about 2 of them were CCNA cert. to my knowledge. :| with the requirements of their positions, i believe at least CCNA is a must have.

Postby r3iXmann » July 18th, 2012, 1:06 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:But reix, on a local scale you're mostly dealing with employers that cannot provide extensive experience on the networking/administration side of things. Small fry syndrome is a reflection of the small fry experience afforded at local companies.

Not sure how this may differentiate for IT programmers.

AP, you don't need an employer to get experience in the relevant technologies. PC hardware is cheap and knowledge is free. There's very little cost and effort required for someone to set up their own lab at home, practice using different technologies and then go sit an exam and get a cert.

Sky wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:

A+ and N+ are for hobbyists now I find yes.
MS and Cisco have enough certs to make your brain hurt for the next 5 years, and they're not alone.
It have dbase shizz
It have security shizz
It have Virtualization shizz
And much more. Project management is a serious part that a lot of people overlook also.

ent. i dont think anybody even asks for a+ anymore. most companies have third parties dealing with their repairs etc and it's easier for them to pay a contractor to do a day's work than have a lazy, GFN IT man who boasts of having A+ with not one ferk to do on a day to day (nor sees the importance of attempting to add value to the company)

the days of companies holding IT workers to ransom are done. the quicker people realise this, the quicker everybody will step their game up

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 18th, 2012, 1:10 pm

stev wrote:^^^thanks.

fuh real though, i never met anyone with CCIE cert. as yet.

in my last job i dealt with a lot of people from TSTT datacoms and transport planning. only about 2 of them were CCNA cert. to my knowledge. :| with the requirements of their positions, i believe at least CCNA is a must have.

As you gain the experience with CISCO systems, you'll come to realize you have far more earning potential outside of TT than locally. And to be honest, I don't think there is much need for CCIEs in TT. The networking systems are not as extensive locally. As far as knowledge base, the most you may need will be CCNP if you decide to stay locally, but if you want international employers chasing you with top pay, go the CCIE route. It's extremely difficult to get into but worth its weight in goal.