EMA/ 2.4 HECTARES OF MANGROVE TO GO:: YOUR VIEWS???

kaylex

EMA/ 2.4 HECTARES OF MANGROVE TO GO:: YOUR VIEWS???

Postby kaylex » May 28th, 2013, 9:12 am

EMA gives go ahead to uproot mangrove

2.4 hectares in path of Point highway
Melissa Doughty
Published:
Tuesday, May 28, 2013

The Environmental Management Authority (EMA) has given the Ministry of Works and Infrastructure permission to remove 2.4 hectares (5.9 acres) of mangrove near the Mosquito Creek, La Romaine. The portion of mangrove will be removed as the state continues work on the San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway. In a release yesterday, the EMA said the mangrove "falls within the area for the proposed upgrade and development of the Southern Main Road from Paria Suites to St Mary's Junction."

"In keeping with the National Wetlands Policy of T&T, on May 14 the EMA approved the ministry’s Mangrove Rehabilitation Plan where it will be required to rehabilitate an area of same size to compensate for this removal,” the EMA said. “This Mangrove Rehabilitation Plan was approved as part of meeting the requirements of the Certificate of Environmental Clearance (CEC) for this project." It said the authority had instructed that a "statement of commitment" to the plan should be submitted by the ministry within two weeks of the approval.

The EMA said, however, that it would be monitoring the process to ensure that "the conditions outlined in the CEC are adhered to." Contacted yesterday, activist Dr Wayne Kublalsingh said the Highway Re-route Movement (HRM) had no major issues with the EMA decision since it always supported that part of the highway. He added, however, that it was unfortunate that the mangrove had to be removed. Last year, Kublalsingh protested for 21 days over the Debe to Mon Desir leg of the highway. During his protest, Kublalsingh asked Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar to conduct a review of that section of the highway.

The Joint Consultative Council (JCC) intervened, along with other civil society groups, to organise an independent review of that leg of the highway. The independent review, headed by Dr James Armstrong, concluded that the State had not properly considered all the issues involved in the Debe to Mon Desir leg. The review recommended, among other things, that a proper social impact assessment be done before a decision is undertaken to continue construction of that leg of the highway.

The conclusion of the report read: “The review committee found that there were significant shortcomings which warranted further interrogation to determine the way forward. “The complex and sensitive issues involved in this project certainly could not be addressed within the confines of this 60-day review period. “Should the Government decide to proceed with the construction of the Debe-Mon Desir segment, the committee is of the considered opinion that shortcomings resulting from the inadequacies of proper assessment of the likely impacts on the human and natural environment must first be determined and resolved.” Works Minister Suruj Rambachan could not be reached for comment yesterday as calls to his cellphone went unanswered.

Re: EMA/ 2.4 HECTARES OF MANGROVE TO GO:: YOUR VIEWS???

Postby UML » May 28th, 2013, 9:18 am

i knew this was going to be an issue

saw it on papers yesterday. I dont like the idea but then again, without development there would be no progress. why wasnt opposition made when building the Foreshore Heliport, MovieTowne or Westmoorings? (not sure if the Port and Chaguarams Development as well).

The right thing is to take samples of flora and fauna to populate elsewhere in the mangrove, if it does not already exist.

but then again you cant build on the water because the same environmentalist would say u filling up the sea and the environmental impacts of that and not to foget the same environmental activists (re route movement) wanted to bulldoze the mangrove and build through the mangrove to avoid the Mon Desir settlement

Damned if u do damned if u dont...opposition without recommendation.........that is the summary of this govt
Last edited by UML on May 28th, 2013, 9:25 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby rfari » May 28th, 2013, 9:20 am

Must break eggs to make an omelet

Postby zoom rader » May 28th, 2013, 9:48 am

Gonna catch some crab while the mangrove last, $60 grap.

civicman

Postby civicman » May 28th, 2013, 9:58 am

To build the highway from sando tech to GB
it passed through communities
it crossed rivers and mangroves
But people like clownlalsingh and company use the same damn highway to speed up to UWI to teach or go protest
Price of progress
There must be a Balance between common sense,expense and the environment

badandy

Postby badandy » May 28th, 2013, 10:13 am

civicman wrote:To build the highway from sando tech to GB
it passed through communities
it crossed rivers and mangroves
But people like clownlalsingh and company use the same damn highway to speed up to UWI to teach or go protest
Price of progress
There must be a Balance between common sense,expense and the environment

so true!!

Postby SMc » May 28th, 2013, 10:13 am

UML wrote:i knew this was going to be an issue

saw it on papers yesterday. I dont like the idea but then again, without development there would be no progress. why wasnt opposition made when building the Foreshore Heliport, MovieTowne or Westmoorings? (not sure if the Port and Chaguarams Development as well).

The right thing is to take samples of flora and fauna to populate elsewhere in the mangrove, if it does not already exist.

but then again you cant build on the water because the same environmentalist would say u filling up the sea and the environmental impacts of that and not to foget the same environmental activists (re route movement) wanted to bulldoze the mangrove and build through the mangrove to avoid the Mon Desir settlement

Damned if u do damned if u dont...opposition without recommendation.........that is the summary of this govt

There were protests and camps set up by Gary Aboud and Dawn (cant remember her last name), about the destruction of invaders bay, and the significance that the maraval river estuary/mudflats to the migrant waders that visited the area and the impact it would have on the surrounding coastal areas...but he didnt win the battle.

Best thing they should do is establish the 'new' mangrove area before they decimate the present one, if thay is possible

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 28th, 2013, 10:41 am

According to the papers, it is a narrow strip ranging from 1 meter to 10 meters for length of the roadwork to be done (a couple kms?)

That aint too bad for progress.

Postby sliderz1 » May 28th, 2013, 11:17 am

this was the answer to all the arguements

Re: EMA/ 2.4 HECTARES OF MANGROVE TO GO:: YOUR VIEWS???h

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 28th, 2013, 11:22 am

The ema also gave the crossings in arima permission to remediate tons of lead from an old battery factory near the r8ver with no supervision they passed it tru the river bed with trucks the company waved a cec in our faces

Re: EMA/ 2.4 HECTARES OF MANGROVE TO GO:: YOUR VIEWS???h

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 28th, 2013, 11:22 am

The ema also gave the crossings in arima permission to remediate tons of lead from an old battery factory near the r8ver with no supervision they passed it tru the river bed with trucks the company waved a cec in our faces

Postby DFC » May 28th, 2013, 12:17 pm

Thats the price of development.

From penal , it takes me 45 mins to 1hour to get to galconda.
Heavy , congested traffic.

A drive that would normally take me 10mins with moderate traffic.

Sent from my GT-S7500L using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby bluefete » May 28th, 2013, 12:39 pm

Development must be integrated with the environment. But that is a lesson we have not learned as yet

That is a lot of mangrove to go. But if Derek Chin could do it in POS ...

We are a mash up, mash up society and people!

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 28th, 2013, 1:31 pm

DFC wrote:Thats the price of development.

From penal , it takes me 45 mins to 1hour to get to galconda.
Heavy , congested traffic.

A drive that would normally take me 10mins with moderate traffic.

Sent from my GT-S7500L using TriniTuner mobile app

Plenty activists don't face this traffic or even know it exists

Postby nemisis » May 28th, 2013, 1:58 pm

^^^ ent. I will be shocked if the highway reaches point btw

kaylex

Postby kaylex » May 28th, 2013, 2:26 pm

kurps.. what boutt decentralising from town...pos.. i.e.???

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 28th, 2013, 2:39 pm

kaylex wrote:kurps.. what boutt decentralising from town...pos.. i.e.???

Last time I mention that the talk na society jump out and tell me why we eh make penal the capital and done.

I support it as I will benefit but idk why the hold up.

Postby SMc » May 28th, 2013, 2:42 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:

Last time I mention that the talk na society jump out and tell me why we eh make penal the capital and done.

Penal is not the cyapital of Central arready?

Postby sliderz1 » May 28th, 2013, 2:48 pm

Rate of Return is too long. not economical for existing parties to relocate

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 28th, 2013, 3:01 pm

sliderz1 wrote:

When you say too long, how long we talking?

Postby teems1 » May 28th, 2013, 3:09 pm

sliderz1 wrote:

FLOW moved their head office from Victoria Square to Cunupia
NMWG moved staff from POS to Endeavour
Unit Trust moved staff from POS to Chaguanas
DirecTV moved to Chaguanas
Guardian Life moved staff from Westmoorings to Endeavour
COURTS moved staff from Barataria to Chaguanas
Republic Bank moved staff from POS to Chaguanas

There are lots more companies doing the same. Downside is now Chaguanas is becoming too congested.

Postby UML » May 28th, 2013, 3:40 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:

what hold up? some ah allyuh eye in allyuh ass oui

you eh seeing ministry of science technology moving close to nagar site, ytepp office move to by medfords, courts head office by medfords, prison coming by felecity, costaatt by felecity too (or some school, cah remember), children hospital in couva, niherst science centre in couva, etc?

teems1 wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:

There are lots more companies doing the same. Downside is now Chaguanas is becoming too congested.

tell dem nah man

and something else move or designated to open in Caroni/St Helena....i just cant remember what it is

but dey quick to jump on the "govt eh doing nuttin" bandwagon. ppl see what they want to see.

Postby pete » May 28th, 2013, 5:17 pm

^^^ Ministry of Transport building opposite Frederick settlement

Postby UML » May 28th, 2013, 5:50 pm

rightttttt thank you pete

Postby eliteauto » May 28th, 2013, 5:57 pm

UML wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

what hold up? some ah allyuh eye in allyuh ass oui

you eh seeing ministry of science technology moving close to nagar site, ytepp office move to by medfords, courts head office by medfords, prison coming by felecity, costaatt by felecity too (or some school, cah remember), children hospital in couva, niherst science centre in couva, etc?

teems1 wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:

tell dem nah man

and something else move or designated to open in Caroni/St Helena....i just cant remember what it is

but dey quick to jump on the "govt eh doing nuttin" bandwagon. ppl see what they want to see.

whilst that may be true, what is the staff# that those entities move? How many of those said entities accommodate heavy walk-in traffic that will truly encourage decentralisation? Afaik those entities are administrative departments and are not reflective of true decentralisation

Postby UML » May 28th, 2013, 6:05 pm

which one..the prison? school? or hospital?

ppl see what they want to see

Postby eliteauto » May 28th, 2013, 6:10 pm

I guess the question was too hard?

btw the Prison idea was proposed by the PNM in 2007 and has been opposed ever since, even when then Min Warner proposed it there was opposition and there has been no plan afaik announced to actually construct same, kindly elucidate me please

Postby tr1ad » May 28th, 2013, 6:17 pm

NMWG didn't move staff to endeavour

that's another office for another contract

mangrove to go, but the benefit will be for more over a longer period of time

Postby UML » May 28th, 2013, 6:19 pm

eliteauto wrote:I guess the question was too hard?

btw the Prison idea was proposed by the PNM in 2007 and has been opposed ever since, even when then Min Warner proposed it there was opposition and there has been no plan afaik announced to actually construct same, kindly elucidate me please

yea it was...so answer nah. :roll:

which of the two/three administrative?

pnm cuda wuda shuda...but DIDNTA

talking up in yuh ass as usual. steups.
Last edited by UML on May 28th, 2013, 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 28th, 2013, 6:23 pm

Clearly some people do not know the difference between relocation and decentralization.