***what musical instrument you play thread***

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 8th, 2012, 7:21 am

well as the topic states,it's what instrument you play,would like to play,where you get your lessons,how far you reach kinda thing..should be interesting.
I'm into the keyboard..still a novice though.wanna try my hands at the tabla now.

Re: ***what musical instrument you play thread***

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 8th, 2012, 7:23 am

wanna get these for meh bday
images.jpg
images.jpg (5.81 KiB) Viewed 3303 times

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 8th, 2012, 7:26 am

Recorder - Up to Form 3 level

Drums - Took formal lessons with "Toby" Tobias for a few months after a few years of learning on my own. Haven't played on a proper kit for about 12 years. Only knocking pencils and pens now on my desk. Was thinking about buying some practice pads or an electronic kit which would not make as much noise as an acoustical kit.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 8th, 2012, 7:30 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Recorder - Up to Form 3 level

Drums - Took formal lessons with "Toby" Tobias for a few months after a few years of learning on my own. Haven't played on a proper kit for about 12 years. Only knocking pencils and pens now on my desk. Was thinking about buying some practice pads or an electronic kit which would not make as much noise as an acoustical kit.

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » August 8th, 2012, 7:30 am

Good thread. I play the piano and cuatro. Used to play single tenor pan until I sold it.

Never took lessons, learnt to read music on my own. I started really early though, playing piano since I was about 8. I must admit I have not been consistent. I just do it for personal enjoyment, no formal qualifications. I would consider myself to be amateur.

Postby shogun » August 8th, 2012, 7:45 am

Guitar and learning piano. Wouldn't mind learning the drums as well.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 8th, 2012, 7:47 am

I'm sure it have rel "teachers" and "schools" all over T'dad, but what are some of the reputable places one can go to get a full lessons in which ever instrument he wishes to play.

Postby Bizzare » August 8th, 2012, 7:48 am

Guitar. Played it really well and loved it. It's the best instrument followed by the Piano/Keyboard which I was able to play slightly.

It's been 5 yrs now and life is too busy to find time to play an instrument. Don't know if I can even pick up a guitar and form the chords I one knew.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 8th, 2012, 7:50 am

real guitarist in here bai...

Postby dougla_boy » August 8th, 2012, 7:53 am

recorder till form 3 as well........wanna learn acoustic guitar. me loves to hear the sound of a guitar playing. a lot of the songs i like includes a guitar playing!

Postby skylinechild » August 8th, 2012, 8:00 am

i played the keyboard- from age 6 till around 12- i didn't like it that much. when i did actually got to like it my parents didn't have enough money for me to continue lessons :oops: :oops: right when i was learning to use both hands and play complicated stuff.

around 18-21 i was learning to play guitar and well- didn't get too good at first and i stopped...wanted to continue- my friend was teaching me...

now......air guitar...it rocks :twisted: :twisted:

Postby turbosingh » August 8th, 2012, 8:07 am

I like to play the tambourine especially when them big chassis girls walking is CHING CHING CHING! :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 8th, 2012, 8:11 am

I surprised no1 aint talk about this yet. :D :D I find it to be real cool,providing you know what you're doing.
drum set blue black red silver green pink yellow.jpg

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » August 8th, 2012, 8:12 am

Sorry fellas but the recorder is not a real instrument lol. Especially not that nonsense that you could buy in RIK. I started playing the piano at age 6. By age 12 I was in grade 5 and came 3rd on 12 and under. I went all the way up to grade 8 but playing the piano takes a lot of time and practice so I don't really play much anymore. I just make sure I do enough every now and then so that I don't lose the skill.

I also play the guitar which I learned to play in about 3 months, 2 years ago. I had a real good teacher who was the guitarist in Skid Nvely at the time. Once u have a good base, u can learn any instrument.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 8th, 2012, 8:21 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I surprised no1 aint talk about this yet. :D :D I find it to be real cool,providing you know what you're doing.

:? See second paragraph in the third post from the top.

In the very first lesson after watching Mr. Tobias record something for me to practice, I realised that I knew nothing about playing the drums.

Postby MG Man » August 8th, 2012, 8:21 am

how is the recorder not a real instrument?
Take a listen to 'The Fool On The Hill' by The Beatles and then get back to where you once belonged
lol @ learned to play the guitar in 3 months

Postby Bizzare » August 8th, 2012, 8:25 am

trini_champ wrote:Sorry fellas but the recorder is not a real instrument lol.

trini_champ wrote:Once u have a good base, u can learn any instrument.

Exactly, the recorder is just used as a learning instrument and it's the cheapest solution at that.

trini_champ wrote:Especially not that nonsense that you could buy in RIK.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 8th, 2012, 8:25 am

evolution7tt wrote:Used to play single tenor pan until I sold it.

I find tenor pan players to be real uptight about their instrument. If you stand up about 1 metre away from their tenor pan, they start to watch you hard. If you even just watch your reflection in the finish on the pan, they want to beat you senseless. If you pick up one of the sticks, they shoot you one time. Not me and tenor pannists at all.

Postby MG Man » August 8th, 2012, 8:29 am

lol Rory is proly cuz they so tired of ppl grabbing a stick and beating their pan like it is a toy

Postby 1UZFE » August 8th, 2012, 8:32 am

use to play a lil guitar and a lil keyboard when i was in school.. would like to start the piano...

Postby Bizzare » August 8th, 2012, 8:32 am

d pan might probably go outta tune :mrgreen:

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » August 8th, 2012, 8:32 am

MG I didn't mean to insult the recorder on a whole. I was mainly speaking of the cheap ones we used in school that the people in this thread were speaking about. I respect all instruments but some more than others.

Yes I learned to play the guitar in 3 months. I don't see the joke really. I didn't say I mastered it lol. My point was that once u have a good foundation in music with an instrument, eg. the piano, it is not difficult to learn to play other ones. No disrespect meant to guitar players.

Postby MG Man » August 8th, 2012, 8:34 am

hmm...........so if a cheap recorder not legit, then a box bass is rubbish then ;p

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » August 8th, 2012, 8:38 am

lol I doh understand u. Box base is a big instrument.

Postby Bizzare » August 8th, 2012, 8:39 am

wasn't there a tuner band..... still active or flopped?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 8th, 2012, 8:39 am

the violin and the tenor pan ..... many many years ago

dont think i could still

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 8th, 2012, 8:40 am

trini_champ wrote:. . . .I respect all instruments but some more than others. . . .

I want to become proficient in playing the box bass. Would I be respected in the musical community when, not if, I become the "Geddy Lee" equivalent in playing the box bass?

Sorry, I give equal respect to all musical instruments.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 8th, 2012, 8:42 am

All kicks aside, I want to learn to play the hang (drum).

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 8th, 2012, 8:47 am

so this might be ah stretch then :lol: :lol:
STATD.jpg
STATD.jpg (125.31 KiB) Viewed 3153 times

Postby Sky » August 8th, 2012, 8:50 am